By PHB if cleric has a spellslot for a spell she can prepare a spell of this level, and therefore knows all the cleric spells of that level.
I have a multiclassed Wizard 6/Cleric 1 As a level 7 spellcaster she has access to spell slots up to lvl 4, but dndbeyond character sheet wouldn't allow to prepare cleric spells higher than lvl 1.
What am I missing? Is there some switch I need to turn on, or I'm misinterpreting the rules. If so, could please someone explain why?
Yep. You treat spells known and prepared as each class individually.
You can however upcast your 1st level cleric spell into those 4th level spell slots. So your brand new guiding bolt can be cast into a 4th level spell slot for 7d6 damage if you hit (14d6 if you critical).
The spells must be of a level for which you have spell slots.
Multiclas rule on spelslots:
You determine your available spell slots by adding together all your levels in the bard, cleric, druid, sorcerer, and wizard classes [...] Use this total to determine your spell slots by consulting the Multiclass Spellcaster table.
And table says I have up to 4th lvl spellslots.
I see how I can prepare only 1+ wiz mod spells, but I don't understand why higher lvl spells are not available.
Just letting you know this is a settled rule. No grey area. You get access to the spell level based on your level in that class as Stormknight quoted above. That's the rule. Spell slots can be used on anything, so you can upcast the spells you know/prepare into them. Spell slots and available spells to prepare are not the same thing. One determines the spell level you can cast and upcast at (spellslots), and one determines what spells you know/have prepared.
So I look at Cleric lvl table to determine what spellslots are available for me to prepare spells (because Cleric doesn't have lvl based list of available spells) , but then I go to Multiclass spelslots table to determine what spelslots I actually have?
Wasn't obvious for me. Sory if this has already been raised.
"Spells Known and Prepared. You determine what spells you know and can prepare for each class individually, as if you were a single-classed member of that class. If you are a ranger 4/wizard 3, for example, you know three 1st-level ranger spells based on your levels in the ranger class. As 3rd-level wizard, you know three wizard cantrips, and your spellbook contains ten wizard spells, two of which (the two you gained when you reached 3rd level as a wizard) can be 2nd-level spells. If your Intelligence is 16, you can prepare six wizard spells from your spellbook."
So if you have an intelligence of 16 and a wisdom of 14 you would prepare (Wizard 6, Cleric 1): 9 Wizard spells (6 <level> + 3 <intmodifier>= 9) up to 3rd level, (4 wizard cantrips as well) and 3 Cleric spells (1 <level> + 2 <wismodifier> = 3) up to 1st level (3 cleric cantrips as well). You can cast them into the slots available to a 7th level caster: 4 1st level, 3 2nd, 3 3rd, and 1 4th level slot. As you do not have a 4th level spell, you can upcast any of your spells into that slot.
Reminder on the cantrips if you have any damaging cantrips like Toll the Dead "The spell’s damage increases by one die when you reach 5th level (2d8 or 2d12), 11th level (3d8 or 3d12), and 17th level (4d8 or 4d12)." That is 5th level. Not caster level or cleric level. You can be a 1st level cleric and 4th level fighter and you get the damage increase on the cantrips once you hit 4th level.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
By PHB if cleric has a spellslot for a spell she can prepare a spell of this level, and therefore knows all the cleric spells of that level.
I have a multiclassed Wizard 6/Cleric 1
As a level 7 spellcaster she has access to spell slots up to lvl 4, but dndbeyond character sheet wouldn't allow to prepare cleric spells higher than lvl 1.
What am I missing? Is there some switch I need to turn on, or I'm misinterpreting the rules. If so, could please someone explain why?
The character sheet is correct.
https://www.dndbeyond.com/sources/basic-rules/customization-options#Spellcasting
Pun-loving nerd | Faith Elisabeth Lilley | She/Her/Hers | Profile art by Becca Golins
If you need help with homebrew, please post on the homebrew forums, where multiple staff and moderators can read your post and help you!
"We got this, no problem! I'll take the twenty on the left - you guys handle the one on the right!"🔊
Yep. You treat spells known and prepared as each class individually.
You can however upcast your 1st level cleric spell into those 4th level spell slots. So your brand new guiding bolt can be cast into a 4th level spell slot for 7d6 damage if you hit (14d6 if you critical).
Yes, and Cleric says:
The spells must be of a level for which you have spell slots.
Multiclas rule on spelslots:
You determine your available spell slots by adding together all your levels in the bard, cleric, druid, sorcerer, and wizard classes [...] Use this total to determine your spell slots by consulting the Multiclass Spellcaster table.
And table says I have up to 4th lvl spellslots.
I see how I can prepare only 1+ wiz mod spells, but I don't understand why higher lvl spells are not available.
Just letting you know this is a settled rule. No grey area. You get access to the spell level based on your level in that class as Stormknight quoted above. That's the rule. Spell slots can be used on anything, so you can upcast the spells you know/prepare into them. Spell slots and available spells to prepare are not the same thing. One determines the spell level you can cast and upcast at (spellslots), and one determines what spells you know/have prepared.
Ok, I think I get it:
So I look at Cleric lvl table to determine what spellslots are available for me to prepare spells (because Cleric doesn't have lvl based list of available spells) , but then I go to Multiclass spelslots table to determine what spelslots I actually have?
Wasn't obvious for me. Sory if this has already been raised.
"Spells Known and Prepared. You determine what spells you know and can prepare for each class individually, as if you were a single-classed member of that class. If you are a ranger 4/wizard 3, for example, you know three 1st-level ranger spells based on your levels in the ranger class. As 3rd-level wizard, you know three wizard cantrips, and your spellbook contains ten wizard spells, two of which (the two you gained when you reached 3rd level as a wizard) can be 2nd-level spells. If your Intelligence is 16, you can prepare six wizard spells from your spellbook."
So if you have an intelligence of 16 and a wisdom of 14 you would prepare (Wizard 6, Cleric 1):
9 Wizard spells (6 <level> + 3 <intmodifier>= 9) up to 3rd level, (4 wizard cantrips as well) and
3 Cleric spells (1 <level> + 2 <wismodifier> = 3) up to 1st level (3 cleric cantrips as well).
You can cast them into the slots available to a 7th level caster:
4 1st level, 3 2nd, 3 3rd, and 1 4th level slot. As you do not have a 4th level spell, you can upcast any of your spells into that slot.
Reminder on the cantrips if you have any damaging cantrips like Toll the Dead "The spell’s damage increases by one die when you reach 5th level (2d8 or 2d12), 11th level (3d8 or 3d12), and 17th level (4d8 or 4d12)." That is 5th level. Not caster level or cleric level. You can be a 1st level cleric and 4th level fighter and you get the damage increase on the cantrips once you hit 4th level.