I know that dnd isn’t a game about mathematics despite basic mathematics being the very base of it, but I’ve come to a thought. The Giant’s Might ability doesn’t say that your weight increases when you become large. So…. If a gnome rune knight fighter used this feature, could they feasibly become lighter than air? And in which case, would they float?
here’s the exact words for reference,
Giant’s Might
3rd-level Rune Knight feature
You have learned how to imbue yourself with the might of giants. As a bonus action, you magically gain the following benefits, which last for 1 minute:
If you are smaller than Large, you become Large, along with anything you are wearing. If you lack the room to become Large, your size doesn’t change.
You have advantage on Strength checks and Strength saving throws.
Once on each of your turns, one of your attacks with a weapon or an unarmed strike can deal an extra 1d6 damage to a target on a hit.
You can use this feature a number of times equal to your proficiency bonus, and you regain all expended uses of it when you finish a long rest
I understand that, buts the fact that it does not mention a weight increase that is strange to me. In the enlarge/reduce spell, or specifies that your weight I creases by 8 times, while the giant might doesn’t say anything of the sort. All in all, it is just a joke because even if someone crunched out the maths and it was theoretically possible. The dm would just no. All the same, thanks for your personal insight to the topic.
Also, you are overestimating the effect. A gnome is about 4 ft tall, weighing 40 lbs. Sizing up twice with a weight change normally means x4 lengths (x2x2) and normally x64 weight (x8x8)
Think of it in reverse. A full weight human could be 6 ft tall and weighs 192 lb. Now consider a creature that started out at 1.5 ft tall weighing 3 lbs. It doubled in size twice while changing weight, it would become 1.5*2*2 = 6 ft tall and weighs 3x8=24*8=192 lbs.
But if it did not change weight, it would be 6 ft tall and weighs 3 lbs. Which would be a light weight cardboard cut-out, it would not be boyant enough to float in air (though it would not sink in water)
Physics dictates a lot of things that don't really apply to DnD though, so always take that with a grain of salt.
Bull. 99.9% of the game is physics based and in the 0.1% where it doesn't, it clearly states it does not.
Gravity works, lightning works, light bounces off mirrors. Fires give off heat etc. etc. You only notice the very very few things where physics does not apply because those are the things the game talks about.
Most importantly, what would you think of a player that said: "Physics doesn't work, there is magic in the world. Which means that every time I say the word 'die' and point at someone, they die."
You would laugh at him for creating a rule to help him rather than following the game rules. Same thing every time some fool breaks the laws of physics.
Physics works in the game except when it explicitedly says it does not. There is only one entitled fool that has the right to make up rules, and he is called the DM. When he does so it is called a House Rule. It is not part of the game rules.
Short answer, most DM's are going to tell you "No you can't do that, because this isn't Looney Tunes"
Besides, do you REALLY want to play a character who started floating away? We're not talking about someone under the Levitate spell, they wouldn't have control over it. They'd just drift upward for 1 minute, then come crashing back down when it wore off. That's even assuming you'd float. You grow Large, you don't inflate with helium. If it actually happened this way, you'd probably be more like an astronaut on the moon. And it's still going to be seriously annoying in the middle of combat.
Question: Giant’s Might says “you become Large as does everything you carry” does that mean that extra damage dice are applied since your weapons scale up? (Medium to large get 1, small to large get 2 and tiny to large get 3) or is that just accomplished via the extra d6 the ability grants? And does one’s reach increase too since you’re bigger?
Question: Giant’s Might says “you become Large as does everything you carry” does that mean that extra damage dice are applied since your weapons scale up? (Medium to large get 1, small to large get 2 and tiny to large get 3) or is that just accomplished via the extra d6 the ability grants? And does one’s reach increase too since you’re bigger?
Things only do what they say. So you only get the extra d6 for damage (which improves to a d8 at level 10 and a d10 at 18th level), and you only get it once a turn, so even when you've got 4 attacks, you can only apply it once. Though, since an OA occurs on someone else's turn, you would get to apply it then.
And your reach does not increase until level 18, when it says it does.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I know that dnd isn’t a game about mathematics despite basic mathematics being the very base of it, but I’ve come to a thought. The Giant’s Might ability doesn’t say that your weight increases when you become large. So…. If a gnome rune knight fighter used this feature, could they feasibly become lighter than air? And in which case, would they float?
here’s the exact words for reference,
Giant’s Might
3rd-level Rune Knight feature
You have learned how to imbue yourself with the might of giants. As a bonus action, you magically gain the following benefits, which last for 1 minute:
You can use this feature a number of times equal to your proficiency bonus, and you regain all expended uses of it when you finish a long rest
It does not make sense at all and I think you over stretching the RAW and RAI. You get bigger and get larger, of course you’ll be heavier.
I understand that, buts the fact that it does not mention a weight increase that is strange to me. In the enlarge/reduce spell, or specifies that your weight I creases by 8 times, while the giant might doesn’t say anything of the sort. All in all, it is just a joke because even if someone crunched out the maths and it was theoretically possible. The dm would just no. All the same, thanks for your personal insight to the topic.
Also, you are overestimating the effect. A gnome is about 4 ft tall, weighing 40 lbs. Sizing up twice with a weight change normally means x4 lengths (x2x2) and normally x64 weight (x8x8)
Think of it in reverse. A full weight human could be 6 ft tall and weighs 192 lb. Now consider a creature that started out at 1.5 ft tall weighing 3 lbs. It doubled in size twice while changing weight, it would become 1.5*2*2 = 6 ft tall and weighs 3x8=24*8=192 lbs.
But if it did not change weight, it would be 6 ft tall and weighs 3 lbs. Which would be a light weight cardboard cut-out, it would not be boyant enough to float in air (though it would not sink in water)
Physics dictates that it would have to conform to the square-cube law ratio: (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Square–cube_law).
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
Bull. 99.9% of the game is physics based and in the 0.1% where it doesn't, it clearly states it does not.
Gravity works, lightning works, light bounces off mirrors. Fires give off heat etc. etc. You only notice the very very few things where physics does not apply because those are the things the game talks about.
Most importantly, what would you think of a player that said: "Physics doesn't work, there is magic in the world. Which means that every time I say the word 'die' and point at someone, they die."
You would laugh at him for creating a rule to help him rather than following the game rules. Same thing every time some fool breaks the laws of physics.
Physics works in the game except when it explicitedly says it does not. There is only one entitled fool that has the right to make up rules, and he is called the DM. When he does so it is called a House Rule. It is not part of the game rules.
Short answer, most DM's are going to tell you "No you can't do that, because this isn't Looney Tunes"
Besides, do you REALLY want to play a character who started floating away? We're not talking about someone under the Levitate spell, they wouldn't have control over it. They'd just drift upward for 1 minute, then come crashing back down when it wore off. That's even assuming you'd float. You grow Large, you don't inflate with helium. If it actually happened this way, you'd probably be more like an astronaut on the moon. And it's still going to be seriously annoying in the middle of combat.
Question: Giant’s Might says “you become Large as does everything you carry” does that mean that extra damage dice are applied since your weapons scale up? (Medium to large get 1, small to large get 2 and tiny to large get 3) or is that just accomplished via the extra d6 the ability grants? And does one’s reach increase too since you’re bigger?
Things only do what they say. So you only get the extra d6 for damage (which improves to a d8 at level 10 and a d10 at 18th level), and you only get it once a turn, so even when you've got 4 attacks, you can only apply it once. Though, since an OA occurs on someone else's turn, you would get to apply it then.
And your reach does not increase until level 18, when it says it does.