To clear some things up, that you may or may not know. Hopefully, one of them is what you were looking for. :)
1. Booming Blade requires a melee attack against a creature within 5 ft of you. So by RAW, I don't believe you could do a Booming Blade attack from 10 ft away. No reason you couldn't move to 5 ft and then attack, though, but it wouldn't be utilizing the "reach" weapon property.
2. What Cgarciao was saying...Push mastery won't cause the secondary damage to your foe from Booming Blade. Booming Blade requires "willing" movement by the creature and you're moving them 10 ft, they aren't willingly moving.
3. The target would be pushed if you hit them with a Booming Blade spell, in which you "brandish" the weapon as a part of the spell and make a melee weapon attack with it. The target would be pushed 10 ft if it's large or smaller.
Now a DM might allow you to make a 10 ft Booming Blade attack, depending on the DM, but RAW it won't work. Hope this helps.
Just wanted to add some additional confirmation that Push isn't meant to trigger Booming Blade. We know Dissonant Whispers doesn't qualify, and that involves the creature moving itself involuntarily, so it certainly wouldn't apply to an effect where someone else moves them.
You don’t need to use a reach weapon only at 10’ though. Step up to 5’ so you can use Booming Blade then with the mastery push them out to 10’. On their turn to attack without reach or range they would trigger the BB extra damage when they move back to 5’. When you hit level 7 / 11 you can use war magic to BB on the first attack then use your 10 reach to keep attacking with your subsequent weapon attacks.
Here's a fun one for you - you can weapon mastery Topple them with the first hit to cause them to go prone, then use booming blade on your subsequent hit. When they stand up they have to use their movement to do so - my DM ruled this utilizes movement and therefore would trigger the rider for booming blade. This would allow you to use BB without needing to physically move the enemy; however, if you also utilize a bludgeoning weapon (I use quarterstaff for this scenario) - you can use the crusher feat which would allow you to move your enemy 5 feet away from you if your topple doesn't succeed; effectively gives you another chance at a BB proc when they try to close the gap again.
You want to be careful with what your DM allows and the Rules As Written. While standing up from the prone condition normally costs half the creature's speed in movement, he creature hasn't actually moved. If you're playing on a grid, it still occupies the same space. The only change is a condition has ended.
You want to be careful with what your DM allows and the Rules As Written. While standing up from the prone condition normally costs half the creature's speed in movement, he creature hasn't actually moved. If you're playing on a grid, it still occupies the same space. The only change is a condition has ended.
^^ this. Costing movement and actually moving are not necessarily the same. My DM would not allow BB to proc on standup because the creature has not willingly left the space it was in.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Any time an unfathomably powerful entity sweeps in and offers godlike rewards in return for just a few teensy favors, it’s a scam. Unless it’s me. I’d never lie to you, reader dearest.
Just wanted to add some additional confirmation that Push isn't meant to trigger Booming Blade. We know Dissonant Whispers doesn't qualify, and that involves the creature moving itself involuntarily, so it certainly wouldn't apply to an effect where someone else moves them.
It may force you to move but it forces you to USE your Movement. It is not a Push that moves you without you using your movement Lick the Crusher PUSH ability
Just wanted to add some additional confirmation that Push isn't meant to trigger Booming Blade. We know Dissonant Whispers doesn't qualify, and that involves the creature moving itself involuntarily, so it certainly wouldn't apply to an effect where someone else moves them.
It may force you to move but it forces you to USE your Movement. It is not a Push that moves you without you using your movement Lick the Crusher PUSH ability
Booming Blade doesn't draw that distinction. The only thing it cares about is whether the target willingly moves. Anything which forcibly repositions the target or compels its movement cannot trigger the spell's effect.
I use Warhammer & Push with Booming Blade as a battlefield control tactic. If they voluntarily move, then they take damage.
I just hit level 3 though and am thinking that once I hit level 5, I won't be using Booming Blade at all, because my two regular attacks will do more damage than the 1d8 from Booming Blade.
I use Warhammer & Push with Booming Blade as a battlefield control tactic. If they voluntarily move, then they take damage.
I just hit level 3 though and am thinking that once I hit level 5, I won't be using Booming Blade at all, because my two regular attacks will do more damage than the 1d8 from Booming Blade.
You do Booming Blade and hit using the Warhammer PUSH they take weapon damage + any initial BB damage and if they move towards you, or away from you to another target they take BB secondary Damage.
I use Warhammer & Push with Booming Blade as a battlefield control tactic. If they voluntarily move, then they take damage.
I just hit level 3 though and am thinking that once I hit level 5, I won't be using Booming Blade at all, because my two regular attacks will do more damage than the 1d8 from Booming Blade.
You do Booming Blade and hit using the Warhammer PUSH they take weapon damage + any initial BB damage and if they move towards you, or away from you to another target they take BB secondary Damage.
Yeah, that's how I've used it, which hasn't been a lot so far. I used it on a Ghoul in Death House and the DM made it move due to its low intelligence. I forgot that it could be three separate damages if they voluntarily move after level I hit level 5, so I'll be keeping it. Thanks for the help!
Definitey keep it. It may not be a go-to move every round, but it can be very useful when the control aspects may outweigh the raw damage of the extra attack. It may be useful with warcaster too, to make your opportunity attack really have some teeth.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Any time an unfathomably powerful entity sweeps in and offers godlike rewards in return for just a few teensy favors, it’s a scam. Unless it’s me. I’d never lie to you, reader dearest.
Tasha
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
New Player here, Does casting Booming Blade with a polearm push the enemy away for 10 ft? Or you need the Attack Action to proc the Push? Thx guys...
I'm not too sure, but I will say that booming blade's extra damage rider will not proc unless the enemy voluntarily moves on their turn.
To clear some things up, that you may or may not know. Hopefully, one of them is what you were looking for. :)
1. Booming Blade requires a melee attack against a creature within 5 ft of you. So by RAW, I don't believe you could do a Booming Blade attack from 10 ft away. No reason you couldn't move to 5 ft and then attack, though, but it wouldn't be utilizing the "reach" weapon property.
2. What Cgarciao was saying...Push mastery won't cause the secondary damage to your foe from Booming Blade. Booming Blade requires "willing" movement by the creature and you're moving them 10 ft, they aren't willingly moving.
3. The target would be pushed if you hit them with a Booming Blade spell, in which you "brandish" the weapon as a part of the spell and make a melee weapon attack with it. The target would be pushed 10 ft if it's large or smaller.
Now a DM might allow you to make a 10 ft Booming Blade attack, depending on the DM, but RAW it won't work. Hope this helps.
Just wanted to add some additional confirmation that Push isn't meant to trigger Booming Blade. We know Dissonant Whispers doesn't qualify, and that involves the creature moving itself involuntarily, so it certainly wouldn't apply to an effect where someone else moves them.
"Booming blade hurts you if you move away willingly. Dissonant whispers forces you to move—doesn't trigger BL."
The Forum Infestation (TM)
Since when? As far as I know the only spell that procks BB is dissonant whispers..
Edit: never mind I'm confusing procing Opportunity attacks with BB. It procs OA but not BB.
You don’t need to use a reach weapon only at 10’ though. Step up to 5’ so you can use Booming Blade then with the mastery push them out to 10’. On their turn to attack without reach or range they would trigger the BB extra damage when they move back to 5’. When you hit level 7 / 11 you can use war magic to BB on the first attack then use your 10 reach to keep attacking with your subsequent weapon attacks.
Here's a fun one for you - you can weapon mastery Topple them with the first hit to cause them to go prone, then use booming blade on your subsequent hit. When they stand up they have to use their movement to do so - my DM ruled this utilizes movement and therefore would trigger the rider for booming blade. This would allow you to use BB without needing to physically move the enemy; however, if you also utilize a bludgeoning weapon (I use quarterstaff for this scenario) - you can use the crusher feat which would allow you to move your enemy 5 feet away from you if your topple doesn't succeed; effectively gives you another chance at a BB proc when they try to close the gap again.
You want to be careful with what your DM allows and the Rules As Written. While standing up from the prone condition normally costs half the creature's speed in movement, he creature hasn't actually moved. If you're playing on a grid, it still occupies the same space. The only change is a condition has ended.
^^ this. Costing movement and actually moving are not necessarily the same. My DM would not allow BB to proc on standup because the creature has not willingly left the space it was in.
Any time an unfathomably powerful entity sweeps in and offers godlike rewards in return for just a few teensy favors, it’s a scam. Unless it’s me. I’d never lie to you, reader dearest.
Tasha
It may force you to move but it forces you to USE your Movement. It is not a Push that moves you without you using your movement Lick the Crusher PUSH ability
Booming Blade doesn't draw that distinction. The only thing it cares about is whether the target willingly moves. Anything which forcibly repositions the target or compels its movement cannot trigger the spell's effect.
I use Warhammer & Push with Booming Blade as a battlefield control tactic. If they voluntarily move, then they take damage.
I just hit level 3 though and am thinking that once I hit level 5, I won't be using Booming Blade at all, because my two regular attacks will do more damage than the 1d8 from Booming Blade.
You do Booming Blade and hit using the Warhammer PUSH they take weapon damage + any initial BB damage and if they move towards you, or away from you to another target they take BB secondary Damage.
Yeah, that's how I've used it, which hasn't been a lot so far. I used it on a Ghoul in Death House and the DM made it move due to its low intelligence. I forgot that it could be three separate damages if they voluntarily move after level I hit level 5, so I'll be keeping it. Thanks for the help!
Definitey keep it. It may not be a go-to move every round, but it can be very useful when the control aspects may outweigh the raw damage of the extra attack. It may be useful with warcaster too, to make your opportunity attack really have some teeth.
Any time an unfathomably powerful entity sweeps in and offers godlike rewards in return for just a few teensy favors, it’s a scam. Unless it’s me. I’d never lie to you, reader dearest.
Tasha