"When this arrow strikes its target, conjuration magic creates grasping, poisonous brambles, which wrap around the target. The creature hit by the arrow takes an extra 2d6 poison damage, its speed is reduced by 10 feet, and it takes 2d6 slashing damage the first time on each turn it moves 1 footor more without teleporting. The target or any creature that can reach it can use its action to remove the brambles with a successful Strength (Athletics) check against your Arcane Shot save DC. Otherwise, the brambles last for 1 minute or until you use this option again.
The poison damage and slashing damage both increase to 4d6 when you reach 18th level in this class."
Ok does this only tick damage when the bad guy actually moves? or is it anytime the bad guy makes any kind of movement? ( like attacking).
Why in the verbiage does it mention 1 foot of movement? How does it want us to use this?
The feature is worded specifically to inflict the slashing damage when there is actual movement involved, as technically in D&D you do not "move" when attacking. As for your second question, I believe the "1 foot" is simply to make sure it triggers for any kind of actual movement the target might make, and yes, in case it was a doubt, if would be ANY movement the target would do, willing or forced, but only once in a turn.
Hope this helps.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Born in Italy, moved a bunch, living in Spain, my heart always belonged to Roleplaying Games
LeK is correct. The use of "...if the target willingly moves..." in Booming Blade prompted a lot of questions about what is meant by "moves." The "moves 1 foot" wording is much clearer because it unambiguously refers to displacement.
LeK is correct. The use of "...if the target willingly moves..." in Booming Blade prompted a lot of questions about what is meant by "moves." The "moves 1 foot" wording is much clearer because it unambiguously refers to displacement.
LeK is correct. The use of "...if the target willingly moves..." in Booming Blade prompted a lot of questions about what is meant by "moves." The "moves 1 foot" wording is much clearer because it unambiguously refers to displacement.
LeK is correct. The use of "...if the target willingly moves..." in Booming Blade prompted a lot of questions about what is meant by "moves." The "moves 1 foot" wording is much clearer because it unambiguously refers to displacement.
Ok…so what other mechanic mentions a movement of 1’ that we can use as a comparison?
I haven’t seen anything distance that wasn’t a multiple of 5’ until this mechanic.
How is…
”The creature hit by the arrow takes an extra 2d6 poison damage, its speed is reduced by 10 feet, and it takes 2d6 slashing damage the first time on each turn it moves 1 foot or more without teleporting.”
functionally different to…
”The creature hit by the arrow takes an extra 2d6 poison damage, its speed is reduced by 10 feet, and it takes 2d6 slashing damage the first time on each turn it moves 5 feet or more without teleporting.”?
The argument seems to be that using 1’ versus 5’ is how it is differentiated between “against will movement” versus “at will movement.”
I'm not going to speculate on what the people who posted in this thread six years ago were thinking in that regard. Just pointing out that it's possible to move distances that aren't multiples of five feet.
I haven’t seen anything distance that wasn’t a multiple of 5’ until this mechanic.
So you haven’t seen the rules for difficult terrain?
”If a space is Difficult Terrain, every foot of movement in that space costs 1 extra foot.”
Or swimming? Or climbing? Both of which say basically the same thing.
While you’re swimming (climbing), each foot of movement costs 1 extra foot (2 extra feet in Difficult Terrain).
On a grid what you’re saying about 5’ makes sense. But as wagnarokkr points out, not everyone uses a grid. Some folks use tape measures or even theater of the mind, and don’t move in 5’ increments.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
"When this arrow strikes its target, conjuration magic creates grasping, poisonous brambles, which wrap around the target. The creature hit by the arrow takes an extra 2d6 poison damage, its speed is reduced by 10 feet, and it takes 2d6 slashing damage the first time on each turn it moves 1 foot or more without teleporting. The target or any creature that can reach it can use its action to remove the brambles with a successful Strength (Athletics) check against your Arcane Shot save DC. Otherwise, the brambles last for 1 minute or until you use this option again.
The poison damage and slashing damage both increase to 4d6 when you reach 18th level in this class."
Ok does this only tick damage when the bad guy actually moves? or is it anytime the bad guy makes any kind of movement? ( like attacking).
Why in the verbiage does it mention 1 foot of movement? How does it want us to use this?
Ok
Dad, Husband, Teacher, Nerd
The feature is worded specifically to inflict the slashing damage when there is actual movement involved, as technically in D&D you do not "move" when attacking.
As for your second question, I believe the "1 foot" is simply to make sure it triggers for any kind of actual movement the target might make, and yes, in case it was a doubt, if would be ANY movement the target would do, willing or forced, but only once in a turn.
Hope this helps.
Born in Italy, moved a bunch, living in Spain, my heart always belonged to Roleplaying Games
probably worded that way to allow forced movement to trigger the effect.
If i recall, normally forced movement doesnt trigger "on movement" effects. I could be wrong though.
LeK is correct. The use of "...if the target willingly moves..." in Booming Blade prompted a lot of questions about what is meant by "moves." The "moves 1 foot" wording is much clearer because it unambiguously refers to displacement.
Grasping Arrow doesn't care if the target was moved by someone else.
The Forum Infestation (TM)
How does one normally move 1’ on a 5’x5’ grid?
Grid movement is an optional rule in D&D.
pronouns: he/she/they
Ok…so what other mechanic mentions a movement of 1’ that we can use as a comparison?
I haven’t seen anything distance that wasn’t a multiple of 5’ until this mechanic.
How is…
”The creature hit by the arrow takes an extra 2d6 poison damage, its speed is reduced by 10 feet, and it takes 2d6 slashing damage the first time on each turn it moves 1 foot or more without teleporting.”
functionally different to…
”The creature hit by the arrow takes an extra 2d6 poison damage, its speed is reduced by 10 feet, and it takes 2d6 slashing damage the first time on each turn it moves 5 feet or more without teleporting.”?
The argument seems to be that using 1’ versus 5’ is how it is differentiated between “against will movement” versus “at will movement.”
I'm not going to speculate on what the people who posted in this thread six years ago were thinking in that regard. Just pointing out that it's possible to move distances that aren't multiples of five feet.
pronouns: he/she/they
So you haven’t seen the rules for difficult terrain?
”If a space is Difficult Terrain, every foot of movement in that space costs 1 extra foot.”
Or swimming? Or climbing? Both of which say basically the same thing.
While you’re swimming (climbing), each foot of movement costs 1 extra foot (2 extra feet in Difficult Terrain).
On a grid what you’re saying about 5’ makes sense. But as wagnarokkr points out, not everyone uses a grid. Some folks use tape measures or even theater of the mind, and don’t move in 5’ increments.