At 10th level, you become a master of locking down your enemies. Creatures provoke an opportunity attack from you when they move 5 feet or more while within your reach, and if you hit a creature with an opportunity attack, the target's speed is reduced to 0 until the end of the current turn.
I have a weapon with reach, target approaches me attempting to move adjacent to me, would the opportunity attack fire in the 10 foot range or 5 foot range? Would a lance have to make the roll with disadvantage? Would his now movement speed of 0 leave him out of range for hitting with a 5 foot reach?
This seems similar to issue with Booming Blade and GFB. They state 5ft but I believe it was amended to rely on the range of the weapon. I feel like this would fall into the same category.
Could be read either way, but the way I see it, the rules on normal opportunity attack specify that the attack happens before the creature leaves your reach, the rules for hold the line do not specify and so default to the rules of reactions happening after their triggers. This means that the attack would happen after the first 5 ft they move after entering your reach. If they are headed toward you, that means they will be adjacent.
This seems similar to issue with Booming Blade and GFB. They state 5ft but I believe it was amended to rely on the range of the weapon. I feel like this would fall into the same category.
The 5ft ranges stated in BB and GFB are explicit and Crawford has confirmed this in past tweets. The target of the spell has to be 5ft from you, the attack you make is part of the spell. If you have the Spell Sniper feat, these ranges extend out to 10ft. The secondary damage from GFB still has to be against someone 5ft from the first target.
For "Hold The Line", it doesn't list a numerical outer range, they specifically chose the words "within your reach", meaning a Cavalier wielding a polearm like a glaive or halberd could make the attack against someone standing two squares away who tries to circle the character.
At 10th level, you become a master of locking down your enemies. Creatures provoke an opportunity attack from you when they move 5 feet or more while within your reach, and if you hit a creature with an opportunity attack, the target's speed is reduced to 0 until the end of the current turn.
I have a weapon with reach, target approaches me attempting to move adjacent to me, would the opportunity attack fire in the 10 foot range or 5 foot range? Would a lance have to make the roll with disadvantage? Would his now movement speed of 0 leave him out of range for hitting with a 5 foot reach?
Let's tackle these one at a time. The general rule for Opportunity Attacks says the attack takes place just before the target leaves your reach, so if you're on a grid map I'd take that to mean just before it leaves the square it's currently occupying. So by those rules, if you're a Cavalier with a Reach weapon, and the enemy:
Is 15' out, moves to 10' out: Only triggers an AoO if you have Polearm Master.
Is 10' out, moves 5' to another square 10' out: triggers an AoO via Hold The Line
Is 10' out, moves 5' to a square 5' out: triggers an AoO via Hold The Line. Does NOT cause disadvantage with a Lance because AoO's seem to happen just before the target leaves their current square
Is 5' out, moves 5' anywhere: triggers an AoO via Hold The Line. DOES cause disadvantage with a Lance because the attack happens while the target is still in the square 5' away.
Is 10' out, moves 5' away from you: Triggers a standard AoO because they're leaving your reach.
And in ALL of those cases, if the AoO hits the target stays in their current square, NOT the one they were moving to. That's how I read it, at least.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
At 10th level, you become a master of locking down your enemies. Creatures provoke an opportunity attack from you when they move 5 feet or more while within your reach, and if you hit a creature with an opportunity attack, the target's speed is reduced to 0 until the end of the current turn.
I have a weapon with reach, target approaches me attempting to move adjacent to me, would the opportunity attack fire in the 10 foot range or 5 foot range? Would a lance have to make the roll with disadvantage? Would his now movement speed of 0 leave him out of range for hitting with a 5 foot reach?
This seems similar to issue with Booming Blade and GFB. They state 5ft but I believe it was amended to rely on the range of the weapon. I feel like this would fall into the same category.
Could be read either way, but the way I see it, the rules on normal opportunity attack specify that the attack happens before the creature leaves your reach, the rules for hold the line do not specify and so default to the rules of reactions happening after their triggers. This means that the attack would happen after the first 5 ft they move after entering your reach. If they are headed toward you, that means they will be adjacent.
The 5ft ranges stated in BB and GFB are explicit and Crawford has confirmed this in past tweets. The target of the spell has to be 5ft from you, the attack you make is part of the spell. If you have the Spell Sniper feat, these ranges extend out to 10ft. The secondary damage from GFB still has to be against someone 5ft from the first target.
For "Hold The Line", it doesn't list a numerical outer range, they specifically chose the words "within your reach", meaning a Cavalier wielding a polearm like a glaive or halberd could make the attack against someone standing two squares away who tries to circle the character.
Let's tackle these one at a time. The general rule for Opportunity Attacks says the attack takes place just before the target leaves your reach, so if you're on a grid map I'd take that to mean just before it leaves the square it's currently occupying. So by those rules, if you're a Cavalier with a Reach weapon, and the enemy:
Is 15' out, moves to 10' out: Only triggers an AoO if you have Polearm Master.
Is 10' out, moves 5' to another square 10' out: triggers an AoO via Hold The Line
Is 10' out, moves 5' to a square 5' out: triggers an AoO via Hold The Line. Does NOT cause disadvantage with a Lance because AoO's seem to happen just before the target leaves their current square
Is 5' out, moves 5' anywhere: triggers an AoO via Hold The Line. DOES cause disadvantage with a Lance because the attack happens while the target is still in the square 5' away.
Is 10' out, moves 5' away from you: Triggers a standard AoO because they're leaving your reach.
And in ALL of those cases, if the AoO hits the target stays in their current square, NOT the one they were moving to. That's how I read it, at least.