"On your turn, you can mentally command the echo to move up to 30 feet in any direction (no action required)" Also as stated in the first post it doesnt provoke opportunity attacks since it's not a creature.
How many times can I make it move during my turn? Can I break its movement between one or more attacks?
By what I understood, I could do it legit and that sounds pretty broken, considering there's no action required to make it move, and it doesn't provoke any opportunity attacks. Basically I could make my echo run among enemies like a pepega, spamming all my attacks, ignoring difficult terrain, opportunity attacks and gravity, until it finishes his 30ft movement. Is that right?
"On your turn, you can mentally command the echo to move up to 30 feet in any direction (no action required)" Also as stated in the first post it doesnt provoke opportunity attacks since it's not a creature.
How many times can I make it move during my turn? Can I break its movement between one or more attacks?
By what I understood, I could do it legit and that sounds pretty broken, considering there's no action required to make it move, and it doesn't provoke any opportunity attacks. Basically I could make my echo run among enemies like a pepega, spamming all my attacks, ignoring difficult terrain, opportunity attacks and gravity, until it finishes his 30ft movement. Is that right?
Yes that’s correct. It’s similar to spiritual weapon in that way.
Some more stuff that I dont think has been clarified.
What happens if the character has greater invisibility or is covered by the darkness spell and has devil sight and then the echo attacks someone with a melee or ranged attack (assuming the echo is outside the darkness spell and the target as well is using the darkness version)?
As far as I'd rule it, since the echo doesn't see on it's own, it doesn't. If something is within 10ft of your character you can see it and thus can attack it (through the echo if you want) and don't suffer any disadvantage (even if the echo is outside of your 10ft blind sight bubble).
If the PC can see the target in the darkness, then it would be an attack with advantage, whether taken from the echo or not. The echo never sees, only the PC does (except after level 7, but that's not in combat).
With regard to greater invisibility, the echo does not become invisible (IMHO)
Some more stuff that I dont think has been clarified.
What happens if the character has greater invisibility or is covered by the darkness spell and has devil sight and then the echo attacks someone with a melee or ranged attack (assuming the echo is outside the darkness spell and the target as well is using the darkness version)?
Do we get advantage on the attack?
Yes, you get advantage. You are still the one making the attack, and you are unseen. It doesn't matter if your echo is visible, just like it wouldn't matter if your Spiritual Weapon is visible.
As far as I'd rule it, since the echo doesn't see on it's own, it doesn't. If something is within 10ft of your character you can see it and thus can attack it (through the echo if you want) and don't suffer any disadvantage (even if the echo is outside of your 10ft blind sight bubble).
While the attack originates from the echo's position, you personally are still standing in your space. Think of the echo as a spiritual weapon or dancing sword. Therefore, if you personally can see the target, you don't suffer disadvantage. If the target is more than 10 feet away from you, but 10 feet from your echo, your blindsight does not effect the target.
Just started playing with an Echo Knight and love it! I found an issue than I haven't seen an answer here for.
Can the Echo Knight move the Echo to a location where he has no visibility? For example, can the Knight and the Echo move through different rooms (without a possible angle of sight)?
And if so, assuming the Knight has no perception or knowledge of what surrounds the echo, how would movement work and would the Knight know what is happening to the echo (for example, that it is being - unsuccessfully - attacked?)
Just started playing with an Echo Knight and love it! I found an issue than I haven't seen an answer here for.
Can the Echo Knight move the Echo to a location where he has no visibility? For example, can the Knight and the Echo move through different rooms (without a possible angle of sight)?
And if so, assuming the Knight has no perception or knowledge of what surrounds the echo, how would movement work and would the Knight know what is happening to the echo (for example, that it is being - unsuccessfully - attacked?)
Thank you!
No, you can only move the echo in line of sight of the pc, unless you're using the level 7 ability
I've seen a couple of posts here regarding teleporting while holding objects, carrying teammates, etc. that went unanswered. I am currently facing a platform puzzle (between sessions). Could my Knight hold a grappling hook and rope, have someone hang onto the other end of the rope, move the echo across a ravine or river (30') and then swap places taking the grapnel and rope with me or would the rope sever leaving me just holding the hook? Same with compatriots, if I am holding a stricken friend in my arms and bamf with the echo would they go with me?
I'm not trying to have the echo hold or do anything other than get into a position that allows me to swap with it while transporting an attached item or person.
The general ruling for teleportation is that you bring any objects that you are wearing or carrying. Otherwise you would show up naked whenever you teleported, which is pretty clearly not the intent. You cannot bring along other creatures unless the spell/feature explicitly says so.
The rope falls a bit more into a gray area. Strictly speaking, I would probably say no, your trick doesn't work. You definitely are not wearing the rope. As far as carrying it goes, its either all or nothing. You are either carrying the entire rope (in which case the entirety of it comes with you and can't stay attached to other things), or you are just holding onto part of the rope (in which case the entire rope is left behind). If you are talking about just the metal hook at the end of the grapple, you could either rule it as:
Intrinsically part of the rope, which makes it follow the all or nothing rule above.
A separate object that you are carrying, which just happens to be attached to a rope. In this case, the hook would teleport with you, but the rope itself is still left behind.
A DM can reasonably interpret things differently, but the above is a pretty consistent approach. I will note that it is perfectly legal for your Knight to take the entire rope + hook, teleport to the other side of the ravine with it, tie it off on his end, and then throw it back to his allies. Chucking a grappling hook 30 feet is pretty easy to do, especially for a fighter.
That was the backup option. I was just trying to simplify the experience and not rely on dice rolls where it ends up in the ravine or river. My DM and I were of the same belief that I couldn't have the rope play out to me and it would sever at the teleport, but was looking to the professionals for a ruling.
Presuming the enemy has full control over the character via something like dominate person, then yes: the knight can summon and use echoes against the party.
An echo is just an object - a tool that the knight has at his disposal.
Could an echo be used to help a knight onto a ledge? For example, knight jumps up, then uses their attack action from the echo to grapple the knight, boosting the knight up
"On your turn, you can mentally command the echo to move up to 30 feet in any direction (no action required)" Also as stated in the first post it doesnt provoke opportunity attacks since it's not a creature.
How many times can I make it move during my turn? Can I break its movement between one or more attacks?
By what I understood, I could do it legit and that sounds pretty broken, considering there's no action required to make it move, and it doesn't provoke any opportunity attacks.
Basically I could make my echo run among enemies like a pepega, spamming all my attacks, ignoring difficult terrain, opportunity attacks and gravity, until it finishes his 30ft movement. Is that right?
Yes that’s correct. It’s similar to spiritual weapon in that way.
Some more stuff that I dont think has been clarified.
What happens if the character has greater invisibility or is covered by the darkness spell and has devil sight and then the echo attacks someone with a melee or ranged attack (assuming the echo is outside the darkness spell and the target as well is using the darkness version)?
Do we get advantage on the attack?
Question to add to the list: How does "Blind Fighting" interact with the echo: https://www.dndbeyond.com/sources/tcoe/fighter#BlindFighting
As far as I'd rule it, since the echo doesn't see on it's own, it doesn't. If something is within 10ft of your character you can see it and thus can attack it (through the echo if you want) and don't suffer any disadvantage (even if the echo is outside of your 10ft blind sight bubble).
If the PC can see the target in the darkness, then it would be an attack with advantage, whether taken from the echo or not. The echo never sees, only the PC does (except after level 7, but that's not in combat).
With regard to greater invisibility, the echo does not become invisible (IMHO)
Yes, you get advantage. You are still the one making the attack, and you are unseen. It doesn't matter if your echo is visible, just like it wouldn't matter if your Spiritual Weapon is visible.
While the attack originates from the echo's position, you personally are still standing in your space. Think of the echo as a spiritual weapon or dancing sword. Therefore, if you personally can see the target, you don't suffer disadvantage. If the target is more than 10 feet away from you, but 10 feet from your echo, your blindsight does not effect the target.
Just started playing with an Echo Knight and love it! I found an issue than I haven't seen an answer here for.
Can the Echo Knight move the Echo to a location where he has no visibility? For example, can the Knight and the Echo move through different rooms (without a possible angle of sight)?
And if so, assuming the Knight has no perception or knowledge of what surrounds the echo, how would movement work and would the Knight know what is happening to the echo (for example, that it is being - unsuccessfully - attacked?)
Thank you!
No, you can only move the echo in line of sight of the pc, unless you're using the level 7 ability
Alright, thanks!
I've seen a couple of posts here regarding teleporting while holding objects, carrying teammates, etc. that went unanswered. I am currently facing a platform puzzle (between sessions). Could my Knight hold a grappling hook and rope, have someone hang onto the other end of the rope, move the echo across a ravine or river (30') and then swap places taking the grapnel and rope with me or would the rope sever leaving me just holding the hook? Same with compatriots, if I am holding a stricken friend in my arms and bamf with the echo would they go with me?
I'm not trying to have the echo hold or do anything other than get into a position that allows me to swap with it while transporting an attached item or person.
The general ruling for teleportation is that you bring any objects that you are wearing or carrying. Otherwise you would show up naked whenever you teleported, which is pretty clearly not the intent. You cannot bring along other creatures unless the spell/feature explicitly says so.
The rope falls a bit more into a gray area. Strictly speaking, I would probably say no, your trick doesn't work. You definitely are not wearing the rope. As far as carrying it goes, its either all or nothing. You are either carrying the entire rope (in which case the entirety of it comes with you and can't stay attached to other things), or you are just holding onto part of the rope (in which case the entire rope is left behind). If you are talking about just the metal hook at the end of the grapple, you could either rule it as:
A DM can reasonably interpret things differently, but the above is a pretty consistent approach. I will note that it is perfectly legal for your Knight to take the entire rope + hook, teleport to the other side of the ravine with it, tie it off on his end, and then throw it back to his allies. Chucking a grappling hook 30 feet is pretty easy to do, especially for a fighter.
That was the backup option. I was just trying to simplify the experience and not rely on dice rolls where it ends up in the ravine or river. My DM and I were of the same belief that I couldn't have the rope play out to me and it would sever at the teleport, but was looking to the professionals for a ruling.
Thank you
If a player is being controlled by the enemy, can they summon echos and would the echos still fight the party?
no, the echo is controlled by the PC, if the PC has currently switched sides, so would the echo
Presuming the enemy has full control over the character via something like dominate person, then yes: the knight can summon and use echoes against the party.
An echo is just an object - a tool that the knight has at his disposal.
my bad, i thought you meant would the echo fight on the side of the party.
I've got one question, can a Simulacrum have an echo?
Yes, a simulacrum can have an echo. Simulacrums are their own creatures, and they inherit all features from the original at the time of casting.
Could an echo be used to help a knight onto a ledge? For example, knight jumps up, then uses their attack action from the echo to grapple the knight, boosting the knight up
The echo is an object without a Strength score, so no.