These are the two questions from the start of this thread that can give some insight into your question. Can't change the numbers here, but they are actually #12 & 13 from the Attack section.
Q: Can a Knight attack a creature through his Echo if only the Echo has line-of-sight to that creature? Is there any penalty if the Knight can’t see the target? A: No by RAW, because the Echo has no "senses" without you using the level 7 ability. Thus an Echo cannot help a Knight see her target. (thanks @LeviRocks)
Q: If a creature has obscurement or cover from the Knight, but the Echo has a clear line-of-sight, is there any penalty to the attack if it originates from the Echo? A: No, because the attack would originate from a position that wouldn't have the cover. (thanks @LeviRocks)
Pretty much the echo is an object and does not have any senses, so it cannot be blinded. If the Fighter cannot see the enemy at all, then it can't attack it. Even if right in front of the Echo. The only time the Fighter can see through the Echo is using the 7th level Echo Avatar ability. Using the Echo sort of like a wizard's familiar you can see and hear through it up to 1000' away. But you cannot attack through it while using this ability.
My DM has been kind to me though. I chose Blind Fighting as my PC's Fighting Style. And he's allowed it to work when the echo was in darkness and not the Fighter. But RAW, it should not work.
A lot of these things can be DM dependent, but the word "you" (as in, the Knight themselves) does a lot of the heavy lifting in many of the Echo Knight features. Specific to the teleport switch, and taking a party member along with you, by RAW the rule reads as:
" As a bonus action you can teleport, magically swapping places with your echo at a cost of 15 ft. of your movement, regardless of the distance between the two of you. "
To me, as per RAW, this clearly implies that the switch is solely between yourself, and your Echo.
That said, an unconscious party member is technically an object, if memory serves. So, I could probably be convinced to allow it in a particularly relevant or dramatic moment; despite going against my own reading of RAW.
For RAI, your own mileage may vary depending on your particular DM and table, though I would argue that any DM would be quite generous to allow it. Even if the feature itself doesn't explicitly preclude the carrying of a human-sized object, for RAI, the Echo Knight's Echo/Teleport feature seems to share more similarities with spells like Misty Step, rather than say, Dimension Door.
EDIT: Elaborated on previous detail and added Beyond reference to feature quote.
Another scenario maybe covered sorry if I missed it.
A party member was down, I picked them up and then did the switch teleport. I could not see anywhere saying you can't do this?
The definition of teleportation in the 2024 Player's Handbook says that "if you're touching another creature when you teleport, that creature doesn't teleport with you unless the teleportation effect says otherwise", so it doesn't work under 2024 rules as written.
The 2014 rules lack a detailed definition of teleportation like this, but the fact that some teleportation effects (e.g. Dimension Door) explicitly say you can bring someone else along with you argues that that's not allowed with effects that don't explicitly say it is.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
pronouns: he/she/they
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Since the Echo Knight attacks as if it were in the echo's space, something like Darkness would impart the Blinded condition.
These are the two questions from the start of this thread that can give some insight into your question. Can't change the numbers here, but they are actually #12 & 13 from the Attack section.
A: No by RAW, because the Echo has no "senses" without you using the level 7 ability. Thus an Echo cannot help a Knight see her target. (thanks @LeviRocks)
A: No, because the attack would originate from a position that wouldn't have the cover. (thanks @LeviRocks)
Pretty much the echo is an object and does not have any senses, so it cannot be blinded. If the Fighter cannot see the enemy at all, then it can't attack it. Even if right in front of the Echo. The only time the Fighter can see through the Echo is using the 7th level Echo Avatar ability. Using the Echo sort of like a wizard's familiar you can see and hear through it up to 1000' away. But you cannot attack through it while using this ability.
My DM has been kind to me though. I chose Blind Fighting as my PC's Fighting Style. And he's allowed it to work when the echo was in darkness and not the Fighter. But RAW, it should not work.
Another scenario maybe covered sorry if I missed it.
A party member was down, I picked them up and then did the switch teleport. I could not see anywhere saying you can't do this?
A lot of these things can be DM dependent, but the word "you" (as in, the Knight themselves) does a lot of the heavy lifting in many of the Echo Knight features. Specific to the teleport switch, and taking a party member along with you, by RAW the rule reads as:
To me, as per RAW, this clearly implies that the switch is solely between yourself, and your Echo.
That said, an unconscious party member is technically an object, if memory serves. So, I could probably be convinced to allow it in a particularly relevant or dramatic moment; despite going against my own reading of RAW.
For RAI, your own mileage may vary depending on your particular DM and table, though I would argue that any DM would be quite generous to allow it. Even if the feature itself doesn't explicitly preclude the carrying of a human-sized object, for RAI, the Echo Knight's Echo/Teleport feature seems to share more similarities with spells like Misty Step, rather than say, Dimension Door.
EDIT: Elaborated on previous detail and added Beyond reference to feature quote.
Frequently flippant; sorry for being an apologist.
The definition of teleportation in the 2024 Player's Handbook says that "if you're touching another creature when you teleport, that creature doesn't teleport with you unless the teleportation effect says otherwise", so it doesn't work under 2024 rules as written.
The 2014 rules lack a detailed definition of teleportation like this, but the fact that some teleportation effects (e.g. Dimension Door) explicitly say you can bring someone else along with you argues that that's not allowed with effects that don't explicitly say it is.
pronouns: he/she/they