Can you use your Action to cast a spell that specifies it is cast as an Action, your Bonus Action to cast a spell that specifies it is cast as a Bonus Action, and your Reaction to cast a spell that specifies it is cast as a Reaction all in the same round?
Example: Fire Bolt cantrip as an Action, Expeditious Retreat as a Bonus Action, and Shield (from Mage Initiate feat) as a Reaction all in the same round?
If you cast a spell with a Bonus Action then per the rules regarding spellcasting the only other spell you can cast that turn is a cantrip with a casting time of 1 Action. This means no spells with your Reaction.
You are however free to cast a spell with your Action and your Reaction.
Once you cast a non cantrip spell with your Action you can no longer cast a spell with your Bonus Action.
Thanks for that info. Can you point me to where that is. Is it in PHB, DMG, elsewhere? I need to keep track of the reference so I don't forget and end up asking it again in another week. I'm just basically lazy and I get the answers so easily on the forums. But I really should learn where all this stuff is. Thanks again.
If you cast a spell with a Bonus Action then per the rules regarding spellcasting the only other spell you can cast that turn is a cantrip with a casting time of 1 Action. This means no spells with your Reaction.
You are however free to cast a spell with your Action and your Reaction.
Once you cast a non cantrip spell with your Action you can no longer cast a spell with your Bonus Action.
BTW, this was very helpful. It will help me plan my turns better and get the sequencing down. So it is cantrip, Expeditious Retreat. Then it is cantrip, reaction if needed, dash. I like it!
If you multi-class, you can cast a whole other spell for a fighter's action surge. This is because it is an extra action unattached to your normal action and bonus action restrictions.
I actually think 2 or more levels of fighter+Draconic sorceror is one of my favorite gish set ups.
If you cast a spell with a Bonus Action then per the rules regarding spellcasting the only other spell you can cast that turn is a cantrip with a casting time of 1 Action. This means no spells with your Reaction.
You are however free to cast a spell with your Action and your Reaction.
Once you cast a non cantrip spell with your Action you can no longer cast a spell with your Bonus Action.
Let's assume that a Spellcaster casts Absorb Elements as a reaction, then attacks with a melee weapon as an action and finally casts Flame Blade as a bonus action. Does this rule apply for the case mentioned above?
If you cast a spell with a Bonus Action then per the rules regarding spellcasting the only other spell you can cast that turn is a cantrip with a casting time of 1 Action. This means no spells with your Reaction.
You are however free to cast a spell with your Action and your Reaction.
Once you cast a non cantrip spell with your Action you can no longer cast a spell with your Bonus Action.
Let's assume that a Spellcaster casts Absorb Elements as a reaction, then attacks with a melee weapon as an action and finally casts Flame Blade as a bonus action. Does this rule apply for the case mentioned above?
As for the order in which you cast the spells, it wouldn't really matter, the limitations stay in same no matter the order. Otherwise, a Sorceror could cast fireball as an action and then quicken spell a fireball as a bonus action because they didn't do that first. There is no gaming it that way based on timing.
If you cast a spell with a Bonus Action then per the rules regarding spellcasting the only other spell you can cast that turn is a cantrip with a casting time of 1 Action. This means no spells with your Reaction.
You are however free to cast a spell with your Action and your Reaction.
Once you cast a non cantrip spell with your Action you can no longer cast a spell with your Bonus Action.
Let's assume that a Spellcaster casts Absorb Elements as a reaction, then attacks with a melee weapon as an action and finally casts Flame Blade as a bonus action. Does this rule apply for the case mentioned above?
As for the order in which you cast the spells, it wouldn't really matter, the limitations stay in same no matter the order. Otherwise, a Sorceror could cast fireball as an action and then quicken spell a fireball as a bonus action because they didn't do that first. There is no gaming it that way based on timing.
Noted. Thanks for the explanation. So I believe the sequence of reaction, action and bonus action I mentioned earlier were legal and acceptable.
If you cast a spell with a Bonus Action then per the rules regarding spellcasting the only other spell you can cast that turn is a cantrip with a casting time of 1 Action. This means no spells with your Reaction.
You are however free to cast a spell with your Action and your Reaction.
Once you cast a non cantrip spell with your Action you can no longer cast a spell with your Bonus Action.
Let's assume that a Spellcaster casts Absorb Elements as a reaction, then attacks with a melee weapon as an action and finally casts Flame Blade as a bonus action. Does this rule apply for the case mentioned above?
As for the order in which you cast the spells, it wouldn't really matter, the limitations stay in same no matter the order. Otherwise, a Sorceror could cast fireball as an action and then quicken spell a fireball as a bonus action because they didn't do that first. There is no gaming it that way based on timing.
#1 is incorrect (adding source for #2):
1) If you cast a bonus action spell, you cannot use your reaction during that turn. So you couldn’t quicken Fireball and Counterspell. The example they used is odd though - you can’t cast Absorb Elements with a reaction unless you meet the required reaction criteria: “when you take x damage”
2) Order doesn’t matter. Source from Xanathar Intro: “If you want to cast a spell that has a casting time of 1 bonus action, remember that you can’t cast any other spells before or after it on the same turn, except for cantrips with a casting time of 1 action”
If you cast a spell with a Bonus Action then per the rules regarding spellcasting the only other spell you can cast that turn is a cantrip with a casting time of 1 Action. This means no spells with your Reaction.
You are however free to cast a spell with your Action and your Reaction.
Once you cast a non cantrip spell with your Action you can no longer cast a spell with your Bonus Action.
Let's assume that a Spellcaster casts Absorb Elements as a reaction, then attacks with a melee weapon as an action and finally casts Flame Blade as a bonus action. Does this rule apply for the case mentioned above?
As for the order in which you cast the spells, it wouldn't really matter, the limitations stay in same no matter the order. Otherwise, a Sorceror could cast fireball as an action and then quicken spell a fireball as a bonus action because they didn't do that first. There is no gaming it that way based on timing.
#1 is incorrect (adding source for #2):
1) If you cast a bonus action spell, you cannot use your reaction during that turn. So you couldn’t quicken Fireball and Counterspell. The example they used is odd though - you can’t cast Absorb Elements with a reaction unless you meet the required reaction criteria: “when you take x damage”
2) Order doesn’t matter. Source from Xanathar Intro: “If you want to cast a spell that has a casting time of 1 bonus action, remember that you can’t cast any other spells before or after it on the same turn, except for cantrips with a casting time of 1 action”
@Brewksy, The PC received lightning damage first and cast 'Absorb Elements' as a reaction. Reaction takes place in another player's turn, so my DM allowed it.
Basically, the core action of the turn was 'Attack', followed by a bonus action 'Cast a spell''. That would make the actions perfectly fine.
Great conversation. Thanks for all of the insights.
It appears that the answer is that a character can cast a cantrip and a bonus action spell in the same turn given the info from Xanathar. The observation that a reaction isn't (typically) in the character's own turn answers the question about reaction well enough that strange outliers probably can be handled on a case-by-case by the DM.
It is theoretically possible to be faced with a reaction opportunity in your own turn. Here is a scenario:
a. Your character casts a cantrip doing damage to a target
b. The target has access to spells and casts Hellish Rebuke
c. Your character is now entitled to a reaction because it will take damage, but note it is still all in your character's turn (in this case perhaps wanting to cast Absorb Elements)
d. Your character is *still* entitled to a bonus action (perhaps taken *before* the action used for the cantrip)
The point here is that it is possible for your character to have all three opportunities in their same turn -- action, bonus action, and reaction.
My original question is whether my character *can* use a spell in all 3 "action" bits (action, bonus action, reaction) all on the same turn if that situation arises. I understand what has been posted about cantrip only in conjunction with a bonus action. And I understand what has been posted that either action or bonus action with reaction. But could a spell of some type (cantrip or higher) be cast in all three situations?
I'm not sure why it would be disallowed but there is often a difference between RAI and RAW. And there's always the "it is too uncommon for us to have set a fixed rule."
My only thought is that if it is possible to deal damage with a spell from all three "actions" then it might be that there's a reason to disallow that. I mean a max cantrip + max Hellish Rebuke + maxed (I don't know, seems most bonus action spells don't directly deal damage or do so only on weapon attacks) might be just too much.
And I understand what has been posted that either action or bonus action with reaction. But could a spell of some type (cantrip or higher) be cast in all three situations?
Yes. Your PC can cast a spell as a reaction, then it is possible to cast a 'Cantrip' as an action and finally the PC can cast a spell as a bonus action.
And I understand what has been posted that either action or bonus action with reaction. But could a spell of some type (cantrip or higher) be cast in all three situations?
Yes. Your PC can cast a spell as a reaction, then it is possible to cast a 'Cantrip' as an action and finally the PC can cast a spell as a bonus action.
And I understand what has been posted that either action or bonus action with reaction. But could a spell of some type (cantrip or higher) be cast in all three situations?
Yes. Your PC can cast a spell as a reaction, then it is possible to cast a 'Cantrip' as an action and finally the PC can cast a spell as a bonus action.
No.
If you cast a Bonus Action spell on your turn, the only other spell you can cast on your turn is a Cantrip as an Action. The following examples illustrate:
1) If you use an Action to cast Fire Bolt and then Absorb Elements as a reaction to an enemy Hellish Rebuke, you cannot cast a Bonus Action spell as it would break the rule.
2) If you use an Action to cast Fireball and then Counterspell as a reaction to an enemy Hellish Rebuke, you cannot cast a Bonus Action spell as it would break the rule.
3) If you use a Bonus Action to Misty Step and someone Counterspells it, you cannot Counterspell that Counterspell because it would break the rule.
4) If you use an Action to cast Fireball, you can Counterspell the Counterspell. You then cannot use a Bonus Action because it would break the rule.
5) If you use a Bonus Action to cast a Quickened Fireball, you cannot Counterspell the Counterspell. You could still cast a Firebolt that turn however.
6) You could use a Bonus Action to cast a Quickened Fireball, an Action to Firebolt, and an Action Surge Action to cast another Firebolt. But you still couldn’t use Counterspell at all during this turn.
The rule is maybe(?) more easily understood in THREE distinct parts:
A) You cannot cast ANY spell (except an Action Cantrip) after you cast a Bonus Action spell, on your turn.
B) You cannot cast ANY Bonus Action spell after you cast a leveled spell with your Action.
C) You cannot cast ANY Bonus Action spell after you cast any spell with your Reaction.
This rule allows you to (on your turn):
1) Quickened Metamagic BA Fireball and Action Firebolt. Does not break rule because Action is a Cantrip Spell.
2) Action Fireball and Action Surge Fireball, Reaction Counterspell. Does not even use Bonus Actions so does not break rule.
I've seen the reference used to support cantrip and bonus spell. What is the reference for spell action and reaction? Is it possible that we are making an assumption based on the cantrip/bonus spell wording to exclude reaction when that is not explicitly stated? Is it by inference or are there specific parts of source books that explicitly state that only, ever, can a character get off 2 spells in a single turn?
Edit: Nevermind. It is right there in the section on spell casting under the sub-topic of Bonus Action. You cannot cast another spell along with one cast as a bonus action unless it is a Cantrip cast as an Action.
So, it is always and definitively Action (Cantrip) + Bonus Action (Bonus Spell) OR it is Action (any spell) + Reaction (Reaction Spell). It can never be Bonus Action (Bonus Spell) + Reaction (Reaction Spell) and it can never be Action + Bonus Action + Reaction on the same turn.
Can you use your Action to cast a spell that specifies it is cast as an Action, your Bonus Action to cast a spell that specifies it is cast as a Bonus Action, and your Reaction to cast a spell that specifies it is cast as a Reaction all in the same round?
Example: Fire Bolt cantrip as an Action, Expeditious Retreat as a Bonus Action, and Shield (from Mage Initiate feat) as a Reaction all in the same round?
If you cast a spell with a Bonus Action then per the rules regarding spellcasting the only other spell you can cast that turn is a cantrip with a casting time of 1 Action. This means no spells with your Reaction.
You are however free to cast a spell with your Action and your Reaction.
Once you cast a non cantrip spell with your Action you can no longer cast a spell with your Bonus Action.
Thanks for that info. Can you point me to where that is. Is it in PHB, DMG, elsewhere? I need to keep track of the reference so I don't forget and end up asking it again in another week. I'm just basically lazy and I get the answers so easily on the forums. But I really should learn where all this stuff is. Thanks again.
BTW, this was very helpful. It will help me plan my turns better and get the sequencing down. So it is cantrip, Expeditious Retreat. Then it is cantrip, reaction if needed, dash. I like it!
I don't really have time to dig for it in the books right now but you can find the rule right here on DND Beyond:
https://www.dndbeyond.com/sources/basic-rules/spellcasting
Go to the Casting a Spell part.
If you multi-class, you can cast a whole other spell for a fighter's action surge. This is because it is an extra action unattached to your normal action and bonus action restrictions.
I actually think 2 or more levels of fighter+Draconic sorceror is one of my favorite gish set ups.
Excellent! I'd read that before but somehow skipped over the relevant information. Locked in now. So thank you very much.
Let's assume that a Spellcaster casts Absorb Elements as a reaction, then attacks with a melee weapon as an action and finally casts Flame Blade as a bonus action. Does this rule apply for the case mentioned above?
InkedBee (Undead_Analyst)
Covetous, Dragonish Thoughts - Jenviel Tsumara: Fallen Aasimar- Monk|Crimson Sands of Time - Navarra Iltazyara: Human- Druid/Warlock| Bleak Prospect - Ermasnietsz: Reborn- Clockwork Soul Sorcerer
First off, its largely agreed that you can still use your reaction to cast a spell on your turn. It'd be a pretty niche thing saved for counterspell, but it can be done. https://dnd.wizards.com/articles/sage-advice/ability-check
As for the order in which you cast the spells, it wouldn't really matter, the limitations stay in same no matter the order. Otherwise, a Sorceror could cast fireball as an action and then quicken spell a fireball as a bonus action because they didn't do that first. There is no gaming it that way based on timing.
Noted. Thanks for the explanation. So I believe the sequence of reaction, action and bonus action I mentioned earlier were legal and acceptable.
InkedBee (Undead_Analyst)
Covetous, Dragonish Thoughts - Jenviel Tsumara: Fallen Aasimar- Monk|Crimson Sands of Time - Navarra Iltazyara: Human- Druid/Warlock| Bleak Prospect - Ermasnietsz: Reborn- Clockwork Soul Sorcerer
#1 is incorrect (adding source for #2):
1) If you cast a bonus action spell, you cannot use your reaction during that turn. So you couldn’t quicken Fireball and Counterspell. The example they used is odd though - you can’t cast Absorb Elements with a reaction unless you meet the required reaction criteria: “when you take x damage”
2) Order doesn’t matter. Source from Xanathar Intro: “If you want to cast a spell that has a casting time of 1 bonus action, remember that you can’t cast any other spells before or after it on the same turn, except for cantrips with a casting time of 1 action”
@Brewksy, The PC received lightning damage first and cast 'Absorb Elements' as a reaction. Reaction takes place in another player's turn, so my DM allowed it.
Basically, the core action of the turn was 'Attack', followed by a bonus action 'Cast a spell''. That would make the actions perfectly fine.
InkedBee (Undead_Analyst)
Covetous, Dragonish Thoughts - Jenviel Tsumara: Fallen Aasimar- Monk|Crimson Sands of Time - Navarra Iltazyara: Human- Druid/Warlock| Bleak Prospect - Ermasnietsz: Reborn- Clockwork Soul Sorcerer
Great conversation. Thanks for all of the insights.
It appears that the answer is that a character can cast a cantrip and a bonus action spell in the same turn given the info from Xanathar. The observation that a reaction isn't (typically) in the character's own turn answers the question about reaction well enough that strange outliers probably can be handled on a case-by-case by the DM.
Thanks again.
It is theoretically possible to be faced with a reaction opportunity in your own turn. Here is a scenario:
a. Your character casts a cantrip doing damage to a target
b. The target has access to spells and casts Hellish Rebuke
c. Your character is now entitled to a reaction because it will take damage, but note it is still all in your character's turn (in this case perhaps wanting to cast Absorb Elements)
d. Your character is *still* entitled to a bonus action (perhaps taken *before* the action used for the cantrip)
The point here is that it is possible for your character to have all three opportunities in their same turn -- action, bonus action, and reaction.
My original question is whether my character *can* use a spell in all 3 "action" bits (action, bonus action, reaction) all on the same turn if that situation arises. I understand what has been posted about cantrip only in conjunction with a bonus action. And I understand what has been posted that either action or bonus action with reaction. But could a spell of some type (cantrip or higher) be cast in all three situations?
I'm not sure why it would be disallowed but there is often a difference between RAI and RAW. And there's always the "it is too uncommon for us to have set a fixed rule."
My only thought is that if it is possible to deal damage with a spell from all three "actions" then it might be that there's a reason to disallow that. I mean a max cantrip + max Hellish Rebuke + maxed (I don't know, seems most bonus action spells don't directly deal damage or do so only on weapon attacks) might be just too much.
Yes. Your PC can cast a spell as a reaction, then it is possible to cast a 'Cantrip' as an action and finally the PC can cast a spell as a bonus action.
InkedBee (Undead_Analyst)
Covetous, Dragonish Thoughts - Jenviel Tsumara: Fallen Aasimar- Monk|Crimson Sands of Time - Navarra Iltazyara: Human- Druid/Warlock| Bleak Prospect - Ermasnietsz: Reborn- Clockwork Soul Sorcerer
All on my character's turn?
No.
If you cast a Bonus Action spell on your turn, the only other spell you can cast on your turn is a Cantrip as an Action. The following examples illustrate:
1) If you use an Action to cast Fire Bolt and then Absorb Elements as a reaction to an enemy Hellish Rebuke, you cannot cast a Bonus Action spell as it would break the rule.
2) If you use an Action to cast Fireball and then Counterspell as a reaction to an enemy Hellish Rebuke, you cannot cast a Bonus Action spell as it would break the rule.
3) If you use a Bonus Action to Misty Step and someone Counterspells it, you cannot Counterspell that Counterspell because it would break the rule.
4) If you use an Action to cast Fireball, you can Counterspell the Counterspell. You then cannot use a Bonus Action because it would break the rule.
5) If you use a Bonus Action to cast a Quickened Fireball, you cannot Counterspell the Counterspell. You could still cast a Firebolt that turn however.
6) You could use a Bonus Action to cast a Quickened Fireball, an Action to Firebolt, and an Action Surge Action to cast another Firebolt. But you still couldn’t use Counterspell at all during this turn.
The rule is maybe(?) more easily understood in THREE distinct parts:
A) You cannot cast ANY spell (except an Action Cantrip) after you cast a Bonus Action spell, on your turn.
B) You cannot cast ANY Bonus Action spell after you cast a leveled spell with your Action.
C) You cannot cast ANY Bonus Action spell after you cast any spell with your Reaction.
This rule allows you to (on your turn):
1) Quickened Metamagic BA Fireball and Action Firebolt. Does not break rule because Action is a Cantrip Spell.
2) Action Fireball and Action Surge Fireball, Reaction Counterspell. Does not even use Bonus Actions so does not break rule.
I've seen the reference used to support cantrip and bonus spell. What is the reference for spell action and reaction? Is it possible that we are making an assumption based on the cantrip/bonus spell wording to exclude reaction when that is not explicitly stated? Is it by inference or are there specific parts of source books that explicitly state that only, ever, can a character get off 2 spells in a single turn?
Edit: Nevermind. It is right there in the section on spell casting under the sub-topic of Bonus Action. You cannot cast another spell along with one cast as a bonus action unless it is a Cantrip cast as an Action.
So, it is always and definitively Action (Cantrip) + Bonus Action (Bonus Spell) OR it is Action (any spell) + Reaction (Reaction Spell). It can never be Bonus Action (Bonus Spell) + Reaction (Reaction Spell) and it can never be Action + Bonus Action + Reaction on the same turn.
That should close this thread.
A simple way to remember is Bonus Action spell with cantrip or no Bonus Action spell with non cantrips.