Simple it does not say it does. If it does then it would have wording for it much like the Moon Sickle or the Staff of Power.
This. The rules do only what they say they do. The OP's semantics trying to extrapolate something that isn't there is exactly why rules lawyers have a bad name.
Even if hypothetically the hit with applied to spells(which it doesn't) eldritch blast does not use material components so its not using the focus to hit with.
Even if hypothetically the hit with applied to spells(which it doesn't) eldritch blast does not use material components so its not using the focus to hit with.
A hand with a material component, including a spellcasting focus, can perform somatic components (PH, 203)
I admit its a weaker part of the argument, with spells that do not have any material component.
It would still work RAW with doing an eldritch smite through eldritch blast while holding the weapon in the same hand you do the somatic component with, because of how vague "hit a creature with your pact weapon" is, as opposed to the very specific "melee weapon attack" required by the Paladin's smite, which points out 2 specific qualifiers.
It does not work on any level, but even if it could on a general level, even if you are holding the focus in the hand that makes the somatic component, you are not using it. The focus is not used at all for a eldritch blast.
Even if hypothetically the hit with applied to spells(which it doesn't) eldritch blast does not use material components so its not using the focus to hit with.
A hand with a material component, including a spellcasting focus, can perform somatic components (PH, 203)
I admit its a weaker part of the argument, with spells that do not have any material component.
It would still work RAW with doing an eldritch smite through eldritch blast while holding the weapon in the same hand you do the somatic component with, because of how vague "hit a creature with your pact weapon" is, as opposed to the very specific "melee weapon attack" required by the Paladin's smite, which points out 2 specific qualifiers.
I'll also note that the SAC clearly says that while a hand holding a material component can perform somatic components, that does not work in reverse. If a spell doesn't have a material component, the hand must be free per the rules for somatic components.
You think that "hit a creature with your pact weapon" is vague?? Now, if you cast Catapult using your pact weapon as the thing being thrown, then you maaaaaay have a leg to stand on. But thinking "I cast a spell using my pact weapon as a focus" constitutes hitting someone with your pact weapon takes some extreme mental gymnastics.
Your other argument stating that the hand holding your pact weapon doing somatic components qualifies you for the +1 would be like saying that you can apply poison to a Fireball because you were holding a vial of it in your hand when you cast. You're stepping beyond the point of arguing in good faith and just grasping at straws to make your definitely not RAW, RAI, or even RAF munchkin-y idea hold water.
To the first point, the game's rules have strict language about attacks: melee vs ranged, weapon vs spell, and the definitions around unarmed strikes and natural weapons as weapon attacks lacking weapons. Where that language isn't used, the rules are vague. Exactly as in "+1 to its attack and damage rolls."
Hence why you can use sneak attack by making a spell attack through Magic Stone using a sling. You just need the ranged weapon involved, not making the attack as a weapon attack or supplying the damage. There is no stated requirements surrounding the exact nature of the attack.
To the second point, poison is quite specific about its applications, such as wyvern poison: "poison can be applied to weapons, ammunition, trap components, and other objects that deal piercing or slashing damage and remains potent until delivered through a wound or washed off. A creature that takes piercing or slashing damage from an object coated with the poison is exposed to its effects."
And Im curious what makes this a munchkiny idea? It only works with a pact weapon created by the feature, so it will always only be a +1. New items from Tasha's do the same thing more clearly (by heavily insinuating the generic +bonus only works on weapons, and giving an additional feature about bonuses to spells) with as much as +3 bonuses, as well as having other effects.
And if we are strict about SAC not allowing the focus to be used for the somatic component in spells like Eldritch Blast (which I find hilarious given how some of those dog piling me here went on a whole rant about how SAC isn't errata or binding in a thread that inspired this one) it would only apply to a few spell attacks available to the warlock.
Even the potential for Eldritch Smite through Eldritch Blast wouldn't be broken, since you can already do ranged pact weapon attacks with a bow pact weapon.
To the first point, the game's rules have strict language about attacks: melee vs ranged, weapon vs spell, and the definitions around unarmed strikes and natural weapons as weapon attacks lacking weapons. Where that language isn't used, the rules are vague. Exactly as in "+1 to its attack and damage rolls." Your words.
Improved Pact Weapon
Prerequisite: Pact of the Blade feature
You can use any weapon you summon with your Pact of the Blade feature as a spellcasting focus for your warlock spells.
In addition, the weapon gains a +1 bonus to its attack and damage rolls, unless it is a magic weapon that already has a bonus to those rolls.
Finally, the weapon you conjure can be a shortbow, longbow, light crossbow, or heavy crossbow.
Attack Rolls. As in, making an Attack (notice the capitalization...). As in the Attack Action.
Not casting a spell. As in the Cast a Spell Action.
End of conversation.
Now, like I said. You do you... it's your table. But this conversation should be done and dusted.
To the first point, the game's rules have strict language about attacks: melee vs ranged, weapon vs spell, and the definitions around unarmed strikes and natural weapons as weapon attacks lacking weapons. Where that language isn't used, the rules are vague. Exactly as in "+1 to its attack and damage rolls." Your words.
Improved Pact Weapon
Prerequisite: Pact of the Blade feature
You can use any weapon you summon with your Pact of the Blade feature as a spellcasting focus for your warlock spells.
In addition, the weapon gains a +1 bonus to its attack and damage rolls, unless it is a magic weapon that already has a bonus to those rolls.
Finally, the weapon you conjure can be a shortbow, longbow, light crossbow, or heavy crossbow.
Attack Rolls. As in, making an Attack (notice the capitalization...). As in the Attack Action.
Not casting a spell. As in the Cast a Spell Action.
End of conversation.
Now, like I said. You do you... it's your table. But this conversation should be done and dusted.
So spell attacks do not exist? Or do they also somehow use the attack action?
A lot of good counterpoints have been made in this thread, but that was not one of them.
The weapon gains +1 to attack and damage rolls. It doesn't do anything for your spells. Even if you're using the weapon as a focus for the M/S components of a spell, you're not attacking with the weapon when you cast the spell so it's a moot point. Unless a spell or ability specifically says to make a spell attack with a weapon I wouldn't allow this in the games I run.
To the first point, the game's rules have strict language about attacks: melee vs ranged, weapon vs spell, and the definitions around unarmed strikes and natural weapons as weapon attacks lacking weapons. Where that language isn't used, the rules are vague. Exactly as in "+1 to its attack and damage rolls." Your words.
Improved Pact Weapon
Prerequisite: Pact of the Blade feature
You can use any weapon you summon with your Pact of the Blade feature as a spellcasting focus for your warlock spells.
In addition, the weapon gains a +1 bonus to its attack and damage rolls, unless it is a magic weapon that already has a bonus to those rolls.
Finally, the weapon you conjure can be a shortbow, longbow, light crossbow, or heavy crossbow.
Attack Rolls. As in, making an Attack (notice the capitalization...). As in the Attack Action.
Not casting a spell. As in the Cast a Spell Action.
End of conversation.
Now, like I said. You do you... it's your table. But this conversation should be done and dusted.
So spell attacks do not exist? Or do they also somehow use the attack action?
A lot of good counterpoints have been made in this thread, but that was not one of them.
Ok... I guess it's time to get remedial.
Let's look at Actions. Here's a list, from the Player's Handbook.
Actions in Combat
When you take your action on your turn, you can take one of the actions presented here, an action you gained from your class or a special feature, or an action that you improvise. Many monsters have action options of their own in their stat blocks.
When you describe an action not detailed elsewhere in the rules, the DM tells you whether that action is possible and what kind of roll you need to make, if any, to determine success or failure.
Attack
The most common action to take in combat is the Attack action, whether you are swinging a sword, firing an arrow from a bow, or brawling with your fists.
With this action, you make one melee or ranged attack. See the "Making an Attack" section for the rules that govern attacks.
Certain features, such as the Extra Attack feature of the fighter, allow you to make more than one attack with this action.
Cast a Spell
Spellcasters such as wizards and clerics, as well as many monsters, have access to spells and can use them to great effect in combat. Each spell has a casting time, which specifies whether the caster must use an action, a reaction, minutes, or even hours to cast the spell. Casting a spell is, therefore, not necessarily an action. Most spells do have a casting time of 1 action, so a spellcaster often uses his or her action in combat to cast such a spell. See chapter 10 for the rules on spellcasting.
Dash
When you take the Dash action, you gain extra movement for the current turn. The increase equals your speed, after applying any modifiers. With a speed of 30 feet, for example, you can move up to 60 feet on your turn if you dash.
Any increase or decrease to your speed changes this additional movement by the same amount. If your speed of 30 feet is reduced to 15 feet, for instance, you can move up to 30 feet this turn if you dash.
Disengage
If you take the Disengage action, your movement doesn't provoke opportunity attacks for the rest of the turn.
Dodge
When you take the Dodge action, you focus entirely on avoiding attacks. Until the start of your next turn, any attack roll made against you has disadvantage if you can see the attacker, and you make Dexterity saving throws with advantage. You lose this benefit if you are incapacitated or if your speed drops to 0.
Help
You can lend your aid to another creature in the completion of a task. When you take the Help action, the creature you aid gains advantage on the next ability check it makes to perform the task you are helping with, provided that it makes the check before the start of your next turn.
Alternatively, you can aid a friendly creature in attacking a creature within 5 feet of you. You feint, distract the target, or in some other way team up to make your ally's attack more effective. If your ally attacks the target before your next turn, the first attack roll is made with advantage.
Hide
When you take the Hide action, you make a Dexterity (Stealth) check in an attempt to hide, following the rules for hiding. If you succeed, you gain certain benefits, as described in the "Unseen Attackers and Targets" section later in this chapter.
Ready
Sometimes you want to get the jump on a foe or wait for a particular circumstance before you act. To do so, you can take the Ready action on your turn, which lets you act using your reaction before the start of your next turn.
First, you decide what perceivable circumstance will trigger your reaction. Then, you choose the action you will take in response to that trigger, or you choose to move up to your speed in response to it. Examples include "If the cultist steps on the trapdoor, I'll pull the lever that opens it," and "If the goblin steps next to me, I move away."
When the trigger occurs, you can either take your reaction right after the trigger finishes or ignore the trigger.
When you ready a spell, you cast it as normal but hold its energy, which you release with your reaction when the trigger occurs. To be readied, a spell must have a casting time of 1 action, and holding onto the spell's magic requires concentration (explained in chapter 10). If your concentration is broken, the spell dissipates without taking effect. For example, if you are concentrating on the web spell and ready magic missile, your web spell ends, and if you take damage before you release magic missile with your reaction, your concentration might be broken.
Search
When you take the Search action, you devote your attention to finding something. Depending on the nature of your search, the DM might have you make a Wisdom (Perception) check or an Intelligence (Investigation) check.
Use an Object
You normally interact with an object while doing something else, such as when you draw a sword as part of an attack. When an object requires your action for its use, you take the Use an Object action. This action is also useful when you want to interact with more than one object on your turn.
Hmmmm.... No "Spell Attacks."
Let's look at the above mentioned Chapter 10. I'd suggest reading the entire chapter a few times, but I'll post the relevant sections here:
Casting a Spell
When a character casts any spell, the same basic rules are followed, regardless of the character's class or the spell's effects.
Each spell description in Chapter 11 begins with a block of information, including the spell's name, level, school of magic, casting time, range, components, and duration. The rest of a spell entry describes the spell's effect.
Casting Time
Most spells require a single action to cast, but some spells require a bonus action, a reaction, or much more time to cast.
Bonus Action
A spell cast with a bonus action is especially swift. You must use a bonus action on your turn to cast the spell, provided that you haven't already taken a bonus action this turn. You can't cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action.
Reactions
Some spells can be cast as reactions. These spells take a fraction of a second to bring about and are cast in response to some event. If a spell can be cast as a reaction, the spell description tells you exactly when you can do so.
Longer Casting Times
Certain spells (including spells cast as rituals) require more time to cast: minutes or even hours. When you cast a spell with a casting time longer than a single action or reaction, you must spend your action each turn casting the spell, and you must maintain your concentration while you do so. If your concentration is broken, the spell fails, but you don't expend a spell slot. If you want to try casting the spell again, you must start over.
Range
The target of a spell must be within the spell's range. For a spell like magic missile, the target is a creature. For a spell like fireball, the target is the point in space where the ball of fire erupts.
Most spells have ranges expressed in feet. Some spells can target only a creature (including you) that you touch. Other spells, such as the shield spell, affect only you. These spells have a range of self.
Spells that create cones or lines of effect that originate from you also have a range of self, indicating that the origin point of the spell's effect must be you (see “Areas of Effect” later in the this chapter).
Once a spell is cast, its effects aren't limited by its range, unless the spell's description says otherwise.
Components
A spell's components are the physical requirements you must meet in order to cast it. Each spell's description indicates whether it requires verbal (V), somatic (S), or material (M) components. If you can't provide one or more of a spell's components, you are unable to cast the spell.
Verbal (V)
Most spells require the chanting of mystic words. The words themselves aren't the source of the spell's power; rather, the particular combination of sounds, with specific pitch and resonance, sets the threads of magic in motion. Thus, a character who is gagged or in an area of silence, such as one created by the silence spell, can't cast a spell with a verbal component.
Somatic (S)
Spellcasting gestures might include a forceful gesticulation or an intricate set of gestures. If a spell requires a somatic component, the caster must have free use of at least one hand to perform these gestures.
Material (M)
Casting some spells requires particular objects, specified in parentheses in the component entry. A character can use a component pouch or a spellcasting focus (found in chapter 5, “Equipment”) in place of the components specified for a spell. But if a cost is indicated for a component, a character must have that specific component before he or she can cast the spell.
If a spell states that a material component is consumed by the spell, the caster must provide this component for each casting of the spell.
A spellcaster must have a hand free to access a spell's material components — or to hold a spellcasting focus — but it can be the same hand that he or she uses to perform somatic components.
Duration
A spell's duration is the length of time the spell persists. A duration can be expressed in rounds, minutes, hours, or even years. Some spells specify that their effects last until the spells are dispelled or destroyed.
Instantaneous
Many spells are instantaneous. The spell harms, heals, creates, or alters a creature or an object in a way that can't be dispelled, because its magic exists only for an instant.
Concentration
Some spells require you to maintain concentration in order to keep their magic active. If you lose concentration, such a spell ends.
If a spell must be maintained with concentration, that fact appears in its Duration entry, and the spell specifies how long you can concentrate on it. You can end concentration at any time (no action required).
Normal activity, such as moving and attacking, doesn't interfere with concentration. The following factors can break concentration:
Casting another spell that requires concentration. You lose concentration on a spell if you cast another spell that requires concentration. You can't concentrate on two spells at once.
Taking damage. Whenever you take damage while you are concentrating on a spell, you must make a Constitution saving throw to maintain your concentration. The DC equals 10 or half the damage you take, whichever number is higher. If you take damage from multiple sources, such as an arrow and a dragon's breath, you make a separate saving throw for each source of damage.
Being incapacitated or killed. You lose concentration on a spell if you are incapacitated or if you die.
The DM might also decide that certain environmental phenomena, such as a wave crashing over you while you're on a storm-tossed ship, require you to succeed on a DC 10 Constitution saving throw to maintain concentration on a spell.
Targets
A typical spell requires you to pick one or more targets to be affected by the spell's magic. A spell's description tells you whether the spell targets creatures, objects, or a point of origin for an area of effect (described below).
Unless a spell has a perceptible effect, a creature might not know it was targeted by a spell at all. An effect like crackling lightning is obvious, but a more subtle effect, such as an attempt to read a creature's thoughts, typically goes unnoticed, unless a spell says otherwise.
A Clear Path to the Target
To target something, you must have a clear path to it, so it can't be behind total cover.
If you place an area of effect at a point that you can't see and an obstruction, such as a wall, is between you and that point, the point of origin comes into being on the near side of that obstruction.
Targeting Yourself
If a spell targets a creature of your choice, you can choose yourself, unless the creature must be hostile or specifically a creature other than you. If you are in the area of effect of a spell you cast, you can target yourself.
Attack Rolls
Some spells require the caster to make an attack roll to determine whether the spell effect hits the intended target. Your attack bonus with a spell attack equals your spellcasting ability modifier + your proficiency bonus.
Most spells that require attack rolls involve ranged attacks. Remember that you have disadvantage on a ranged attack roll if you are within 5 feet of a hostile creature that can see you and that isn't incapacitated (see chapter 9).
And here we find "Spell Attacks." As in, an attack roll to determine whether the spell effect hits the intended target. Your attack bonus with a spell attack equals your spellcasting ability modifier + your proficiency bonus. Well. That's pretty clear.
But wait, you say, what about magic items that add to Spell Attack Rolls, like the Wand of the War Mage. Let's look at the text again:
While holding this wand, you gain a bonus to spell attack rolls determined by the wand’s rarity. In addition, you ignore half cover when making a spell attack.
That's pretty clear. Things in 5E do what they say they do, and nothing else.
Lastly, let's look at the text of Improved Pact Weapon, the crux of your argument:
Improved Pact Weapon
Prerequisite: Pact of the Blade feature
You can use any weapon you summon with your Pact of the Blade feature as a spellcasting focus for your warlock spells.
In addition, the weapon gains a +1 bonus to its attack and damage rolls, unless it is a magic weapon that already has a bonus to those rolls.
Finally, the weapon you conjure can be a shortbow, longbow, light crossbow, or heavy crossbow.
Hmmmm... absolutely nothing about Spell Attack rolls. Nothing about Spells at all - "it's attack and damage rolls," is in fact what it says.
Note above where it says "you gain a bonus to spell attack rolls" and below where it says "the weapon gains a bonus to its attack and damage rolls..."
Lastly, to address your 'question' above - 'Spell Attacks' as you call them, do in fact use the Cast a Spell Action. That's why your Fighter/Spellcaster multi-class character only gets to cast one spell per round (typically), instead of tossing around multiple spells per round when they get two attacks per Round. If they were 'attacks' in the Fighter sense of the word, you MIGHT have a leg to stand on... but they aren't. They are spells. Which are cast using the Cast a Spell Action. They use the spell attack roll to determine if they hit. 'Spell Attacks', as you call them, do not, in fact exist. There is no such thing as a 'Spell Attack'. There are Spell Attack ROLLS. It's not semantics.
And again - Now I'm done. You do you. Everyone else will likely do otherwise. My patience with this has reached an end.
This is three threads now about this nonsense:
https://www.dndbeyond.com/forums/dungeons-dragons-discussion/rules-game-mechanics/118438-is-a-spell-component-arcane-focus-used-in-the
https://www.dndbeyond.com/forums/dungeons-dragons-discussion/rules-game-mechanics/117601-can-a-spell-attack-benefit-from-extra-attack
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
At what point do these threads stop being legitimate and start being spam? I feel we have to be close to the threshold.
But, in short, yeah, OP is wrong, just like they were in the last thread, and the thread before that.
Yup... as I said earlier - the title says it all -
Dumb, definetly not RAI way to use Pact of the Blade Improved Pact Weapon
Just needs some small changes to the title. "Dumb, definitely not RAW, or RAI way to use Pact of the Blade and Improved Pact Weapon."
<Insert clever signature here>
An actual accurate thread title would by "My Homebrew way of using Pact of the Blade and Improved Pact Weapon."
Even if hypothetically the hit with applied to spells(which it doesn't) eldritch blast does not use material components so its not using the focus to hit with.
A hand with a material component, including a spellcasting focus, can perform somatic components (PH, 203)
I admit its a weaker part of the argument, with spells that do not have any material component.
It would still work RAW with doing an eldritch smite through eldritch blast while holding the weapon in the same hand you do the somatic component with, because of how vague "hit a creature with your pact weapon" is, as opposed to the very specific "melee weapon attack" required by the Paladin's smite, which points out 2 specific qualifiers.
It does not work on any level, but even if it could on a general level, even if you are holding the focus in the hand that makes the somatic component, you are not using it. The focus is not used at all for a eldritch blast.
I'll also note that the SAC clearly says that while a hand holding a material component can perform somatic components, that does not work in reverse. If a spell doesn't have a material component, the hand must be free per the rules for somatic components.
To the first point, the game's rules have strict language about attacks: melee vs ranged, weapon vs spell, and the definitions around unarmed strikes and natural weapons as weapon attacks lacking weapons. Where that language isn't used, the rules are vague. Exactly as in "+1 to its attack and damage rolls."
Hence why you can use sneak attack by making a spell attack through Magic Stone using a sling. You just need the ranged weapon involved, not making the attack as a weapon attack or supplying the damage. There is no stated requirements surrounding the exact nature of the attack.
To the second point, poison is quite specific about its applications, such as wyvern poison: "poison can be applied to weapons, ammunition, trap components, and other objects that deal piercing or slashing damage and remains potent until delivered through a wound or washed off. A creature that takes piercing or slashing damage from an object coated with the poison is exposed to its effects."
And Im curious what makes this a munchkiny idea? It only works with a pact weapon created by the feature, so it will always only be a +1. New items from Tasha's do the same thing more clearly (by heavily insinuating the generic +bonus only works on weapons, and giving an additional feature about bonuses to spells) with as much as +3 bonuses, as well as having other effects.
And if we are strict about SAC not allowing the focus to be used for the somatic component in spells like Eldritch Blast (which I find hilarious given how some of those dog piling me here went on a whole rant about how SAC isn't errata or binding in a thread that inspired this one) it would only apply to a few spell attacks available to the warlock.
Even the potential for Eldritch Smite through Eldritch Blast wouldn't be broken, since you can already do ranged pact weapon attacks with a bow pact weapon.
OK - I'll bite one more time.
To the first point, the game's rules have strict language about attacks: melee vs ranged, weapon vs spell, and the definitions around unarmed strikes and natural weapons as weapon attacks lacking weapons. Where that language isn't used, the rules are vague. Exactly as in "+1 to its attack and damage rolls." Your words.
Improved Pact Weapon
Prerequisite: Pact of the Blade feature
You can use any weapon you summon with your Pact of the Blade feature as a spellcasting focus for your warlock spells.
In addition, the weapon gains a +1 bonus to its attack and damage rolls, unless it is a magic weapon that already has a bonus to those rolls.
Finally, the weapon you conjure can be a shortbow, longbow, light crossbow, or heavy crossbow.
Attack Rolls. As in, making an Attack (notice the capitalization...). As in the Attack Action.
Not casting a spell. As in the Cast a Spell Action.
End of conversation.
Now, like I said. You do you... it's your table. But this conversation should be done and dusted.
So spell attacks do not exist? Or do they also somehow use the attack action?
A lot of good counterpoints have been made in this thread, but that was not one of them.
The weapon gains +1 to attack and damage rolls. It doesn't do anything for your spells. Even if you're using the weapon as a focus for the M/S components of a spell, you're not attacking with the weapon when you cast the spell so it's a moot point. Unless a spell or ability specifically says to make a spell attack with a weapon I wouldn't allow this in the games I run.
Ok... I guess it's time to get remedial.
Let's look at Actions. Here's a list, from the Player's Handbook.
Actions in Combat
When you take your action on your turn, you can take one of the actions presented here, an action you gained from your class or a special feature, or an action that you improvise. Many monsters have action options of their own in their stat blocks.
When you describe an action not detailed elsewhere in the rules, the DM tells you whether that action is possible and what kind of roll you need to make, if any, to determine success or failure.
Attack
The most common action to take in combat is the Attack action, whether you are swinging a sword, firing an arrow from a bow, or brawling with your fists.
With this action, you make one melee or ranged attack. See the "Making an Attack" section for the rules that govern attacks.
Certain features, such as the Extra Attack feature of the fighter, allow you to make more than one attack with this action.
Cast a Spell
Spellcasters such as wizards and clerics, as well as many monsters, have access to spells and can use them to great effect in combat. Each spell has a casting time, which specifies whether the caster must use an action, a reaction, minutes, or even hours to cast the spell. Casting a spell is, therefore, not necessarily an action. Most spells do have a casting time of 1 action, so a spellcaster often uses his or her action in combat to cast such a spell. See chapter 10 for the rules on spellcasting.
Dash
When you take the Dash action, you gain extra movement for the current turn. The increase equals your speed, after applying any modifiers. With a speed of 30 feet, for example, you can move up to 60 feet on your turn if you dash.
Any increase or decrease to your speed changes this additional movement by the same amount. If your speed of 30 feet is reduced to 15 feet, for instance, you can move up to 30 feet this turn if you dash.
Disengage
If you take the Disengage action, your movement doesn't provoke opportunity attacks for the rest of the turn.
Dodge
When you take the Dodge action, you focus entirely on avoiding attacks. Until the start of your next turn, any attack roll made against you has disadvantage if you can see the attacker, and you make Dexterity saving throws with advantage. You lose this benefit if you are incapacitated or if your speed drops to 0.
Help
You can lend your aid to another creature in the completion of a task. When you take the Help action, the creature you aid gains advantage on the next ability check it makes to perform the task you are helping with, provided that it makes the check before the start of your next turn.
Alternatively, you can aid a friendly creature in attacking a creature within 5 feet of you. You feint, distract the target, or in some other way team up to make your ally's attack more effective. If your ally attacks the target before your next turn, the first attack roll is made with advantage.
Hide
When you take the Hide action, you make a Dexterity (Stealth) check in an attempt to hide, following the rules for hiding. If you succeed, you gain certain benefits, as described in the "Unseen Attackers and Targets" section later in this chapter.
Ready
Sometimes you want to get the jump on a foe or wait for a particular circumstance before you act. To do so, you can take the Ready action on your turn, which lets you act using your reaction before the start of your next turn.
First, you decide what perceivable circumstance will trigger your reaction. Then, you choose the action you will take in response to that trigger, or you choose to move up to your speed in response to it. Examples include "If the cultist steps on the trapdoor, I'll pull the lever that opens it," and "If the goblin steps next to me, I move away."
When the trigger occurs, you can either take your reaction right after the trigger finishes or ignore the trigger.
When you ready a spell, you cast it as normal but hold its energy, which you release with your reaction when the trigger occurs. To be readied, a spell must have a casting time of 1 action, and holding onto the spell's magic requires concentration (explained in chapter 10). If your concentration is broken, the spell dissipates without taking effect. For example, if you are concentrating on the web spell and ready magic missile, your web spell ends, and if you take damage before you release magic missile with your reaction, your concentration might be broken.
Search
When you take the Search action, you devote your attention to finding something. Depending on the nature of your search, the DM might have you make a Wisdom (Perception) check or an Intelligence (Investigation) check.
Use an Object
You normally interact with an object while doing something else, such as when you draw a sword as part of an attack. When an object requires your action for its use, you take the Use an Object action. This action is also useful when you want to interact with more than one object on your turn.
Hmmmm.... No "Spell Attacks."
Let's look at the above mentioned Chapter 10. I'd suggest reading the entire chapter a few times, but I'll post the relevant sections here:
Casting a Spell
When a character casts any spell, the same basic rules are followed, regardless of the character's class or the spell's effects.
Each spell description in Chapter 11 begins with a block of information, including the spell's name, level, school of magic, casting time, range, components, and duration. The rest of a spell entry describes the spell's effect.
Casting Time
Most spells require a single action to cast, but some spells require a bonus action, a reaction, or much more time to cast.
Bonus Action
A spell cast with a bonus action is especially swift. You must use a bonus action on your turn to cast the spell, provided that you haven't already taken a bonus action this turn. You can't cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action.
Reactions
Some spells can be cast as reactions. These spells take a fraction of a second to bring about and are cast in response to some event. If a spell can be cast as a reaction, the spell description tells you exactly when you can do so.
Longer Casting Times
Certain spells (including spells cast as rituals) require more time to cast: minutes or even hours. When you cast a spell with a casting time longer than a single action or reaction, you must spend your action each turn casting the spell, and you must maintain your concentration while you do so. If your concentration is broken, the spell fails, but you don't expend a spell slot. If you want to try casting the spell again, you must start over.
Range
The target of a spell must be within the spell's range. For a spell like magic missile, the target is a creature. For a spell like fireball, the target is the point in space where the ball of fire erupts.
Most spells have ranges expressed in feet. Some spells can target only a creature (including you) that you touch. Other spells, such as the shield spell, affect only you. These spells have a range of self.
Spells that create cones or lines of effect that originate from you also have a range of self, indicating that the origin point of the spell's effect must be you (see “Areas of Effect” later in the this chapter).
Once a spell is cast, its effects aren't limited by its range, unless the spell's description says otherwise.
Components
A spell's components are the physical requirements you must meet in order to cast it. Each spell's description indicates whether it requires verbal (V), somatic (S), or material (M) components. If you can't provide one or more of a spell's components, you are unable to cast the spell.
Verbal (V)
Most spells require the chanting of mystic words. The words themselves aren't the source of the spell's power; rather, the particular combination of sounds, with specific pitch and resonance, sets the threads of magic in motion. Thus, a character who is gagged or in an area of silence, such as one created by the silence spell, can't cast a spell with a verbal component.
Somatic (S)
Spellcasting gestures might include a forceful gesticulation or an intricate set of gestures. If a spell requires a somatic component, the caster must have free use of at least one hand to perform these gestures.
Material (M)
Casting some spells requires particular objects, specified in parentheses in the component entry. A character can use a component pouch or a spellcasting focus (found in chapter 5, “Equipment”) in place of the components specified for a spell. But if a cost is indicated for a component, a character must have that specific component before he or she can cast the spell.
If a spell states that a material component is consumed by the spell, the caster must provide this component for each casting of the spell.
A spellcaster must have a hand free to access a spell's material components — or to hold a spellcasting focus — but it can be the same hand that he or she uses to perform somatic components.
Duration
A spell's duration is the length of time the spell persists. A duration can be expressed in rounds, minutes, hours, or even years. Some spells specify that their effects last until the spells are dispelled or destroyed.
Instantaneous
Many spells are instantaneous. The spell harms, heals, creates, or alters a creature or an object in a way that can't be dispelled, because its magic exists only for an instant.
Concentration
Some spells require you to maintain concentration in order to keep their magic active. If you lose concentration, such a spell ends.
If a spell must be maintained with concentration, that fact appears in its Duration entry, and the spell specifies how long you can concentrate on it. You can end concentration at any time (no action required).
Normal activity, such as moving and attacking, doesn't interfere with concentration. The following factors can break concentration:
The DM might also decide that certain environmental phenomena, such as a wave crashing over you while you're on a storm-tossed ship, require you to succeed on a DC 10 Constitution saving throw to maintain concentration on a spell.
Targets
A typical spell requires you to pick one or more targets to be affected by the spell's magic. A spell's description tells you whether the spell targets creatures, objects, or a point of origin for an area of effect (described below).
Unless a spell has a perceptible effect, a creature might not know it was targeted by a spell at all. An effect like crackling lightning is obvious, but a more subtle effect, such as an attempt to read a creature's thoughts, typically goes unnoticed, unless a spell says otherwise.
A Clear Path to the Target
To target something, you must have a clear path to it, so it can't be behind total cover.
If you place an area of effect at a point that you can't see and an obstruction, such as a wall, is between you and that point, the point of origin comes into being on the near side of that obstruction.
Targeting Yourself
If a spell targets a creature of your choice, you can choose yourself, unless the creature must be hostile or specifically a creature other than you. If you are in the area of effect of a spell you cast, you can target yourself.
Attack Rolls
Some spells require the caster to make an attack roll to determine whether the spell effect hits the intended target. Your attack bonus with a spell attack equals your spellcasting ability modifier + your proficiency bonus.
Most spells that require attack rolls involve ranged attacks. Remember that you have disadvantage on a ranged attack roll if you are within 5 feet of a hostile creature that can see you and that isn't incapacitated (see chapter 9).
And here we find "Spell Attacks." As in, an attack roll to determine whether the spell effect hits the intended target. Your attack bonus with a spell attack equals your spellcasting ability modifier + your proficiency bonus. Well. That's pretty clear.
But wait, you say, what about magic items that add to Spell Attack Rolls, like the Wand of the War Mage. Let's look at the text again:
While holding this wand, you gain a bonus to spell attack rolls determined by the wand’s rarity. In addition, you ignore half cover when making a spell attack.
That's pretty clear. Things in 5E do what they say they do, and nothing else.
Lastly, let's look at the text of Improved Pact Weapon, the crux of your argument:
Improved Pact Weapon
Prerequisite: Pact of the Blade feature
You can use any weapon you summon with your Pact of the Blade feature as a spellcasting focus for your warlock spells.
In addition, the weapon gains a +1 bonus to its attack and damage rolls, unless it is a magic weapon that already has a bonus to those rolls.
Finally, the weapon you conjure can be a shortbow, longbow, light crossbow, or heavy crossbow.
Hmmmm... absolutely nothing about Spell Attack rolls. Nothing about Spells at all - "it's attack and damage rolls," is in fact what it says.
Note above where it says "you gain a bonus to spell attack rolls" and below where it says "the weapon gains a bonus to its attack and damage rolls..."
Lastly, to address your 'question' above - 'Spell Attacks' as you call them, do in fact use the Cast a Spell Action. That's why your Fighter/Spellcaster multi-class character only gets to cast one spell per round (typically), instead of tossing around multiple spells per round when they get two attacks per Round. If they were 'attacks' in the Fighter sense of the word, you MIGHT have a leg to stand on... but they aren't. They are spells. Which are cast using the Cast a Spell Action. They use the spell attack roll to determine if they hit. 'Spell Attacks', as you call them, do not, in fact exist. There is no such thing as a 'Spell Attack'. There are Spell Attack ROLLS. It's not semantics.
And again - Now I'm done. You do you. Everyone else will likely do otherwise. My patience with this has reached an end.