I've got to say I don't like genie's wrath being tied to prof bonus. It should be tied to something which remains within the class.
Otherwise you can just 1 level dip genielock and get a free ever scaling damage boost without touching warlock again.
It's a cool ability though, and helps bladelocks keep up in combat.
Eh, it's fine. Hexblades gain the same thing, plus can crit on 19-20 and heal themselves when they kill the cursed target. Not to mention gaining shield, martial weapon and medium armor proficiencies and being able to use their weapon with CHA instead of STR or DEX. It's a much stronger choice for a level 1 dip.
Yeah hexblades also do the same thing... And it's near universally hated as it allowed them to be the ideal multiclass munchkin type character without any downsides for dipping them, as having prof scaling allows their class feature to keep gaining damage even when not taking levels of warlock anymore.
So the fact that hexlbades get something similar is a textbook example of why genielock should get the genie's wrath ability scaling from something else and not proficiency.
I've got no problem with it being based on proficiency bonus. Not every class needs to give you its goodies later, and if you are going to have a class that front-loads its features and works well for multiclassing, it might as well be the class requiring a pact with a sponsor to make it happen.
Thank you and keep in mind this is level 1 too XD I joined this game after their first session where the DM wanted no naturally flying plauers. Later discovered in a chase that started at the top of a multi story building I could do the same to get to ground floor by jumping off the roof with the same method. Had plenty of time to buff myself while waiting for the person running
Personally I'd rule NO to both Mage Hand and Unseen Servant, since the inside of the vessel is more of a pocket dimension... it's not as if you shrank and physically entered the bottle/lamp/ring/whatever. And AFAIC, both these spells specify that the creation has to stay within range, which suggests you can only use them while you're on the same plane of existence.
However, a spell like Find Familiar or even Conjure Elemental creates a companion that can go anywhere on its own, without being limited by range; you could give it instructions to follow once you got into the vessel, such as to carry it to a destination. I'd still be careful to treat the companion as if it was NOT actually nearby you (although as long as you maintained concentration, if needed, you'd still maintain control.)
All that said though, some DMs might be more lenient. If you're not already pretty sure they'd rule "no," you might want to just ask.
Personally, I'd rule that it worked, but that now you were trapped in the pocket dimension; "exiting" the vessel would just land you back beside the vessel... which is now in the pocket dimension. Your only way out would be a spell like Gate or Banishment, or possibly direct patron intervention (after a lengthy lecture about how dumb of an idea that was.)
Any time an unfathomably powerful entity sweeps in and offers godlike rewards in return for just a few teensy favors, it’s a scam. Unless it’s me. I’d never lie to you, reader dearest.
Hey all. Looking for some input on the class feature granted at lvl 6. More specifically, the flying speed of 30 during which you can hover. So, everyone in my party interprets this as solely a hover ability, in which I can still have a movement speed of 30, instead of being able to actually fly. I have not been able to find anywhere in forums or online in general where this is true. It’s always discussed as the ability to actually fly. Any help deciphering this would be greatly appreciated.
I read that as you can fly up to 30 feet INCLUDING the ability to hover if you wish. If it was JUST a hover, levitate would be more appropriate than fly.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Any time an unfathomably powerful entity sweeps in and offers godlike rewards in return for just a few teensy favors, it’s a scam. Unless it’s me. I’d never lie to you, reader dearest.
Hey all. Looking for some input on the class feature granted at lvl 6. More specifically, the flying speed of 30 during which you can hover. So, everyone in my party interprets this as solely a hover ability, in which I can still have a movement speed of 30, instead of being able to actually fly. I have not been able to find anywhere in forums or online in general where this is true. It’s always discussed as the ability to actually fly. Any help deciphering this would be greatly appreciated.
The relevant text of the feature says this:
"In addition, as a bonus action, you can give yourself a flying speed of 30 feet that lasts for 10 minutes, during which you can hover."
This is pretty straightforward... it CLEARLY says that you get a flying speed. Period.
That means it at least acts like any other flying speed. Like the one given by Winged Boots, or the one given by the Fly spell. Each of those simply gives the wearer/target a flying speed. So if those let you simply, literally, fly, then this feature does the same, because there's no difference in phrasing.
Now, the additional phrase, "during which you can hover," is exactly that--additional. It doesn't say "however, you can only hover," and thereby reduce the functionality of the previous statement. It literally says "during which"--as in, WHILE YOU ARE FLYING--"you can hover." This phrase ADDS TO the previous statement, and actually makes it a stronger version of most other means of flight, since most of those DO NOT add the ability to hover.
Again, this is crystal clear, and pretty straightforward. Unless the bulk of your party has a hard time parsing English (which, to be fair, is not uncommon,) it sounds like they might just be resistant to you flying for some other reason, and aren't wanting to just come out and say it. But by RAW--yes, you can actually fly, just like you can under the Fly spell.
Hey all. Looking for some input on the class feature granted at lvl 6. More specifically, the flying speed of 30 during which you can hover. So, everyone in my party interprets this as solely a hover ability, in which I can still have a movement speed of 30, instead of being able to actually fly. I have not been able to find anywhere in forums or online in general where this is true. It’s always discussed as the ability to actually fly. Any help deciphering this would be greatly appreciated.
The relevant text of the feature says this:
"In addition, as a bonus action, you can give yourself a flying speed of 30 feet that lasts for 10 minutes, during which you can hover."
This is pretty straightforward... it CLEARLY says that you get a flying speed. Period.
That means it at least acts like any other flying speed. Like the one given by Winged Boots, or the one given by the Fly spell. Each of those simply gives the wearer/target a flying speed. So if those let you simply, literally, fly, then this feature does the same, because there's no difference in phrasing.
Now, the additional phrase, "during which you can hover," is exactly that--additional. It doesn't say "however, you can only hover," and thereby reduce the functionality of the previous statement. It literally says "during which"--as in, WHILE YOU ARE FLYING--"you can hover." This phrase ADDS TO the previous statement, and actually makes it a stronger version of most other means of flight, since most of those DO NOT add the ability to hover.
Again, this is crystal clear, and pretty straightforward. Unless the bulk of your party has a hard time parsing English (which, to be fair, is not uncommon,) it sounds like they might just be resistant to you flying for some other reason, and aren't wanting to just come out and say it. But by RAW--yes, you can actually fly, just like you can under the Fly spell.
Exactly the correct interpretation. The phrase "during which" makes the phrase immediately following dependent on the actions performed in the phrase immediately preceding. Your party is wrong - plain and simple. Genielock at 6th level can fly AND hover.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Yeah hexblades also do the same thing... And it's near universally hated as it allowed them to be the ideal multiclass munchkin type character without any downsides for dipping them, as having prof scaling allows their class feature to keep gaining damage even when not taking levels of warlock anymore.
So the fact that hexlbades get something similar is a textbook example of why genielock should get the genie's wrath ability scaling from something else and not proficiency.
I've got no problem with it being based on proficiency bonus. Not every class needs to give you its goodies later, and if you are going to have a class that front-loads its features and works well for multiclassing, it might as well be the class requiring a pact with a sponsor to make it happen.
Sterling - V. Human Bard 3 (College of Art) - [Pic] - [Traits] - in Bards: Dragon Heist (w/ Mansion) - Jasper's [Pic] - Sterling's [Sigil]
Tooltips Post (2024 PHB updates) - incl. General Rules
>> New FOW threat & treasure tables: fow-advanced-threat-tables.pdf fow-advanced-treasure-table.pdf
Thank you and keep in mind this is level 1 too XD I joined this game after their first session where the DM wanted no naturally flying plauers. Later discovered in a chase that started at the top of a multi story building I could do the same to get to ground floor by jumping off the roof with the same method. Had plenty of time to buff myself while waiting for the person running
Could a genie warlock be in their vessel while an unseen servant or mage hand carried them
Personally I'd rule NO to both Mage Hand and Unseen Servant, since the inside of the vessel is more of a pocket dimension... it's not as if you shrank and physically entered the bottle/lamp/ring/whatever. And AFAIC, both these spells specify that the creation has to stay within range, which suggests you can only use them while you're on the same plane of existence.
However, a spell like Find Familiar or even Conjure Elemental creates a companion that can go anywhere on its own, without being limited by range; you could give it instructions to follow once you got into the vessel, such as to carry it to a destination. I'd still be careful to treat the companion as if it was NOT actually nearby you (although as long as you maintained concentration, if needed, you'd still maintain control.)
All that said though, some DMs might be more lenient. If you're not already pretty sure they'd rule "no," you might want to just ask.
Sterling - V. Human Bard 3 (College of Art) - [Pic] - [Traits] - in Bards: Dragon Heist (w/ Mansion) - Jasper's [Pic] - Sterling's [Sigil]
Tooltips Post (2024 PHB updates) - incl. General Rules
>> New FOW threat & treasure tables: fow-advanced-threat-tables.pdf fow-advanced-treasure-table.pdf
Ok random question about the genielock...
What happens if you use the instant summons spell to summon the vessel while inside the vessel?
Bonus points if you then break the vessel while inside.
Sounds like a question for each DM to solve.
Personally, I'd rule that it worked, but that now you were trapped in the pocket dimension; "exiting" the vessel would just land you back beside the vessel... which is now in the pocket dimension. Your only way out would be a spell like Gate or Banishment, or possibly direct patron intervention (after a lengthy lecture about how dumb of an idea that was.)
Sterling - V. Human Bard 3 (College of Art) - [Pic] - [Traits] - in Bards: Dragon Heist (w/ Mansion) - Jasper's [Pic] - Sterling's [Sigil]
Tooltips Post (2024 PHB updates) - incl. General Rules
>> New FOW threat & treasure tables: fow-advanced-threat-tables.pdf fow-advanced-treasure-table.pdf
I'd just rule that the spell fizzles.
Any time an unfathomably powerful entity sweeps in and offers godlike rewards in return for just a few teensy favors, it’s a scam. Unless it’s me. I’d never lie to you, reader dearest.
Tasha
Spell fizzles seems like the most sensible and easy option. Though rod's idea sounds like it could be a lot of fun.
So far the answers I've got:
- Spell fails.
- Trapped forever unless you have plane shift or gate, reroll a new party.
- Trapped forever, but potential opportunity for a new quest via the patron.
- Dumped in the astral plane.
- Destruction of the entire multiverse.
The universe ends and a new, even weirder one begins.
Find your own truth, choose your enemies carefully, and never deal with a dragon.
"Canon" is what's factual to D&D lore. "Cannon" is what you're going to be shot with if you keep getting the word wrong.
Some stipulate that this has already happened.
Points for anyone who gets the reference, points cannot be redeemed in any way
Now then, what's the question?
Hey all. Looking for some input on the class feature granted at lvl 6. More specifically, the flying speed of 30 during which you can hover. So, everyone in my party interprets this as solely a hover ability, in which I can still have a movement speed of 30, instead of being able to actually fly. I have not been able to find anywhere in forums or online in general where this is true. It’s always discussed as the ability to actually fly. Any help deciphering this would be greatly appreciated.
I read that as you can fly up to 30 feet INCLUDING the ability to hover if you wish. If it was JUST a hover, levitate would be more appropriate than fly.
Any time an unfathomably powerful entity sweeps in and offers godlike rewards in return for just a few teensy favors, it’s a scam. Unless it’s me. I’d never lie to you, reader dearest.
Tasha
That’s what I was saying but I was in the minority
The relevant text of the feature says this:
This is pretty straightforward... it CLEARLY says that you get a flying speed. Period.
That means it at least acts like any other flying speed. Like the one given by Winged Boots, or the one given by the Fly spell. Each of those simply gives the wearer/target a flying speed. So if those let you simply, literally, fly, then this feature does the same, because there's no difference in phrasing.
Now, the additional phrase, "during which you can hover," is exactly that--additional. It doesn't say "however, you can only hover," and thereby reduce the functionality of the previous statement. It literally says "during which"--as in, WHILE YOU ARE FLYING--"you can hover." This phrase ADDS TO the previous statement, and actually makes it a stronger version of most other means of flight, since most of those DO NOT add the ability to hover.
Again, this is crystal clear, and pretty straightforward. Unless the bulk of your party has a hard time parsing English (which, to be fair, is not uncommon,) it sounds like they might just be resistant to you flying for some other reason, and aren't wanting to just come out and say it. But by RAW--yes, you can actually fly, just like you can under the Fly spell.
Sterling - V. Human Bard 3 (College of Art) - [Pic] - [Traits] - in Bards: Dragon Heist (w/ Mansion) - Jasper's [Pic] - Sterling's [Sigil]
Tooltips Post (2024 PHB updates) - incl. General Rules
>> New FOW threat & treasure tables: fow-advanced-threat-tables.pdf fow-advanced-treasure-table.pdf
Exactly the correct interpretation. The phrase "during which" makes the phrase immediately following dependent on the actions performed in the phrase immediately preceding. Your party is wrong - plain and simple. Genielock at 6th level can fly AND hover.