Hi gang - Longtime player ( over 30 years), short time 5e player ( 5 years)
So I have a question on ruling the Glyph of Warding. A player of mine wishes to cast Glyph of Warding ( perhaps several of them) on his own body. Specifically, an amulet, his backpack lock and spell book. Why? Because a few of the other party players are very greedy and, when a character dies, he has seen the players go berserk looting. They are evil.
Is it possible to rig your own body with glyphs, such as fireball or lightning to zap ne'er do wells who try to loot him? Also, taking it a step further, could he enchant the glyphs to heal himself if he dies?
Can only be placed in/on objects and solid surfaces.
If the glyph is moved more than 10 ft from the place it was cast - they fade away without triggering.
There is a spell, Contingency, that can be used in this way, to a degree. You can only have one contingency at a time and it can only effect yourself - but this could certainly be used to heal yourself is badly wounded or such as.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond. Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ thisFAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
Interesting point and definitely expected given the RAW. So what if the “range” is self? And the flat surface is that of a book or the back of an amulet? Would this be allowed?
I love contingency spell btw. Used it all the time in 2e but, alas, it is not available for a 6th level Wizard.
The range of self isn't an issue as the glyph will still target the creature that trigged it. The 10 ft rule still applies - if the surface or object is moved more than 10 ft from where the glyph was cast the glyphs fades without effect.
The are limited ways around this but it requires magic items like a portable hole (you and object get inside, you cast glyph spell, you can then leave and carry the portable hole around - when you want to trigger the glyph just go back into the portable hole) or high level magic like demiplane. However, still has limits and would not be suitable for what you are suggesting.
The only legit way to safeguard your belongings while still being able to have them with you is use a Leomund's Secret Chest. Even if they take the mini-chest, only you (the caster) can open it. So the contents are safe, even after death. And, no, you can't glyph the chest because the dismissal / summoning still breaks the 10 ft rule.
Beyond that you're square into homebrew territory.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond. Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ thisFAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Hi gang - Longtime player ( over 30 years), short time 5e player ( 5 years)
So I have a question on ruling the Glyph of Warding. A player of mine wishes to cast Glyph of Warding ( perhaps several of them) on his own body. Specifically, an amulet, his backpack lock and spell book. Why? Because a few of the other party players are very greedy and, when a character dies, he has seen the players go berserk looting. They are evil.
Is it possible to rig your own body with glyphs, such as fireball or lightning to zap ne'er do wells who try to loot him? Also, taking it a step further, could he enchant the glyphs to heal himself if he dies?
Thoughts?
Nope.
Can only be placed in/on objects and solid surfaces.
If the glyph is moved more than 10 ft from the place it was cast - they fade away without triggering.
There is a spell, Contingency, that can be used in this way, to a degree. You can only have one contingency at a time and it can only effect yourself - but this could certainly be used to heal yourself is badly wounded or such as.
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond.
Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ this FAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
Interesting point and definitely expected given the RAW. So what if the “range” is self? And the flat surface is that of a book or the back of an amulet? Would this be allowed?
I love contingency spell btw. Used it all the time in 2e but, alas, it is not available for a 6th level Wizard.
The range of self isn't an issue as the glyph will still target the creature that trigged it. The 10 ft rule still applies - if the surface or object is moved more than 10 ft from where the glyph was cast the glyphs fades without effect.
The are limited ways around this but it requires magic items like a portable hole (you and object get inside, you cast glyph spell, you can then leave and carry the portable hole around - when you want to trigger the glyph just go back into the portable hole) or high level magic like demiplane. However, still has limits and would not be suitable for what you are suggesting.
The only legit way to safeguard your belongings while still being able to have them with you is use a Leomund's Secret Chest. Even if they take the mini-chest, only you (the caster) can open it. So the contents are safe, even after death. And, no, you can't glyph the chest because the dismissal / summoning still breaks the 10 ft rule.
Beyond that you're square into homebrew territory.
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond.
Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ this FAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.