Haste gives you the ability to make one additional weapon attack. Nothing else in it is of note here. Since bladesinger’s extra attack is not one weapon attack (it is, rather, a replacement for the attack action) then it is irrelevant. You are trying to describe some interaction between two different spells that do not interact through some intermediate that is not involved. It only takes a small amount of reading comprehension to realize that a spell isn’t a weapon attack, and the extra attack feature doesn’t change that.
Again, wren, if your abject failure to understand the rules leads you to think that someone who can understand them doesn’t have English as a first language, I think that is unrelated to this issue.
Haste gives you the ability to make one additional weapon attack. Nothing else in it is of note here. Since bladesinger’s extra attack is not one weapon attack (it is, rather, a replacement for the attack action) then it is irrelevant. You are trying to describe some interaction between two different spells that do not interact through some intermediate that is not involved. It only takes a small amount of reading comprehension to realize that a spell isn’t a weapon attack, and the extra attack feature doesn’t change that.
I have stated my own position at least three different times. I explicitly stated repeatedly that I do not believe that every time a person casts a spell, it counts as an attack. And almost right after I repeat myself on the point YET AGAIN, I'm accused of believing that every time a person casts a spell, it counts as an attack.
That legitimately raises questions about language mastery.
As I understand it, a weapon attack is an attack made by a weapon.
Booming Blade very explicitcly says it is an attack made by a weapon.
You brandish the weapon used in the spell’s casting and make a melee attack with it against one creature within 5 feet of you. On a hit, the target suffers the weapon attack’s normal effects and then becomes sheathed in booming energy until the start of your next turn. If the target willingly moves 5 feet or more before then, the target takes 1d8 thunder damage, and the spell ends.
Here's a clue. Can you do the attack of a Booming Blade without a weapon? No. The use of the weapon in the attack is required. It is a weapon attack. The spell is ALSO a "cast a spell" attack, but nowhere do the rules state that an attack can't be BOTH a weapon attack AND a cast a spell attack.
Let me summarize. Casting a spell (booming blade) requires you to use the casting time that it states in its description (one action) and you are casting a spell for the duration of that casting time. It counts as casting a spell. The spell may require any number of other things (such as making a melee attack) as part of that casting.
But if you are asked what you’ve spent your action on, the answer is casting booming blade. If you cannot cast a spell for your action (for whatever reason) then you cannot cast booming blade, no matter what else is required of that spell.
Haste gives you the ability to make one additional weapon attack. Nothing else in it is of note here. Since bladesinger’s extra attack is not one weapon attack (it is, rather, a replacement for the attack action) then it is irrelevant. You are trying to describe some interaction between two different spells that do not interact through some intermediate that is not involved. It only takes a small amount of reading comprehension to realize that a spell isn’t a weapon attack, and the extra attack feature doesn’t change that.
I have stated my own position at least three different times. I explicitly stated repeatedly that I do not believe that every time a person casts a spell, it counts as an attack. And almost right after I repeat myself on the point YET AGAIN, I'm accused of believing that every time a person casts a spell, it counts as an attack.
That legitimately raises questions about language mastery.
Is booming blade a weapon attack? How do you understand that part?
Yes, booming blade is an attack because it requires an attack roll.
That does not mean that every time any spell is cast, it is an attack.
Is booming blade the attack action?
Can a straight fighter with magic initiate use booming blade as the attacks for their extra attack feature?
Now, define "weapon attack."
As I understand it, a weapon attack is an attack made by a weapon.
Booming Blade very explicitcly says it is an attack made by a weapon.
You brandish the weapon used in the spell’s casting and make a melee attack with it against one creature within 5 feet of you. On a hit, the target suffers the weapon attack’s normal effects and then becomes sheathed in booming energy until the start of your next turn. If the target willingly moves 5 feet or more before then, the target takes 1d8 thunder damage, and the spell ends.
Here's a clue. Can you do the attack of a Booming Blade without a weapon? No. The use of the weapon in the attack is required. It is a weapon attack. The spell is ALSO a "cast a spell" attack, but nowhere do the rules state that an attack can't be BOTH a weapon attack AND a cast a spell attack.
Do you understand that booming blade requiring you to make a weapon attack does not make booming blade itself a weapon attack? It is still a spell.
Do you understand that being a spell doesn't exclude it from being ALSO a weapon attack?
Then it is not a “weapon attack only” if it is both a weapon attack and a spell.
Haste states "That action can be used only to take the Attack (one weapon attack only)," The "only" modifies the "one".
Do you use the attack action when you cast booming blade?
The attack action and the casting are the same thing
Let me summarize. Casting a spell (booming blade) requires you to use the casting time that it states in its description (one action) and you are casting a spell for the duration of that casting time. It counts as casting a spell. The spell may require any number of other things (such as making a melee attack) as part of that casting.
But if you are asked what you’ve spent your action on, the answer is casting booming blade. If you cannot cast a spell for your action (for whatever reason) then you cannot cast booming blade, no matter what else is required of that spell.
No.This is a fundamental misunderstanding of the difference between attack and [Tooltip Not Found].
NOWHERE in RAW does it say what you are saying here
I mean those are literally two different links to sections of the rules.
You can read up on spellcasting too if you’d like. It explicitly states that for one action spells, you spend your action casting the spell.
There are two different sections, but NOWHERE do the rules ever say that an action can't be both a weapon attack and a cast a spell.
Lots of obvious things aren’t stated in the rules. If your argument is “it doesn’t tell me I can’t,” then there’s no help for you.
Nowhere in the rules does it say I can’t substitute my movement for a casting of wish.