The most common action to take in combat is the Attack action, whether you are swinging a sword, firing an arrow from a bow, or brawling with your fists.
With this action, you make one melee or ranged attack. See the "Making an Attack" section for the rules that govern attacks.
Certain features, such as the Extra Attack feature of the fighter, allow you to make more than one attack with this action.
Haste has a capitalized Attack, so it's referring to the action and not any old attack. Just because a spell might have an attack roll, that doesn't mean you are using the Attack action. The [Tooltip Not Found] action is the very next one in the chapter.
Cast a Spell
Spellcasters such as wizards and clerics, as well as many monsters, have access to spells and can use them to great effect in combat. Each spell has a casting time, which specifies whether the caster must use an action, a reaction, minutes, or even hours to cast the spell. Casting a spell is, therefore, not necessarily an action. Most spells do have a casting time of 1 action, so a spellcaster often uses his or her action in combat to cast such a spell.
If you'll notice, the game draws a distinction between weapon attacks (a paladin's Divine Smite) and spell attacks (scorching ray). You can even see it in creature stat blocks, like the ankheg and the banshee. And the wizard, after all, does have a spell attack modifier included in its Spellcasting feature.
Spell attack modifier = your proficiency bonus + your Intelligence modifier
I’m still waiting for any of you to quote a rule which says that casting a spell can’t be part of an attack action. Give book, page, and quite.
By the way you're choosing to look at Booming blade, it seems like you're saying that you can use Booming Blade with any weapon attack. So a Fighter could use Booming Blade with each of their extra attack features, basically letting them to do 16d8+(Modifier x4) worth of damage every turn if they were wielding a longsword. This seems silly that you would believe this to be the case. However, it seems more like willful obstinance at this point because you don't want to admit to being wrong twice, but here you go with links and such.
The first line of this section reads "When you take your action on your turn, you can take ONE of the actions presented here, an action you gained from your class or a special feature, or an action that you improvise." As you read further on the "Attack" action is a separate Action from the "Cast a Spell" action.
With the spell (Yes it is in fact a spell. If you want to argue that go look up what a cantrip is first) Booming Blade, "you brandish the weapon used in the spell’s casting and make a melee attack". This means that you've cast the spell first then you attack with a weapon, not make a weapon attack and then used booming blade with it such as you would with the Paladin's Smite.
As Haste does not allow you to use it's special action to "Cast a Spell", you are unable to use Booming Blade.
I’m still waiting for any of you to quote a rule which says that casting a spell can’t be part of an attack action. Give book, page, and quite.
[REDACTED] Direct Quotes under Actions in Combat.
Attack
The most common action to take in combat is the Attack action, whether you are swinging a sword, firing an arrow from a bow, or brawling with your fists.
With this action, you make one melee or ranged attack. See the "Making an Attack" section for the rules that govern attacks.
Certain features, such as the Extra Attack feature of the fighter, allow you to make more than one attack with this action.
Cast a Spell
Spellcasters such as wizards and clerics, as well as many monsters, have access to spells and can use them to great effect in combat. Each spell has a casting time, which specifies whether the caster must use an action, a reaction, minutes, or even hours to cast the spell. Casting a spell is, therefore, not necessarily an action. Most spells do have a casting time of 1 action, so a spellcaster often uses his or her action in combat to cast such a spell. See chapter 10 for the rules on spellcasting.
Notice how these are two different actions? That's how they are not the same thing. These are Two specifically different Actions under that section. Casting a Spell is not part of an Attack Action. It is it's own separate action.
When a character casts any spell, the same basic rules are followed, regardless of the character's class or the spell's effects.
Each spell description in Chapter 11 begins with a block of information, including the spell's name, level, school of magic, casting time, range, components, and duration. The rest of a spell entry describes the spell's effect.
This is a direct Copy from Chapter 10 on Casting a spell. When you combine the Bolded Section with the fact that Cast a Spell above is a completely different action from the Attack Action. Then there is only one result from this. Any attacks, Including Weapon Attacks, Are merely a function of a spell and not their own action. They Exist Entirely within the Cast a Spell Action unless spell specifies otherwise.
So this means something else on top of that. Not only does Haste's Specificity block the use of the cantrip on the haste action. But Booming Blade also blocks it because of it's generality. Which your willfully ignoring.
And just so I don't have to hear you say yet again "Give me a page number or your lying" in effect. I'm going to do you one better.
This is the Direct DDB link to the Chapter 9 Entry of Actions in Combat. But then I'm sure you'll give me "I don't have access to that!"
So you'll be interested to know that actions in Combat is Page 192, Half way down the left Hand column. With the Attack Action and Cast a Spell being the first two entries under that section.
And just as further proof beyond that. Let's look at Making an Attack on page 194.
Whether you're striking with a melee weapon, firing a weapon at range, or making an attack roll as part of a spell, an attack has a simple structure.
Let's note the Bolded Part here in it's first paragraph. Notice that it says Making an Attack Roll as part of a spell. This is important. Because this means that just because something is an attack and makes an attack roll that does not mean that it is necessarily part of the Attack Action. Because it specifically says as part of a Spell which is covered by Casting a Spell as seen above in the Actions in Combat Section.
The Reason Booming Blade Does Not work. Under any conditions. Even when that's what you specifically want to focus on. Is because it has nothing in it's specifics that allows it to work. It is bound by these general rules above. It does nothing special that breaks these rules to make it compatible with Haste. Not even the Blade Singer's Extra Attack Feature changes this. It is just a spell. The attack is just part of it's effect. Just like every other spell. The fact that the attack is made with a weapon is irrelevant. It's not even the only one to do this. What it does it not new. It does not have special interactions. It is just a spell. and it uses the Cast a Spell Action. Which the Haste spell does not allow. The Haste spell specifies the actions that can be taken with it. And limits on some of those actions. Booming Blade is never any of those actions. Nothing about it ever makes it one of those actions. In Primary function it is no different than a touch spell, except that it allows for "touching" with something other than your hand that just happens to be able to deal damage as well. That is all.
The bladesinger ability does indeed allow you to cast a spell using a attack action.
However haste overrides this by stating that the attack action can only be used to make a weapon attack, not a spell.
You may argue that bladesinger overrides this by stating it replaces a weapon attack; however I would say that it's the other way around, normally bladesinger allows you to cast a spell but haste overrides bladesinger's ability to do this, because you must make a weapon attack that cannot be replaced with a spell (otherwise it wouldn't be a weapon attack).
I say this because haste is a spell, which are naturally more specific than constantly on abilities, and that if haste overrides the other part of Bladesinger's extra attack (the you can attack twice bit), then it should override all of the bladesinger's extra attack (the replacing a attack with a spell)
However I, again, concede that it doesn't say which is more specific, I just believe this version makes far more sense than the alternative due to the reasons above.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
if I edit a message, most of the time it's because of grammar. The rest of the time I'll put "Edit:" at the bottom.
Huh. So, Wren, you are still trying to argue that a feature that modifies the attack action to allow you to cast a spell as part of your extra attacks turns all spells no matter what into attack actions? That is novel.
The bladesinger ability does indeed allow you to cast a spell using a attack action.
However haste overrides this by stating that the attack action can only be used to make a weapon attack, not a spell.
You may argue that bladesinger overrides this by stating it replaces a weapon attack; however I would say that it's the other way around, normally bladesinger allows you to cast a spell but haste overrides bladesinger's ability to do this, because you must make a weapon attack that cannot be replaced with a spell (otherwise it wouldn't be a weapon attack).
I say this because haste is a spell, which are naturally more specific than constantly on abilities, and that if haste overrides the other part of Bladesinger's extra attack (the you can attack twice bit), then it should override all of the bladesinger's extra attack (the replacing a attack with a spell)
However I, again, concede that it doesn't say which is more specific, I just believe this version makes far more sense than the alternative due to the reasons above.
And, not for the first time, I'll point out that if you want to be consistent, you also need to ban the Haste action from shoving or grappling. Both shoves and grapples use a special rule to replace a weapon attack (neither shove nor grapple is a weapon attack), just as the Bladesinger cantrip ability does. Either all three should work, or none of them should.
I explicitly said the opposite. Nevertheless, I'm glad to see whenever DnD is picked up by someone such as yourself whose native language isn't English.
Three things:
The books are all available in multiple languages.
You don't know whether anyone reads, speaks, or writes English as a first, second, or even third language.
If you're going to resort to insults, then I'm invoking Hanlon's razor and will treat you accordingly.
As we have all tried to tell you, it does not matter if a spell makes use of a weapon attack because you are casting a spell. [Tooltip Not Found] is its own action. It is wholly distinct from the Attack action. And it is the Attack that haste grants an additional use of. What's more, haste includes in parenthesis, "one weapon attack only." This means if someone has Extra Attack, they cannot benefit from it for this additional Attack.
We also know that spells which include weapon attacks are not only weapon attacks. They are something more. That something more is expressly prohibited by the spell. It doesn't matter if a spell, like booming blade, is an attack. It's not usable with this Attack. And there is a difference.
The bladesinger ability does indeed allow you to cast a spell using a attack action.
However haste overrides this by stating that the attack action can only be used to make a weapon attack, not a spell.
You may argue that bladesinger overrides this by stating it replaces a weapon attack; however I would say that it's the other way around, normally bladesinger allows you to cast a spell but haste overrides bladesinger's ability to do this, because you must make a weapon attack that cannot be replaced with a spell (otherwise it wouldn't be a weapon attack).
I say this because haste is a spell, which are naturally more specific than constantly on abilities, and that if haste overrides the other part of Bladesinger's extra attack (the you can attack twice bit), then it should override all of the bladesinger's extra attack (the replacing a attack with a spell)
However I, again, concede that it doesn't say which is more specific, I just believe this version makes far more sense than the alternative due to the reasons above.
And, not for the first time, I'll point out that if you want to be consistent, you also need to ban the Haste action from shoving or grappling. Both shoves and grapples use a special rule to replace a weapon attack (neither shove nor grapple is a weapon attack), just as the Bladesinger cantrip ability does. Either all three should work, or none of them should.
No. That's not how it works. Your talking about two entirely different abilities given by entirely different things. And I believe you've been told that in the thread. One rule allowing one thing does not mean that another rule allowing something else automatically mean that if one works that they all should work.
That being said. Shove and Grapple don't work. Haste specifically excludes them. So your argument doesn't matter anyway.
Haste gives you the ability to make one additional weapon attack. Nothing else in it is of note here. Since bladesinger’s extra attack is not one weapon attack (it is, rather, a replacement for the attack action) then it is irrelevant. You are trying to describe some interaction between two different spells that do not interact through some intermediate that is not involved. It only takes a small amount of reading comprehension to realize that a spell isn’t a weapon attack, and the extra attack feature doesn’t change that.
Let me summarize. Casting a spell (booming blade) requires you to use the casting time that it states in its description (one action) and you are casting a spell for the duration of that casting time. It counts as casting a spell. The spell may require any number of other things (such as making a melee attack) as part of that casting.
But if you are asked what you’ve spent your action on, the answer is casting booming blade. If you cannot cast a spell for your action (for whatever reason) then you cannot cast booming blade, no matter what else is required of that spell.
The Attack action is its own thing.
Haste has a capitalized Attack, so it's referring to the action and not any old attack. Just because a spell might have an attack roll, that doesn't mean you are using the Attack action. The [Tooltip Not Found] action is the very next one in the chapter.
If you'll notice, the game draws a distinction between weapon attacks (a paladin's Divine Smite) and spell attacks (scorching ray). You can even see it in creature stat blocks, like the ankheg and the banshee. And the wizard, after all, does have a spell attack modifier included in its Spellcasting feature.
[REDACTED]
By the way you're choosing to look at Booming blade, it seems like you're saying that you can use Booming Blade with any weapon attack. So a Fighter could use Booming Blade with each of their extra attack features, basically letting them to do 16d8+(Modifier x4) worth of damage every turn if they were wielding a longsword. This seems silly that you would believe this to be the case. However, it seems more like willful obstinance at this point because you don't want to admit to being wrong twice, but here you go with links and such.
Player's Handbook, Chapter 9, Actions in Combat. Here is the link.
The first line of this section reads "When you take your action on your turn, you can take ONE of the actions presented here, an action you gained from your class or a special feature, or an action that you improvise." As you read further on the "Attack" action is a separate Action from the "Cast a Spell" action.
With the spell (Yes it is in fact a spell. If you want to argue that go look up what a cantrip is first) Booming Blade, "you brandish the weapon used in the spell’s casting and make a melee attack". This means that you've cast the spell first then you attack with a weapon, not make a weapon attack and then used booming blade with it such as you would with the Paladin's Smite.
As Haste does not allow you to use it's special action to "Cast a Spell", you are unable to use Booming Blade.
[REDACTED] Direct Quotes under Actions in Combat.
Notice how these are two different actions? That's how they are not the same thing. These are Two specifically different Actions under that section. Casting a Spell is not part of an Attack Action. It is it's own separate action.
This is a direct Copy from Chapter 10 on Casting a spell. When you combine the Bolded Section with the fact that Cast a Spell above is a completely different action from the Attack Action. Then there is only one result from this. Any attacks, Including Weapon Attacks, Are merely a function of a spell and not their own action. They Exist Entirely within the Cast a Spell Action unless spell specifies otherwise.
So this means something else on top of that. Not only does Haste's Specificity block the use of the cantrip on the haste action. But Booming Blade also blocks it because of it's generality. Which your willfully ignoring.
And just so I don't have to hear you say yet again "Give me a page number or your lying" in effect. I'm going to do you one better.
Combat - Player's Handbook - Sources - D&D Beyond (dndbeyond.com)
This is the Direct DDB link to the Chapter 9 Entry of Actions in Combat. But then I'm sure you'll give me "I don't have access to that!"
So you'll be interested to know that actions in Combat is Page 192, Half way down the left Hand column. With the Attack Action and Cast a Spell being the first two entries under that section.
And just as further proof beyond that. Let's look at Making an Attack on page 194.
Again one, more, time.
The bladesinger ability does indeed allow you to cast a spell using a attack action.
However haste overrides this by stating that the attack action can only be used to make a weapon attack, not a spell.
You may argue that bladesinger overrides this by stating it replaces a weapon attack; however I would say that it's the other way around, normally bladesinger allows you to cast a spell but haste overrides bladesinger's ability to do this, because you must make a weapon attack that cannot be replaced with a spell (otherwise it wouldn't be a weapon attack).
I say this because haste is a spell, which are naturally more specific than constantly on abilities, and that if haste overrides the other part of Bladesinger's extra attack (the you can attack twice bit), then it should override all of the bladesinger's extra attack (the replacing a attack with a spell)
However I, again, concede that it doesn't say which is more specific, I just believe this version makes far more sense than the alternative due to the reasons above.
if I edit a message, most of the time it's because of grammar. The rest of the time I'll put "Edit:" at the bottom.
Huh. So, Wren, you are still trying to argue that a feature that modifies the attack action to allow you to cast a spell as part of your extra attacks turns all spells no matter what into attack actions? That is novel.
And, not for the first time, I'll point out that if you want to be consistent, you also need to ban the Haste action from shoving or grappling. Both shoves and grapples use a special rule to replace a weapon attack (neither shove nor grapple is a weapon attack), just as the Bladesinger cantrip ability does. Either all three should work, or none of them should.
Three things:
As we have all tried to tell you, it does not matter if a spell makes use of a weapon attack because you are casting a spell. [Tooltip Not Found] is its own action. It is wholly distinct from the Attack action. And it is the Attack that haste grants an additional use of. What's more, haste includes in parenthesis, "one weapon attack only." This means if someone has Extra Attack, they cannot benefit from it for this additional Attack.
We also know that spells which include weapon attacks are not only weapon attacks. They are something more. That something more is expressly prohibited by the spell. It doesn't matter if a spell, like booming blade, is an attack. It's not usable with this Attack. And there is a difference.
No. That's not how it works. Your talking about two entirely different abilities given by entirely different things. And I believe you've been told that in the thread. One rule allowing one thing does not mean that another rule allowing something else automatically mean that if one works that they all should work.
That being said. Shove and Grapple don't work. Haste specifically excludes them. So your argument doesn't matter anyway.
Haste gives you the ability to make one additional weapon attack. Nothing else in it is of note here. Since bladesinger’s extra attack is not one weapon attack (it is, rather, a replacement for the attack action) then it is irrelevant. You are trying to describe some interaction between two different spells that do not interact through some intermediate that is not involved. It only takes a small amount of reading comprehension to realize that a spell isn’t a weapon attack, and the extra attack feature doesn’t change that.
Is booming blade a weapon attack? How do you understand that part?
Is booming blade the attack action?
Can a straight fighter with magic initiate use booming blade as the attacks for their extra attack feature?
Do you understand that booming blade requiring you to make a weapon attack does not make booming blade itself a weapon attack? It is still a spell.
Then it is not a “weapon attack only” if it is both a weapon attack and a spell.
Do you use the attack action when you cast booming blade?
Let me summarize. Casting a spell (booming blade) requires you to use the casting time that it states in its description (one action) and you are casting a spell for the duration of that casting time. It counts as casting a spell. The spell may require any number of other things (such as making a melee attack) as part of that casting.
But if you are asked what you’ve spent your action on, the answer is casting booming blade. If you cannot cast a spell for your action (for whatever reason) then you cannot cast booming blade, no matter what else is required of that spell.
No.This is a fundamental misunderstanding of the difference between attack and [Tooltip Not Found].
I mean those are literally two different links to sections of the rules.
You can read up on spellcasting too if you’d like. It explicitly states that for one action spells, you spend your action casting the spell.
Lots of obvious things aren’t stated in the rules. If your argument is “it doesn’t tell me I can’t,” then there’s no help for you.
Nowhere in the rules does it say I can’t substitute my movement for a casting of wish.