hello all. Was wondering if anyone else is experiencing this bug (or am I bending a book rule too much).
The Rules
On pg 37 of the PH (all facts for this problem are found in the PH by the way) under forest gnomes and natural illusionist it states "You know the minor illusion cantrip. Intelligence is your spellcasting ability for it."
On pg 113, wizard level chart, you see that wizards start with 3 cantrips at level 1.
on pg 118, under school of illusion, improved minor illusion section it states "When you choose this school at 2nd level, you learn the minor illusion cantrip. If you already know this cantrip, you learn a different wizard can trip of your choice. The cantrip doesn't count against your number of cantrips known."
The Issue
When I create a forest gnome wizard with the arcane tradition "illusion", I do not get the option to add a fourth cantrip to my spells prepared list. The way I interpret this is that at 2nd level, I should be able to have 5 cantrips.
The Question
Am I reading this wrong? Am I trying to bend rules too much? Is this just an unencountered glitch with the web version of DnDBeyond character sheets?
The common workaround is to make a homebrewed version of the Forest Gnome and replace the named spell minor illusion with a Level designation of Cantrip and a Class designation of Wizard. Then swap your race to the homebrew and choose any Wiz cantrip you want.
hello all. Was wondering if anyone else is experiencing this bug (or am I bending a book rule too much).
The Rules
On pg 37 of the PH (all facts for this problem are found in the PH by the way) under forest gnomes and natural illusionist it states "You know the minor illusion cantrip. Intelligence is your spellcasting ability for it."
On pg 113, wizard level chart, you see that wizards start with 3 cantrips at level 1.
on pg 118, under school of illusion, improved minor illusion section it states "When you choose this school at 2nd level, you learn the minor illusion cantrip. If you already know this cantrip, you learn a different wizard can trip of your choice. The cantrip doesn't count against your number of cantrips known."
The Issue
When I create a forest gnome wizard with the arcane tradition "illusion", I do not get the option to add a fourth cantrip to my spells prepared list. The way I interpret this is that at 2nd level, I should be able to have 5 cantrips.
The Question
Am I reading this wrong? Am I trying to bend rules too much? Is this just an unencountered glitch with the web version of DnDBeyond character sheets?
"Believe in yourself, even if nobody else does." ~ Sasquatch
Yes, you should be allowed to add a different cantrip at Illusionist Wizard 2. This is a known issue with DDB.
Helpful rewriter of Japanese->English translation and delver into software codebases (she/e/they)
The common workaround is to make a homebrewed version of the Forest Gnome and replace the named spell minor illusion with a Level designation of Cantrip and a Class designation of Wizard. Then swap your race to the homebrew and choose any Wiz cantrip you want.
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting