Unless I misinterpreted the Eldritch Invocations rules, there is a bug in this feature explained in the title.
The level prerequisites for Eldritch Invocations talk about "levels", but not about "warlock levels". For instance, that would mean that if I am a 4th level warlock Pact of the Blade, 8th level warrior (12th level character), when I pass to level 13 I can gain a level in warlock and gain a new Elritch Invocation or change an existing one. In this case, I would expect that I could access Eldritch Invocations like Lifedrinker (prerequisite: 12th level, Pact of the Blade) or Minions of Chaos (prerequisite: 9th level).
Today, if building a multiclass character like that, we see in the list of Eldritch Invocations only those with pre-requisite up to 5th level, i.e. taking into account only the Warlock level, instead of the character level.
Is that a bug or it is normal and I just misinterpreted the rules?
No, the Eldritch Invocations are associated with the Warlock level, not the character level.
"At 2nd level, you gain two eldritch invocations of your choice. Your invocation options are detailed at the end of the class description. When you gain certain warlock levels, you gain additional invocations of your choice, as shown in the Invocations Known column of the Warlock table."
OK, thank you. I understand why this interpretation was implemented, although I still think the text is dubious and both interpretations are valid.
The text you quoted talks about the warlock levels in which we can choose new Eldritch invocations (2, 5, etc) but does not talk about the limitations to choose certain invocations but not the others. The only indication to that is the text "Prerequisite: Xth level", which does not specify whether it's a warlock level or a character level.
Anyway, thanks for your reply, I'll just houserule that in my campaign and change it manually in the player's character sheet.
All class features are limited by the class level, aren't they? So that would be the rule, where unless it specifically states otherwise you would follow that rule.
The only thing that breaks this rule that I can think of are cantrips, which specifically state that they use character levels.
Hmm the D&D Beyond warlock page doesn't have it, but the hardcover and the PHB compendium for the warlock class does have this section for Eldritch Invocations that got specifically errata'd a while back to clarify this issue.
If an eldritch invocation has prerequisites, you must meet them to learn it. You can learn the invocation at the same time that you meet its prerequisites. A level prerequisite refers to your level in this class.
Hmm the D&D Beyond warlock page doesn't have it, but the hardcover and the PHB compendium for the warlock class does have this section for Eldritch Invocations that got specifically errata'd a while back to clarify this issue.
If an eldritch invocation has prerequisites, you must meet them to learn it. You can learn the invocation at the same time that you meet its prerequisites. A level prerequisite refers to your level in this class.
In your study of occult lore, you have unearthed eldritch invocations, fragments of forbidden knowledge that imbue you with an abiding magical ability.
At 2nd level, you gain two eldritch invocations of your choice. Your invocation options are detailed at the end of the class description. When you gain certain warlock levels, you gain additional invocations of your choice, as shown in the Invocations Known column of the Warlock table.
Additionally, when you gain a level in this class, you can choose one of the invocations you know and replace it with another invocation that you could learn at that level.
If an eldritch invocation has prerequisites, you must meet them to learn it. You can learn the invocation at the same time that you meet its prerequisites. A level prerequisite refers to your level in this class?
Unless I misinterpreted the Eldritch Invocations rules, there is a bug in this feature explained in the title.
The level prerequisites for Eldritch Invocations talk about "levels", but not about "warlock levels". For instance, that would mean that if I am a 4th level warlock Pact of the Blade, 8th level warrior (12th level character), when I pass to level 13 I can gain a level in warlock and gain a new Elritch Invocation or change an existing one. In this case, I would expect that I could access Eldritch Invocations like Lifedrinker (prerequisite: 12th level, Pact of the Blade) or Minions of Chaos (prerequisite: 9th level).
Today, if building a multiclass character like that, we see in the list of Eldritch Invocations only those with pre-requisite up to 5th level, i.e. taking into account only the Warlock level, instead of the character level.
Is that a bug or it is normal and I just misinterpreted the rules?
No, the Eldritch Invocations are associated with the Warlock level, not the character level.
"At 2nd level, you gain two eldritch invocations of your choice. Your invocation options are detailed at the end of the class description. When you gain certain warlock levels, you gain additional invocations of your choice, as shown in the Invocations Known column of the Warlock table."
OK, thank you. I understand why this interpretation was implemented, although I still think the text is dubious and both interpretations are valid.
The text you quoted talks about the warlock levels in which we can choose new Eldritch invocations (2, 5, etc) but does not talk about the limitations to choose certain invocations but not the others. The only indication to that is the text "Prerequisite: Xth level", which does not specify whether it's a warlock level or a character level.
Anyway, thanks for your reply, I'll just houserule that in my campaign and change it manually in the player's character sheet.
All class features are limited by the class level, aren't they? So that would be the rule, where unless it specifically states otherwise you would follow that rule.
The only thing that breaks this rule that I can think of are cantrips, which specifically state that they use character levels.
Hmm the D&D Beyond warlock page doesn't have it, but the hardcover and the PHB compendium for the warlock class does have this section for Eldritch Invocations that got specifically errata'd a while back to clarify this issue.
I added this, thanks for reporting.
I know this is a real old post but a problem is that they have language that is warlock specific and non specific
Gift of the protectors
Prerequisite: 9th-level warlock, Pact of the Tome features.
Vs .
Gift of the Depths
Prerequisite: 5th level
This certainly makes it seem that some are class vs character levels
As per the entry for Eldritch Invocations in the Basic Rules:
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting