Not sure if this is the only place where it goes wrong, but I found this one out yesterday: 1) Create a homebrew spell and limit it to a certain school (for example: "Wizard - School of Necromancy") 2) Create a homebrew subrace (in my case a copy of the High Elfs) and allow it to select cantrips of the class selected above (In my case: "Wizard") 3) Create a character of this new subrace and select the same school as at #1 4) Check the cantrips listed: It will not show up for your character
If instead you change the class limitation for the homebrew spell to just "Wizard" without the "School of Necromancy", it will show up.
I think this is by design, not a bug. If a spell is limited to a certain school/subclass, it is not on the wizard spell list. It is only considered to be a wizard spell for that specific subclass.
Hello! The above posters are correct. A spell would need to be present on the Wizard class' spell list in order to be selected by the racial trait as described - one that grants a choice from the Wizard spell list.
Hi all,
Not sure if this is the only place where it goes wrong, but I found this one out yesterday:
1) Create a homebrew spell and limit it to a certain school (for example: "Wizard - School of Necromancy")
2) Create a homebrew subrace (in my case a copy of the High Elfs) and allow it to select cantrips of the class selected above (In my case: "Wizard")
3) Create a character of this new subrace and select the same school as at #1
4) Check the cantrips listed: It will not show up for your character
If instead you change the class limitation for the homebrew spell to just "Wizard" without the "School of Necromancy", it will show up.
I think this is by design, not a bug. If a spell is limited to a certain school/subclass, it is not on the wizard spell list. It is only considered to be a wizard spell for that specific subclass.
Trying to Decide if DDB is for you? A few helpful threads: A Buyer's Guide to DDB; What I/We Bought and Why; How some DMs use DDB; A Newer Thread on Using DDB to Play
Helpful threads on other topics: Homebrew FAQ by IamSposta; Accessing Content by ConalTheGreat;
Check your entitlements here. | Support Ticket LInk
Your homebrew spell is not a wizard class spell, it is a subclass spell. It is only available to that subclass's spell list not the parent class.
It is a bit like locking the bathroom door and giving someone the key to the front door. They can enter the house, but can't enter the bathroom.
Hello! The above posters are correct. A spell would need to be present on the Wizard class' spell list in order to be selected by the racial trait as described - one that grants a choice from the Wizard spell list.
Ok, thank you for the information.