Rules as Written, spells do what they say they do. No more, or less. There is nothing in the written wording of Geas that the caster has always on knowledge that the spell is still in effect.
Hmm. The caster can end the spell early with an action, so you could make an argument they would have some sense of whether there's anything still there to end. Or you could just say they wouldn't know unless they tried to end it early, and nothing happened
Per RAW there's nothing explicitly saying the caster would know, but there's a tiny bit of wiggle room if a DM wants to rule otherwise
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Active characters:
Carric Aquissar, elven wannabe artist in his deconstructionist period (Archfey warlock) Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric) Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator obsessed with that one unsolved murder (Assassin rogue) Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
Hmm. The caster can end the spell early with an action, so you could make an argument they would have some sense of whether there's anything still there to end. Or you could just say they wouldn't know unless they tried to end it early, and nothing happened
Per RAW there's nothing explicitly saying the caster would know, but there's a tiny bit of wiggle room if a DM wants to rule otherwise
Quite right.
Players need to get in the habit of asking their DMs these questions -- asking the internet is basically setting yourself up for disappointment. If you don't trust your DM to the point where you've gotta come up with plans behind her back and then counter her rulings with excerpts from the book.. that's a bad vibe. I don't think that's sustainable.
Hmm. The caster can end the spell early with an action, so you could make an argument they would have some sense of whether there's anything still there to end. Or you could just say they wouldn't know unless they tried to end it early, and nothing happened
Per RAW there's nothing explicitly saying the caster would know, but there's a tiny bit of wiggle room if a DM wants to rule otherwise
No, you can't.
This is a very common misconception in 5e. If the spell is not concentration based, you can't end it early as an action unless the spell very specifically states you can.
Per Sage Advice:
Can a spellcaster dismiss a spell after casting it?
You can’t normally dismiss a spell that you cast unless (a) its description says you can or (b) it requires concentration and you decide to end your concentration on it. Otherwise, a spell’s magic is unleashed on the environment, and if you want to end it, you need to cast dispel magic on it.
Carric Aquissar, elven wannabe artist in his deconstructionist period (Archfey warlock) Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric) Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator obsessed with that one unsolved murder (Assassin rogue) Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
Hmm. The caster can end the spell early with an action, so you could make an argument they would have some sense of whether there's anything still there to end. Or you could just say they wouldn't know unless they tried to end it early, and nothing happened
Per RAW there's nothing explicitly saying the caster would know, but there's a tiny bit of wiggle room if a DM wants to rule otherwise
Quite right.
Players need to get in the habit of asking their DMs these questions -- asking the internet is basically setting yourself up for disappointment. If you don't trust your DM to the point where you've gotta come up with plans behind her back and then counter her rulings with excerpts from the book.. that's a bad vibe. I don't think that's sustainable.
Some of us are DMs wanting to know if there's anything we've missed. Even if I was a player, I'd be quite happy to go with what the DM said, but I'd still like to know what others think and what the official position is, if there is one. The DM is allowed to do what they want, but it also satisfies an itch if you're unsure what the real rule is.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
If you're not willing or able to to discuss in good faith, then don't be surprised if I don't respond, there are better things in life for me to do than humour you. This signature is that response.
A DM could also interpret the attempt to remove the geas as acting against the command I guess.
I think that's reasonable if you have a setting that's high magic enough that A) the person would know what geas is and B) it would be plausible that they could remove it. I think in your "standard" Forgotten Realms, it's probably a thing that a caster of geas would be thinking about, so it would be in the terms and conditions of their spell. Still, a benevolent mage (or party member) could detect the geas and remove it unasked.
Once again though, it's wiggly. Technically you could say that "do this thing" and "don't break the spell" are two different commands, and geas only includes one. That seems a little stupid to me but your mileage may vary.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
an evil necromancer cast geas on me commanding me not to tell anyone about him. If i cast greater restoration and remove it would he know?
Rules as Written, spells do what they say they do. No more, or less. There is nothing in the written wording of Geas that the caster has always on knowledge that the spell is still in effect.
That's true RAW, and I'd say probably RAI too. Nothing better than turning on the guy who thinks he's got you under his control.
Hmm. The caster can end the spell early with an action, so you could make an argument they would have some sense of whether there's anything still there to end. Or you could just say they wouldn't know unless they tried to end it early, and nothing happened
Per RAW there's nothing explicitly saying the caster would know, but there's a tiny bit of wiggle room if a DM wants to rule otherwise
Active characters:
Carric Aquissar, elven wannabe artist in his deconstructionist period (Archfey warlock)
Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric)
Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator obsessed with that one unsolved murder (Assassin rogue)
Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
Quite right.
Players need to get in the habit of asking their DMs these questions -- asking the internet is basically setting yourself up for disappointment. If you don't trust your DM to the point where you've gotta come up with plans behind her back and then counter her rulings with excerpts from the book.. that's a bad vibe. I don't think that's sustainable.
No, you can't.
This is a very common misconception in 5e. If the spell is not concentration based, you can't end it early as an action unless the spell very specifically states you can.
Per Sage Advice:
Which geas does
Active characters:
Carric Aquissar, elven wannabe artist in his deconstructionist period (Archfey warlock)
Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric)
Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator obsessed with that one unsolved murder (Assassin rogue)
Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
I'm an idiot. Carry on.
Some of us are DMs wanting to know if there's anything we've missed. Even if I was a player, I'd be quite happy to go with what the DM said, but I'd still like to know what others think and what the official position is, if there is one. The DM is allowed to do what they want, but it also satisfies an itch if you're unsure what the real rule is.
If you're not willing or able to to discuss in good faith, then don't be surprised if I don't respond, there are better things in life for me to do than humour you. This signature is that response.
A DM could also interpret the attempt to remove the geas as acting against the command I guess.
I think that's reasonable if you have a setting that's high magic enough that A) the person would know what geas is and B) it would be plausible that they could remove it. I think in your "standard" Forgotten Realms, it's probably a thing that a caster of geas would be thinking about, so it would be in the terms and conditions of their spell. Still, a benevolent mage (or party member) could detect the geas and remove it unasked.
Once again though, it's wiggly. Technically you could say that "do this thing" and "don't break the spell" are two different commands, and geas only includes one. That seems a little stupid to me but your mileage may vary.