In the text of mold Earth it says you can manipulate excavate and change shape of loose Earth. Now in the case of lava, which is liquid Stone... to me it can't get much to looser than that.
It would be a very rare occurrence to use this spell In that way, but by raw is it feasible? Since the only difference between Rock and lava is temperature.
That is not what I was saying at all. Earth in Mold Earth is intended as soil, which is not stone nor lava.
Where is it stated that this was the intention? Your opinion is an interpretation, not an absolute. You can no more say what was intended by the designers than I can.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
"Most people are other people. Their thoughts are someone else's opinions, their lives a mimicry, their passions a quotation."
That is not what I was saying at all. Earth in Mold Earth is intended as soil, which is not stone nor lava.
Where is it stated that this was the intention? Your opinion is an interpretation, not an absolute. You can no more say what was intended by the designers than I can.
That is not what I was saying at all. Earth in Mold Earth is intended as soil, which is not stone nor lava.
Where is it stated that this was the intention? Your opinion is an interpretation, not an absolute. You can no more say what was intended by the designers than I can.
I think you may want to go back and read the content of what you linked to. It also does not change a single thing about your opinion not being a valid ruling on designer intent.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
"Most people are other people. Their thoughts are someone else's opinions, their lives a mimicry, their passions a quotation."
That is not what I was saying at all. Earth in Mold Earth is intended as soil, which is not stone nor lava.
Where is it stated that this was the intention? Your opinion is an interpretation, not an absolute. You can no more say what was intended by the designers than I can.
I think you may want to go back and read the content of what you linked to. It also does not change a single thing about your opinion not being a valid ruling on designer intent.
I read what I linked just fine, but yes I missed this.
Also, from my very first post in this thread, I said it is up to the DM to interpret what the spell says and affects.
That tweet doesn't invalidate anything I've said and nor does it make you an authority on what is or isn't designer intent. Stating your opinion is one thing; stating what specifically is and is not, is entirely another.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
"Most people are other people. Their thoughts are someone else's opinions, their lives a mimicry, their passions a quotation."
Where is it stated that this was the intention? Your opinion is an interpretation, not an absolute. You can no more say what was intended by the designers than I can.
By that same logic, your interpretation isn't absolute either and you can't claim Filcat is incorrect.
And we do know what the designers intended because they've said so multiple times: the rules are written in everyday English, not pedantically-correct English. If I say "bring me some water" you know I'm not asking for a chunk of ice. If I say "bring me some loose soil", you definitely know I'm not talking about lava.
If your ruling can't pass the common-sense English test, it's probably not intended.
By that same logic, your interpretation isn't absolute either and you can't claim Filcat is incorrect.
I never made an absolute claim about the designers intentions; I am not, after all, psychic. Your defence and attack, therefore, aren't even relevant to the argument.
And we do know what the designers intended because they've said so multiple times: the rules are written in everyday English, not pedantically-correct English.
No, you do not. The 'everyday English' usage is merely to aid interpretation of the rules. Like filcat, you're claiming an absolute rather than a filtered opinion on how you interpret the rules through your understanding of 'everyday English'. This is a subjective determination, not an objective absolute.
If I say "bring me some water" you know I'm not asking for a chunk of ice. If I say "bring me some loose soil", you definitely know I'm not talking about lava.
Ice is water. It's not a pedantic point, it's a fact.
If your ruling can't pass the common-sense English test, it's probably not intended.
If your ruling requires that everyone agree with how you interpret 'common sense' English, then maybe it's you who isn't understanding the intention behind the usage of 'everyday' English in the system?
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
"Most people are other people. Their thoughts are someone else's opinions, their lives a mimicry, their passions a quotation."
In my opinion a phase change of an object, such as water to ice, or stone to lava, can only be affected if it specifically states it would be. For instance, I think the Shape Water cantrip says you can freeze water into ice or vice versa. As Mold Earth doesn’t include any wording about the specific case of lava, I’d argue that it can’t be done
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
I know what you're thinking: "In that flurry of blows, did he use all his ki points, or save one?" Well, are ya feeling lucky, punk?
In my opinion a phase change of an object, such as water to ice, or stone to lava, can only be affected if it specifically states it would be. For instance, I think the Shape Water cantrip says you can freeze water into ice or vice versa. As Mold Earth doesn’t include any wording about the specific case of lava, I’d argue that it can’t be done
Rule from the DMG, which is probably relevant when exploring volcanic caves:
"When the temperature is at or above 100 degrees Fahrenheit, a creature exposed to the heat and without access to drinkable water...."
So as long as you have access to drinkable water you are fine....?
And we do know what the designers intended because they've said so multiple times: the rules are written in everyday English, not pedantically-correct English.
If I say "bring me some water" you know I'm not asking for a chunk of ice. If I say "bring me some loose soil", you definitely know I'm not talking about lava.
Ice is water. It's not a pedantic point, it's a fact.
You're seriously going to pretend you're not being obtuse if someone asks you for water, you bring them ice despite having liquid water available, and tell them "Ice is water, that's a fact"?
It is up to the DM to rule on things like this, but I would say earth is a different thing from stone and a very much different thing from lava.
Then you would be incredibly and massively incorrect. That's like saying ice isn't water.
I would say that lava is more like stone, than stone is like earth. "Earth" can't be made by crushing stone, or melting it, or subjecting it to mazzive amounts of gamma rays..
'Earth" is arguably closer to animal/vegetable than it is mineral.
Which doesn't answer the initial question, which given my track record on 'ruling' the this spell probably ranks with the greatest debacles in the history of me GMing.
I ruled in favour of the player's interpretation, by the way.....
Edited to change 'the' to 'this' because of the difference it made to the sense of the sentence. To me.
You do realise that English is the third most commonly spoken language in the world and the most bastardised language, well, ever and that the colloquialization of language across regions even in the same country diversify meaning and understanding and even ways of thinking and how a person thinks, right?
In other words, your interpretation of 'everyday English' is different to the person's standing next to you.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
"Most people are other people. Their thoughts are someone else's opinions, their lives a mimicry, their passions a quotation."
Mold Earth is written and intended as a utility spell which doesn't do damage. It states in the description that the earth that it moves isn't moved with enough force to do damage. Lava is hot enough that simple contact with it does more damage than any cantrip does so letting Mold Earth move lava would change the spell from a utility spell into a spell that does more damage than any other cantrip.
Water and ice are treated differently by every spell in D&D. Therefore, even though lava can be considered molten earth, it should be treated differently than solid earth.
But, if the party has enough time, I would definitely let the party use Mold Earth to create a channel to direct which way a lava flow goes. It would take a few hours though because lava flows are huge.
You do realise that English is the third most commonly spoken language in the world and the most bastardised language, well, ever and that the colloquialization of language across regions even in the same country diversify meaning and understanding and even ways of thinking and how a person thinks, right?
In other words, your interpretation of 'everyday English' is different to the person's standing next to you.
Literally Troo Dat, Brah!
Which is why I get upset when people further mangle the 'ole gal.
Need I say more?
In the text of mold Earth it says you can manipulate excavate and change shape of loose Earth. Now in the case of lava, which is liquid Stone... to me it can't get much to looser than that.
It would be a very rare occurrence to use this spell In that way, but by raw is it feasible? Since the only difference between Rock and lava is temperature.
It is up to the DM to rule on things like this, but I would say earth is a different thing from stone and a very much different thing from lava.
"Most people are other people. Their thoughts are someone else's opinions, their lives a mimicry, their passions a quotation."
― Oscar Wilde.
"Most people are other people. Their thoughts are someone else's opinions, their lives a mimicry, their passions a quotation."
― Oscar Wilde.
"Most people are other people. Their thoughts are someone else's opinions, their lives a mimicry, their passions a quotation."
― Oscar Wilde.
"Most people are other people. Their thoughts are someone else's opinions, their lives a mimicry, their passions a quotation."
― Oscar Wilde.
Never claimed to be an authority. Again, from my very first post on this thread, I stated what I would rule, not what it is the rule.
The Forum Infestation (TM)
"Most people are other people. Their thoughts are someone else's opinions, their lives a mimicry, their passions a quotation."
― Oscar Wilde.
In my opinion a phase change of an object, such as water to ice, or stone to lava, can only be affected if it specifically states it would be. For instance, I think the Shape Water cantrip says you can freeze water into ice or vice versa. As Mold Earth doesn’t include any wording about the specific case of lava, I’d argue that it can’t be done
I know what you're thinking: "In that flurry of blows, did he use all his ki points, or save one?" Well, are ya feeling lucky, punk?
You've got to love personal interpretations.
My son interpreted 'loose' to mean not stuck on the outside. I believe loose in this context to mean 'non-compacted'
If you changed the spell to be 'mold Lego' then here are our two arguments.
Him - If a lego block is resting on another block, or lined up side to side, then it can considered to be loose.
Me : Unless you smash the lego block into at least 10 pieces, it can't be considered loose; it is solid!
My argument sounds a little silly there.
Are the blocks in a Jenga tower 'loose'?
Roleplaying since Runequest.
Roleplaying since Runequest.
The Forum Infestation (TM)
"Earth" can't be made by crushing stone, or melting it, or subjecting it to mazzive amounts of gamma rays..
thethis spell probably ranks with the greatest debacles in the history of me GMing.Roleplaying since Runequest.
In other words, your interpretation of 'everyday English' is different to the person's standing next to you.
"Most people are other people. Their thoughts are someone else's opinions, their lives a mimicry, their passions a quotation."
― Oscar Wilde.
I agree with filcat for a couple of reasons.
Mold Earth is written and intended as a utility spell which doesn't do damage. It states in the description that the earth that it moves isn't moved with enough force to do damage. Lava is hot enough that simple contact with it does more damage than any cantrip does so letting Mold Earth move lava would change the spell from a utility spell into a spell that does more damage than any other cantrip.
Water and ice are treated differently by every spell in D&D. Therefore, even though lava can be considered molten earth, it should be treated differently than solid earth.
But, if the party has enough time, I would definitely let the party use Mold Earth to create a channel to direct which way a lava flow goes. It would take a few hours though because lava flows are huge.
Professional computer geek
Roleplaying since Runequest.