Your turn 1 and turn 2 work, but by the current RAW the action economy breaks down from turn 3 on a bit. As things currently stand you get one free draw or stow weapon per turn, doing it a second time would take your Item Interaction Action. So once you stowed one of the weapons on turn 3 to free up the claws, you can't both attack and draw the weapon again. The last we knew they were planning to smooth out drawing and stowing economy in the 1D&D update in a way that would make this approach viable, but that's not official yet. You can ask your DM if they'll allow this to work anyways since a lot of people aren't particularly hardnosed about the exact economy here, but it would be a fair call for them to rule you need to pick between your free attack from Claws or your Light weapon attack. An additional 5ish damage per round isn't particularly broken, but you are technically going past the letter of things.
Thanks for responding. Yeah I figured it was getting too much to fit into a turn. Would you suggest keeping it simple and do 3 attacks (1 weapon and 2 claw attacks) per turn?
I can live with that if it keeps close to the rules as written .
RAW, at 5th level a Path of the Beast barbarian could make three attacks with their claws as the Attack action, then one attack with the light hammer as a bonus action.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Find your own truth, choose your enemies carefully, and never deal with a dragon.
"Canon" is what's factual to D&D lore. "Cannon" is what you're going to be shot with if you keep getting the word wrong.
RAW, at 5th level a Path of the Beast barbarian could make three attacks with their claws as the Attack action, then one attack with the light hammer as a bonus action.
I don't think that works; you need to make one attack with a Light weapon before you can spend your Bonus Action to make an attack with a different Light weapon, and none of the Path of the Beast natural weapons say they have the Light property.
Thanks for responding. Yeah I figured it was getting too much to fit into a turn. Would you suggest keeping it simple and do 3 attacks (1 weapon and 2 claw attacks) per turn?
I can live with that if it keeps close to the rules as written .
Strictly by RAW you'd need to alternate between 3 and 4 attacks per round like this and track whether or not you're holding the second Light weapon. Like I said, this is really something you just need to check with your DM over; some will be fine handwaving the fine details to allow TWF and the Claw attacks to all happen in the same turn, others won't.
RAW, at 5th level a Path of the Beast barbarian could make three attacks with their claws as the Attack action, then one attack with the light hammer as a bonus action.
I don't think that works; you need to make one attack with a Light weapon before you can spend your Bonus Action to make an attack with a different Light weapon, and none of the Path of the Beast natural weapons say they have the Light property.
Must have been thinking of 3rd Edition rules, when all natural weapons were automatically considered Light weapons.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Find your own truth, choose your enemies carefully, and never deal with a dragon.
"Canon" is what's factual to D&D lore. "Cannon" is what you're going to be shot with if you keep getting the word wrong.
"Q: Can I make an attack with one weapon, then draw a second weapon with my other hand and qualify to use two-weapon fighting? A: To use the two-weapon fighting bonus action (PH), you must have both weapons in hand when you make the first attack."
You'd have to sort this ruling out with the actions you suggested.
Hello:
A 5th level Pact of the beast Barbarian attack sequence is?
My understanding would be:
Bonus: go into rage, form of the beast claws.
Attack 1: Attack twice with one claw 1d6 each,
Attack 2: Attack with melee weapon (light Hammer).
On 2nd round (since Rage is in effect for 10 turns) would be:
Attack 1: Attack twice with one claw 1d6 each,
Attack 2: Attack with melee weapon (light Hammer).
Bonus: Duel Wield weapon (2nd light Hammer).
In effect a Barbarian of the beast pact can attack 4 times per round? My assumption would be one hand use the
hammer and the other hand uses claw twice, then for bonus, draw the 2nd hammer out of belt (or whatever).
Is this correct or is there too much going on in the same round? Just trying to get my head around this.
Thanks in advance
Your turn 1 and turn 2 work, but by the current RAW the action economy breaks down from turn 3 on a bit. As things currently stand you get one free draw or stow weapon per turn, doing it a second time would take your Item Interaction Action. So once you stowed one of the weapons on turn 3 to free up the claws, you can't both attack and draw the weapon again. The last we knew they were planning to smooth out drawing and stowing economy in the 1D&D update in a way that would make this approach viable, but that's not official yet. You can ask your DM if they'll allow this to work anyways since a lot of people aren't particularly hardnosed about the exact economy here, but it would be a fair call for them to rule you need to pick between your free attack from Claws or your Light weapon attack. An additional 5ish damage per round isn't particularly broken, but you are technically going past the letter of things.
The_Ace_of_Rogues
Thanks for responding. Yeah I figured it was getting too much to fit into a turn. Would you suggest keeping it simple and do 3 attacks (1 weapon and 2 claw attacks) per turn?
I can live with that if it keeps close to the rules as written .
RAW, at 5th level a Path of the Beast barbarian could make three attacks with their claws as the Attack action, then one attack with the light hammer as a bonus action.
Find your own truth, choose your enemies carefully, and never deal with a dragon.
"Canon" is what's factual to D&D lore. "Cannon" is what you're going to be shot with if you keep getting the word wrong.
I don't think that works; you need to make one attack with a Light weapon before you can spend your Bonus Action to make an attack with a different Light weapon, and none of the Path of the Beast natural weapons say they have the Light property.
Strictly by RAW you'd need to alternate between 3 and 4 attacks per round like this and track whether or not you're holding the second Light weapon. Like I said, this is really something you just need to check with your DM over; some will be fine handwaving the fine details to allow TWF and the Claw attacks to all happen in the same turn, others won't.
Ok thanks for your help.
Must have been thinking of 3rd Edition rules, when all natural weapons were automatically considered Light weapons.
Find your own truth, choose your enemies carefully, and never deal with a dragon.
"Canon" is what's factual to D&D lore. "Cannon" is what you're going to be shot with if you keep getting the word wrong.
Per Sage Advice:
"Q: Can I make an attack with one weapon, then draw a second weapon with my other hand and qualify to use two-weapon fighting?
A: To use the two-weapon fighting bonus action (PH), you must have both weapons in hand when you make the first attack."
You'd have to sort this ruling out with the actions you suggested.