Have a rule question regarding one of the magic items in this book.
Sun Staff: Rare You gain a +1 Attack and Damage buff when you use the staff as a physical weapon. (Check)
When you hit with an attack roll using this staff, the target takes an extra 1d8 fire damage.(Question) (Does this mean if you cast a spell that requires a to hit, i.e. Range Spell Attack Melee Spell Attack, while using the staff as a focus you gain +1d8 Fire damage onto that spell you cast?
Rules as Written suggest this to be the case but was wondering if that was the case.
Other magic items specifically call out the type of attack roll such as staff of power's Power Strike saying when you hit with a melee attack using the staff you can do ... So wanted to pose the quandary here and see the response since my Westmarch uses this book but there isn't any rulings regarding the verbiage of magic items that I could find.
DDB considers the +1 bonus valid only for physical attacks, it doesn't affect spells cast. Given that it's the same feature, I'd argue it's subject to the same restraints.
I do think that should have been coded in as part of the role, rather than just doing the physical damage then making me come out and do a custom roll for the fire damage.
If you're not willing or able to to discuss in good faith, then don't be surprised if I don't respond, there are better things in life for me to do than humour you. This signature is that response.
"When you hit with an attack roll using this staff, the target takes an extra 1d8 fire damage."
The "using this staff" is the first clue that it won't add to a spell. It's specific in saying that the staff is used for the attack.
The second reason I'm pretty confident about this is the definition of casting any spell is clear that it's a Magic action, not an Attack action. Further, the item's description calls out the solar focus for damage reroll when the staff is used as an arcane focus for a spell. If the extra 1d8 fire damage was going to apply they'd have the language go there.
Booming blade, Truestrike, Smite, Green flame blade ETC would, but firebolt won't. You need to hit someone with the staff as part of the Melee spell attack.
or you can decide to go off rule and add it to ranged spell that use it as a focus, but it is likely not the intent.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
He/Him. Loooooooooong time Player. The Dark days of the THAC0 system are behind us.
"Hope is a fire that burns in us all If only an ember, awaiting your call To rise up in triumph should we all unite The spark for change is yours to ignite." Kalandra - The State of the World
As a DM, the only time I would entertain adding the extra damage to a spell would be if the spell was using a charge from the staff. Then, maybe, you are making a (spell) attack with the staff. If it’s just used as a focus I wouldn’t.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Wisea$$ DM and Player since 1979.
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Have a rule question regarding one of the magic items in this book.
Sun Staff: Rare
You gain a +1 Attack and Damage buff when you use the staff as a physical weapon. (Check)
When you hit with an attack roll using this staff, the target takes an extra 1d8 fire damage.(Question)
(Does this mean if you cast a spell that requires a to hit, i.e. Range Spell Attack Melee Spell Attack, while using the staff as a focus you gain +1d8 Fire damage onto that spell you cast?
Rules as Written suggest this to be the case but was wondering if that was the case.
Other magic items specifically call out the type of attack roll such as staff of power's Power Strike saying when you hit with a melee attack using the staff you can do ...
So wanted to pose the quandary here and see the response since my Westmarch uses this book but there isn't any rulings regarding the verbiage of magic items that I could find.
The way I read it you'd have to attack with the staff to get the additional damage, just like getting the +1.
Agreed. Attacking with a spell while holding the staff is not the same thing as attacking with the staff.
Need help with D&D Beyond? Come ask in the official D&D server on Discord: https://discord.gg/qWzGhwBjYr
DDB considers the +1 bonus valid only for physical attacks, it doesn't affect spells cast. Given that it's the same feature, I'd argue it's subject to the same restraints.
I do think that should have been coded in as part of the role, rather than just doing the physical damage then making me come out and do a custom roll for the fire damage.
If you're not willing or able to to discuss in good faith, then don't be surprised if I don't respond, there are better things in life for me to do than humour you. This signature is that response.
"When you hit with an attack roll using this staff, the target takes an extra 1d8 fire damage."
The "using this staff" is the first clue that it won't add to a spell. It's specific in saying that the staff is used for the attack.
The second reason I'm pretty confident about this is the definition of casting any spell is clear that it's a Magic action, not an Attack action. Further, the item's description calls out the solar focus for damage reroll when the staff is used as an arcane focus for a spell. If the extra 1d8 fire damage was going to apply they'd have the language go there.
Or there's a serious errata item coming ;)
Booming blade, Truestrike, Smite, Green flame blade ETC would, but firebolt won't. You need to hit someone with the staff as part of the Melee spell attack.
or you can decide to go off rule and add it to ranged spell that use it as a focus, but it is likely not the intent.
He/Him. Loooooooooong time Player.
The Dark days of the THAC0 system are behind us.
"Hope is a fire that burns in us all If only an ember, awaiting your call
To rise up in triumph should we all unite
The spark for change is yours to ignite."
Kalandra - The State of the World
As a DM, the only time I would entertain adding the extra damage to a spell would be if the spell was using a charge from the staff. Then, maybe, you are making a (spell) attack with the staff. If it’s just used as a focus I wouldn’t.
Wisea$$ DM and Player since 1979.