So as a tempest cleric you get an ability called channel divinity: destructive wraith. Would it allow you to have max damage on dragons breath spell for all 10 rounds since dragons breath is a single spell? Thoughts ???
I would go with Rules As Intended and say it's an ability that is only triggered ONCE when you deal thunder/lightning damage. Otherwise, you aren't technically using your channel divinity as you could theoretically carry on casting thunder/lightning damage abilities FOREVERRRRRRR (or for the whole day). Plus it would be pretty broken.
In the case of the Dragon's Breath spell, I would rule it would only apply to one use. Pretty much every other Subclass that has their own unique Divinity Option that is only one use rather than conitnues, unless it states otherwise.
'When you roll lightning or thunder damage, you can use your Channel Divinity to deal maximum damage, instead of rolling.'
Note - it says 'Whenyou roll', not 'Wheneveryou roll'.
Have the Physical Books? Confused as to why you're not allowed to redeem them for free on D&D Beyond? Questions answered here at the Hardcover Books, D&D Beyond and You FAQ
Looking to add mouse-over triggered tooltips to such things like magic items, monsters or combat actions? Then dash over to the How to Add Tooltips thread.
So as a tempest cleric you get an ability called channel divinity: destructive wraith. Would it allow you to have max damage on dragons breath spell for all 10 rounds since dragons breath is a single spell? Thoughts ???
No. It pretty clearly states in Destructive Wrath's description that you activate it when you roll damage. Dragon's Breath has a new damage roll each time you use an action to use it while the spell's active, so you could maximize damage on a single breath, but it wouldn't extend to subsequent rounds. Note the clear difference in the wording between Destructive Wrath and the Evoker's Overchannel, which is activated when you cast a spell.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Find your own truth, choose your enemies carefully, and never deal with a dragon.
"Canon" is what's factual to D&D lore. "Cannon" is what you're going to be shot with if you keep getting the word wrong.
I understand the destructive wraith wording. But I wasn’t clear on dragons breath, because I picture my character casting the spell and then for the next ten turns just breathing fire. It’s continuously coming out of my mouth. Anyone in it or passing through it then rolls a sav. I’m not seeing my character breathing (fire) then taking a breath then spewing more(fire) then taking a breath, and so on for ten rounds.. that was what I was getting confused on.
So as a tempest cleric you get an ability called channel divinity: destructive wraith. Would it allow you to have max damage on dragons breath spell for all 10 rounds since dragons breath is a single spell? Thoughts ???
I would go with Rules As Intended and say it's an ability that is only triggered ONCE when you deal thunder/lightning damage. Otherwise, you aren't technically using your channel divinity as you could theoretically carry on casting thunder/lightning damage abilities FOREVERRRRRRR (or for the whole day). Plus it would be pretty broken.
In the case of the Dragon's Breath spell, I would rule it would only apply to one use. Pretty much every other Subclass that has their own unique Divinity Option that is only one use rather than conitnues, unless it states otherwise.
'When you roll lightning or thunder damage, you can use your Channel Divinity to deal maximum damage, instead of rolling.'
Note - it says 'When you roll', not 'Whenever you roll'.
That's how I interpret it anyway :)
#Open D&D
Have the Physical Books? Confused as to why you're not allowed to redeem them for free on D&D Beyond? Questions answered here at the Hardcover Books, D&D Beyond and You FAQ
Looking to add mouse-over triggered tooltips to such things like magic items, monsters or combat actions? Then dash over to the How to Add Tooltips thread.
No. It pretty clearly states in Destructive Wrath's description that you activate it when you roll damage. Dragon's Breath has a new damage roll each time you use an action to use it while the spell's active, so you could maximize damage on a single breath, but it wouldn't extend to subsequent rounds. Note the clear difference in the wording between Destructive Wrath and the Evoker's Overchannel, which is activated when you cast a spell.
Find your own truth, choose your enemies carefully, and never deal with a dragon.
"Canon" is what's factual to D&D lore. "Cannon" is what you're going to be shot with if you keep getting the word wrong.
I understand the destructive wraith wording. But I wasn’t clear on dragons breath, because I picture my character casting the spell and then for the next ten turns just breathing fire. It’s continuously coming out of my mouth. Anyone in it or passing through it then rolls a sav. I’m not seeing my character breathing (fire) then taking a breath then spewing more(fire) then taking a breath, and so on for ten rounds.. that was what I was getting confused on.
It's not a continuous thing, and it wouldn't matter if it was because you have to make a new damage roll each round.
Find your own truth, choose your enemies carefully, and never deal with a dragon.
"Canon" is what's factual to D&D lore. "Cannon" is what you're going to be shot with if you keep getting the word wrong.