New DM here, so pardon if this has been posted (I did check for threads first). When do players use spell attack rolls and when do targets use saves? I've read the spell descriptions but not all of them. I assume they all say whether the caster makes an attack roll or the target makes a save. Are there instances where there are both attack rolls and saves?
I'll give an example how I handled spell combat w/a group. They were facing an ochre jelly. One of them (Sorcerer) used the Firebolt cantrip. Not realizing it, I assumed the monster was hit, so I rolled a save for it (8 + prof bonus + charisma mod). Instead, I think the Sorcerer was to make an attack roll according to the spell description: On a hit, the target takes 1d10 fire damage. Should the monster also make a save?
It is only ever one or the other. An attack roll, or a save. The individual spell description will tell you which to roll. If it doesn't say either, then the spell just happens.
I tried to keep it short so it's easy to digest. But I would be happy to elaborate if you have any other questions. :)
Spells will usually only have one or the other -- here's where the basic rules cover saving throws and attack rolls, but basically you're looking for the spell's description to say 'spell attack' versus something along the line of 'target makes a [type] saving throw.'
There are some spells that have both, but they will specifically say so. Ice Knife is a good example -- the spellcaster rolls to hit with the actual ice knife, but there's a secondary effect that requires a dexterity save.
New DM here, so pardon if this has been posted (I did check for threads first). When do players use spell attack rolls and when do targets use saves? I've read the spell descriptions but not all of them. I assume they all say whether the caster makes an attack roll or the target makes a save. Are there instances where there are both attack rolls and saves?
I'll give an example how I handled spell combat w/a group. They were facing an ochre jelly. One of them (Sorcerer) used the Firebolt cantrip. Not realizing it, I assumed the monster was hit, so I rolled a save for it (8 + prof bonus + charisma mod). Instead, I think the Sorcerer was to make an attack roll according to the spell description: On a hit, the target takes 1d10 fire damage. Should the monster also make a save?
Thanks for comments.
It is only ever one or the other. An attack roll, or a save. The individual spell description will tell you which to roll. If it doesn't say either, then the spell just happens.
I tried to keep it short so it's easy to digest. But I would be happy to elaborate if you have any other questions. :)
Spells will usually only have one or the other -- here's where the basic rules cover saving throws and attack rolls, but basically you're looking for the spell's description to say 'spell attack' versus something along the line of 'target makes a [type] saving throw.'
There are some spells that have both, but they will specifically say so. Ice Knife is a good example -- the spellcaster rolls to hit with the actual ice knife, but there's a secondary effect that requires a dexterity save.
Birgit | Shifter | Sorcerer | Dragonlords
Shayone | Hobgoblin | Sorcerer | Netherdeep
@pocketmouse I figured it was either one or the other, with special cases calling for both. Thank you.