Mordenkainen's magnificent mansion (although I guess you could argue that is a teleport of a kind)
Dust of dryness
The mansion doesn't move. The barrels would just stay in the demiplane until they were expelled right where the entrance was. That is, unless the DM says the mansion can move...
Mordenkainen's magnificent mansion (although I guess you could argue that is a teleport of a kind)
Dust of dryness
The mansion doesn't move. The barrels would just stay in the demiplane until they were expelled right where the entrance was. That is, unless the DM says the mansion can move...
It doesn't move but the door can be re-summoned in a new location once you are out of the dungeon. The spell says that creatures inside when the spell ends are thrown out but it doesn't say that objects can't be kept inside. "When the spell ends, any creatures inside the extradimensional space are expelled into the open spaces nearest to the entrance."
Mordenkainen's magnificent mansion (although I guess you could argue that is a teleport of a kind)
Dust of dryness
The mansion doesn't move. The barrels would just stay in the demiplane until they were expelled right where the entrance was. That is, unless the DM says the mansion can move...
It doesn't move but the door can be re-summoned in a new location once you are out of the dungeon. The spell says that creatures inside when the spell ends are thrown out but it doesn't say that objects can't be kept inside. "When the spell ends, any creatures inside the extradimensional space are expelled into the open spaces nearest to the entrance."
It also says you "conjure an extradimensional dwelling", not summon a doorway to an existing extradimensional space.
Mordenkainen's magnificent mansion (although I guess you could argue that is a teleport of a kind)
Dust of dryness
The mansion doesn't move. The barrels would just stay in the demiplane until they were expelled right where the entrance was. That is, unless the DM says the mansion can move...
It doesn't move but the door can be re-summoned in a new location once you are out of the dungeon. The spell says that creatures inside when the spell ends are thrown out but it doesn't say that objects can't be kept inside. "When the spell ends, any creatures inside the extradimensional space are expelled into the open spaces nearest to the entrance."
It also says you "conjure an extradimensional dwelling", not summon a doorway to an existing extradimensional space.
RAW: New spell, new mansion.
I see where you're coming from on this but don't you think that by definition, "New spell, new mansion." is your interpretation and not RAW since it isn't what's written? There isn't anything that says, you aren't conjuring the same extradimensional dwelling is there or anything that would indicate that this shouldn't be the interpretation of the text? Sage advice seems to agree with the interpretation that you can store items
I see where you're coming from on this but don't you think that by definition, "New spell, new mansion." is your interpretation and not RAW since it isn't what's written? There isn't anything that says, you aren't conjuring the same extradimensional dwelling is there or anything that would indicate that this shouldn't be the interpretation of the text? Sage advice seems to agree with the interpretation that you can store items
That sage advice is in the context of "I'd allow it", which is code for "houserule". I agree that it is a perfectly fun option, which I'd be fine humoring at my table, but by RAW the very first line of the description is that you are conjuring a space, not creating a portal, which can be compared to Demiplane. The language seems pretty clear to me.
Note that in the description for Demiplane it explicitly provides the option of creating a new space or connecting to a previously created space. By contrast Magnificent Mansion is exclusively worded in the context of creation.
...Each time you cast this spell, you can create a new demiplane, or have the shadowy door connect to a demiplane you created with a previous casting of this spell.
400lbs of ale would be about 45 gallons, so with the casks, it would probably be closer to 40 gallons which is the same as a decent sized fish tank. Not actually all that massive.
I see where you're coming from on this but don't you think that by definition, "New spell, new mansion." is your interpretation and not RAW since it isn't what's written? There isn't anything that says, you aren't conjuring the same extradimensional dwelling is there or anything that would indicate that this shouldn't be the interpretation of the text? Sage advice seems to agree with the interpretation that you can store items
That sage advice is in the context of "I'd allow it", which is code for "houserule". I agree that it is a perfectly fun option, which I'd be fine humoring at my table, but by RAW the very first line of the description is that you are conjuring a space, not creating a portal, which can be compared to Demiplane. The language seems pretty clear to me.
Note that in the description for Demiplane it explicitly provides the option of creating a new space or connecting to a previously created space. By contrast Magnificent Mansion is exclusively worded in the context of creation.
...Each time you cast this spell, you can create a new demiplane, or have the shadowy door connect to a demiplane you created with a previous casting of this spell.
I get what you are saying, but I don't see justifying it as RAW. When it comes down to it you are interpreting "conjure" as "create a new" and that just is not what is written.
Consider that if this is what they wanted RAW to be all they would need to say is "creatures and objects" in stead of just "creatures". Also consider that this is exactly that the limitation that is put on Galder's Tower, which is just a lower level version of the same spell with more limitations.
"The interior of the tower is warm and dry, regardless of conditions outside. Any equipment or furnishings conjured with the tower dissipate into smoke if removed from it. At the end of the spell’s duration, all creatures and objects within the tower that were not created by the spell appear safely outside on the ground, and all traces of the tower and its furnishings disappear."
To me, this shows what a RAW for objects with this spell not being able to be stored in the same kind of conjured space looks like and the fact that both spells are worded differently is probably deliberate. Don't you agree?
To me, this shows what a RAW for objects with this spell not being able to be stored in the same kind of conjured space looks like and the fact that both spells are worded differently is probably deliberate. Don't you agree?
If the spell indicated that the space persisted after the duration expired (As in Demiplane), then I would be inclined to agree with you about the expectations for items within the space after creatures were expelled, but it doesn't. There is enough ambiguity that it deserves an errata for clarity, and enough layers of ambiguity to err on the side of simplicity.
Creating a permanent extradimensional space with Magnificent Mansion would actually make it more powerful than Demiplane in many ways, even if it kicked out creatures every 24 hours (It would also be a lot safer).
One would also have to ask why it would kick out only creatures, if the space remained. Could a player use Plane Shift to get back into the Magnificent Mansion afterward?
One would also have to ask why it would kick out only creatures, if the space remained.
So you can store objects in it? Because it can't support life?
Mechanically, So you can't use it to transport or trap creatures. If it didn't kick people out you could take 1 min and use it to conjure the mansion holding up to 400 medium creatures.
Idk is just seems like those 2 spells are so similar and one having very specific wording saying you can't store items, and the higher level one not having that language isn't just a mistake.
One would also have to ask why it would kick out only creatures, if the space remained.
So you can store objects in it? Because it can't support life?
Mechanically, So you can't use it to transport or trap creatures. If it didn't kick people out you could take 1 min and use it to conjure the mansion holding up to 400 medium creatures.
Idk is just seems like those 2 spells are so similar and one having very specific wording saying you can't store items, and the higher level one not having that language isn't just a mistake.
Note that the spell does not say "This spell ends when Magnificent Mansion is cast a second time", so if you can reconnect to the same space with multiple castings, you could do precisely that. Cast it in two different locations and use it as a 24 hour gateway/lobby to evacuate an entire city.
An elevator cabin also only has one entrance, yet you'll find yourself all sorts of places.
The more important point is that a more generous interpretation creates more questions than answers.
And an elevator can't open in two of the places at the same time, just like the mansion spell.
It really seems like you are bending over backwards to try to discount that there are 2 spells that serve the same basic function, but one has specific language keeping you from storing objects and one doesn't. If it wasn't intended to be able to be used to store objects then why didn't they just use the same language? The difference is literally 2 words, "or objects".
An elevator cabin also only has one entrance, yet you'll find yourself all sorts of places.
The more important point is that a more generous interpretation creates more questions than answers.
And an elevator can't open in two of the places at the same time, just like the mansion spell.
It really seems like you are bending over backwards...
And it seems that you are missing the forest for the trees. Whether or not the door is open to two locations at the same time or not, a swinging door creates movement that is problematic. Moving the door while creatures exist within, once, has consequences. Neither of which are addressed or considered by the spell description.
Galder's Tower requires 10 minutes to cast, so it is easily interrupted. It also exists on the material plane, which means it can be invaded by hostile forces. This is basically a scaled up Tiny Hut. The fact that Magnificent Mansion is extradimensional is very different and has consequences.
Magnificent Mansion has an analog in the Rod of Security, which also forgets to mention objects, it only refers to "visitors". The point of it is to create a safe space. If it were intended to be exploited for interplanar travel, it should say so explicitly.
Edit: Also, the "Galder" spells are the result of honoring a fan and didn't necessarily go through the same design process.
Like I said It really seems like you are bending over backwards to try to discount that there are 2 spells that serve the same basic function, but one has specific language keeping you from storing objects and one doesn't. If it wasn't intended to be able to be used to store objects then why didn't they just use the same language? The difference is literally 2 words, "or objects".
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Mordenkainen's magnificent mansion (although I guess you could argue that is a teleport of a kind)
Dust of dryness
The mansion doesn't move. The barrels would just stay in the demiplane until they were expelled right where the entrance was. That is, unless the DM says the mansion can move...
It doesn't move but the door can be re-summoned in a new location once you are out of the dungeon. The spell says that creatures inside when the spell ends are thrown out but it doesn't say that objects can't be kept inside.
"When the spell ends, any creatures inside the extradimensional space are expelled into the open spaces nearest to the entrance."
It also says you "conjure an extradimensional dwelling", not summon a doorway to an existing extradimensional space.
RAW: New spell, new mansion.
I see where you're coming from on this but don't you think that by definition, "New spell, new mansion." is your interpretation and not RAW since it isn't what's written?
There isn't anything that says, you aren't conjuring the same extradimensional dwelling is there or anything that would indicate that this shouldn't be the interpretation of the text?
Sage advice seems to agree with the interpretation that you can store items
That sage advice is in the context of "I'd allow it", which is code for "houserule". I agree that it is a perfectly fun option, which I'd be fine humoring at my table, but by RAW the very first line of the description is that you are conjuring a space, not creating a portal, which can be compared to Demiplane. The language seems pretty clear to me.
Note that in the description for Demiplane it explicitly provides the option of creating a new space or connecting to a previously created space. By contrast Magnificent Mansion is exclusively worded in the context of creation.
Did you really mean to say each barrel is 400lbs? That would be massive!
400lbs of ale would be about 45 gallons, so with the casks, it would probably be closer to 40 gallons which is the same as a decent sized fish tank. Not actually all that massive.
A full wine barrel weighs about 600lbs.
I get what you are saying, but I don't see justifying it as RAW. When it comes down to it you are interpreting "conjure" as "create a new" and that just is not what is written.
Consider that if this is what they wanted RAW to be all they would need to say is "creatures and objects" in stead of just "creatures".
Also consider that this is exactly that the limitation that is put on Galder's Tower, which is just a lower level version of the same spell with more limitations.
"The interior of the tower is warm and dry, regardless of conditions outside. Any equipment or furnishings conjured with the tower dissipate into smoke if removed from it. At the end of the spell’s duration, all creatures and objects within the tower that were not created by the spell appear safely outside on the ground, and all traces of the tower and its furnishings disappear."
To me, this shows what a RAW for objects with this spell not being able to be stored in the same kind of conjured space looks like and the fact that both spells are worded differently is probably deliberate. Don't you agree?
What level are the players?
And I absolutely would not roll barrels long distance- that's just a good way to wind up with a barrel getting damaged and its contents lost.
Find your own truth, choose your enemies carefully, and never deal with a dragon.
"Canon" is what's factual to D&D lore. "Cannon" is what you're going to be shot with if you keep getting the word wrong.
If the spell indicated that the space persisted after the duration expired (As in Demiplane), then I would be inclined to agree with you about the expectations for items within the space after creatures were expelled, but it doesn't. There is enough ambiguity that it deserves an errata for clarity, and enough layers of ambiguity to err on the side of simplicity.
Creating a permanent extradimensional space with Magnificent Mansion would actually make it more powerful than Demiplane in many ways, even if it kicked out creatures every 24 hours (It would also be a lot safer).
One would also have to ask why it would kick out only creatures, if the space remained. Could a player use Plane Shift to get back into the Magnificent Mansion afterward?
So you can store objects in it? Because it can't support life?
Mechanically, So you can't use it to transport or trap creatures. If it didn't kick people out you could take 1 min and use it to conjure the mansion holding up to 400 medium creatures.
Idk is just seems like those 2 spells are so similar and one having very specific wording saying you can't store items, and the higher level one not having that language isn't just a mistake.
Note that the spell does not say "This spell ends when Magnificent Mansion is cast a second time", so if you can reconnect to the same space with multiple castings, you could do precisely that. Cast it in two different locations and use it as a 24 hour gateway/lobby to evacuate an entire city.
Na, it specifically says it has 1 entrance.
"You choose where its one entrance is located"
An elevator cabin also only has one entrance, yet you'll find yourself all sorts of places.
The more important point is that a more generous interpretation creates more questions than answers.
And an elevator can't open in two of the places at the same time, just like the mansion spell.
It really seems like you are bending over backwards to try to discount that there are 2 spells that serve the same basic function, but one has specific language keeping you from storing objects and one doesn't. If it wasn't intended to be able to be used to store objects then why didn't they just use the same language? The difference is literally 2 words, "or objects".
And it seems that you are missing the forest for the trees. Whether or not the door is open to two locations at the same time or not, a swinging door creates movement that is problematic. Moving the door while creatures exist within, once, has consequences. Neither of which are addressed or considered by the spell description.
Galder's Tower requires 10 minutes to cast, so it is easily interrupted. It also exists on the material plane, which means it can be invaded by hostile forces. This is basically a scaled up Tiny Hut. The fact that Magnificent Mansion is extradimensional is very different and has consequences.
Magnificent Mansion has an analog in the Rod of Security, which also forgets to mention objects, it only refers to "visitors". The point of it is to create a safe space. If it were intended to be exploited for interplanar travel, it should say so explicitly.
Edit: Also, the "Galder" spells are the result of honoring a fan and didn't necessarily go through the same design process.
Do bags of holding explode when they enter the mansion?
"Sooner or later, your Players are going to smash your railroad into a sandbox."
-Vedexent
"real life is a super high CR."
-OboeLauren
"............anybody got any potatoes? We could drop a potato in each hole an' see which ones get viciously mauled by horrible monsters?"
-Ilyara Thundertale
Fortunately, the Bag of Holding is explicit about interacting with magic items, not spells.
Like I said
It really seems like you are bending over backwards to try to discount that there are 2 spells that serve the same basic function, but one has specific language keeping you from storing objects and one doesn't. If it wasn't intended to be able to be used to store objects then why didn't they just use the same language? The difference is literally 2 words, "or objects".