I am pretty underwhelmed by every incarnation of D&D with regards to how to handle spellcasting and spells. This is what I have developed. Its pretty complicated, but its as simple as I could make it without finding myself stuck not knowing what to say when I get some question from a player.
"Who can cast a spell scroll, and what happens?" "What if I am the one that made the scroll?" "Can my shield be my focus?" "Can I cast a spell straight out of my spellbook?" "How many copies can I have of my spellbook?" "Who can use a focus" "What can a focus substitute for?" "Why?" "How big is my spellbook?" "Why are these components so screwy?" "Are these components consumed?"
I borrowed some bits from other authors for the spell components and focus sections. Your feedback is appreciated. Do you see any internal inconsistencies?
RULES FOR INSCRIBING, CASTING, AND TRANSCRIBING SPELLS TO AND FROM SCROLLS AND SPELLBOOKS:
INSCRIBING SCROLLS
Scrolls can only be authored by Clerics or Wizards.
A scroll is one page if the spell on it is cast as an action; 2 pages if it takes longer than an action up to one minute; 4 pages if longer than a minute up to 10 minutes; and 6 pages if longer than 10 minutes to cast. A page is 6x8 inches, assuming 1 inch margins.
The spell must be prepared, and a spell slot expended to write a scroll.
The author must roll a DC (10 + spell level) Arcana (for Wizards) or Religion (for Clerics) check to inscribe the scroll. If it fails, the slot is expended anyway, and the page is destroyed.
Inscribing a scroll takes 2 hours per spell level.
The author must have high-quality ink and spell components on hand.
Components are consumed according to the spell description, as if the spell was being cast, ONLY if the DC is successful.
The page and ink are lost if the DC fails.
No inherent monetary cost other than the cost of paper, ink, and components.
EXAMPLE: A 7th level Cleric decides to write a scroll of Bane using a 3rd level spell slot. The Cleric is proficient in Religion, and has an Wisdom of 17. The DC is 11, so the Cleric needs to roll a 5 or higher to successfully inscribe the spell. If she succeeds, the drop of blood is consumed, the scroll is written, the spell will allow the caster to target 3 creatures.
CASTING SPELLS FROM SOMEONE ELSE'S SCROLL OR SPELLBOOK
15 minutes per spell level to identify what a spell is and what it does, and must be able to read the scroll or spellbook.
NOT required to know what the spell does to CAST it from the scroll or spellbook.
Anyone with the capacity to read the symbols can cast the spell.
The caster must roll a DC (5 + spell level) Arcana (Wizard author) or Religion (Cleric author) check to cast the spell successfully.
The scroll must be read aloud, but no other components are required.
A spell cast from a scroll or spellbook cannot be used on a bonus action or reaction. Otherwise, casting time is normal.
The spell is cast as if by the author of the scroll, UNLESS the person reading the scroll has a higher level in the same class, in which case, it is cast as if by the person reading the scroll.
The spell is cast as if from the spell slot expended by the author of the scroll or page.
The scroll or spellbook page is destroyed in the process ONLY if the DC is successful.
EXAMPLE: a 15th level Wizard finds the Bane scroll transcribed by the cleric in the previous example. He spends 15 minutes studying the scroll to learn what it does. He casts it, rolling a DC 6 Religion check, and targeting 3 enemies. They all have to make Charisma Saves vs the Cleric's spell save DC of 14 (8+3+3 (16 Wisdom)). If he didn't spend the time to know what it did, he could still randomly target some people, but it will only affect up to 3. If he targets a door, hoping its a Knock spell, then its wasted. If he targets himself, he's in for a nasty surprise. If he was a 8th level cleric or higher, it would have a spell save DC equal to his own spell save DC.
CASTING A SPELL FROM YOUR OWN SPELLBOOK OR SCROLL
A Cleric or Wizard can cast a spell from a scroll he or she inscribed (or a page of his or her own spellbook if a Wizard) without memorizing it.
The caster can always cast the spell, but, must roll a DC (15 + spell level) Arcana or Religion check, failure means the scroll or spellbook page(s) is destroyed when the spell is cast.
Every time the same scroll (or the pages of the spellbook) is used to cast the spell after the first time, the DC goes up by +1.
The scroll must be read aloud, but no other components are required.
A spell cast from a scroll or spellbook cannot be used on a bonus action or reaction. Otherwise, casting time is normal.
The spell is cast at the caster's current level.
The caster can either cast the spell at the spell slot expended when the scroll or spellbook page was written, OR expend a spell slot of equal or higher level.
If the Cleric or Wizard chooses to expend a spell slot, then the spell is cast as if at one slot higher than the slot expended while casting, but only up to the spell level the caster can currently cast.
THE WIZARD'S SPELLBOOK
The DM can make the acquisition of a spellbook as easy or arduous as desired.
A spellbook can be an actual book, or a special box of specialized scrolls, or a single long scroll of many spells all rolled up, or anything else the DM agrees with.
The spellbook will glow with a mix of magical auras when Detect Magic is cast on it.
A Wizard may only memorize a spell from her own spellbook. The spellbook is not just the same as a collection of scrolls. The book (or other item) itself has taken on some of the Wizard's energy and it has its own inherent magical property.
If the spellbook is destroyed, the Wizard takes damage equal to the number of spells it contained.
If a spell is removed from the spellbook, either because it was cast and the page(s) was destroyed, or because someone just tore a page out, the Wizard takes 1 HP damage per spell that is ruined or removed.
A Wizard cannot have more than TWO BOOKS (or whatever they are) from which she can memorize spells, BUT, she can keep copies of all her spells as extra scrolls, which can then be transcribed into a new spellbook dedicated for the purpose if the old one is lost, destroyed, or runs out of space. The two books may have the same or different spells in them, and may be of similar or different form.
A spellbook can run out of space. The spell books of a very powerful Wizard may be quite large and heavy.
A spell takes up one page if it is cast as an action; 2 pages if it takes longer than an action up to one minute; 4 pages if longer than a minute up to 10 minutes; and 6 pages if longer than 10 minutes to cast. A page is 6x8 inches, assuming 1 inch margins.
INSCRIBING SPELLS INTO YOUR SPELLBOOK FROM MEMORY
This works the same as inscribing a scroll, above.
This is the only way for a Wizard to make a copy of his or her spellbook.
TRANSCRIBING SPELLS FROM A SCROLL OR SPELLBOOK TO YOUR OWN SPELLBOOK
15 minutes per spell level to identify what a spell is and what it does, and must be able to read the scroll or spellbook.
The Wizard must roll a DC (10 + spell level) Arcana check, and expend a spell slot of the same level as the spell itself, or higher (ergo, cannot inscribe a spell they cannot cast). The spell slot used to inscribe the scroll or spellbook originally is irrelevant.
Inscribing a spell takes 2 hours per spell level.
The scroll or spellbook page copied from is destroyed in the process, REGARDLESS of success of the DC.
Components of the spell are required, and are consumed (if the spell description calls for that) ONLY if the DC is successful.
Ink, and the targeted pages in the target spellbook are destroyed if the DC fails.
No inherent monetary cost other than the cost of paper, ink, and components.
EXAMPLE: A 5th level Wizard finds a 7th level Wizard's spellbook. He spends 15 minutes per spell level identifying all the spells in the book. There are 4 first, 4 second, and 3 third level spells, so 5.25 hours are required just to identify the spells. He can transcribe any of the 1st or 2nd level spells, but not the 3rd level spells. He tries a 2nd level spell that requires a component that is consumed upon casting and can be cast in 1 action. The DC is 12 on his Arcana check. If he fails, the page of the spellbook he found is destroyed, as is the page in his own book he was hoping to inscribe to, but the components are not lost. If he succeeds, the page of the spellbook he found is destroyed, the components are consumed, and his spellbook has a new spell in it.
RULES ON SPELL COMPONENTS AND FOCUSES
VERBAL COMPONENTS are as described in the PHB and other sourcebooks.
SOMATIC COMPONENTS are as described in the PHB and other sourcebooks. The gestures required for casting spells can be performed with one hand, including when that hand is holding the material components or focus required for the spell. Any other item must be dropped, sheathed, allowed to hang from a lanyard or wrist loop, or otherwise not in the caster's hand in order to perform the movements required.
MATERIAL COMPONENTS are as described in the PHB and other sourcebooks, with some modifications described here. A component pouch is not automatically filled with components, and does not substitute for a focus. You can have a component pouch, but if it doesn't have the stuff you need in it, then its just a pouch!
CONSUMPTION OF COMPONENTS
Unless otherwise stated, any component with NO cost associated is consumed when the spell is cast, and any component WITH a cost associated is NOT consumed when the spell is cast.
HOWEVER, many components are listed that do not have a cost associated, but should, such as the small silver mirror for Sanctuary, these are not costless, and are not consumed when the spell is cast, unless it is specifically stated. These details should be checked in advance with the DM when your character prepares his or her spells.
As a rule of thumb, any mundane item that a caster can simply pick up from the ground, snatch from a bush, or take a pinch from the cupboard (and likely there are other examples), is consumed when the spell is cast; while anything that they have to buy, manufacture, that requires significant effort to obtain, or is very rare, is not consumed.
NOTE FOR SPELLS WITH A CAST TIME ONE REACTION OR BONUS ACTION: Material components do not need to be held, but must be on the person (in a pouch, pocket, etc) of the caster.
NOTES FOR SPELLS WITH A CAST TIME ONE ACTION: Material components must be HELD when the spell is cast, unless the spell description specifies otherwise. This requires a free hand, which can be the same hand as the one used to perform the somatic component of the spell, if there is one.
NOTES FOR SPELLS WITH A CAST TIME LONGER THAN ONE ACTION: Many components for spells of this sort are completely out of balance. This is remedied by establishing a cost structure, below.
If the material component has no cost associated, and it is something that shouldn't cost anything to obtain, then it is what is listed in the sourcebook.
If the PHB or other source lists the spell as having a material component with a cost associated, OR if the component listed seems like it SHOULD have a cost, then the spell will have a material component, but not necessarily the one in the book. The component must be appropriate for the spell, and determined by the DM and player. This should be worked out ahead of time, when the character prepares the spell.
Cost will be based on the level and mechanics of the spell, as shown below
2x listed cost for spells that take longer than a minute to cast. 4x for spells that take longer than ten minutes to cast.
1/10th listed cost for components that are consumed
Costs by spell level:
1st - 25gp 2nd - 50gp 3rd - 100gp
4th - 250gp 5th - 500gp 6th - 1000gp
7th - 2500gp 8th - 5000gp 9th - 10,000gp
FOCUSES
All spellcasting classes can use Focuses.
Focuses are never consumed (though extraordinary circumstances may occur.............)
Any material component with a cost that is equal or less than 20x the caster's level can be replaced by a Focus.
A spellcaster can have at most ONE Focus, and a short rest is required to attune the item. THIS DOES NOT TAKE UP AN ATTUNEMENT SLOT.
Wizards can use a focus at level 1. All other spellcasters must wait until level 3 to use a focus. A multiclass wizard can only use a focus to cast wizard spells until the other spellcasting class has reached 3rd level, at which point it can be sued for both.
A focus must be held, worn, or incorporated into an item that is held or worn. If a focus is incorporated into an item, it must be done by a skilled artisan, either the caster him/herself, or with his/her close assistance.
Not just any item can be a Focus. Typical outfitter stores will not carry items that can be focuses. A specialized shop in a major city might carry items that are capable of being focuses, but, they will be expensive and rare. Costs vary, but should typically be at least 300gp.
The focus must be appropriate for the character, as follows:
CLERIC: usually the Focus must be the holy symbol of their deity, obtained through their holy organization, and must be obtained though service to their order or church as appropriate. Certain deities may vary substantially from the norm, for example, a god of thievery might require his clerics to steal something valuable, a god of death might require them to kill someone and use a bone from their victim. May be purchased if that is appropriate for the deity, but that would be atypical.
DRUID: an item associated with their Circle, rare, natural, and require some minor quest to obtain. Cannot be purchased. Can be a reward or object of a service or quest given by the Druid's circle or by some powerful creature associated with nature and appropriate for the Circle.
ELDRITCH KNIGHT: One of the weapons with which the Knight forms a Bond, per the 3rd-level feature. Anyone can make the weapon, and the knight can acquire it in any way, but it must be a unique and valuable item.
PALADIN: same as Cleric.
RANGER: the focus must be a natural item associated with an ecosystem the ranger has chosen as a favored terrain for his or her Natural Explorer feature. The ranger must find, obtain, or create the item through his or her own skills. If the ranger follows a specific deity, then a quest or service can be performed for that deity or church, with the focus as a reward. Cannot be purchased.
ARCANE TRICKSTER: Focus must be, stolen, obtained through trickery, or through appropriate adventuring. Cannot be purchased, unless the exchange was part of a con.
SORCERER: any magical item with the focus trait, many non-magical items of significant value (DM discretion!). May be obtained in any manner.
WARLOCK: an item associated with the Pact. Must be valuable, rare, and requires some sacrifice, quest, or service to obtain. Cannot be purchased.
WIZARD: any magical item with the focus trait, many non-magical items of significant value (DM discretion!). May be obtained in any manner.
A focus can be UNATTUNED by any opposing spellcaster if they roll a DC equal to 15 plus the focus owner's total of caster levels minus their own total of caster levels. So, if a 5th level Cleric owns a focus, and a 4th level wizard multiclassed as a 2nd level fighter tries to unattune the cleric's focus, that wizard/fighter must roll a (15+5-4=16) or higher to unattune it. If the wizard was multiclassed as a 2nd level druid, then his roll would have to be (15+5-6=14) or higher.
To do this requires a full minute of unbroken concentration, and physical contact with the Focus item.
If a spellcaster fails to unattune another caster's focus, he can never attempt to unattune that particular focus again.
If a spellcaster succeeds in unattuning a Focus, he or she can always succeed on that particular Focus, unless the owner gains a level, or the Focus changes owners, at which point a new DC would have to be made.
The rules already expressly contradict a lot of what you have here. And many of the rules make a LOT more sense than what you have homebrewed up.
For example, per the rules, anyone that is Proficient with the Arcana skill and can cast a spell can make a scroll of that spell. Druids, Paladins, any caster that has proficiency in Arcana. Which makes a lot of sense as your method means no Druid only spells can be scrolls.
Personally, the components rules as they already exist can go die in a fire. Your version makes it not only more tedious to manage, but more frustrating to deal with.
You started out saying the rules I wrote don't make sense, but then you pointed out a contradiction between what I use and the rule books without explaining why the rule books make more sense. I am interested to hear why you think my rules don't make sense. Is it that its hard to follow what I wrote, or is it that they are not consistent? Something else?
Particularly interested if you see any internal conflicts. I don't mind contradicting rules from the books. These are meant to replace rules they contradict.
But, if you think something does not makes sense, I'd be interested in hearing that. Why do you think it makes more sense to allow druids to write scrolls? I don't think it makes sense for Druids to make scrolls. They are nature priests, not librarians. All the other caster classes are even less reasonable. Surely sorcerers are not the type....
Regarding the DC to write or cast scrolls, I don't want players just carrying around dozens of scrolls blasting off spells like its nothing. Its game-breaking. I want scrolls to be a little bit hit or miss, and limited.
Also, if only people who have Arcana can make spells, then that is super limiting, but in an arbitrary and unbalanced way. It basically means that a choice a player makes at the beginning of the game, about a pretty minor detail of their character, determines if they have this incredible extra power for the rest of the game. Since there's no mechanic for learning new skills, that seems pretty lame.
That said, I let people gain new skills if they can justify it and spend the time to do it. Nonetheless, I don't see why having the proficiency in Arcana should be determinant. Its not a magical ability, its just knowledge. You have to apply your skill to the task. Sometimes its enough, sometimes its not. Someone who is not proficient will mess it up more than someone who is proficient, all else being equal, but there's no inherent reason why having that proficiency should give you a skill that is completely impossible without it. I am not a doctor, but if I had to, I could probably set a bone, stitch up a wound, or deliver a baby - you'd rather have someone with proficiency do it, though!
Its significantly more clear than the rules as written. If you just ignore components, then, sure the rules as written are much less complex, because you don't do anything with material components.
But, if you do use material components, then the rule books are so vague that its a complete mess. I think components are a pretty fundamental aspect of spellcasting. I don't like to just assume that a character who just got dropped in a river naked can suddenly cast any spell he wants, even though that spell requires a pinch of salt or whatever.
The way I do it, ALL spells of a certain cast time behave the same. ALL components that are costless are consumed. ALL components that have a cost are not consumed.
That's simpler to understand, and pretty easy, really, but you have to plan ahead. I just have players tell me beforehand what they've done to collect the components needed, and if it seems reasonable, then we move on.
There's a lot of problems with the RAI components. A lot of material components that should obviously be one-use, like a drop of blood, are not stated that they are consumed, and a bunch of stuff that obviously costs money is not listed as costing money. There's no consistency in the expense required. There's nothing about using a focus that is also your weapon, or whatever. The rules say a focus can substitute for any component, so why bother with components at all? Just pointless. This way, its pretty clear what a focus can do, vs cannot do, and its limited. Powerful spells that take more than an action to cast and the book says have 10000gp components should not be possible to cast with a 5gp focus.
Anyway, not angry, but I was surprised to get such a nasty response. Constructive criticism is welcomed. Unspecified rage is not useful. "Tedious and frustrating" are words describing your feelings, not how these rules work and what might or might not make sense. That is meant as constructive criticism, by the way - I am interested if you have any specific comments.
There absolutely are mechanics for learning skills. And if a feat selection isn’t enough for you, developing other ways to do it is infinitely preferable to arbitrarily deciding that no druid ever has learned to put their magic into written form, despite a magic language being one of their class features.
Arcana proficiency represents a specific skill (ha ha) set. There are a hundred ways to be a cleric for which scroll scribing makes no sense and a hundred more to be a druid for which it does. Limiting activities unrelated to class to certain classes is bad design.
As I said, I do allow players to learn new skills, over time. Druidic is a magic language? Secret, yes, but magical?
"There are a hundred ways to be a cleric for which scroll scribing makes no sense and a hundred more to be a druid for which it does." - Interesting point. So far, its not been an issue, but I can see your argument. I still think it should be possible to do without the Arcana proficiency. All the other skills work that way. You can try to crime without having stealth or sleight of hand - you just suck at it - and my doctor metaphor is a good one, too.
"Limiting activities unrelated to class to certain classes is bad design." - I'd argue scroll writing is entirely related to class. A cleric certainly can't write a wizard scroll. If its not related to class, then why can't a fighter write a scroll? If scroll writing is not related to class, then neither is spellcasting.
Clerics belong to hierarchical organizations that follow scriptures and holy texts, with a few notable exceptions. I suppose some CE god of chaos and anti-intellectualism might require all his (its bound to be a male) priests to disavow writing anything down. Wizards' entire schtick is about transcribing spells into books and scrolls. They both lend themselves to scroll writing. None of the other classes do. Maybe there's an argument for druids, but, that argument is definitely not that there is some reason why druid spells should be scroll-castable. I see no reason why all spells should be scroll-castable.
An argument for Druids might be that they, too, use the written word to transmit rituals and information among their organization, with the Druidic language being a good point. I could see Radagast writing a scroll, and he had to be a Druid. On the other hand, I guess I just have a hard time seeing a Druid digging into a library and researching rituals and scribulations and such, and I really don't see them shopping for high-tech ink and parchment. Their's is a wild and untamed magic, more like sorcerers than clerics.
An argument might be made for Arcane Tricksters, too.
On the other hand, maybe all this makes me think that only Wizards should be able to write scrolls...
You want details, OK. Note I will treating you as someone that wrote it up for Wizards before they finalized the rules
INSCRIBING SCROLLS
Scrolls can only be authored by Clerics or Wizards. Arcana makes sense, this does not. Bards, Warlocks, Paladins, and Arcane Tricksters should be making scrolls. I could see a VARIANT rule to disallow the rest (Druid, Sorcerers, Ranger, etc.)
A scroll is one page if the spell on it is cast as an action; 2 pages if it takes longer than an action up to one minute; 4 pages if longer than a minute up to 10 minutes; and 6 pages if longer than 10 minutes to cast. A page is 6x8 inches, assuming 1 inch margins. Needless detail, as you have not listed the price per page.
The spell must be prepared, and a spell slot expended to write a scroll. Fine.
The author must roll a DC (10 + spell level) Arcana (for Wizards) or Religion (for Clerics) check to inscribe the scroll. If it fails, the slot is expended anyway, and the page is destroyed. Religion makes no sense, it is a knowledge of god's word, not instructions on how to force the god to do what you want. Magic however is something you need to understand, so Arcana all the way. DC makes it harder, and MUCH more expensive, particularly for high level spells.
Inscribing a scroll takes 2 hours per spell level. Fine
The author must have high-quality ink and spell components on hand. Fine, but give a price, and include it as part of everything, no need to separate this out.
Components are consumed according to the spell description, as if the spell was being cast, ONLY if the DC is successful. Why? Because you have them fail often? Fix is they don't fail often.
The page and ink are lost if the DC fails. BAD idea. Why are you separating out the costs so they have to do more math when they FAIL? You want some salt to rub in the wounds?
No inherent monetary cost other than the cost of paper, ink, and components. Fine if you list out the price. But don't do it per page or ink, do it per spell level. Do not give them stupid math to do when you can do it for them.
CASTING SPELLS FROM SOMEONE ELSE'S SCROLL OR SPELLBOOK: Interesting idea, lets see where you go with it.
15 minutes per spell level to identify what a spell is and what it does, and must be able to read the scroll or spellbook. Clarify - what would prevent them from being able to read it?
NOT required to know what the spell does to CAST it from the scroll or spellbook. Interesting role playing idea.
Anyone with the capacity to read the symbols can cast the spell. Define 'read the symbols'. Are you saying a fighter can cast a spell? Any caster? A caster that has the spell on his list? A caster of the exact type that wrote it?
The caster must roll a DC (5 + spell level) Arcana (Wizard author) or Religion (Cleric author) check to cast the spell successfully. Bad idea, keep it Arcana. Again misunderstanding what Knowledge Religion is supposed to do.
The scroll must be read aloud, but no other components are required. Fine
A spell cast from a scroll or spellbook cannot be used on a bonus action or reaction. Otherwise, casting time is normal. Clarify - if I wrote a scroll of Misty Step can it not be used, or can it be used as an action?
The spell is cast as if by the author of the scroll, UNLESS the person reading the scroll has a higher level in the same class, in which case, it is cast as if by the person reading the scroll. Misunderatnding existing rules for spell casting. Caster level never matters not for cantrips or leveled spells. For cantrips, CHARACTER level matters, not caster level.
The spell is cast as if from the spell slot expended by the author of the scroll or page. Good rule.
The scroll or spellbook page is destroyed in the process ONLY if the DC is successful. Sounds too easy to me. You screw up the spell, then you screw up the item that would have been used. At the very least a nat 1 should destroy the scroll or spellbook..
CASTING A SPELL FROM YOUR OWN SPELLBOOK OR SCROLL: Looks like a powerful Subclass ability that you are giving away for free - and ONLY to a Clerics and Wizards. You going to discuss rules for getting a spellbook out in the middle of combat? And the danger of it being damaged?
A Cleric or Wizard can cast a spell from a scroll he or she inscribed (or a page of his or her own spellbook if a Wizard) without memorizing it. Are they not using up the items? Bad idea. HUGE power boost in the effective spell slots of the people.
The caster can always cast the spell, but, must roll a DC (15 + spell level) Arcana or Religion check, failure means the scroll or spellbook page(s) is destroyed when the spell is cast. At least you made it hard, but still a big power boost.
Every time the same scroll (or the pages of the spellbook) is used to cast the spell after the first time, the DC goes up by +1. RECORD KEEPING NIGHTMARE!
The scroll must be read aloud, but no other components are required. Fine for a scroll - what about a spell book page?
A spell cast from a scroll or spellbook cannot be used on a bonus action or reaction. Otherwise, casting time is normal. Again, clarify - misty step as an action or can't be done.
The spell is cast at the caster's current level. Cantrip only rule. Good.
The caster can either cast the spell at the spell slot expended when the scroll or spellbook page was written, OR expend a spell slot of equal or higher level. So letting them do more prepared spells AND also saving them a spell slot? ANOTHER huge power boost.
If the Cleric or Wizard chooses to expend a spell slot, then the spell is cast as if at one slot higher than the slot expended while casting, but only up to the spell level the caster can currently cast. Yet ANOTHER power boost for an ability that should be a subclass ability. Make this the 17th level sublcass ability.
THE WIZARD'S SPELLBOOK
The DM can make the acquisition of a spellbook as easy or arduous as desired. Obvious.
A spellbook can be an actual book, or a special box of specialized scrolls, or a single long scroll of many spells all rolled up, or anything else the DM agrees with. Obvious - are you going to allow non-written spells like the Aztec knot recording system? If so say so, and discuss scrolls as well. Otherwise clarify as must be written with ink - no carving, no knot languages, no other recording methods.
The spellbook will glow with a mix of magical auras when Detect Magic is cast on it. Obvious
A Wizard may only memorize a spell from her own spellbook. The spellbook is not just the same as a collection of scrolls. The book (or other item) itself has taken on some of the Wizard's energy and it has its own inherent magical property. Good
If the spellbook is destroyed, the Wizard takes damage equal to the number of spells it contained. Hm. Bad idea. This is a Wizard, not a Sorcerer or Warlock. Wizards study, they do not invest their souls, so no damage. Besides the pain and physical cost should be enough.
If a spell is removed from the spellbook, either because it was cast and the page(s) was destroyed, or because someone just tore a page out, the Wizard takes 1 HP damage per spell that is ruined or removed. Again, bad idea.
A Wizard cannot have more than TWO BOOKS (or whatever they are) from which she can memorize spells, BUT, she can keep copies of all her spells as extra scrolls, which can then be transcribed into a new spellbook dedicated for the purpose if the old one is lost, destroyed, or runs out of space. The two books may have the same or different spells in them, and may be of similar or different form. Bad idea again. Wizards NEED spell books, and it just something they study, not a part of their soul.
A spellbook can run out of space. The spell books of a very powerful Wizard may be quite large and heavy. Fine, but not if you think this is a limit on the spells they can learn, that is the key thing about wizrds, they can learn all the spells. Also involves more pointless record keeping.
A spell takes up one page if it is cast as an action; 2 pages if it takes longer than an action up to one minute; 4 pages if longer than a minute up to 10 minutes; and 6 pages if longer than 10 minutes to cast. A page is 6x8 inches, assuming 1 inch margins. The pointless record keeping I mentioned.
INSCRIBING SPELLS INTO YOUR SPELLBOOK FROM MEMORY
This works the same as inscribing a scroll, above. Fine
This is the only way for a Wizard to make a copy of his or her spellbook. Fine
TRANSCRIBING SPELLS FROM A SCROLL OR SPELLBOOK TO YOUR OWN SPELLBOOK
15 minutes per spell level to identify what a spell is and what it does, and must be able to read the scroll or spellbook. Fine
The Wizard must roll a DC (10 + spell level) Arcana check, and expend a spell slot of the same level as the spell itself, or higher (ergo, cannot inscribe a spell they cannot cast). The spell slot used to inscribe the scroll or spellbook originally is irrelevant. Fine
Inscribing a spell takes 2 hours per spell level. Fine
The scroll or spellbook page copied from is destroyed in the process, REGARDLESS of success of the DC. Fine
Components of the spell are required, and are consumed (if the spell description calls for that) ONLY if the DC is successful. Fine
Ink, and the targeted pages in the target spellbook are destroyed if the DC fails. Fine
No inherent monetary cost other than the cost of paper, ink, and components. Fine but again TELL US THIS HERE.
EXAMPLE: A 5th level Wizard finds a 7th level Wizard's spellbook. He spends 15 minutes per spell level identifying all the spells in the book. There are 4 first, 4 second, and 3 third level spells, so 5.25 hours are required just to identify the spells. He can transcribe any of the 1st or 2nd level spells, but not the 3rd level spells. He tries a 2nd level spell that requires a component that is consumed upon casting and can be cast in 1 action. The DC is 12 on his Arcana check. If he fails, the page of the spellbook he found is destroyed, as is the page in his own book he was hoping to inscribe to, but the components are not lost. If he succeeds, the page of the spellbook he found is destroyed, the components are consumed, and his spellbook has a new spell in it.
RULES ON SPELL COMPONENTS AND FOCUSES
VERBAL COMPONENTS are as described in the PHB and other sourcebooks.
SOMATIC COMPONENTS are as described in the PHB and other sourcebooks. The gestures required for casting spells can be performed with one hand, including when that hand is holding the material components or focus required for the spell. Any other item must be dropped, sheathed, allowed to hang from a lanyard or wrist loop, or otherwise not in the caster's hand in order to perform the movements required.
MATERIAL COMPONENTS are as described in the PHB and other sourcebooks, with some modifications described here. A component pouch is not automatically filled with components, and does not substitute for a focus. You can have a component pouch, but if it doesn't have the stuff you need in it, then its just a pouch!
CONSUMPTION OF COMPONENTS
Unless otherwise stated, any component with NO cost associated is consumed when the spell is cast, and any component WITH a cost associated is NOT consumed when the spell is cast. Fine
HOWEVER, many components are listed that do not have a cost associated, but should, such as the small silver mirror for Sanctuary, these are not costless, and are not consumed when the spell is cast, unless it is specifically stated. These details should be checked in advance with the DM when your character prepares his or her spells. Fine house rule - requires more record keeping, but at least it has a point.
As a rule of thumb, any mundane item that a caster can simply pick up from the ground, snatch from a bush, or take a pinch from the cupboard (and likely there are other examples), is consumed when the spell is cast; while anything that they have to buy, manufacture, that requires significant effort to obtain, or is very rare, is not consumed. Fine
NOTE FOR SPELLS WITH A CAST TIME ONE REACTION OR BONUS ACTION: Material components do not need to be held, but must be on the person (in a pouch, pocket, etc) of the caster.
NOTES FOR SPELLS WITH A CAST TIME ONE ACTION: Material components must be HELD when the spell is cast, unless the spell description specifies otherwise. This requires a free hand, which can be the same hand as the one used to perform the somatic component of the spell, if there is one. Fine
NOTES FOR SPELLS WITH A CAST TIME LONGER THAN ONE ACTION: Many components for spells of this sort are completely out of balance. This is remedied by establishing a cost structure, below.
If the material component has no cost associated, and it is something that shouldn't cost anything to obtain, then it is what is listed in the sourcebook.Fine
If the PHB or other source lists the spell as having a material component with a cost associated, OR if the component listed seems like it SHOULD have a cost, then the spell will have a material component, but not necessarily the one in the book. The component must be appropriate for the spell, and determined by the DM and player. This should be worked out ahead of time, when the character prepares the spell. Pointleess more work for the DM. Use the PHB, otherwise let them house rule.
Cost will be based on the level and mechanics of the spell, as shown below Good general rules to help people DESIGN new spells, BAD idea to throw this at the DM on top of what the spells already list. Move this section to our notes about how to design a new spell, but do not publish it where players and DM's can read.
2x listed cost for spells that take longer than a minute to cast. 4x for spells that take longer than ten minutes to cast.
1/10th listed cost for components that are consumed
Costs by spell level:
1st - 25gp 2nd - 50gp 3rd - 100gp
4th - 250gp 5th - 500gp 6th - 1000gp
7th - 2500gp 8th - 5000gp 9th - 10,000gp
FOCUSES
All spellcasting classes can use Focuses. Fine
Focuses are never consumed (though extraordinary circumstances may occur.............) Fine
Any material component with a cost that is equal or less than 20x the caster's level can be replaced by a Focus. More work for DM, just make it if the spell lists a price, it can not be replaced by the Focus. NO STUPID MATH. Enough math is done with to hit and saves.
A spellcaster can have at most ONE Focus, and a short rest is required to attune the item. THIS DOES NOT TAKE UP AN ATTUNEMENT SLOT. Why did you mention the word attune? Just say "short rest is required to familiarize yourself with it."
Wizards can use a focus at level 1. All other spellcasters must wait until level 3 to use a focus. A multiclass wizard can only use a focus to cast wizard spells until the other spellcasting class has reached 3rd level, at which point it can be sued for both. Bad idea. More record keeping and sillyness. Keep it SIMPLE.
A focus must be held, worn, or incorporated into an item that is held or worn. If a focus is incorporated into an item, it must be done by a skilled artisan, either the caster him/herself, or with his/her close assistance. Fine, but negates that cool magic item we already created called the Ruby of the War Mage, ok we will make the Ruby count as a 2nd focus, breaking the rules you set forth above.
Not just any item can be a Focus. Typical outfitter stores will not carry items that can be focuses. A specialized shop in a major city might carry items that are capable of being focuses, but, they will be expensive and rare. Costs vary, but should typically be at least 300gp. Way too expensive for a 1st level wizard. Scrap your 3rd level rule and just give all casters a focus when they take their first level
The focus must be appropriate for the character, as follows:. Way too complicated. Keep it simpler.
Holy Symbol CLERIC: usually the Focus must be the holy symbol of their deity, obtained through their holy organization, and must be obtained though service to their order or church as appropriate. Certain deities may vary substantially from the norm, for example, a god of thievery might require his clerics to steal something valuable, a god of death might require them to kill someone and use a bone from their victim. May be purchased if that is appropriate for the deity, but that would be atypical.
Rare wood or rock DRUID: an item associated with their Circle, rare, natural, and require some minor quest to obtain. Cannot be purchased. Can be a reward or object of a service or quest given by the Druid's circle or by some powerful creature associated with nature and appropriate for the Circle.
Scabbard ELDRITCH KNIGHT: One of the weapons with which the Knight forms a Bond, per the 3rd-level feature. Anyone can make the weapon, and the knight can acquire it in any way, but it must be a unique and valuable item.
Holy Symbol PALADIN: same as Cleric.
Rare wood or Rock RANGER: the focus must be a natural item associated with an ecosystem the ranger has chosen as a favored terrain for his or her Natural Explorer feature. The ranger must find, obtain, or create the item through his or her own skills. If the ranger follows a specific deity, then a quest or service can be performed for that deity or church, with the focus as a reward. Cannot be purchased.
Stage Magician Prop. ARCANE TRICKSTER: Focus must be, stolen, obtained through trickery, or through appropriate adventuring. Cannot be purchased, unless the exchange was part of a con.
Item related to Source - dragon scale, glass from lightning strike, dice, SORCERER: any magical item with the focus trait, many non-magical items of significant value (DM discretion!). May be obtained in any manner.
Perfect description, except can be purchased. WARLOCK: an item associated with the Pact. Must be valuable, rare, and requires some sacrifice, quest, or service to obtain. Cannot be purchased.
Wand, crystal, gem, WIZARD: any magical item with the focus trait, many non-magical items of significant value (DM discretion!). May be obtained in any manner.
A focus can be UNATTUNED by any opposing spellcaster if they roll a DC equal to 15 plus the focus owner's total of caster levels minus their own total of caster levels. So, if a 5th level Cleric owns a focus, and a 4th level wizard multiclassed as a 2nd level fighter tries to unattune the cleric's focus, that wizard/fighter must roll a (15+5-4=16) or higher to unattune it. If the wizard was multiclassed as a 2nd level druid, then his roll would have to be (15+5-6=14) or higher. Needlessly complicated. As a short rest. Ignore the rest.
To do this requires a full minute of unbroken concentration, and physical contact with the Focus item.
If a spellcaster fails to unattune another caster's focus, he can never attempt to unattune that particular focus again.
If a spellcaster succeeds in unattuning a Focus, he or she can always succeed on that particular Focus, unless the owner gains a level, or the Focus changes owners, at which point a new DC would have to be made.
Anyway, not angry, but I was surprised to get such a nasty response.
That's.... not "nasty". That's me being dumbfounded that you'd take an already archaic and outmoded system and then try to make it significantly more intricate and require a ton of extra bookkeeping. The concept of magic has evolved since D&D began. The idea of waving around a ball of bat guano to produce a ball of fire is rather eccentric. And if you really are trying to hold onto this idea that all material components are that important that you feel the need to assign gold costs to everything, you should also be ascribing availability to them as well. The process of acquiring some fairly basic components could comprise an entire adventure in and of itself, nevermind the really expensive exotic ones. But doing that bogs down any game containing a spellcaster, and will inevitably create friction at the table when the caster has to beg the party to stop what they're doing to go harvest scales from some random monster lizard before they can go stop the bad guy about to open the demon gate or whatever.
Material components need to be simplified and streamlined as it is, not made more complex.
I pretty much dislike all of this. It seems to only serve the purpose of making an already complicated thing much more complicated, makes it all so much more tedious that it saps away all the fun of spellcasting and overall is considerably, and needlessly, restrictive.
Pass.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond. Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ thisFAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I am pretty underwhelmed by every incarnation of D&D with regards to how to handle spellcasting and spells. This is what I have developed. Its pretty complicated, but its as simple as I could make it without finding myself stuck not knowing what to say when I get some question from a player.
"Who can cast a spell scroll, and what happens?" "What if I am the one that made the scroll?" "Can my shield be my focus?" "Can I cast a spell straight out of my spellbook?" "How many copies can I have of my spellbook?" "Who can use a focus" "What can a focus substitute for?" "Why?" "How big is my spellbook?" "Why are these components so screwy?" "Are these components consumed?"
I borrowed some bits from other authors for the spell components and focus sections. Your feedback is appreciated. Do you see any internal inconsistencies?
RULES FOR INSCRIBING, CASTING, AND TRANSCRIBING SPELLS TO AND FROM SCROLLS AND SPELLBOOKS:
INSCRIBING SCROLLS
CASTING SPELLS FROM SOMEONE ELSE'S SCROLL OR SPELLBOOK
CASTING A SPELL FROM YOUR OWN SPELLBOOK OR SCROLL
THE WIZARD'S SPELLBOOK
INSCRIBING SPELLS INTO YOUR SPELLBOOK FROM MEMORY
TRANSCRIBING SPELLS FROM A SCROLL OR SPELLBOOK TO YOUR OWN SPELLBOOK
RULES ON SPELL COMPONENTS AND FOCUSES
VERBAL COMPONENTS are as described in the PHB and other sourcebooks.
SOMATIC COMPONENTS are as described in the PHB and other sourcebooks. The gestures required for casting spells can be performed with one hand, including when that hand is holding the material components or focus required for the spell. Any other item must be dropped, sheathed, allowed to hang from a lanyard or wrist loop, or otherwise not in the caster's hand in order to perform the movements required.
MATERIAL COMPONENTS are as described in the PHB and other sourcebooks, with some modifications described here. A component pouch is not automatically filled with components, and does not substitute for a focus. You can have a component pouch, but if it doesn't have the stuff you need in it, then its just a pouch!
CONSUMPTION OF COMPONENTS
NOTE FOR SPELLS WITH A CAST TIME ONE REACTION OR BONUS ACTION: Material components do not need to be held, but must be on the person (in a pouch, pocket, etc) of the caster.
NOTES FOR SPELLS WITH A CAST TIME ONE ACTION: Material components must be HELD when the spell is cast, unless the spell description specifies otherwise. This requires a free hand, which can be the same hand as the one used to perform the somatic component of the spell, if there is one.
NOTES FOR SPELLS WITH A CAST TIME LONGER THAN ONE ACTION: Many components for spells of this sort are completely out of balance. This is remedied by establishing a cost structure, below.
FOCUSES
The rules already expressly contradict a lot of what you have here. And many of the rules make a LOT more sense than what you have homebrewed up.
For example, per the rules, anyone that is Proficient with the Arcana skill and can cast a spell can make a scroll of that spell. Druids, Paladins, any caster that has proficiency in Arcana. Which makes a lot of sense as your method means no Druid only spells can be scrolls.
Personally, the components rules as they already exist can go die in a fire. Your version makes it not only more tedious to manage, but more frustrating to deal with.
Mog:
You started out saying the rules I wrote don't make sense, but then you pointed out a contradiction between what I use and the rule books without explaining why the rule books make more sense. I am interested to hear why you think my rules don't make sense. Is it that its hard to follow what I wrote, or is it that they are not consistent? Something else?
Particularly interested if you see any internal conflicts. I don't mind contradicting rules from the books. These are meant to replace rules they contradict.
But, if you think something does not makes sense, I'd be interested in hearing that. Why do you think it makes more sense to allow druids to write scrolls? I don't think it makes sense for Druids to make scrolls. They are nature priests, not librarians. All the other caster classes are even less reasonable. Surely sorcerers are not the type....
Regarding the DC to write or cast scrolls, I don't want players just carrying around dozens of scrolls blasting off spells like its nothing. Its game-breaking. I want scrolls to be a little bit hit or miss, and limited.
Also, if only people who have Arcana can make spells, then that is super limiting, but in an arbitrary and unbalanced way. It basically means that a choice a player makes at the beginning of the game, about a pretty minor detail of their character, determines if they have this incredible extra power for the rest of the game. Since there's no mechanic for learning new skills, that seems pretty lame.
That said, I let people gain new skills if they can justify it and spend the time to do it. Nonetheless, I don't see why having the proficiency in Arcana should be determinant. Its not a magical ability, its just knowledge. You have to apply your skill to the task. Sometimes its enough, sometimes its not. Someone who is not proficient will mess it up more than someone who is proficient, all else being equal, but there's no inherent reason why having that proficiency should give you a skill that is completely impossible without it. I am not a doctor, but if I had to, I could probably set a bone, stitch up a wound, or deliver a baby - you'd rather have someone with proficiency do it, though!
Its significantly more clear than the rules as written. If you just ignore components, then, sure the rules as written are much less complex, because you don't do anything with material components.
But, if you do use material components, then the rule books are so vague that its a complete mess. I think components are a pretty fundamental aspect of spellcasting. I don't like to just assume that a character who just got dropped in a river naked can suddenly cast any spell he wants, even though that spell requires a pinch of salt or whatever.
The way I do it, ALL spells of a certain cast time behave the same. ALL components that are costless are consumed. ALL components that have a cost are not consumed.
That's simpler to understand, and pretty easy, really, but you have to plan ahead. I just have players tell me beforehand what they've done to collect the components needed, and if it seems reasonable, then we move on.
There's a lot of problems with the RAI components. A lot of material components that should obviously be one-use, like a drop of blood, are not stated that they are consumed, and a bunch of stuff that obviously costs money is not listed as costing money. There's no consistency in the expense required. There's nothing about using a focus that is also your weapon, or whatever. The rules say a focus can substitute for any component, so why bother with components at all? Just pointless. This way, its pretty clear what a focus can do, vs cannot do, and its limited. Powerful spells that take more than an action to cast and the book says have 10000gp components should not be possible to cast with a 5gp focus.
Anyway, not angry, but I was surprised to get such a nasty response. Constructive criticism is welcomed. Unspecified rage is not useful. "Tedious and frustrating" are words describing your feelings, not how these rules work and what might or might not make sense. That is meant as constructive criticism, by the way - I am interested if you have any specific comments.
There absolutely are mechanics for learning skills. And if a feat selection isn’t enough for you, developing other ways to do it is infinitely preferable to arbitrarily deciding that no druid ever has learned to put their magic into written form, despite a magic language being one of their class features.
Arcana proficiency represents a specific skill (ha ha) set. There are a hundred ways to be a cleric for which scroll scribing makes no sense and a hundred more to be a druid for which it does. Limiting activities unrelated to class to certain classes is bad design.
As I said, I do allow players to learn new skills, over time. Druidic is a magic language? Secret, yes, but magical?
"There are a hundred ways to be a cleric for which scroll scribing makes no sense and a hundred more to be a druid for which it does." - Interesting point. So far, its not been an issue, but I can see your argument. I still think it should be possible to do without the Arcana proficiency. All the other skills work that way. You can try to crime without having stealth or sleight of hand - you just suck at it - and my doctor metaphor is a good one, too.
"Limiting activities unrelated to class to certain classes is bad design." - I'd argue scroll writing is entirely related to class. A cleric certainly can't write a wizard scroll. If its not related to class, then why can't a fighter write a scroll? If scroll writing is not related to class, then neither is spellcasting.
Clerics belong to hierarchical organizations that follow scriptures and holy texts, with a few notable exceptions. I suppose some CE god of chaos and anti-intellectualism might require all his (its bound to be a male) priests to disavow writing anything down. Wizards' entire schtick is about transcribing spells into books and scrolls. They both lend themselves to scroll writing. None of the other classes do. Maybe there's an argument for druids, but, that argument is definitely not that there is some reason why druid spells should be scroll-castable. I see no reason why all spells should be scroll-castable.
An argument for Druids might be that they, too, use the written word to transmit rituals and information among their organization, with the Druidic language being a good point. I could see Radagast writing a scroll, and he had to be a Druid. On the other hand, I guess I just have a hard time seeing a Druid digging into a library and researching rituals and scribulations and such, and I really don't see them shopping for high-tech ink and parchment. Their's is a wild and untamed magic, more like sorcerers than clerics.
An argument might be made for Arcane Tricksters, too.
On the other hand, maybe all this makes me think that only Wizards should be able to write scrolls...
Interesting thoughts...disturbing avatar...thanks,
W
You want details, OK. Note I will treating you as someone that wrote it up for Wizards before they finalized the rules
INSCRIBING SCROLLS
CASTING SPELLS FROM SOMEONE ELSE'S SCROLL OR SPELLBOOK: Interesting idea, lets see where you go with it.
15 minutes per spell level to identify what a spell is and what it does, and must be able to read the scroll or spellbook. Clarify - what would prevent them from being able to read it?CASTING A SPELL FROM YOUR OWN SPELLBOOK OR SCROLL: Looks like a powerful Subclass ability that you are giving away for free - and ONLY to a Clerics and Wizards. You going to discuss rules for getting a spellbook out in the middle of combat? And the danger of it being damaged?
THE WIZARD'S SPELLBOOK
INSCRIBING SPELLS INTO YOUR SPELLBOOK FROM MEMORY
TRANSCRIBING SPELLS FROM A SCROLL OR SPELLBOOK TO YOUR OWN SPELLBOOK
RULES ON SPELL COMPONENTS AND FOCUSES
VERBAL COMPONENTS are as described in the PHB and other sourcebooks.
SOMATIC COMPONENTS are as described in the PHB and other sourcebooks. The gestures required for casting spells can be performed with one hand, including when that hand is holding the material components or focus required for the spell. Any other item must be dropped, sheathed, allowed to hang from a lanyard or wrist loop, or otherwise not in the caster's hand in order to perform the movements required.
MATERIAL COMPONENTS are as described in the PHB and other sourcebooks, with some modifications described here. A component pouch is not automatically filled with components, and does not substitute for a focus. You can have a component pouch, but if it doesn't have the stuff you need in it, then its just a pouch!
CONSUMPTION OF COMPONENTS
NOTE FOR SPELLS WITH A CAST TIME ONE REACTION OR BONUS ACTION: Material components do not need to be held, but must be on the person (in a pouch, pocket, etc) of the caster.
NOTES FOR SPELLS WITH A CAST TIME ONE ACTION: Material components must be HELD when the spell is cast, unless the spell description specifies otherwise. This requires a free hand, which can be the same hand as the one used to perform the somatic component of the spell, if there is one. Fine
NOTES FOR SPELLS WITH A CAST TIME LONGER THAN ONE ACTION: Many components for spells of this sort are completely out of balance. This is remedied by establishing a cost structure, below.
FOCUSES
That's.... not "nasty". That's me being dumbfounded that you'd take an already archaic and outmoded system and then try to make it significantly more intricate and require a ton of extra bookkeeping. The concept of magic has evolved since D&D began. The idea of waving around a ball of bat guano to produce a ball of fire is rather eccentric. And if you really are trying to hold onto this idea that all material components are that important that you feel the need to assign gold costs to everything, you should also be ascribing availability to them as well. The process of acquiring some fairly basic components could comprise an entire adventure in and of itself, nevermind the really expensive exotic ones. But doing that bogs down any game containing a spellcaster, and will inevitably create friction at the table when the caster has to beg the party to stop what they're doing to go harvest scales from some random monster lizard before they can go stop the bad guy about to open the demon gate or whatever.
Material components need to be simplified and streamlined as it is, not made more complex.
I pretty much dislike all of this. It seems to only serve the purpose of making an already complicated thing much more complicated, makes it all so much more tedious that it saps away all the fun of spellcasting and overall is considerably, and needlessly, restrictive.
Pass.
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond.
Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ this FAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.