Had an interesting scenario pop up today and was wondering if any of you could offer your take...
Warlock readies their action, “If the bandit makes a move to attack I want to use my bonus action to cast Hex and then attack”
Is it possible to do this? My thought was that
- Bonus action: You choose when to take a Bonus Action during Your Turn, unless the bonus action’s timing is specified, and anything that deprives you of your ability to take Actions also prevents you from taking a Bonus Action.
- Ready action allows the attack when condition met.
So the Warlock should be able to use the bonus action along with reaction?
Technically, no. "Ready" is a specific action you take, much like "Help" and "Attack" are actions. So, when your turn comes, you get your movement, your bonus action and your action*. You choose to use Ready for your action, then you still have your bonus action and movement to take. Then, when the bandit moves (your trigger), you use your reaction to execute any single action you've prepped (Hex + blasting is two distinct actions).
Furthermore, you technically can't Ready a bonus action spell either - "To be readied, a spell must have a casting time of 1 action, and holding onto the spell's magic requires concentration." I imagine most DMs wouldn't mind letting a bonus action spell be Readied, but strictly by the rules, its not allowed.
* even more technically, you also get a free Interact With Object as part of your Action or Movement, but that's not really relevant to the discussion.
Strictly speaking, no, you cannot use your bonus action as part of your reaction.
Ready allows you to prepare one specified action to use as a reaction when a specified trigger is met (i.e., character will do X when Y occurs). A character would not be able to prepare both an action and a bonus action, since they can only hold one action to be triggered while waiting for that trigger. Taking this one step further, Ready allows the character to prepare an action, which is technically different than a bonus action. Individual DMs might allow the player to hold a bonus action instead, but that would be their call versus the normal Ready action rule.
Having said all of that, the warlock in question could have easily spent their bonus action to cast the hex spell on their turn before using the Ready action to attack as a reaction when the bandit attempts to attack them. Yes, it doesn't save the spell slot if battle never occurs, but the warlock would get it back with a short rest.
So, The thing with a readied action is it takes the place of your reaction to take an action. Bonus actions and Actions are two separate things so they could do one or the other, but not both on a reaction (at least within a combat initiative, sometimes the rules get fuzzy if the DM has not called initiative yet) Even within your statement you say "Warlock readies their action" Which necessitates that it is just an action. DM discretion of course, but if you allow bonus actions as a part of reactions then a reaction becomes an additional turn of combat within initiative for the players which is a very slippery slope.
There's also the small matter that Readying a spell costs Concentration. So, casting Hex and Readying Eldritch Blast wouldn't work either, because that would force you to drop Concentration on Hex as well.
There's also the small matter that Readying a spell costs Concentration. So, casting Hex and Readying Eldritch Blast wouldn't work either, because that would force you to drop Concentration on Hex as well.
That's an excellent catch, Mephista! The original post merely mentions that the warlock was using the Ready action to make an attack, but that situation does change if the reaction is a spell attack. Have been dealing with that concept in my own gaming group quite a bit, since my players will have concentration spells going and then want to "hold a spell" before making the attack. They keep forgetting that readying the spell is equivalent to concentrating on the spell.
If it was outside of combat, and more of a narrative "held action", I could see it working. I don't know about hex AND attack, but definitely one or the other.
If it was outside of combat, and more of a narrative "held action", I could see it working. I don't know about hex AND attack, but definitely one or the other.
But the only use of a "readied action" outside of combat would immediately combat when the trigger occurred, and then you are still prevented from using your bonus action as part of your reaction.
This would be up to individual ruling, I think... but I would say that outside of combat, it's not a mechanical "readied action" - just a narrative one. Meaning that it's simply them declaring what they would like to do once the "trigger" was met. It couldn't be anything complicated, but as far as combat-action economy goes, there really isn't one at the time the action takes place. "As soon as I see him, I walk over to him" has the same cause and effect as "as soon as I see him, I cast hex". If this were a standoff where you are wary about the possibility of attack, combat hasn't really started yet. So "I wait until I see him attack and do [act]" has the same result, be it an attack or something else. No one in this instance is really surprised, so I wouldn't even say it falls under a "surprise round" of combat (5e "surprised condition" or earlier versions).
If combat had started, then yes.. rules of combat take place because action economy and turn order becomes important.
In order it would go:
1. State the act desired and the trigger. If DM OKs, great. 2. Trigger occurs, act happens. 3. Consequence of action (combat (and roll for initiative) begins, dialog happens, etc).
Thanks for all the replies everyone. I think the part I was missing was that the bonus action could only be done during own turn and that reaction was happening on someone else’s turn.
I don’t think so. When you ready your action you use your reaction when the condition is met to make a single attack.
I think all the rules around two weapon attacks are based on using your action to attack and your bonus action to make a second weapon attack.
Two-Weapon Fighting
When you take the Attack action and attack with a light melee weapon that you're holding in one hand, you can use a bonus action to attack with a different light melee weapon that you're holding in the other hand. You don't add your ability modifier to the damage of the bonus attack, unless that modifier is negative.
If either weapon has the thrown property, you can throw the weapon, instead of making a melee attack with it.
Two-Weapon Fighting given as a class features gives…
When you engage in two-weapon fighting, you can add your ability modifier to the damage of the second attack.
dual wielded feat allows using bigger weapons, etc…
You master fighting with two weapons, gaining the following benefits:
You gain a +1 bonus to AC while you are wielding a separate melee weapon in each hand.
You can use two-weapon fighting even when the one-handed melee weapons you are wielding aren't light.
You can draw or stow two one-handed weapons when you would normally be able to draw or stow only one.
In terms of RAW no you can't do this, but, as a DM I take a more creative approach to readying actions. If it makes sense then I will allow a player to ready a Bonus Action, or combine a
Bonus action and Action if it makes sense. I will even allow a player to ready a move and attack.
For instance in a recent session a player asked me.
"I there are 4 doors someone could come through. I know there are enemies approaching so as soon as I see a door start to open can I move up to it and attack whoever comes through"
What if you only wanted to ready a bonus action that wasn't a spell? No action in this example just "can you ready a bonus action?"
No. When you Ready, you decide what perceivable circumstance will trigger your reaction. Then, you choose the action you will take in response to that trigger, or you choose to move up to your speed in response to it. Typically bonus action are enabled on your turn and not available to Ready.
Had an interesting scenario pop up today and was wondering if any of you could offer your take...
Warlock readies their action, “If the bandit makes a move to attack I want to use my bonus action to cast Hex and then attack”
Is it possible to do this? My thought was that
- Bonus action: You choose when to take a Bonus Action during Your Turn, unless the bonus action’s timing is specified, and anything that deprives you of your ability to take Actions also prevents you from taking a Bonus Action.
- Ready action allows the attack when condition met.
So the Warlock should be able to use the bonus action along with reaction?
Technically, no. "Ready" is a specific action you take, much like "Help" and "Attack" are actions. So, when your turn comes, you get your movement, your bonus action and your action*. You choose to use Ready for your action, then you still have your bonus action and movement to take. Then, when the bandit moves (your trigger), you use your reaction to execute any single action you've prepped (Hex + blasting is two distinct actions).
Furthermore, you technically can't Ready a bonus action spell either - "To be readied, a spell must have a casting time of 1 action, and holding onto the spell's magic requires concentration." I imagine most DMs wouldn't mind letting a bonus action spell be Readied, but strictly by the rules, its not allowed.
* even more technically, you also get a free Interact With Object as part of your Action or Movement, but that's not really relevant to the discussion.
Strictly speaking, no, you cannot use your bonus action as part of your reaction.
Ready allows you to prepare one specified action to use as a reaction when a specified trigger is met (i.e., character will do X when Y occurs). A character would not be able to prepare both an action and a bonus action, since they can only hold one action to be triggered while waiting for that trigger. Taking this one step further, Ready allows the character to prepare an action, which is technically different than a bonus action. Individual DMs might allow the player to hold a bonus action instead, but that would be their call versus the normal Ready action rule.
Having said all of that, the warlock in question could have easily spent their bonus action to cast the hex spell on their turn before using the Ready action to attack as a reaction when the bandit attempts to attack them. Yes, it doesn't save the spell slot if battle never occurs, but the warlock would get it back with a short rest.
So, The thing with a readied action is it takes the place of your reaction to take an action. Bonus actions and Actions are two separate things so they could do one or the other, but not both on a reaction (at least within a combat initiative, sometimes the rules get fuzzy if the DM has not called initiative yet) Even within your statement you say "Warlock readies their action" Which necessitates that it is just an action. DM discretion of course, but if you allow bonus actions as a part of reactions then a reaction becomes an additional turn of combat within initiative for the players which is a very slippery slope.
Buyers Guide for D&D Beyond - Hardcover Books, D&D Beyond and You - How/What is Toggled Content?
Everything you need to know about Homebrew - Homebrew FAQ - Digital Book on D&D Beyond Vs Physical Books
Can't find the content you are supposed to have access to? Read this FAQ.
"Play the game however you want to play the game. After all, your fun doesn't threaten my fun."
There's also the small matter that Readying a spell costs Concentration. So, casting Hex and Readying Eldritch Blast wouldn't work either, because that would force you to drop Concentration on Hex as well.
That's an excellent catch, Mephista! The original post merely mentions that the warlock was using the Ready action to make an attack, but that situation does change if the reaction is a spell attack. Have been dealing with that concept in my own gaming group quite a bit, since my players will have concentration spells going and then want to "hold a spell" before making the attack. They keep forgetting that readying the spell is equivalent to concentrating on the spell.
During a combat round, every creature has their own turn.
A player can only cast a bonus action on their own turn.
A readied action is something delayed so that it can occur on another creature's turn.
If it was outside of combat, and more of a narrative "held action", I could see it working. I don't know about hex AND attack, but definitely one or the other.
But the only use of a "readied action" outside of combat would immediately combat when the trigger occurred, and then you are still prevented from using your bonus action as part of your reaction.
This would be up to individual ruling, I think... but I would say that outside of combat, it's not a mechanical "readied action" - just a narrative one. Meaning that it's simply them declaring what they would like to do once the "trigger" was met. It couldn't be anything complicated, but as far as combat-action economy goes, there really isn't one at the time the action takes place. "As soon as I see him, I walk over to him" has the same cause and effect as "as soon as I see him, I cast hex". If this were a standoff where you are wary about the possibility of attack, combat hasn't really started yet. So "I wait until I see him attack and do [act]" has the same result, be it an attack or something else. No one in this instance is really surprised, so I wouldn't even say it falls under a "surprise round" of combat (5e "surprised condition" or earlier versions).
If combat had started, then yes.. rules of combat take place because action economy and turn order becomes important.
In order it would go:
1. State the act desired and the trigger. If DM OKs, great.
2. Trigger occurs, act happens.
3. Consequence of action (combat (and roll for initiative) begins, dialog happens, etc).
Thanks for all the replies everyone. I think the part I was missing was that the bonus action could only be done during own turn and that reaction was happening on someone else’s turn.
Can I ready an attack and then use a bonus action on my turn to use Two weapon attack fighting??
I don’t think so. When you ready your action you use your reaction when the condition is met to make a single attack.
I think all the rules around two weapon attacks are based on using your action to attack and your bonus action to make a second weapon attack.
Two-Weapon Fighting
When you take the Attack action and attack with a light melee weapon that you're holding in one hand, you can use a bonus action to attack with a different light melee weapon that you're holding in the other hand. You don't add your ability modifier to the damage of the bonus attack, unless that modifier is negative.
If either weapon has the thrown property, you can throw the weapon, instead of making a melee attack with it.
Two-Weapon Fighting given as a class features gives…
When you engage in two-weapon fighting, you can add your ability modifier to the damage of the second attack.
dual wielded feat allows using bigger weapons, etc…
You master fighting with two weapons, gaining the following benefits:
No, because you can only use two weapon fighting if you attack, and ready is not attack, even if you are readying an attack.
In terms of RAW no you can't do this, but, as a DM I take a more creative approach to readying actions. If it makes sense then I will allow a player to ready a Bonus Action, or combine a
Bonus action and Action if it makes sense. I will even allow a player to ready a move and attack.
For instance in a recent session a player asked me.
"I there are 4 doors someone could come through. I know there are enemies approaching so as soon as I see a door start to open can I move up to it and attack whoever comes through"
That to me makes perfect sense.
This cannot be done unless you change the rules for Readied actions. Consider what other impacts this might have on the game:
A druid could ready both Wildshape and Attack.
A fighter could declare "If I'm hit by an attack, I will use Second Wind, then attack."
and so on.
What if you only wanted to ready a bonus action that wasn't a spell? No action in this example just "can you ready a bonus action?"
No. When you Ready, you decide what perceivable circumstance will trigger your reaction. Then, you choose the action you will take in response to that trigger, or you choose to move up to your speed in response to it. Typically bonus action are enabled on your turn and not available to Ready.
You could interpret the rules like this:
1. You can ready any action.
2. Bonus actions are a subset of all actions.
3. You can ready a bonus action.
Cheers