Calim gawks in horror at the massive ooze in front of him. He favors his side what was just sliced by the cultists scimitar and notices that he is woozy, close to feinting. He doubles back to attempt to Disengage from the melee and regain his composure. Shrinking to the far wall to see if he can stem the bleeding by tightening his armor ([Tooltip Not Found]). Calim reaches back into his memories about these sorts of creatures to recall any weaknesses or tactics that might give them any advantage.
^^ Yes, that is generally true. I sort of don’t mind if folks throw in a roll they feel is appropriate. If we end up needing it, great. And if we don’t, into the bin it goes.
I am going to do an about face on this one, gang. There have been a bit too many rolls being made that need to be ignored.
Moving forward, during the post where you declare your intentions for the round ... if the action you called for requires a roll, please add it. Any rolls above and beyond that, please, even if you think a roll might be needed, I'd like you to wait until I ask you to make a roll.
Second request. I would like to stop using the IC thread for OOC chatter. If your character is doing or saying something, then it belongs in the IC. If, in the the post, there is nothing IC happening and you are making OOC contributions to the game ... those posts need to be in the OOC thread.
Lastly, I'm not 100% certain about the die roller ... I have seen it mess up and look wonky a few too many times for my liking. So I am going to drop the request to enclose orange tags around the small amount of OOC, and accompanying rolls, that gets added to an IC post.
@OTheophylus, @OtoutoDwimble, Bless does not add a 1d4 to ability checks, so the attempted shove and the Intelligence (History) will not benefit from the additional 1d4 you added.
@OtoutoDwimble, Intelligence (Nature) would be a much more appropriate skill to determine what a character might know about this monster. As Calim is untrained in that skill, a straight Intelligence roll would be appropriate. (and the Nat 1 results in no information being gained)
Also everyone be careful with AOE attacks because depending on your initiative order other characters may make moves in your AOE... ahaha (terrified)
I assume that when someone posts an action that may risk others, that they do so only as a last resort. Meaning, on Volneer's action, if there is a way that the spell can be cast that avoids damaging allies ... then he will do so. (there is no threat to the party with Volneer's actions as posted, and no need to roll a save or take damage).
If you are referring to the attack made against Dorn, then the answer is yes.
The four triggers for a luck die are: an attack roll, an ability check, a saving throw, or an attack roll made against you.
Only the first three triggers have the added restriction "You can choose to spend one of your luck points after you roll the die, but before the outcome is determined."
The final trigger, 'When an attack roll is made against you' does not have that restriction.
”DM do you operate under any rules for shield mechanics where they might be used to bash, control or adjust action as a bonus action for two handed weapon fighters?“
I am very much a rules-as-written DM. If there is a bonus action allowed for a character due to a feat, class feature, magic weapon property, etc … then yes, it is in the game.
Donning a shield takes an action however. In this round, Calim will be able to make the attack or don the shield, not both (barring an ability that lets you take an additional action).
One question because I'm not super clear on this... My character sheet allows me to equip the dagger and Rapier (as well as my shield); is it possible for me to have my rapier/shield equipped and still throw a dagger without the action to swap weapons?
One question because I'm not super clear on this... My character sheet allows me to equip the dagger and Rapier (as well as my shield); is it possible for me to have my rapier/shield equipped and still throw a dagger without the action to swap weapons?
The sheet allowing an inventory item to be active means that it will fill out the information and list it under attacks. It is not a representation of what a character may use/carry/wield in their hands during a combat round. For example, if your character had a short bow, a long bow and a halberd, for example, you could mark all three of those two-handed items as being active, and then on the attack portion of the sheet ... it would list out the particulars for each of those two-handed items.
On each round, a character may move, take an action, and then also interact with an object as part of their action.
So you could, with shield and dagger equipped: Throw dagger, pick up rapier, and end the round with shield and rapier equipped. (this is one action and one interaction)
Or you could, with shield and dagger equipped: Sheathe dagger, pick up rapier, and end the round with shield and rapier equipped. (this is one action and one interaction)
But you could not, with shield and dagger equipped: Sheathe dagger, pick up rapier, make a melee attack with rapier, and end the round with rapier and a shield equipped. (this series of actions uses too many actions)
But you could not, with shield and dagger equipped: Pick up rapier, make a melee attack with dagger, and end the round with rapier, dagger, and shield equipped. (this series of actions runs you out of hands)
In the last round's worth of actions, Kneecap's rolls were the one that looked wonky. It should have been 1d20+4, 1d8+2 ... but for some reason showed up as 1d20+1, 1d6-1.
When the two numbers were in disagreement, I just applied the higher of the two numbers ... but I think I see where the dice roller is getting wonky.
The wonkiness generally shows up when we use the center 'combat' option.
Entering the +4 attack modifier and the 1d8+2 damage in that tab makes this text show up in the post:
Someone at DDB did us a favor and added in a bunch of code to roll critical damage and stuff ... and I think that is what is giving the die roller fits. I don't know enough about the code and the shortcuts used to see where/if/how the problem exists ... but I feel like the only rolls that are continually getting dorked up are those ones.
From here on out, let's just snip out that mess and roll straight dice. If you roll a critical hit, great. Make a new post and roll the extra damage. I'd rather see an extra post on 5% of the attack rolls than see 100% of the attack rolls look wonky.
So, using the previous example of +4 to hit, and 1d8+2 damage ... it would look like this:
"OOC I think I understand the rules we are discussing on the OOC channel to mean that Calim didn't take a turn to equip his shield. Notably, I also didn't take a turn to sheath my sword and pull out my hammer. In the future, I'll make sure to make that clear. But, at this moment (since Calim has already ATTACKED with the hammer). I'll at least make the adjustment that my shield never was donned and I am attacking with just my hammer and no shield. While it is not to the letter of the rules, I"m thinking this is at least to the spirit of the rules and I don't have the extra +2 AC. So, AC is still at 16."
^^ Let's keep these types of OOC in the OOC thread, please.
Correct. Calim does not have his shield donned.
Although it was not stated, I assumed that the sword was sheathed on the round Calim withdrew (this was the round immediately prior to drawing the hammer and attacking with it). I was ok with a little bit of retconning to make the draw hammer and attack action legal, and because Calim took no more actions than he possibly could have, the action economy was maintained.
@OTheophylus, Please be more specific when you toss in the luck rerolls ... I'm assuming you were rerolling the 12 that was rolled in the preceding post?
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Good call-out scienceversusadventure, I thought it was guidance the whole time I don’t know why 😂
Also everyone be careful with AOE attacks because depending on your initiative order other characters may make moves in your AOE... ahaha (terrified)
Testing
Calim gawks in horror at the massive ooze in front of him. He favors his side what was just sliced by the cultists scimitar and notices that he is woozy, close to feinting. He doubles back to attempt to Disengage from the melee and regain his composure. Shrinking to the far wall to see if he can stem the bleeding by tightening his armor ([Tooltip Not Found]). Calim reaches back into his memories about these sorts of creatures to recall any weaknesses or tactics that might give them any advantage.
Attack: 20 Damage: 1
[A paper drops out of a flash of light and drifts to the ground at your feet] -(extended sig)-
Don't worry, I rolled 6 damage with 3d6, so you took three because you succeded dex. I just hope the thing is vulnerable to fire.
[A paper drops out of a flash of light and drifts to the ground at your feet] -(extended sig)-
I am going to do an about face on this one, gang. There have been a bit too many rolls being made that need to be ignored.
Moving forward, during the post where you declare your intentions for the round ... if the action you called for requires a roll, please add it. Any rolls above and beyond that, please, even if you think a roll might be needed, I'd like you to wait until I ask you to make a roll.
Second request. I would like to stop using the IC thread for OOC chatter. If your character is doing or saying something, then it belongs in the IC. If, in the the post, there is nothing IC happening and you are making OOC contributions to the game ... those posts need to be in the OOC thread.
Lastly, I'm not 100% certain about the die roller ... I have seen it mess up and look wonky a few too many times for my liking. So I am going to drop the request to enclose orange tags around the small amount of OOC, and accompanying rolls, that gets added to an IC post.
@OTheophylus, @OtoutoDwimble, Bless does not add a 1d4 to ability checks, so the attempted shove and the Intelligence (History) will not benefit from the additional 1d4 you added.
@OtoutoDwimble, Intelligence (Nature) would be a much more appropriate skill to determine what a character might know about this monster. As Calim is untrained in that skill, a straight Intelligence roll would be appropriate. (and the Nat 1 results in no information being gained)
I assume that when someone posts an action that may risk others, that they do so only as a last resort. Meaning, on Volneer's action, if there is a way that the spell can be cast that avoids damaging allies ... then he will do so. (there is no threat to the party with Volneer's actions as posted, and no need to roll a save or take damage).
Cultist Dexterity (Acrobatics) 15 vs shove attempt (13).
Can i use another luck point 🥲
What's the dex save vs my burning hands
[A paper drops out of a flash of light and drifts to the ground at your feet] -(extended sig)-
If you are referring to the attack made against Dorn, then the answer is yes.
The four triggers for a luck die are: an attack roll, an ability check, a saving throw, or an attack roll made against you.
Only the first three triggers have the added restriction "You can choose to spend one of your luck points after you roll the die, but before the outcome is determined."
The final trigger, 'When an attack roll is made against you' does not have that restriction.
It is in the round summary. Cultist passed, Ochre Jelly failed.
-->C3, Dex Save (DC14) 20
-->Ochre Jelly, Dex Save (DC14) 4
”DM do you operate under any rules for shield mechanics where they might be used to bash, control or adjust action as a bonus action for two handed weapon fighters?“
I am very much a rules-as-written DM. If there is a bonus action allowed for a character due to a feat, class feature, magic weapon property, etc … then yes, it is in the game.
Donning a shield takes an action however. In this round, Calim will be able to make the attack or don the shield, not both (barring an ability that lets you take an additional action).
One question because I'm not super clear on this... My character sheet allows me to equip the dagger and Rapier (as well as my shield); is it possible for me to have my rapier/shield equipped and still throw a dagger without the action to swap weapons?
Stow a weapon and draw a new one is one (1) bonus action as far as I know, but it's up to ScienceVersusAdventure
[A paper drops out of a flash of light and drifts to the ground at your feet] -(extended sig)-
The sheet allowing an inventory item to be active means that it will fill out the information and list it under attacks. It is not a representation of what a character may use/carry/wield in their hands during a combat round. For example, if your character had a short bow, a long bow and a halberd, for example, you could mark all three of those two-handed items as being active, and then on the attack portion of the sheet ... it would list out the particulars for each of those two-handed items.
On each round, a character may move, take an action, and then also interact with an object as part of their action.
So you could, with shield and dagger equipped: Throw dagger, pick up rapier, and end the round with shield and rapier equipped. (this is one action and one interaction)
Or you could, with shield and dagger equipped: Sheathe dagger, pick up rapier, and end the round with shield and rapier equipped. (this is one action and one interaction)
But you could not, with shield and dagger equipped: Sheathe dagger, pick up rapier, make a melee attack with rapier, and end the round with rapier and a shield equipped. (this series of actions uses too many actions)
But you could not, with shield and dagger equipped: Pick up rapier, make a melee attack with dagger, and end the round with rapier, dagger, and shield equipped. (this series of actions runs you out of hands)
In the last round's worth of actions, Kneecap's rolls were the one that looked wonky. It should have been 1d20+4, 1d8+2 ... but for some reason showed up as 1d20+1, 1d6-1.
When the two numbers were in disagreement, I just applied the higher of the two numbers ... but I think I see where the dice roller is getting wonky.
The wonkiness generally shows up when we use the center 'combat' option.
Entering the +4 attack modifier and the 1d8+2 damage in that tab makes this text show up in the post:
Attack: {roll}1d20+4{/roll} Damage: {roll}(if([roll:-1:critical], =0, 1d8, 2{1d8}.expand()))+2{/roll}
Someone at DDB did us a favor and added in a bunch of code to roll critical damage and stuff ... and I think that is what is giving the die roller fits. I don't know enough about the code and the shortcuts used to see where/if/how the problem exists ... but I feel like the only rolls that are continually getting dorked up are those ones.
From here on out, let's just snip out that mess and roll straight dice. If you roll a critical hit, great. Make a new post and roll the extra damage. I'd rather see an extra post on 5% of the attack rolls than see 100% of the attack rolls look wonky.
So, using the previous example of +4 to hit, and 1d8+2 damage ... it would look like this:
Attack: {roll}1d20+4{/roll} Damage: {roll}1d8+2{/roll}
"OOC
I think I understand the rules we are discussing on the OOC channel to mean that Calim didn't take a turn to equip his shield. Notably, I also didn't take a turn to sheath my sword and pull out my hammer. In the future, I'll make sure to make that clear. But, at this moment (since Calim has already ATTACKED with the hammer). I'll at least make the adjustment that my shield never was donned and I am attacking with just my hammer and no shield. While it is not to the letter of the rules, I"m thinking this is at least to the spirit of the rules and I don't have the extra +2 AC. So, AC is still at 16."
^^ Let's keep these types of OOC in the OOC thread, please.
Correct. Calim does not have his shield donned.
Although it was not stated, I assumed that the sword was sheathed on the round Calim withdrew (this was the round immediately prior to drawing the hammer and attacking with it). I was ok with a little bit of retconning to make the draw hammer and attack action legal, and because Calim took no more actions than he possibly could have, the action economy was maintained.
@OTheophylus, Please be more specific when you toss in the luck rerolls ... I'm assuming you were rerolling the 12 that was rolled in the preceding post?