Chromir just thinks he might get stuck in the web. He has seen flies get caught in spider webs and then get eaten. So his logic is, if he goes on this spiders web, he will get stuck and then eaten. Unless someone else makes their way across the web without being stuck, he will not be walking through it while the giant spider is alive.
Cool, cool. You guys are free to play your characters however you want. Was just making sure there wasn’t a misunderstanding regarding the web’s effects.
No misunderstanding. Just personal character preference (though thinking harder on it, staying on the webs when this spider seems to set them on fire sounds like a bad plan)
Sort of. You are ending up at the correct answer but are getting there a little wonky.
Navrine has a speed of 30 feet.
We are using 5 foot squares, so it costs a character 5 feet of movement to enter a square adjacent to them.
For difficult terrain, however, it would cost 10 feet of movement to enter a 5 foot square that was considered difficult terrain.
(So it would take 30 feet of movement to move through 15 feet of difficult terrain ... which is essentially what you said ... but Navrine's speed was not reduced to 15')
One could also use the action, dash. This action allows characters to move farther than they otherwise could have.
I was just wondering is using my movment could put me in range to attack the beast? If I use the dash action I will not be able to attack and will be toast the next round the spider attacks also I can't attack with bonus action unless I use the attack action correct RaW?
Wow ok so I could dash then do a bonus action strike (then probably go unconsious or flat out die depending on the number of attacks that thing gets) I guess she tanks :)
Out of curiosity, how are we handling javelins? Based on the last summary, it seems like the javelin broke. I am aware of the rule around ammunition recovering half of them all at the end of combat but the same rule is not stated as part of thrown weapons.
I have no objection to having to buy more javelins (and he started with 10 so he is good for now), just want to know so I can make sure I track correctly.
On init count 16, Doc's healing spell will take effect. The only thing now that could affect whether or not Navrine will pull through is the results of her previous round's Constitution Saving Throw, and this round's Death Saving Throw.
If she fails the first, and then rolls a 1 on the second ... Navrine will have accumulated three Death Save failures and die before the spell can take hold.
I don't consider it likely (particularly since she is lucky), but it where we are at.
She failed the con save so is that automatic fail on death save? Ok so I'm officially lost?
I guess not the flame damage and bite damage brought her to brought her to -6 (and making a death save on her next turn) Doc cast healing word so that would get her back up but would it be up from 0 or up from -6? So would she have 2 or 8?
You need three fails to die. The failed con save is one failure, you rolled a 2 on the death save so that is a second. A nat 1 counts as two failures so would have taken you to 3 and been death, but you are fine and got healed
The spider attack that brought Navrine to 0hp remaining also had a follow-on effect. Namely, Con save [DC11] or take 6hp fire damage.
Navrine failed this save and would have taken 6hp damage ... except that she was already at 0hp when this happened.
When a character at 0hp takes damage, that damage results in a failed death saving throw. So when the last round ended, Navrine was at 0hp remaining and had one failed death save.
On the next round, on Navrine's init count, she must make a death saving throw because she began her turn with 0hp remaining. This is the roll that will determine if Navrine lives or dies.
Right now, she has one Death Save failure, and if she gets to three Death Save failures ... then the character dies.
The only way to accrue two death save failures from one roll is to roll a 1. So if Navrine rolls a 1 on her next Death Saving throw ... she will have reached three Death Save failures before the cleric can heal her.
Don't forget, Navrine is [feat]Lucky[/feat].
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Thank you. Fixed the typo. It was a copy/paste error.
I think I'm picking up what you're putting down, that is, it would take more than 30' of movement to move through the webbing
But to be clear, no one would get stuck in the webbing. It's just counts as difficult terrain.
Chromir just thinks he might get stuck in the web. He has seen flies get caught in spider webs and then get eaten. So his logic is, if he goes on this spiders web, he will get stuck and then eaten. Unless someone else makes their way across the web without being stuck, he will not be walking through it while the giant spider is alive.
After joining more my signature got out of hand so I am now a proud member of the extended signature club!! :)
Cool, cool. You guys are free to play your characters however you want. Was just making sure there wasn’t a misunderstanding regarding the web’s effects.
No misunderstanding. Just
personalcharacter preference (though thinking harder on it, staying on the webs when this spider seems to set them on fire sounds like a bad plan)After joining more my signature got out of hand so I am now a proud member of the extended signature club!! :)
Question, since it is difficult terrain my move would be 15' would this put me in 5 feet of BBEG?
敬意をこめて,
ジョニー.
Keii o komete,
Johnny.
Sort of. You are ending up at the correct answer but are getting there a little wonky.
Navrine has a speed of 30 feet.
We are using 5 foot squares, so it costs a character 5 feet of movement to enter a square adjacent to them.
For difficult terrain, however, it would cost 10 feet of movement to enter a 5 foot square that was considered difficult terrain.
(So it would take 30 feet of movement to move through 15 feet of difficult terrain ... which is essentially what you said ... but Navrine's speed was not reduced to 15')
One could also use the action, dash. This action allows characters to move farther than they otherwise could have.
I was just wondering is using my movment could put me in range to attack the beast? If I use the dash action I will not be able to attack and will be toast the next round the spider attacks also I can't attack with bonus action unless I use the attack action correct RaW?
敬意をこめて,
ジョニー.
Keii o komete,
Johnny.
I checked the two sets of rules side by side and the rules have changed subtly.
There used to be language that said you needed to use the attack action in conjunction with the bonus unarmed strike granted by martial arts.
That is no longer the case.
From the PHB (2014)
You gain the following benefits while you are unarmed or wielding only monk weapons and you aren't wearing armor or wielding a shield:
-When you use the Attack action with an unarmed strike or a monk weapon on your turn, you can make one unarmed strike as a bonus action.
[I snipped out the other parts that are not applicable]
-versus-
From the PHB (2024)
You gain the following benefits while you are unarmed or wielding only Monk weapons and you aren’t wearing armor or wielding a Shield.
-Bonus Unarmed Strike. You can make an Unarmed Strike as a Bonus Action.
[I snipped out the other parts that are not applicable]
Under these new rules, the unarmed strike bonus action granted by martial arts is not tied to the use of the attack action.
Wow ok so I could dash then do a bonus action strike (then probably go unconsious or flat out die depending on the number of attacks that thing gets) I guess she tanks :)
敬意をこめて,
ジョニー.
Keii o komete,
Johnny.
If Navrine dies, Chromir can use her as an improvised weapon to defeat the spider.... (he won't. His greataxe is far superior. But he could...)
After joining more my signature got out of hand so I am now a proud member of the extended signature club!! :)
Out of curiosity, how are we handling javelins? Based on the last summary, it seems like the javelin broke. I am aware of the rule around ammunition recovering half of them all at the end of combat but the same rule is not stated as part of thrown weapons.
I have no objection to having to buy more javelins (and he started with 10 so he is good for now), just want to know so I can make sure I track correctly.
After joining more my signature got out of hand so I am now a proud member of the extended signature club!! :)
That was just descriptive fluff.
Javelins do not have the ammunition property, so the ammunition rule does not apply to them.
On init count 16, Doc's healing spell will take effect. The only thing now that could affect whether or not Navrine will pull through is the results of her previous round's Constitution Saving Throw, and this round's Death Saving Throw.
If she fails the first, and then rolls a 1 on the second ... Navrine will have accumulated three Death Save failures and die before the spell can take hold.
I don't consider it likely (particularly since she is lucky), but it where we are at.
Oh, sorry, thought it was over. I'll edit Cass' actions if that happens.
No worries. It will be incredibly unlikely that the character dies ... but right now it is not a given that she survives.
She failed the con save so is that automatic fail on death save? Ok so I'm officially lost?
I guess not the flame damage and bite damage brought her to brought her to -6 (and making a death save on her next turn) Doc cast healing word so that would get her back up but would it be up from 0 or up from -6? So would she have 2 or 8?
敬意をこめて,
ジョニー.
Keii o komete,
Johnny.
You need three fails to die. The failed con save is one failure, you rolled a 2 on the death save so that is a second. A nat 1 counts as two failures so would have taken you to 3 and been death, but you are fine and got healed
After joining more my signature got out of hand so I am now a proud member of the extended signature club!! :)
Not yet.
The spider attack that brought Navrine to 0hp remaining also had a follow-on effect. Namely, Con save [DC11] or take 6hp fire damage.
Navrine failed this save and would have taken 6hp damage ... except that she was already at 0hp when this happened.
When a character at 0hp takes damage, that damage results in a failed death saving throw. So when the last round ended, Navrine was at 0hp remaining and had one failed death save.
On the next round, on Navrine's init count, she must make a death saving throw because she began her turn with 0hp remaining. This is the roll that will determine if Navrine lives or dies.
Right now, she has one Death Save failure, and if she gets to three Death Save failures ... then the character dies.
The only way to accrue two death save failures from one roll is to roll a 1. So if Navrine rolls a 1 on her next Death Saving throw ... she will have reached three Death Save failures before the cleric can heal her.
Don't forget, Navrine is [feat]Lucky[/feat].