Can you use magic items as consumable spell components? Especially since a magical item will be worth more than its non magical counterpart for an object of the same size.
I would assume that you couldn't use artifacts cos they are usually harder to destroy. I'm mainly looking for RAW.
For what spell specifically? Most spells describe an object to be consumed that is not very useful at all, so I can't think of a magic item version of those components.
Can you use magic items as consumable spell components? Especially since a magical item will be worth more than its non magical counterpart for an object of the same size.
I would assume that you couldn't use artifacts cos they are usually harder to destroy. I'm mainly looking for RAW.
You normally have to use the particular object for spell components as described ( or component pouch or a spellcasting focus ) and if a cost is indicated, you must have that specific component before casting the spell. So unless the magic item happen to be an object also made of the same material it wont work.
(FWIW 4E had residium, which was a polyvalent material component obtained from magic items reduced to power but 5E has nothing of that sort.)
Some gem-like magic items (for example Elemental Gem) can be made of diamond or other generally useful things like that.
In that case, it's possible. But you may run into complications regarding cost.
Spells tend to ask for something like "a diamond worth 1000gp". A DM might interpret that to mean a diamond which is of a size and quality to be worth 1000gp - and not a lesser diamond whose value is increased by its being enchanted. So if you wanted to buy an Elemental gem that could also be used as a 1000gp spell component it may actually need to be very much more expensive - of an order that is not ideal for use as either component or an elemental summoner.
Can you use magic items as consumable spell components? Especially since a magical item will be worth more than its non magical counterpart for an object of the same size.
I would assume that you couldn't use artifacts cos they are usually harder to destroy. I'm mainly looking for RAW.
There's no general rule against using a magic item as a consumable (or non-consumable) spell component, but magical items are not "worth more" than non-magical ones. Determining how much a magic item is "worth" for spell purposes comes up with Booming Blade, for example - without a DM houserule, you can't cast it with a magical sword, as magical swords have no worth, only very rough rules for how much they cost to make and even rougher rules for buying and selling them in an auction house. Your question is fundamentally the same one, just for other spells with other magic items, and the ultimate answer is that you need a houserule from your DM setting the worth of a magic item before you can legally cast a spell with it requiring a component with worth constraints.
Can you use magic items as consumable spell components? Especially since a magical item will be worth more than its non magical counterpart for an object of the same size.
I would assume that you couldn't use artifacts cos they are usually harder to destroy. I'm mainly looking for RAW.
There's no general rule against using a magic item as a consumable (or non-consumable) spell component, but magical items are not "worth more" than non-magical ones. Determining how much a magic item is "worth" for spell purposes comes up with Booming Blade, for example - without a DM houserule, you can't cast it with a magical sword
Sure you can cast Booming Blade with any magical melee weapon without DM houseruling anyting as there is absolutely no melee weapon worth less than 1 sp.
There's no general rule against using a magic item as a consumable (or non-consumable) spell component, but magical items are not "worth more" than non-magical ones. Determining how much a magic item is "worth" for spell purposes comes up with Booming Blade, for example - without a DM houserule, you can't cast it with a magical sword, as magical swords have no worth, only very rough rules for how much they cost to make and even rougher rules for buying and selling them in an auction house.
I believe this is an inaccurate statement. A magical shortsword is valued, at its minimum, as a shortsword. A magical longsword is valued, at its minimum, as a longsword.
For the purposes of spellcasting material component value, "at least worth" is stock market value or total real value. I mean a Frostbrand Longsword +3 is worth at least several dozen times more than 15 gp.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Can you use magic items as consumable spell components? Especially since a magical item will be worth more than its non magical counterpart for an object of the same size.
I would assume that you couldn't use artifacts cos they are usually harder to destroy. I'm mainly looking for RAW.
For what spell specifically? Most spells describe an object to be consumed that is not very useful at all, so I can't think of a magic item version of those components.
You normally have to use the particular object for spell components as described ( or component pouch or a spellcasting focus ) and if a cost is indicated, you must have that specific component before casting the spell. So unless the magic item happen to be an object also made of the same material it wont work.
(FWIW 4E had residium, which was a polyvalent material component obtained from magic items reduced to power but 5E has nothing of that sort.)
I would let someone do this, but I would also remind them of what they are doing in case they wanted to reconsider.
"Not all those who wander are lost"
Some gem-like magic items (for example Elemental Gem) can be made of diamond or other generally useful things like that.
In that case, it's possible. But you may run into complications regarding cost.
Spells tend to ask for something like "a diamond worth 1000gp". A DM might interpret that to mean a diamond which is of a size and quality to be worth 1000gp - and not a lesser diamond whose value is increased by its being enchanted. So if you wanted to buy an Elemental gem that could also be used as a 1000gp spell component it may actually need to be very much more expensive - of an order that is not ideal for use as either component or an elemental summoner.
There's no general rule against using a magic item as a consumable (or non-consumable) spell component, but magical items are not "worth more" than non-magical ones. Determining how much a magic item is "worth" for spell purposes comes up with Booming Blade, for example - without a DM houserule, you can't cast it with a magical sword, as magical swords have no worth, only very rough rules for how much they cost to make and even rougher rules for buying and selling them in an auction house. Your question is fundamentally the same one, just for other spells with other magic items, and the ultimate answer is that you need a houserule from your DM setting the worth of a magic item before you can legally cast a spell with it requiring a component with worth constraints.
Sure you can cast Booming Blade with any magical melee weapon without DM houseruling anyting as there is absolutely no melee weapon worth less than 1 sp.
Theoretically you can (ask your DM), but why would you want to?
I believe this is an inaccurate statement. A magical shortsword is valued, at its minimum, as a shortsword. A magical longsword is valued, at its minimum, as a longsword.
"Not all those who wander are lost"
For the purposes of spellcasting material component value, "at least worth" is stock market value or total real value. I mean a Frostbrand Longsword +3 is worth at least several dozen times more than 15 gp.