So what exactly happens if you stack a transformation (polymorph) on top of another transformation (druid's wild shape)? Does the answer change if you are stacking two polymorphs?
To be a little more specific, if the target drops to zero hp do they revert back into the first transformation? or back into their base form?
I can only say one thing about that: You can't be under a effect from two an abilities or spells with the same name. So the second Polymorph just doesn't work.
I would hazard a guess that a wildshaped druid polimorphed into something else would return to the wildshaped creature once poly ends, but I have no rule to back that one up. Might be up to the DM. DnD 5e doesn't really have good stacking/layering rules.
So what exactly happens if you stack a transformation (polymorph) on top of another transformation (druid's wild shape)? Does the answer change if you are stacking two polymorphs?
To be a little more specific, if the target drops to zero hp do they revert back into the first transformation? or back into their base form?
It's usually rule specific and very often requires DM fiat, because the rules often don't really answer the question. Polymorph and Wild Shape interacting is absolutely a hot mess of rules. In this specific case, base form: both Wild Shape and the Polymorph spell are ended by you hitting 0 hit points, regardless of the form you're in. There may be other weird rules weeds depending on your polymorphed form, but in any case, both Wild Shape and the spell expire when you hit 0.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
So what exactly happens if you stack a transformation (polymorph) on top of another transformation (druid's wild shape)? Does the answer change if you are stacking two polymorphs?
To be a little more specific, if the target drops to zero hp do they revert back into the first transformation? or back into their base form?
I can only say one thing about that: You can't be under a effect from two an abilities or spells with the same name. So the second Polymorph just doesn't work.
I would hazard a guess that a wildshaped druid polimorphed into something else would return to the wildshaped creature once poly ends, but I have no rule to back that one up. Might be up to the DM. DnD 5e doesn't really have good stacking/layering rules.
It's usually rule specific and very often requires DM fiat, because the rules often don't really answer the question. Polymorph and Wild Shape interacting is absolutely a hot mess of rules. In this specific case, base form: both Wild Shape and the Polymorph spell are ended by you hitting 0 hit points, regardless of the form you're in. There may be other weird rules weeds depending on your polymorphed form, but in any case, both Wild Shape and the spell expire when you hit 0.