The spell text states that it triggers when a creature moves within 30 feet of the ammunition, not the ground, and (unlike glyph of warding) it doesn't specify whether the ammunition needs to remain stationary
I’d house rule it because of the terms “protect the area”, and “flies up”… meaning that it seems to be intended to be on the ground. So I’d allow the spell to work if the arrow is re-planted in the ground later within the 8 hour duration.
The general rule of thumb is that if it doesn’t say you can, then you can’t. (However, I might allow it under the right circumstances. It would be ingenuitous. (That’s a word now. Or at least it should be.))
The general rule of thumb is that if it doesn’t say you can, then you can’t. (However, I might allow it under the right circumstances. It would be ingenuitous. (That’s a word now. Or at least it should be.))
Sposta is right. You can't move the insect plague around can you?
You can’t move an insect plague because the spell provides no mechanism to do so, and you can’t normally move a cloud of insects with your body. Carrying arrows, on the other hand, is something you can ordinarily do. Mage Armor doesn’t say you can continue to move around after casting it on yourself… does it need to?
However, I agree that “the area” in the Cordon is the one you cast the spell to ward, not other new areas defined by a moving radius around a movable arrow or all arrows as one collective point. Too many obviously unaddressed issues if arrows move: what if they’re split up? Can you fire them as amu Orion and drop the AOE again at range? What if you’re holding an arrow while it tries to react to an intruder?.
Nah, plant the arrows and leave them is the clear RAI. But not ONLY because the spell says you can’t move them, that could be overlooked if the rest of the spell didn’t also rule this out.
What if you put the arrows in a planter which you put on a wagon?
What if there is dirt in the bottom of your quiver?
The spell cordon of arrows says ground. I would allow that to mean floor, but not anything that couldn't obviously be called "the ground" in some context.
The spell text states that it triggers when a creature moves within 30 feet of the ammunition, not the ground, and (unlike glyph of warding) it doesn't specify whether the ammunition needs to remain stationary
The spell doesn't say if you can move the ammunitions after planting them into the ground. It's evidently intended to be grounded and stationary.
I’d house rule it because of the terms “protect the area”, and “flies up”… meaning that it seems to be intended to be on the ground. So I’d allow the spell to work if the arrow is re-planted in the ground later within the 8 hour duration.
The wording used in the spell heavily indicate that it is being cast on the area as much or more than the ammo.
The general rule of thumb is that if it doesn’t say you can, then you can’t. (However, I might allow it under the right circumstances. It would be ingenuitous. (That’s a word now. Or at least it should be.))
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
RAW yes, RAI no
Come participate in the Competition of the Finest Brews, Edition XXVIII?
My homebrew stuff:
Spells, Monsters, Magic Items, Feats, Subclasses.
I am an Archfey, but nobody seems to notice.
Extended Signature
Nah.
Sposta is right. You can't move the insect plague around can you?
You can’t move an insect plague because the spell provides no mechanism to do so, and you can’t normally move a cloud of insects with your body. Carrying arrows, on the other hand, is something you can ordinarily do. Mage Armor doesn’t say you can continue to move around after casting it on yourself… does it need to?
However, I agree that “the area” in the Cordon is the one you cast the spell to ward, not other new areas defined by a moving radius around a movable arrow or all arrows as one collective point. Too many obviously unaddressed issues if arrows move: what if they’re split up? Can you fire them as amu Orion and drop the AOE again at range? What if you’re holding an arrow while it tries to react to an intruder?.
Nah, plant the arrows and leave them is the clear RAI. But not ONLY because the spell says you can’t move them, that could be overlooked if the rest of the spell didn’t also rule this out.
dndbeyond.com forum tags
I'm going to make this way harder than it needs to be.
What if you put the arrows in a planter which you put on a wagon?
What if you plant them in soft earth and move a whole cube of it 5’ per round with Mold Earth?
Oof, schemers gonna scheme 😂
dndbeyond.com forum tags
I'm going to make this way harder than it needs to be.
What if there is dirt in the bottom of your quiver?
The spell cordon of arrows says ground. I would allow that to mean floor, but not anything that couldn't obviously be called "the ground" in some context.
The spell specifically states that you cast the magic on them, referring to the bolts or arrows