InquisitiveCoder is correct. Furthermore, casting a stored spell is still casting it, meaning you have to supply the components. You might find this hard to do in combat if you're a Paladin, because your hands might be more full than those of your full-caster allies. Just be wary.
"While wearing this ring, you can cast any spell stored in it. The spell uses the slot level, spell save DC, spell attack bonus, and spellcasting ability of the original caster, but is otherwise treated as if you cast the spell."
InquisitiveCoder is correct. Furthermore, casting a stored spell is still casting it, meaning you have to supply the components. You might find this hard to do in combat if you're a Paladin, because your hands might be more full than those of your full-caster allies. Just be wary.
"While wearing this ring, you can cast any spell stored in it. The spell uses the slot level, spell save DC, spell attack bonus, and spellcasting ability of the original caster, but is otherwise treated as if you cast the spell."
Are the components needed when the spell is cast into the ring, cast from the ring, or both? The text for the item doesn't specify, and I'm unaware of any official clarification. For comparison, a spell scroll explicitly says you read the scroll and cast the spell without any material components(they're needed when creating the scroll). If I was to rule in a game I was running, I'd use the same standard as the spell scroll. Required when scribing/storing, not when releasing.
InquisitiveCoder is correct. Furthermore, casting a stored spell is still casting it, meaning you have to supply the components. You might find this hard to do in combat if you're a Paladin, because your hands might be more full than those of your full-caster allies. Just be wary.
"While wearing this ring, you can cast any spell stored in it. The spell uses the slot level, spell save DC, spell attack bonus, and spellcasting ability of the original caster, but is otherwise treated as if you cast the spell."
Are the components needed when the spell is cast into the ring, cast from the ring, or both? The text for the item doesn't specify, and I'm unaware of any official clarification. For comparison, a spell scroll explicitly says you read the scroll and cast the spell without any material components(they're needed when creating the scroll). If I was to rule in a game I was running, I'd use the same standard as the spell scroll. Required when scribing/storing, not when releasing.
Into, but not out of. From the DMG section on activating a magic item:
Some magic items allow the user to cast a spell from the item, often by expending charges from it. The spell is cast at the lowest possible spell and caster level, doesn’t expend any of the user’s spell slots, and requires no components unless the item’s description says otherwise.
InquisitiveCoder is correct. Furthermore, casting a stored spell is still casting it, meaning you have to supply the components. You might find this hard to do in combat if you're a Paladin, because your hands might be more full than those of your full-caster allies. Just be wary.
"While wearing this ring, you can cast any spell stored in it. The spell uses the slot level, spell save DC, spell attack bonus, and spellcasting ability of the original caster, but is otherwise treated as if you cast the spell."
Are the components needed when the spell is cast into the ring, cast from the ring, or both? The text for the item doesn't specify, and I'm unaware of any official clarification. For comparison, a spell scroll explicitly says you read the scroll and cast the spell without any material components(they're needed when creating the scroll). If I was to rule in a game I was running, I'd use the same standard as the spell scroll. Required when scribing/storing, not when releasing.
Into, but not out of. From the DMG section on activating a magic item:
Some magic items allow the user to cast a spell from the item, often by expending charges from it. The spell is cast at the lowest possible spell and caster level, doesn’t expend any of the user’s spell slots, and requires no components unless the item’s description says otherwise.
Can a Paladin fuel Smite with slots from a Ring of Spell storing?
Ring of Spell Storing stores spells, not slots. You could use it to store smite spells like Banishing Smite, but it's useless for Divine Smite.
The Forum Infestation (TM)
InquisitiveCoder is correct. Furthermore, casting a stored spell is still casting it, meaning you have to supply the components. You might find this hard to do in combat if you're a Paladin, because your hands might be more full than those of your full-caster allies. Just be wary.
"While wearing this ring, you can cast any spell stored in it. The spell uses the slot level, spell save DC, spell attack bonus, and spellcasting ability of the original caster, but is otherwise treated as if you cast the spell."
Are the components needed when the spell is cast into the ring, cast from the ring, or both? The text for the item doesn't specify, and I'm unaware of any official clarification. For comparison, a spell scroll explicitly says you read the scroll and cast the spell without any material components(they're needed when creating the scroll). If I was to rule in a game I was running, I'd use the same standard as the spell scroll. Required when scribing/storing, not when releasing.
Into, but not out of. From the DMG section on activating a magic item:
Some magic items allow the user to cast a spell from the item, often by expending charges from it. The spell is cast at the lowest possible spell and caster level, doesn’t expend any of the user’s spell slots, and requires no components unless the item’s description says otherwise.
Oh, nice! I wasn't aware of this passage.
So, it would be useful for reaction spells then, like Shield or Absorb Elements or similar, yes?