When you fail a DEX saving throw, you can use your reaction to roll a d4 and add it to the save, potentially turning the failure into a success. You can’t use this reaction if you’re prone or your speed is 0.
My interpretation is on your TURN you cannot use your full movement so you'll have some in reserve to allow the reaction to fire off Lucky Footwork.
As Armor Class in a Barbarian is determined by Dexterity and Constitution, would an opponent rolling a number higher than the armor Class constitute a failed Dex/Con roll; and if so, could the Lucky Footwork reaction be used to boost it in the same way as the 'Shield' spell does?
As Armor Class in a Barbarian is determined by Dexterity and Constitution, would an opponent rolling a number higher than the armor Class constitute a failed Dex/Con roll; and if so, could the Lucky Footwork reaction be used to boost it in the same way as the 'Shield' spell does?
No, because a Saving Throw is a number rolled by the person being targeted by the effect, but an attack roll is a number rolled by the attacker who is targeting someone else. So even though the Targeted Creature determines their AC using their DEX, it is still not a Saving Throw and cannot benefit from features that only affect Saving Throws.
Is there a limit to usage of this ability? Or is it just able to be used as a reaction if reaction is still available?
You have to have a reaction available when you fail a DEX saving throw.
4. Reaction Timing
Certain game features let you take a special action, called a reaction, in response to an event. Making opportunity attacks and casting the shield spell are two typical uses of reactions. If you’re unsure when a reaction occurs in relation to its trigger, here’s the rule: the reaction happens after its trigger, unless the description of the reaction explicitly says otherwise. Once you take a reaction, you can’t take another one until the start of your next turn.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
I started playing D&D from the basic box set in 1979.
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
My interpretation is on your TURN you cannot use your full movement so you'll have some in reserve to allow the reaction to fire off Lucky Footwork.
This ability doesn't care about how much movement you used, it only cares that you're not prone and your speed hasn't been reduced to 0
You could move your full movement and still use it.
Remember that speed and movement are different.
Find my D&D Beyond articles here
Thank you!
As Armor Class in a Barbarian is determined by Dexterity and Constitution, would an opponent rolling a number higher than the armor Class constitute a failed Dex/Con roll; and if so, could the Lucky Footwork reaction be used to boost it in the same way as the 'Shield' spell does?
No, because a Saving Throw is a number rolled by the person being targeted by the effect, but an attack roll is a number rolled by the attacker who is targeting someone else. So even though the Targeted Creature determines their AC using their DEX, it is still not a Saving Throw and cannot benefit from features that only affect Saving Throws.
Watch Crits for Breakfast, an adults-only RP-Heavy Roll20 Livestream at twitch.tv/afterdisbooty
And now you too can play with the amazing art and assets we use in Roll20 for our campaign at Hazel's Emporium
An attack roll, ability check or saving throw are mutually exclusive d20 check so features that are usable on one of them isn't for the others.
Is there a limit to usage of this ability? Or is it just able to be used as a reaction if reaction is still available?
You have to have a reaction available when you fail a DEX saving throw.
4. Reaction Timing
Certain game features let you take a special action, called a reaction, in response to an event. Making opportunity attacks and casting the shield spell are two typical uses of reactions. If you’re unsure when a reaction occurs in relation to its trigger, here’s the rule: the reaction happens after its trigger, unless the description of the reaction explicitly says otherwise. Once you take a reaction, you can’t take another one until the start of your next turn.
I started playing D&D from the basic box set in 1979.