Hi all, sorry if this question was asked before, I've been reading the basic rules/PHB and multiple forum threads for about an hour now and can't seem to find the answer.
The "Savage Attacker" feat (and other feats and whatnot with similar wording) says you can re-roll damage die ONCE PER TURN, and not once per round. My question is: Does once per turn means that you can re-roll damage on an action/bonus AND on a subsequent reaction during the SAME ROUND, or does once per turn means the same as once per round so it's either one of an action/bonus or a reaction but not both?
You can use savage attacker during your own turn, and if you use your reaction to attack on another creature's turn then you can apply savage attacker to that attack as well. (That is just as a clarification, since sometimes you are able to use your reaction on your own turn.)
The rules are quite specific in using either TURN or ROUND as separate terms.
Once per round means it can be done on your turn OR in a reaction. You cannot do it on your action then again during an AoO.
Once per turn means you can do it once on your turn, and then again later if you take a reaction and it applies to that as well.
Also, if you a Rogue (Thief), when you hit 17th level, you gain the ability to take two full turns in a single round. Once per turn gets applied in both of those turns.
Once per round means it can be done on your turn OR in a reaction. You cannot do it on your action then again during an AoO.
Once per turn means you can do it once on your turn, and then again later if you take a reaction and it applies to that as well.
Also, if you a Rogue (Thief), when you hit 17th level, you gain the ability to take two full turns in a single round. Once per turn gets applied in both of those turns.
Thanks Mog! That's good to know and is exactly the clarification I was seeking!
Yes, it can be multiple times per round. The rules very rarely refer to "rounds" in 5e.
This is especially useful information to rogues, because they can potentially sneak attack with an opportunity attack.
I have read in the Sage Advice Compendum that the benefit of the Savage Attacker feat does not apply to additional effects like the rogue's Sneak Attack or the paladin's Divine Smite. Can you elaborate on why you are saying that this is especially useful to rogues and their sneak attack?
Yes, it can be multiple times per round. The rules very rarely refer to "rounds" in 5e.
This is especially useful information to rogues, because they can potentially sneak attack with an opportunity attack.
I have read in the Sage Advice Compendum that the benefit of the Savage Attacker feat does not apply to additional effects like the rogue's Sneak Attack or the paladin's Divine Smite. Can you elaborate on why you are saying that this is especially useful to rogues and their sneak attack?
Not savage attacker, but opportunity attacks. Rogues can sneak attack on their turn AND if they get an opportunity attack.
I thought savage attacker was just an example of a "once per turn" effect (like sneak attack is) and not a central part of the question.
Yes, it can be multiple times per round. The rules very rarely refer to "rounds" in 5e.
This is especially useful information to rogues, because they can potentially sneak attack with an opportunity attack.
I have read in the Sage Advice Compendum that the benefit of the Savage Attacker feat does not apply to additional effects like the rogue's Sneak Attack or the paladin's Divine Smite. Can you elaborate on why you are saying that this is especially useful to rogues and their sneak attack?
Not savage attacker, but opportunity attacks. Rogues can sneak attack on their turn AND if they get an opportunity attack.
I thought savage attacker was just an example of a "once per turn" effect (like sneak attack is) and not a central part of the question.
I actually opened the thread to other "once per turn" effects, you thought correctly, my bad!
I also did not understand what you were trying to say earlier but now I get it, thank you for the info on the Sneak on the opportunity, this is something that I did not know! I guess I just better understand the "once per turn" characteristic of an effect now. Thanks!
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Hi all, sorry if this question was asked before, I've been reading the basic rules/PHB and multiple forum threads for about an hour now and can't seem to find the answer.
The "Savage Attacker" feat (and other feats and whatnot with similar wording) says you can re-roll damage die ONCE PER TURN, and not once per round. My question is: Does once per turn means that you can re-roll damage on an action/bonus AND on a subsequent reaction during the SAME ROUND, or does once per turn means the same as once per round so it's either one of an action/bonus or a reaction but not both?
Yes, it can be multiple times per round. The rules very rarely refer to "rounds" in 5e.
This is especially useful information to rogues, because they can potentially sneak attack with an opportunity attack.
A turn is one creature's actions.
You can use savage attacker during your own turn, and if you use your reaction to attack on another creature's turn then you can apply savage attacker to that attack as well. (That is just as a clarification, since sometimes you are able to use your reaction on your own turn.)
The rules are quite specific in using either TURN or ROUND as separate terms.
That is why you dont turn your back on a rogue.
But yeah, that would be pretty devastating for the opposition.
BoringBard's long and tedious posts somehow manage to enrapture audiences. How? Because he used Charm Person, the #1 bard spell!
He/him pronouns. Call me Bard. PROUD NERD!
Ever wanted to talk about your parties' worst mistakes? Do so HERE. What's your favorite class, why? Share & explain
HERE.Great! Thank you all for the quick reply!
Once per turn is better than once per round.
Once per round means it can be done on your turn OR in a reaction. You cannot do it on your action then again during an AoO.
Once per turn means you can do it once on your turn, and then again later if you take a reaction and it applies to that as well.
Also, if you a Rogue (Thief), when you hit 17th level, you gain the ability to take two full turns in a single round. Once per turn gets applied in both of those turns.
Thanks Mog! That's good to know and is exactly the clarification I was seeking!
I have read in the Sage Advice Compendum that the benefit of the Savage Attacker feat does not apply to additional effects like the rogue's Sneak Attack or the paladin's Divine Smite. Can you elaborate on why you are saying that this is especially useful to rogues and their sneak attack?
Not savage attacker, but opportunity attacks. Rogues can sneak attack on their turn AND if they get an opportunity attack.
I thought savage attacker was just an example of a "once per turn" effect (like sneak attack is) and not a central part of the question.
I actually opened the thread to other "once per turn" effects, you thought correctly, my bad!
I also did not understand what you were trying to say earlier but now I get it, thank you for the info on the Sneak on the opportunity, this is something that I did not know! I guess I just better understand the "once per turn" characteristic of an effect now. Thanks!