I'm looking for a credible source that states I can or can't add the Enhanced Weapon - Infusion to the Thunder Gauntlets at 9th level. I have been looking for a tweet from Jeremy Crawford, or "anyone of relevance" ... that has answered this question online.
// If you know where to find this please provide a link to this answer. //>
Armor Modifications 9th-level Armorer feature - "Armor (the chest piece), boots, helmet, and the armor’s special weapon. Each of those items can bear one of your infusions."
I'm looking for a credible source that states I can or can't add the Enhanced Weapon - Infusion to the Thunder Gauntlets at 9th level. I have been looking for a tweet from Jeremy Crawford, or "anyone of relevance" ... that has answered this question online.
// If you know where to find this please provide a link to this answer. //>
Armor Modifications 9th-level Armorer feature - "Armor (the chest piece), boots, helmet, and the armor’s special weapon. Each of those items can bear one of your infusions."
Thanks,
Yes, you can - to at least one gauntlet, and to the lightning launcher. And you can do it at level 3, not level 9. Links below are directly to Tasha's.
Because the object is a simple weapon and the infusion you're talking about works on any simple weapon, the infusion works on the object. Note that because you can only infuse 1 object, under very strict RAW prior to level 9 you can only infuse 1 of your thunder gauntlets, as each is a distinct object. At level 9, using the rule you quoted in your own post, you can infuse Enhanced Weapon into the armor. This will require your DM to make a ruling: the level 9 rule says the armor counts as the armor's special weapon, singular, but Guardian armor has more than one special weapon - the sentence is grammatically invalid. Assuming the fix is to pluralize the word "weapon", all of your gauntlets will receive the infusion at once at that point.
I'm not sure I agree with quindraco about before level 9, but after level 9 definitely.
The gauntlets count as simple melee weapons, so I'd say it's pretty unambiguously allowed; the issue is that you can't infuse both the gauntlet and your armor with Enhanced Weapon and Enhanced Defense until 9th level, since they're technically the same item.
My dilemma is at 9th level not at the 3rd level. People seem to agree or disagree and this is what I have been seeing. Interpretations of the RAW or opinions about it does not help so I'm looking for a ruling on it from a credible source (a specific link) that clears this issue up.
My dilemma is at 9th level not at the 3rd level. People seem to agree or disagree and this is what I have been seeing. Interpretations of the RAW or opinions about it does not help so I'm looking for a ruling on it from a credible source (a specific link) that clears this issue up.
Sadly no sage advice for this. I haven't seen anybody ask if the weapon that is specifically able to be infused separately from the rest of the armor can be infused with weapon infusions before. Its... rather self explanatory... If not weapon infusions than what?
There is certainly cause for confusion before level 9 because the weapon is still part of the armor.
My dilemma is at 9th level not at the 3rd level. People seem to agree or disagree and this is what I have been seeing. Interpretations of the RAW or opinions about it does not help so I'm looking for a ruling on it from a credible source (a specific link) that clears this issue up.
The problem with finding a ruling on it (from any source) is that the rules are so unambiguously clear that it's going to be challenging even finding an instance of someone asking the question, let alone providing the answer. It's like asking if you can make a weapon attack with the gauntlets (of course you can, they're weapons).
Neither of these links link to a specific post - you're linking, in both cases, to an entire page of posts. You can get a post link from the number in the top right of the post. As it is, you're asking us to read the entire page and guess which post you mean. The top link has OP asking about infusing magic armor (an entirely separate question). I did a ctl-f on the page for the word "weapon" and none of the posts I found delved into your question. The second link is to page 2 of a thread, so I did the same ctl-f trick, with similar results. If either of your links has a post on it where someone is asking the same question you are, please link directly to the post so we can see what you're talking about.
So far as I'm aware, there's no disagreement anywhere on whether an Armorer can infuse a weapon infusion into the weapon built into their armor. If your DM is having a disagreement with you, maybe send them here so we can find out what's confusing them?
There was an artificer in Eberron, right? IDk when that was released though.
In a similar vein to this thread, if you infused Arcane Armour with Arcane Propulsion Armour at 14th level, would the Thunder Gauntlets become ranged? And would you be able to still impose disadvantage on attack rolls against targets other than you?
There was an artificer in Eberron, right? IDk when that was released though.
In a similar vein to this thread, if you infused Arcane Armour with Arcane Propulsion Armour at 14th level, would the Thunder Gauntlets become ranged? And would you be able to still impose disadvantage on attack rolls against targets other than you?
As I read it, it would replace the thunder gauntlets, or maybe you can choose to keep the thunder but it would not become ranged. If you wanted a range option switch to infiltrator armor. The ranged gauntlet becomes force damage so wouldn’t have the thunder gauntlet rider effect on the target.
There was an artificer in Eberron, right? IDk when that was released though.
In a similar vein to this thread, if you infused Arcane Armour with Arcane Propulsion Armour at 14th level, would the Thunder Gauntlets become ranged? And would you be able to still impose disadvantage on attack rolls against targets other than you?
There were only 3 Artificer Specialties in Eberron, the Armorer got added by Tasha's in 2020.
I'm not sure I agree with quindraco about before level 9, but after level 9 definitely.
The gauntlets count as simple melee weapons, so I'd say it's pretty unambiguously allowed; the issue is that you can't infuse both the gauntlet and your armor with Enhanced Weapon and Enhanced Defense until 9th level, since they're technically the same item.
It's a lot more complicated than that; thunder gauntlets only count as a simple melee weapon when you aren't holding anything in them, but you need to be holding and using tools to apply infusions. They also don't cause the armour to become a weapon, they only allow you to attack using part of the armour as if it were one, so the armour is not clearly "a weapon" that you can apply an infusion to.
The fact that the thunder gauntlets are not a separate item is a big part of the problem with their interaction with things like booming blade (as they a weapon that costs at least 1 sp, well that depends if they're the armour, and thus the armour's value, or a separate weapon).
It's a minefield of poorly defined rules until the 9th-level feature makes it completely unambiguous. Armorer is in dire need of errata and sage advice.
Former D&D Beyond Customer of six years: With the axing of piecemeal purchasing, lack of meaningful development, and toxic moderation the site isn't worth paying for anymore. I remain a free user only until my groups are done migrating from DDB, and if necessary D&D, after which I'm done. There are better systems owned by better companies out there.
I have unsubscribed from all topics and will not reply to messages. My homebrew is now 100% unsupported.
I'm not sure I agree with quindraco about before level 9, but after level 9 definitely.
The gauntlets count as simple melee weapons, so I'd say it's pretty unambiguously allowed; the issue is that you can't infuse both the gauntlet and your armor with Enhanced Weapon and Enhanced Defense until 9th level, since they're technically the same item.
It's a lot more complicated than that; thunder gauntlets only count as a simple melee weapon when you aren't holding anything in them, but you need to be holding and using tools to apply infusions.
You need tools? I don’t see any reference to them in the Infuse Items section. In fact, the basic statement of the rule reads “Whenever you finish a long rest, you can touch a non-magical object and imbue it with one of your artificer infusions, turning it into a magic item.”
They also don't cause the armour to become a weapon, they only allow you to attack using part of the armour as if it were one, so the armour is not clearly "a weapon" that you can apply an infusion to.
There is a sentence in the Thunder Gauntlets section that says they count as weapons. Doesn’t that mean that they count as weapons?
The fact that the thunder gauntlets are not a separate item is a big part of the problem with their interaction with things like booming blade (as they a weapon that costs at least 1 sp, well that depends if they're the armour, and thus the armour's value, or a separate weapon).
I guess it depends on if you are talking pre- or post- level 9, but pre level 9, the special weapon is gained through Armor Model which is based on Arcane Armor which starts from a non-magical suit of armor, which ostensibly has a value.
It's a minefield of poorly defined rules until the 9th-level feature makes it completely unambiguous. Armorer is in dire need of errata and sage advice.
I guess, unless of course you have someone in your game who makes rulings on this type of thing. I know many users on this forum don’t like obviousness as a rule test, but I think it is fairly straightforward to figure out what the rules allow in this case.
You need tools? I don’t see any reference to them in the Infuse Items section. In fact, the basic statement of the rule reads “Whenever you finish a long rest, you can touch a non-magical object and imbue it with one of your artificer infusions, turning it into a magic item.”
Whoops, I must be confusing that with something else, I'll strike that out. It's still something of an oddity though that they only count as weapons some of the time; because it means that even if you rule that the armour counts as a weapon for infusing purposes, it only counts some of the time, so what happens when it isn't a weapon (your hands are full)?
There is a sentence in the Thunder Gauntlets section that says they count as weapons. Doesn’t that mean that they count as weapons?
That's for the gauntlets themselves, though this plays into the weirdness around whether they're their own item or not, especially since they only sometimes count as a weapon; to infuse the gauntlets it's arguable that what you need to infuse is the armour (the only actual item involved at this point), but is the armour a weapon? The rules as written don't say so, what you have is armour with a built in weapon which isn't defined well enough to say yes in RAW.
I guess it depends on if you are talking pre- or post- level 9, but pre level 9, the special weapon is gained through Armor Model which is based on Arcane Armor which starts from a non-magical suit of armor, which ostensibly has a value.
Post 9th-level the gauntlets are definitely a separate item for the purposes of your Infuse Items feature, but beyond that it's still not clear what the interaction is supposed to be. Arguably the armour is still the only actual item involved, but if you attack with them do they have their own value for the purposes of booming blade, do they inherit the armour's value (despite it not being a weapon)? It's not clear in RAW.
To clarify though, I personally rule that the SCAGtrips work on the basis that the only item involved is the armour (which has value) and that the gauntlets are simply a feature of the armour that lets you attack like a weapon, so it qualifies indirectly. But not everyone shares that opinion, and the RAW isn't clear.
I guess, unless of course you have someone in your game who makes rulings on this type of thing. I know many users on this forum don’t like obviousness as a rule test, but I think it is fairly straightforward to figure out what the rules allow in this case.
The key problem for the pre-9th level infusing is that the armour is still just armour; yes you can punch with part of that armour, but is the armour a weapon because of that? Does it qualify for weapon infusions? The answer to both of these is we don't know.
To use a related example, plate armour includes boots, so does that mean that the armour footwear, or are only the boots themselves footwear? The common sense answer is the latter, but what does that mean for infusing the armour? Pre-9th the boots aren't defined as an item in their own right, the only item involved is the full set of plate armour. It's the same basic problem; does part of an item being a thing mean that the whole item counts as that thing (a weapon, boots etc.) for the purposes of infusions?
The Armorer rules and/or infusion rules should say, because they're dependent upon the answer, but the related question of whether you can swap the boots on plate armour has been unanswered for years; magic item and item rules don't say, so it's down to DM's for a lot of this.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Former D&D Beyond Customer of six years: With the axing of piecemeal purchasing, lack of meaningful development, and toxic moderation the site isn't worth paying for anymore. I remain a free user only until my groups are done migrating from DDB, and if necessary D&D, after which I'm done. There are better systems owned by better companies out there.
I have unsubscribed from all topics and will not reply to messages. My homebrew is now 100% unsupported.
But what is the question here? When does it matter? The gauntlets seems to count as a weapon any time that any feature would care if they count as a weapon (as long as you aren't also holding something in them, which can be made to be any time that you need them to count as a weapon).
But what is the question here? When does it matter? The gauntlets seems to count as a weapon any time that any feature would care if they count as a weapon (as long as you aren't also holding something in them, which can be made to be any time that you need them to count as a weapon).
They are only described as counting as an item for the purposes of infusing at 9th-level, if you want to infuse them before that point then what are they?
Because if your argument is that they're a separate item then what is the point of the 9th-level feature? If part of the armour can count as a separate item without it then you were always able to infuse them separately from the armour itself, you never needed a feature to do that.
But if they're just a feature of the armour (as they're described) then they cannot be infused before 9th-level, because the armour is the only item for the purposes of infusing at that point, so you can only apply armour infusions to it. This is arguably the RAW as it stands, and very likely the RAI as well.
Former D&D Beyond Customer of six years: With the axing of piecemeal purchasing, lack of meaningful development, and toxic moderation the site isn't worth paying for anymore. I remain a free user only until my groups are done migrating from DDB, and if necessary D&D, after which I'm done. There are better systems owned by better companies out there.
I have unsubscribed from all topics and will not reply to messages. My homebrew is now 100% unsupported.
But what is the question here? When does it matter? The gauntlets seems to count as a weapon any time that any feature would care if they count as a weapon (as long as you aren't also holding something in them, which can be made to be any time that you need them to count as a weapon).
They are only described as counting as an item for the purposes of infusing at 9th-level, if you want to infuse them before that point then what are they?
As I cited earlier, they are simple weapons starting at level 3, not 9.
Because if your argument is that they're a separate item
It is an entirely separate question whether or not the weapon and the armor are separate objects. If they are not separate objects, then the object in question is both a weapon (or weapons) and armor at the same time. But we do not need to answer whether they are separate objects or not to answer if the weapon is a weapon - it is.
then what is the point of the 9th-level feature?
In addition to what I said above, the L9 feature does more things, such as shifting 2 of your infusions from offline to active, provided they obey the other rules listed in the feature.
If part of the armour can count as a separate item without it then you were always able to infuse them separately from the armour itself, you never needed a feature to do that.
See above.
But if they're just a feature of the armour (as they're described) then they cannot be infused before 9th-level, because the armour is the only item for the purposes of infusing at that point, so you can only apply armour infusions to it.
Simply false. You can infuse either a weapon infusion or an armor infusion into any object that is both armor and a weapon. This is not limited to Armorers. Battlerager Barbarians can employ Spiked Armor as a weapon, for example.
This is arguably the RAW as it stands, and very likely the RAI as well.
There's no argument to have - you're violating the RAW. Questions about RAI are entirely separate.
That's for the gauntlets themselves, though this plays into the weirdness around whether they're their own item or not, especially since they only sometimes count as a weapon; to infuse the gauntlets it's arguable that what you need to infuse is the armour (the only actual item involved at this point), but is the armour a weapon? The rules as written don't say so, what you have is armour with a built in weapon which isn't defined well enough to say yes in RAW.
I'd say that you are overthinking this part. They don't really mean that they don't count as weapons all the time, they mean that you cannot use them to attack in some situations.
As I cited earlier, they are simple weapons starting at level 3, not 9.
I said nothing to the contrary? The gauntlets undoubtedly count as weapons for the purposes of punching people in the mouth with them; the issue is whether they count as objects for the purposes of infusing them.
It is an entirely separate question whether or not the weapon and the armor are separate objects. If they are not separate objects, then the object in question is both a weapon (or weapons) and armor at the same time. But we do not need to answer whether they are separate objects or not to answer if the weapon is a weapon - it is.
It's not a separate question; if the gauntlets are not a separate item, then there is no weapon to choose to infuse, there is only the armour which has a feature that lets you treat part of it as a weapon.
In addition to what I said above, the L9 feature does more things, such as shifting 2 of your infusions from offline to active, provided they obey the other rules listed in the feature.
Precisely none of which is relevant; the feature specifically breaks the armour down into four pieces, which is either completely irrelevant if they were all separate items to begin with, or reinforces that they were not prior to obtaining this feature.
But if they're just a feature of the armour (as they're described) then they cannot be infused before 9th-level, because the armour is the only item for the purposes of infusing at that point, so you can only apply armour infusions to it.
Simply false. You can infuse either a weapon infusion or an armor infusion into any object that is both armor and a weapon. This is not limited to Armorers. Battlerager Barbarians can employ Spiked Armor as a weapon, for example.
The next time you respond to something I say with the phrase "simply false" I'm simply blocking you, especially when the issue is far from a simple one.
To apply an infusion you must "touch an object", if the gauntlets are not separate items/objects then you cannot treat them as if they are, therefore only the armour is an object capable of holding an infusion.
The gauntlets counting as a weapon has no bearing on what the armour as a whole is; there is nothing in RAW to support this idea that if part of an object counts as something, then the whole object counts as that same thing. The lit end of a candle may be fire but the rest of the candle is not, a sword may have a point but that doesn't mean you can pierce someone with the handle, and so-on.
And Battleragers do not support your argument in the slightest; Battleragers can make a bonus attack while wearing spiked armour, it is not a property of the armour, It's a sub-class feature, and it's 100% unambiguously invalid for infusing as a weapon. Arcane Armour is a feature tied to a suit of armour, and thunder gauntlets are a feature within that; thunder gauntlets are unambiguously a feature of the armour, but there is absolutely no indication they are a separate object for the purposes of infusion, or somehow impart their status to the rest of the armour. Not anywhere in RAW, and I defy you actually find somewhere if you're so sure it exists.
Former D&D Beyond Customer of six years: With the axing of piecemeal purchasing, lack of meaningful development, and toxic moderation the site isn't worth paying for anymore. I remain a free user only until my groups are done migrating from DDB, and if necessary D&D, after which I'm done. There are better systems owned by better companies out there.
I have unsubscribed from all topics and will not reply to messages. My homebrew is now 100% unsupported.
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I'm looking for a credible source that states I can or can't add the Enhanced Weapon - Infusion to the Thunder Gauntlets at 9th level. I have been looking for a tweet from Jeremy Crawford, or "anyone of relevance" ... that has answered this question online.
// If you know where to find this please provide a link to this answer. //>
Armor Modifications
9th-level Armorer feature - "Armor (the chest piece), boots, helmet, and the armor’s special weapon. Each of those items can bear one of your infusions."
Thanks,
Yes, you can - to at least one gauntlet, and to the lightning launcher. And you can do it at level 3, not level 9. Links below are directly to Tasha's.
Because the object is a simple weapon and the infusion you're talking about works on any simple weapon, the infusion works on the object. Note that because you can only infuse 1 object, under very strict RAW prior to level 9 you can only infuse 1 of your thunder gauntlets, as each is a distinct object. At level 9, using the rule you quoted in your own post, you can infuse Enhanced Weapon into the armor. This will require your DM to make a ruling: the level 9 rule says the armor counts as the armor's special weapon, singular, but Guardian armor has more than one special weapon - the sentence is grammatically invalid. Assuming the fix is to pluralize the word "weapon", all of your gauntlets will receive the infusion at once at that point.
I'm not sure I agree with quindraco about before level 9, but after level 9 definitely.
The gauntlets count as simple melee weapons, so I'd say it's pretty unambiguously allowed; the issue is that you can't infuse both the gauntlet and your armor with Enhanced Weapon and Enhanced Defense until 9th level, since they're technically the same item.
Thanks for the responses.
My dilemma is at 9th level not at the 3rd level. People seem to agree or disagree and this is what I have been seeing. Interpretations of the RAW or opinions about it does not help so I'm looking for a ruling on it from a credible source (a specific link) that clears this issue up.
Sadly no sage advice for this. I haven't seen anybody ask if the weapon that is specifically able to be infused separately from the rest of the armor can be infused with weapon infusions before. Its... rather self explanatory... If not weapon infusions than what?
There is certainly cause for confusion before level 9 because the weapon is still part of the armor.
I agree. Looks like it has been up for debate and interpretation since 2017.
https://www.dndbeyond.com/forums/class-forums/artificer/89114-could-arcane-armor-armor-modifications-allow-for
https://www.dndbeyond.com/forums/class-forums/artificer/88225-armorer-and-magic-armor?page=2
The problem with finding a ruling on it (from any source) is that the rules are so unambiguously clear that it's going to be challenging even finding an instance of someone asking the question, let alone providing the answer. It's like asking if you can make a weapon attack with the gauntlets (of course you can, they're weapons).
Neither of these links link to a specific post - you're linking, in both cases, to an entire page of posts. You can get a post link from the number in the top right of the post. As it is, you're asking us to read the entire page and guess which post you mean. The top link has OP asking about infusing magic armor (an entirely separate question). I did a ctl-f on the page for the word "weapon" and none of the posts I found delved into your question. The second link is to page 2 of a thread, so I did the same ctl-f trick, with similar results. If either of your links has a post on it where someone is asking the same question you are, please link directly to the post so we can see what you're talking about.
So far as I'm aware, there's no disagreement anywhere on whether an Armorer can infuse a weapon infusion into the weapon built into their armor. If your DM is having a disagreement with you, maybe send them here so we can find out what's confusing them?
The Armorer subclass has only been around since late 2020 (when Tasha's was released), so I'm not sure where you're getting 2017 from.
Helpful rewriter of Japanese->English translation and delver into software codebases (she/e/they)
There was an artificer in Eberron, right? IDk when that was released though.
In a similar vein to this thread, if you infused Arcane Armour with Arcane Propulsion Armour at 14th level, would the Thunder Gauntlets become ranged? And would you be able to still impose disadvantage on attack rolls against targets other than you?
I can’t remember what’s supposed to go here.
As I read it, it would replace the thunder gauntlets, or maybe you can choose to keep the thunder but it would not become ranged. If you wanted a range option switch to infiltrator armor. The ranged gauntlet becomes force damage so wouldn’t have the thunder gauntlet rider effect on the target.
EZD6 by DM Scotty
https://www.drivethrurpg.com/en/product/397599/EZD6-Core-Rulebook?
There were only 3 Artificer Specialties in Eberron, the Armorer got added by Tasha's in 2020.
Helpful rewriter of Japanese->English translation and delver into software codebases (she/e/they)
It's a lot more complicated than that;
thunder gauntlets only count as a simple melee weapon when you aren't holding anything in them, but you need to be holding and using tools to apply infusions. They also don't cause the armour to become a weapon, they only allow you to attack using part of the armour as if it were one, so the armour is not clearly "a weapon" that you can apply an infusion to.The fact that the thunder gauntlets are not a separate item is a big part of the problem with their interaction with things like booming blade (as they a weapon that costs at least 1 sp, well that depends if they're the armour, and thus the armour's value, or a separate weapon).
It's a minefield of poorly defined rules until the 9th-level feature makes it completely unambiguous. Armorer is in dire need of errata and sage advice.
Former D&D Beyond Customer of six years: With the axing of piecemeal purchasing, lack of meaningful development, and toxic moderation the site isn't worth paying for anymore. I remain a free user only until my groups are done migrating from DDB, and if necessary D&D, after which I'm done. There are better systems owned by better companies out there.
I have unsubscribed from all topics and will not reply to messages. My homebrew is now 100% unsupported.
You need tools? I don’t see any reference to them in the Infuse Items section. In fact, the basic statement of the rule reads “Whenever you finish a long rest, you can touch a non-magical object and imbue it with one of your artificer infusions, turning it into a magic item.”
There is a sentence in the Thunder Gauntlets section that says they count as weapons. Doesn’t that mean that they count as weapons?
I guess it depends on if you are talking pre- or post- level 9, but pre level 9, the special weapon is gained through Armor Model which is based on Arcane Armor which starts from a non-magical suit of armor, which ostensibly has a value.
I guess, unless of course you have someone in your game who makes rulings on this type of thing. I know many users on this forum don’t like obviousness as a rule test, but I think it is fairly straightforward to figure out what the rules allow in this case.
That's for the gauntlets themselves, though this plays into the weirdness around whether they're their own item or not, especially since they only sometimes count as a weapon; to infuse the gauntlets it's arguable that what you need to infuse is the armour (the only actual item involved at this point), but is the armour a weapon? The rules as written don't say so, what you have is armour with a built in weapon which isn't defined well enough to say yes in RAW.
Post 9th-level the gauntlets are definitely a separate item for the purposes of your Infuse Items feature, but beyond that it's still not clear what the interaction is supposed to be. Arguably the armour is still the only actual item involved, but if you attack with them do they have their own value for the purposes of booming blade, do they inherit the armour's value (despite it not being a weapon)? It's not clear in RAW.
To clarify though, I personally rule that the SCAGtrips work on the basis that the only item involved is the armour (which has value) and that the gauntlets are simply a feature of the armour that lets you attack like a weapon, so it qualifies indirectly. But not everyone shares that opinion, and the RAW isn't clear.
The key problem for the pre-9th level infusing is that the armour is still just armour; yes you can punch with part of that armour, but is the armour a weapon because of that? Does it qualify for weapon infusions? The answer to both of these is we don't know.
To use a related example, plate armour includes boots, so does that mean that the armour footwear, or are only the boots themselves footwear? The common sense answer is the latter, but what does that mean for infusing the armour? Pre-9th the boots aren't defined as an item in their own right, the only item involved is the full set of plate armour. It's the same basic problem; does part of an item being a thing mean that the whole item counts as that thing (a weapon, boots etc.) for the purposes of infusions?
The Armorer rules and/or infusion rules should say, because they're dependent upon the answer, but the related question of whether you can swap the boots on plate armour has been unanswered for years; magic item and item rules don't say, so it's down to DM's for a lot of this.
Former D&D Beyond Customer of six years: With the axing of piecemeal purchasing, lack of meaningful development, and toxic moderation the site isn't worth paying for anymore. I remain a free user only until my groups are done migrating from DDB, and if necessary D&D, after which I'm done. There are better systems owned by better companies out there.
I have unsubscribed from all topics and will not reply to messages. My homebrew is now 100% unsupported.
But what is the question here? When does it matter? The gauntlets seems to count as a weapon any time that any feature would care if they count as a weapon (as long as you aren't also holding something in them, which can be made to be any time that you need them to count as a weapon).
They are only described as counting as an item for the purposes of infusing at 9th-level, if you want to infuse them before that point then what are they?
Because if your argument is that they're a separate item then what is the point of the 9th-level feature? If part of the armour can count as a separate item without it then you were always able to infuse them separately from the armour itself, you never needed a feature to do that.
But if they're just a feature of the armour (as they're described) then they cannot be infused before 9th-level, because the armour is the only item for the purposes of infusing at that point, so you can only apply armour infusions to it. This is arguably the RAW as it stands, and very likely the RAI as well.
Former D&D Beyond Customer of six years: With the axing of piecemeal purchasing, lack of meaningful development, and toxic moderation the site isn't worth paying for anymore. I remain a free user only until my groups are done migrating from DDB, and if necessary D&D, after which I'm done. There are better systems owned by better companies out there.
I have unsubscribed from all topics and will not reply to messages. My homebrew is now 100% unsupported.
As I cited earlier, they are simple weapons starting at level 3, not 9.
It is an entirely separate question whether or not the weapon and the armor are separate objects. If they are not separate objects, then the object in question is both a weapon (or weapons) and armor at the same time. But we do not need to answer whether they are separate objects or not to answer if the weapon is a weapon - it is.
In addition to what I said above, the L9 feature does more things, such as shifting 2 of your infusions from offline to active, provided they obey the other rules listed in the feature.
See above.
Simply false. You can infuse either a weapon infusion or an armor infusion into any object that is both armor and a weapon. This is not limited to Armorers. Battlerager Barbarians can employ Spiked Armor as a weapon, for example.
There's no argument to have - you're violating the RAW. Questions about RAI are entirely separate.
I'd say that you are overthinking this part. They don't really mean that they don't count as weapons all the time, they mean that you cannot use them to attack in some situations.
It's not a separate question; if the gauntlets are not a separate item, then there is no weapon to choose to infuse, there is only the armour which has a feature that lets you treat part of it as a weapon.
Precisely none of which is relevant; the feature specifically breaks the armour down into four pieces, which is either completely irrelevant if they were all separate items to begin with, or reinforces that they were not prior to obtaining this feature.
The next time you respond to something I say with the phrase "simply false" I'm simply blocking you, especially when the issue is far from a simple one.
To apply an infusion you must "touch an object", if the gauntlets are not separate items/objects then you cannot treat them as if they are, therefore only the armour is an object capable of holding an infusion.
The gauntlets counting as a weapon has no bearing on what the armour as a whole is; there is nothing in RAW to support this idea that if part of an object counts as something, then the whole object counts as that same thing. The lit end of a candle may be fire but the rest of the candle is not, a sword may have a point but that doesn't mean you can pierce someone with the handle, and so-on.
And Battleragers do not support your argument in the slightest; Battleragers can make a bonus attack while wearing spiked armour, it is not a property of the armour, It's a sub-class feature, and it's 100% unambiguously invalid for infusing as a weapon. Arcane Armour is a feature tied to a suit of armour, and thunder gauntlets are a feature within that; thunder gauntlets are unambiguously a feature of the armour, but there is absolutely no indication they are a separate object for the purposes of infusion, or somehow impart their status to the rest of the armour. Not anywhere in RAW, and I defy you actually find somewhere if you're so sure it exists.
Former D&D Beyond Customer of six years: With the axing of piecemeal purchasing, lack of meaningful development, and toxic moderation the site isn't worth paying for anymore. I remain a free user only until my groups are done migrating from DDB, and if necessary D&D, after which I'm done. There are better systems owned by better companies out there.
I have unsubscribed from all topics and will not reply to messages. My homebrew is now 100% unsupported.