So, I have been searching online for hours. And lots if supposition and guesses. Really irritating that the rules state you can't willing end movement in an occupied space, but don't say boo about what happens when you do end up unwillingly in the same space.
And there are a ton of ways you could be involuntarily moved into the same space as one or more creatures. Spells, shoves, pushes, etc.
All the things I have found have tried to apply logic (a great way to go wrong in an imaginary game with magic) or looks at rules for squeezing into a "restricted space". Like a large creature in a 5' hallway.
Here is what I think happens.... nothing... because that is what the rules have to say about it specifically. They share the same space until one of them gets a turn and then that one must immediately move out of the shared space (there are rulings that say no portion of movement can have you stop in an occupied space, so you couldn't not move, attack or something then move). Simple. I think all the stuff I have read over hours is trying too hard to act like old editions or create a rule where there isn't actually one.
I'm dealing with a slightly related problem involving grappling. I would generally rule that occupied spaces are off-limits for forced movement. I could see a situation where a particularly violent shove would affect two or more creatures though. My own ruling would be that shoving a target into an occupied square wouldn't cause them to enter the square, but the shover would make its strength (or spell ability) contest against both the target and the collateral target, using the same roll, and knock them both prone on a success. I could also see treating collisions like falling damage, but only if the shove would move the target enough to warrant it.
As an example, if a battlemaster fighter were to use the "pushing attack" maneuver to push another creature 15 feet, and there were another creature three spaces (15ft) behind the target, then the target would move 10ft, and the collateral target would make the same strength save as the original target (or perhaps a dexterity save), and both targets would be knocked prone and take 1d6 bludgeoning damage (for 10ft of movement) on a failed save.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
So, I have been searching online for hours. And lots if supposition and guesses. Really irritating that the rules state you can't willing end movement in an occupied space, but don't say boo about what happens when you do end up unwillingly in the same space.
And there are a ton of ways you could be involuntarily moved into the same space as one or more creatures. Spells, shoves, pushes, etc.
All the things I have found have tried to apply logic (a great way to go wrong in an imaginary game with magic) or looks at rules for squeezing into a "restricted space". Like a large creature in a 5' hallway.
Here is what I think happens.... nothing... because that is what the rules have to say about it specifically. They share the same space until one of them gets a turn and then that one must immediately move out of the shared space (there are rulings that say no portion of movement can have you stop in an occupied space, so you couldn't not move, attack or something then move). Simple. I think all the stuff I have read over hours is trying too hard to act like old editions or create a rule where there isn't actually one.
Am I missing something?
I'm dealing with a slightly related problem involving grappling. I would generally rule that occupied spaces are off-limits for forced movement. I could see a situation where a particularly violent shove would affect two or more creatures though. My own ruling would be that shoving a target into an occupied square wouldn't cause them to enter the square, but the shover would make its strength (or spell ability) contest against both the target and the collateral target, using the same roll, and knock them both prone on a success. I could also see treating collisions like falling damage, but only if the shove would move the target enough to warrant it.
As an example, if a battlemaster fighter were to use the "pushing attack" maneuver to push another creature 15 feet, and there were another creature three spaces (15ft) behind the target, then the target would move 10ft, and the collateral target would make the same strength save as the original target (or perhaps a dexterity save), and both targets would be knocked prone and take 1d6 bludgeoning damage (for 10ft of movement) on a failed save.