PCs don’t get Multiattack (unless wild shaped or similar), so no. If you’re asking about monsters, the answer is still fuzzily no, because of this line from the Monster Manual: “A creature that can make multiple attacks on its turn has the Multiattack ability.”
The multiattack action is well, an action. So if they can ready it.
I quoted the text that specifies it’s only used on the creature’s turn. I dunno what to tell you. Like I said, it’s fuzzy because it’s not exactly phrased as a directive, but it’s abundantly clear what’s intended.
If you read the rules for holding an action, when it comes to holding an attack you don’t “ready the Attack action,” you “take the Ready action on your turn.” For a monster to Multiattack they must take the Multiattack action “on their turn,” for a PC to use Extra Attack it must “take the Attack action on their turn.” If you Ready an attack, you only ever ready “an attack” according to RAW.
Sometimes you want to get the jump on a foe or wait for a particular circumstance before you act. To do so, you can take the Ready action on your turn, which lets you act using your reaction before the start of your next turn.
First, you decide what perceivable circumstance will trigger your reaction. Then, you choose the action you will take in response to that trigger, or you choose to move up to your speed in response to it. Examples include "If the cultist steps on the trapdoor, I'll pull the lever that opens it," and "If the goblin steps next to me, I move away."
When the trigger occurs, you can either take your reaction right after the trigger finishes or ignore the trigger. Remember that you can take only one reaction per round.
When you ready a spell, you cast it as normal but hold its energy, which you release with your reaction when the trigger occurs. To be readied, a spell must have a casting time of 1 action, and holding onto the spell's magic requires concentration. If your concentration is broken, the spell dissipates without taking effect. For example, if you are concentrating on the web spell and ready magic missile, your web spell ends, and if you take damage before you release magic missile with your reaction, your concentration might be broken.
“A creature that can make multiple attacks on its turn has the Multiattack ability.”
That is what the rules say. So it would seem monsters can't ready multiattack. Ultimately up to the DM, but I'll say it wont be fun for the players if monsters do this.
“A creature that can make multiple attacks on its turn has the Multiattack ability.”
That is what the rules say. So it would seem monsters can't ready multiattack. Ultimately up to the DM, but I'll say it wont be fun for the players if monsters do this.
"First, you decide what perceivable circumstance will trigger your reaction. Then, you choose the action you will take in response to that trigger"
A player can only take Actions granted to is by its class, or in the Action's section of the PHP. Can you provide a direct reference to where you think PC's can obtain a "Multi-attack" option?
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Remember there are Rules as Written (RAW), Rules as Intended (RAI), and Rules as Fun (RAF). There's some great RAW, RAI, and RAF here... please check in with your DM to determine how they want to adjudicate the RAW/RAI/RAF for your game.
What actions can monsters use to make opportunity attacks? Are Multiattack and breath weapon actions allowed?
A monster follows the normal opportunity attack rules, which specify that an attack of opportunity is one melee attack. That means a monster must choose a single melee attack to make, either an attack in its stat block or a generic attack, like an unarmed strike. Multiattack doesn’t qualify, not only because it’s more than one attack, but also because the rule on Multiattack (MM , "Multiattack") states that this action can’t be used for opportunity attacks. An action, such as a breath weapon, that doesn’t include an attack roll is also not eligible.
Remember there are Rules as Written (RAW), Rules as Intended (RAI), and Rules as Fun (RAF). There's some great RAW, RAI, and RAF here... please check in with your DM to determine how they want to adjudicate the RAW/RAI/RAF for your game.
"First, you decide what perceivable circumstance will trigger your reaction. Then, you choose the action you will take in response to that trigger"
A player can only take Actions granted to is by its class, or in the Action's section of the PHP. Can you provide a direct reference to where you think PC's can obtain a "Multi-attack" option?
By turning into monsters as mentioned in this thread.
It's not, because you look for similar incidents when the rule may not be clear.
Multiattack
A creature that can make multiple attacks on its turn has the Multiattack ability. I'd argue that this statement of on it's turn matters.
But... are you asking as a player or a GM?
If you are the GM, who cares what any of us think. You want to grant a shapeshifted PC extra power and it doesn't overshadow the other players, go for it.
If you are a player trying to argue with your GM to gain powers for your PC then please refer to Official Rulings where it clearly repeats what is said in many D&D books: A Dungeon Master adjudicates the game and determines whether to use an official ruling in play. The DM always has the final say on rules questions.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Remember there are Rules as Written (RAW), Rules as Intended (RAI), and Rules as Fun (RAF). There's some great RAW, RAI, and RAF here... please check in with your DM to determine how they want to adjudicate the RAW/RAI/RAF for your game.
It's not, because you look for similar incidents when the rule may not be clear.
Multiattack
A creature that can make multiple attacks on its turn has the Multiattack ability. I'd argue that this statement of on it's turn matters.
It may be intended to matter, but by standard English construction it doesn't -- that statement merely confirms that the monster can use multiattack on its turn, it never says that it cannot use multiattack outside of its turn. Given how generally hostile 5e is to readied actions I doubt that's RAI, but it's RAW.
Since multiattack takes an action, theoretically you can hold or ready an action to use it. Am I wrong?
"Anyone can smith at the cosmic anvil, yet only I can forge a weapon as good as thee."
My Homebrew Please click it, they have my family.
PCs don’t get Multiattack (unless wild shaped or similar), so no. If you’re asking about monsters, the answer is still fuzzily no, because of this line from the Monster Manual: “A creature that can make multiple attacks on its turn has the Multiattack ability.”
The multiattack action is well, an action. So if they can ready it.
"Anyone can smith at the cosmic anvil, yet only I can forge a weapon as good as thee."
My Homebrew Please click it, they have my family.
I quoted the text that specifies it’s only used on the creature’s turn. I dunno what to tell you. Like I said, it’s fuzzy because it’s not exactly phrased as a directive, but it’s abundantly clear what’s intended.
If you read the rules for holding an action, when it comes to holding an attack you don’t “ready the Attack action,” you “take the Ready action on your turn.” For a monster to Multiattack they must take the Multiattack action “on their turn,” for a PC to use Extra Attack it must “take the Attack action on their turn.” If you Ready an attack, you only ever ready “an attack” according to RAW.
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
"First, you decide what perceivable circumstance will trigger your reaction. Then, you choose the action you will take in response to that trigger"
"Anyone can smith at the cosmic anvil, yet only I can forge a weapon as good as thee."
My Homebrew Please click it, they have my family.
“A creature that can make multiple attacks on its turn has the Multiattack ability.”
"Anyone can smith at the cosmic anvil, yet only I can forge a weapon as good as thee."
My Homebrew Please click it, they have my family.
You asked if you were wrong. I know of no other ways to inform you that you are incorrect. 🤷♂️ You seem to have already made up your mind.
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
wait isnt there also the thing that you dont do two attacks with ready action, wouldnt that apply with monsters too
That is what the rules say. So it would seem monsters can't ready multiattack. Ultimately up to the DM, but I'll say it wont be fun for the players if monsters do this.
No, that is just baked in to all ways PCs get multiple attacks rather than the ready action itself.
Spells are the only exception I know of.
100% wouldnt be fun, also ah fair
A player can only take Actions granted to is by its class, or in the Action's section of the PHP. Can you provide a direct reference to where you think PC's can obtain a "Multi-attack" option?
Remember there are Rules as Written (RAW), Rules as Intended (RAI), and Rules as Fun (RAF). There's some great RAW, RAI, and RAF here... please check in with your DM to determine how they want to adjudicate the RAW/RAI/RAF for your game.
The Sage Advice clearly rules:
What actions can monsters use to make opportunity attacks? Are Multiattack and breath weapon actions allowed?
A monster follows the normal opportunity attack rules, which specify that an attack of opportunity is one melee attack. That means a monster must choose a single melee attack to make, either an attack in its stat block or a generic attack, like an unarmed strike. Multiattack doesn’t qualify, not only because it’s more than one attack, but also because the rule on Multiattack (MM , "Multiattack") states that this action can’t be used for opportunity attacks. An action, such as a breath weapon, that doesn’t include an attack roll is also not eligible.
You can see it here: What actions can monsters use to make opportunity attacks? Are Multiattack and breath weapon actions allowed?
Remember there are Rules as Written (RAW), Rules as Intended (RAI), and Rules as Fun (RAF). There's some great RAW, RAI, and RAF here... please check in with your DM to determine how they want to adjudicate the RAW/RAI/RAF for your game.
By turning into monsters as mentioned in this thread.
This is a discussion about the ready action, not opportunity attacks, so this is irrelevant.
It's not, because you look for similar incidents when the rule may not be clear.
Multiattack
A creature that can make multiple attacks on its turn has the Multiattack ability. I'd argue that this statement of on it's turn matters.
But... are you asking as a player or a GM?
If you are the GM, who cares what any of us think. You want to grant a shapeshifted PC extra power and it doesn't overshadow the other players, go for it.
If you are a player trying to argue with your GM to gain powers for your PC then please refer to Official Rulings where it clearly repeats what is said in many D&D books: A Dungeon Master adjudicates the game and determines whether to use an official ruling in play. The DM always has the final say on rules questions.
Remember there are Rules as Written (RAW), Rules as Intended (RAI), and Rules as Fun (RAF). There's some great RAW, RAI, and RAF here... please check in with your DM to determine how they want to adjudicate the RAW/RAI/RAF for your game.
The rule is clear though, the answer is “no.”
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
Actually, the OP was asking if he was wrong - so the answer is "yes."
Touché salesman, touché.
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
It may be intended to matter, but by standard English construction it doesn't -- that statement merely confirms that the monster can use multiattack on its turn, it never says that it cannot use multiattack outside of its turn. Given how generally hostile 5e is to readied actions I doubt that's RAI, but it's RAW.
Show me one instance anywhere in the rules that mentions a monster using Multiattack in any other way than “on its turn.”
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting