The leveled spell rule is during your turn. This is weird because the implications could mean if I cast magic missile I couldn't cast counterspell as a reaction on someone else's turn. But you could then get around the two leveled spells thing by readying one instead. Two lvled spells is a stupid rule so i like to think this is a good loophole.
The leveled spell rule is during your turn. This is weird because the implications could mean if I cast magic missile I couldn't cast counterspell as a reaction on someone else's turn. But you could then get around the two leveled spells thing by readying one instead. Two lvled spells is a stupid rule so i like to think this is a good loophole.
Sorry, maybe I'm not understanding something.
If you cast a leveled spell on your turn and then your turn ends, you can still cast Counterspell as a reaction later in the same round.
The limit of One Spell With a Spell Slot Per Turn is not just on your turn but on every turn in a round. Off turn though, you're likely to only be able cast 1 spell anyway since it's usually done as a Reaction, and you can't take another one until the start of your next turn. So barring action economy, the limit truly is;
On Your Turn
Expend 1 spell slot to cast a spell as an Action, Bonus Action or Reaction
Expend 0 spell slot to cast a spell as an Action, Bonus Action or Reaction
Not Your Turn
Expend 1 spell slot to cast a spell as a Reaction
Expend 0 spell slot to cast a spell as a Reaction
One Spell with a Spell Slot per Turn
On a turn, you can expend only one spell slot to cast a spell. This rule means you can’t, for example, cast a spell with a spell slot using the Magic action and another one using a Bonus Action on the same turn.
Monsters aren't always following the same design paradigm, for example, an NPC Mage can use Reaction to cast Counterspell or Shield on their turn even if they already did cast a spell using a spell slot because their unique abilities don't rely on them.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
The leveled spell rule is during your turn. This is weird because the implications could mean if I cast magic missile I couldn't cast counterspell as a reaction on someone else's turn. But you could then get around the two leveled spells thing by readying one instead. Two lvled spells is a stupid rule so i like to think this is a good loophole.
Sorry, maybe I'm not understanding something.
If you cast a leveled spell on your turn and then your turn ends, you can still cast Counterspell as a reaction later in the same round.
This is true under both the 2014 and 2024 rules.
The limit of One Spell With a Spell Slot Per Turn is not just on your turn but on every turn in a round. Off turn though, you're likely to only be able cast 1 spell anyway since it's usually done as a Reaction, and you can't take another one until the start of your next turn. So barring action economy, the limit truly is;
On Your Turn
Expend 1 spell slot to cast a spell as an Action, Bonus Action or Reaction
Expend 0 spell slot to cast a spell as an Action, Bonus Action or Reaction
Not Your Turn
Expend 1 spell slot to cast a spell as a Reaction
Expend 0 spell slot to cast a spell as a Reaction
Monsters aren't always following the same design paradigm, for example, an NPC Mage can use Reaction to cast Counterspell or Shield on their turn even if they already did cast a spell using a spell slot because their unique abilities don't rely on them.