When a creature within 5 feet of you makes an attack against a target other than you (and that target doesn't have this feat), you can use your reaction to make a melee weapon attack against the attacking creature. ~ PHB-169
So when the creature (enemy) Attacks a target (ally) (and that target doesn't have this feat) You get an opportunity attack.
Grammatically I have to assume "target" refers to the same entity in both situations but mechanically that just seems strange. why would an ally also having the feat prevent you from taking advantage of an opportunity available to you? If the "Target" is referring to the creature (enemy) that would make more sense. if they are trained the same way, I could understand them not leaving you an opening.
Is there any clarification on " target doesn't have this feat" referring to the enemy target "Creature" or friendly ally "target"
target = ally. If your ally doesn't have Sentinel, you can use that feature
And just to be strictly RAW, the Sentinel attack isn't an opportunity attack, just an attack using your reaction. There are actually some interactions for which the distinction matters
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Active characters:
Carric Aquissar, elven wannabe artist in his deconstructionist period (Archfey warlock) Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric) Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator obsessed with that one unsolved murder (Assassin rogue) Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
The phrase "that target" is obviously identifying the use of the word "target" to reference the original use of the word "target".
Note that "target" doesn't have to be an ally of yours - there could be more than two sides to the fight. As long as the creature is attacking something other than you, then the benefit applies.
When a creature within 5 feet of you makes an attack against a target other than you (and that target doesn't have this feat), you can use your reaction to make a melee weapon attack against the attacking creature. ~ PHB-169
So when the creature (enemy) Attacks a target (ally) (and that target doesn't have this feat) You get an opportunity attack.
Grammatically I have to assume "target" refers to the same entity in both situations but mechanically that just seems strange. why would an ally also having the feat prevent you from taking advantage of an opportunity available to you? If the "Target" is referring to the creature (enemy) that would make more sense. if they are trained the same way, I could understand them not leaving you an opening.
Is there any clarification on " target doesn't have this feat" referring to the enemy target "Creature" or friendly ally "target"
I think they word it that way so if you and an ally are standing next to each other and you both have Sentinel you both can’t get attacks. So if the enemy attacks you, your ally attacks. Or if the enemy attacks the ally you get to attack.
Target also isn’t limited to creature. A target can be a point in space or an object too. So for example if you had sentinel and mirror image on, and the spell forced an enemy to target an image, sentinel reaction attack could be used. Similarly if you were defending a choke point and a creature targeted a door with an attack to break it down, reaction attack from sentinel could be triggered. Maybe you’re invisible and have successfully hidden, creature guesses the wrong space to attack would trigger a sentinel reaction attack so long as they’re next to you. Enemy creature could be next to you and attacks another creature 30ft away because if range/reach, you get a reaction attack.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
The third section of Sentinel reads as follows
So when the creature (enemy) Attacks a target (ally) (and that target doesn't have this feat) You get an opportunity attack.
Grammatically I have to assume "target" refers to the same entity in both situations but mechanically that just seems strange. why would an ally also having the feat prevent you from taking advantage of an opportunity available to you? If the "Target" is referring to the creature (enemy) that would make more sense. if they are trained the same way, I could understand them not leaving you an opening.
Is there any clarification on " target doesn't have this feat" referring to the enemy target "Creature" or friendly ally "target"
target = ally. If your ally doesn't have Sentinel, you can use that feature
And just to be strictly RAW, the Sentinel attack isn't an opportunity attack, just an attack using your reaction. There are actually some interactions for which the distinction matters
Active characters:
Carric Aquissar, elven wannabe artist in his deconstructionist period (Archfey warlock)
Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric)
Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator obsessed with that one unsolved murder (Assassin rogue)
Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
The phrase "that target" is obviously identifying the use of the word "target" to reference the original use of the word "target".
Note that "target" doesn't have to be an ally of yours - there could be more than two sides to the fight. As long as the creature is attacking something other than you, then the benefit applies.
I think they word it that way so if you and an ally are standing next to each other and you both have Sentinel you both can’t get attacks. So if the enemy attacks you, your ally attacks. Or if the enemy attacks the ally you get to attack.
EZD6 by DM Scotty
https://www.drivethrurpg.com/en/product/397599/EZD6-Core-Rulebook?
Target also isn’t limited to creature. A target can be a point in space or an object too. So for example if you had sentinel and mirror image on, and the spell forced an enemy to target an image, sentinel reaction attack could be used. Similarly if you were defending a choke point and a creature targeted a door with an attack to break it down, reaction attack from sentinel could be triggered. Maybe you’re invisible and have successfully hidden, creature guesses the wrong space to attack would trigger a sentinel reaction attack so long as they’re next to you. Enemy creature could be next to you and attacks another creature 30ft away because if range/reach, you get a reaction attack.