I’m struggling to understand how Squeezing works. The PHB states that “A creature can squeeze through a space that is large enough for a creature one size smaller than it”. However, both Small and Medium creatures require a space of 5 by 5 ft. Thus, it appears that Small creatures may Squeeze through a space large enough for a Tiny creature, but a Medium creature does not need to Squeeze to move through a space large enough for a Small.
Now, the Bugbear in Mordenkainen presents: Monsters of the Multiverse has the Sneaky feature which allows that “without squeezing, you can move through and stop in a space large enough for a Small creature”. Am I misreading this, for it seems that this feature doesn’t actually allow the Bugbear to do anything that a Medium creature can’t already do?
In fact, as written, that feature only takes effect if something, such as Enlarge/Reduce or the Rune Knight’s features, increases the Bugbear’s size to Large or larger.
Is this how these rules work or have I missed something?
RAW, yeah, that’s it. When I read it I was very much “not gonna work” and reset it for 20 to 24 inches as tiny, 3 for small, 6 for medium, 9 for large, 12 for huge, and 15 for bigger than that (going up to 30).
RAI, I would say they mean about 3 to 4 for medium to squeeze. Not official, just an estimation.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Only a DM since 1980 (3000+ Sessions) / PhD, MS, MA / Mixed, Bi, Trans, Woman / No longer welcome in the US, apparently
Wyrlde: Adventures in the Seven Cities .-=] Lore Book | Patreon | Wyrlde YT [=-. An original Setting for 5e, a whole solar system of adventure. Ongoing updates, exclusies, more. Not Talking About It / Dubbed The Oracle in the Cult of Mythology Nerds
The sneaky feature allows the bugbear to remain in the same space, whereas even with squeezing you can't remain in the same space after the movement has finished.
I assume that the squeeze rule about taking 1 extra foot per foot of movement wouldn't apply either.
Thanks very much. It does seem to be a situation where the rule as written doesn’t match the intention. While the sizes work for “control areas” in combat, they don’t work for squeezing.
Another observation is that there’s no lower limit for the size through which a Tiny creature can squeeze. RAW, a cat can squeeze through a 1” gap…
It's the equivalent of a halfling or gnome with the powerful build trait. They would count as medium-sized for what they can lift, push, or drag... but small and medium-sized creatures already have the same multiplier (1x) for this, so it would do nothing.
Another observation is that there’s no lower limit for the size through which a Tiny creature can squeeze. RAW, a cat can squeeze through a 1” gap…
Perhaps the most realistic part of DnD.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Look at what you've done. You spoiled it. You have nobody to blame but yourself. Go sit and think about your actions.
Don't be mean. Rudeness is a vicious cycle, and it has to stop somewhere. Exceptions for things that are funny. Go to the current Competition of the Finest 'Brews! It's a cool place where cool people make cool things.
How I'm posting based on text formatting: Mod Hat Off - Mod Hat Also Off (I'm not a mod)
I generally rule it as a creatures space one size smaller than yours. since both small and medium creatures use the same size space, they could both squeeze through the "tiny" space. The bolded is an add to the rules and thus not technically RAW, but i believe it hews much more strongly to the RAI, which is being able to move through spaces smaller than 5 feet wide.
The game also ignores that I can move much faster than half speed down a 30" wide hallway than the rules would indicate, as I myself (a 6'2" 200 lb human) am much smaller than 5' wide.
A medium creature can squeeze through a space that is large enough for a small creature but because they both occupy 5 x 5 ft. medium creatures dont really squeeze into smaller space than they can't already occupy..
The main advantage of Sneaky is that it can occuoy a space large enough for a small creature without even squeezing and thus avoid the penaltes that come with it. Doesn't do much unless DM deem a space is specifically subject to squeeze despite volume.
To me squeezing creatures can move and end movment while squeezed as its a rule gouverning space occupation not movement, otherswise humans wouldn't be able reach their attic or move into long crawlspace.
a way of interpetting this is if you in an area that is 5ft wide only you wouldnt get the reduced movement but everything else you would idk seems kinda right
I’ve just been looking up the rules for Creature Size in the new 2024 PHB. I was curious to see how squeezing was handled - and it isn’t. The Size rules are all about creatures interacting with each other’s spaces, but there’s nothing about the effects of environmental space on movement. Squeezing is no longer a rule in the 2024 PHB.
I wonder if it might be addressed in the DMG, as it’s usually the DM who determines how the environment affects creatures.
I wouldn't be surprised if the Dungeon Master Guide has guidelines for squeeze, if they kept this rule at all since it's no more part of Player's Handbook core rules.
I wouldn't be surprised if the Dungeon Master Guide has guidelines for squeeze, if they kept this rule at all since it's no more part of Player's Handbook core rules.
Indeed. It really doesn’t come up much. I think I’ve seen the occasional published adventure include special situations where Small characters can access an area but Mediums have to use alternative routes.
I most often used squeeze rules when a larger monster would get in smaller corridor for example.
Me too. More than once our druid wildshaped into a brown bear has walked through corridors only 5 feet wide.
Squeeze rules are interesting to me because they help maintain some realism in moments like those. I hope to see them in the DMG as you said.
Just a little side note: there's now a rule about ending a turn in an occupied space (Moving around Other Creatures):
You can’t willingly end a move in a space occupied by another creature. If you somehow end a turn in a space with another creature, you have the Prone condition (see the rules glossary) unless you are Tiny or are of a larger size than the other creature.
It's a small addition, but IMHO, a good one for setting clear rules in those moments.
Some people were looking at the wrong rule for this. A creature’s size on a map is the space it needs for combat on a grid. It’s not the minimum space a creature can move through. On pg. 366, of the 2024 PHB, are the rules for difficult terrain which say you can move through an opening sized for a creature one size category below you. So, a small creature can move into a space sized for a tiny creature like a cat but it’s difficult terrain for the small creature.
The Bugbear “Sneak” ability says “without squeezing, you can move through and stop in a space large enough for a Small creature.” So, if a cat door is large enough for a small creature to squeeze through, it’s large enough for a Bugbear. But the cool part is that the Bugbear can go through “without squeezing”. “Squeezing” is the 2014 term for moving through a space sized for a creature one size below you being difficult terrain. So, for the Bugbear, the cat door is NOT difficult terrain. Bugbears can move through tiny spaces better than small creatures can!
"a space large enough for a Small creature" is not the same as a space that "is large enough for a small creature to squeeze through". A space that's large enough for a Small creature is defined in the rules for Creature Size -- a Small creature occupies 1 square. This wording does not allow for moving through a Tiny space.
Some people were looking at the wrong rule for this. A creature’s size on a map is the space it needs for combat on a grid. It’s not the minimum space a creature can move through. On pg. 366, of the 2024 PHB, are the rules for difficult terrain which say you can move through an opening sized for a creature one size category below you. So, a small creature can move into a space sized for a tiny creature like a cat but it’s difficult terrain for the small creature. [...]
Thank you for sharing this. It's not referred to as "squeeze" as it was in the 2014 rules, which is what ThelenyiWhinlaw was looking for, but I think the information included in Difficult Terrain is trying to say the same (emphasis mine):
A space is Difficult Terrain if the space contains any of the following or something similar:
A creature that isn’t Tiny or your ally
Furniture that is sized for creatures of your size or larger
Heavy snow, ice, rubble, or undergrowth
Liquid that’s between shin- and waist-deep
A narrow opening sized for a creature one size smaller than you
"a space large enough for a Small creature" is not the same as a space that "is large enough for a small creature to squeeze through". A space that's large enough for a Small creature is defined in the rules for Creature Size -- a Small creature occupies 1 square. This wording does not allow for moving through a Tiny space.
RAW, you can pass through a Tiny creature and it's not Difficult Terrain:
During your move, you can pass through the space of an ally, a creature that has the Incapacitated condition (see the rules glossary), a Tiny creature, or a creature that is two sizes larger or smaller than you.
Another creature’s space is Difficult Terrain for you unless that creature is Tiny or your ally.
"a space large enough for a Small creature" is not the same as a space that "is large enough for a small creature to squeeze through". A space that's large enough for a Small creature is defined in the rules for Creature Size -- a Small creature occupies 1 square. This wording does not allow for moving through a Tiny space.
The space a Tiny creature occupy is 2½ by 2½ feet or 1/4 square.
I’m struggling to understand how Squeezing works. The PHB states that “A creature can squeeze through a space that is large enough for a creature one size smaller than it”. However, both Small and Medium creatures require a space of 5 by 5 ft. Thus, it appears that Small creatures may Squeeze through a space large enough for a Tiny creature, but a Medium creature does not need to Squeeze to move through a space large enough for a Small.
Now, the Bugbear in Mordenkainen presents: Monsters of the Multiverse has the Sneaky feature which allows that “without squeezing, you can move through and stop in a space large enough for a Small creature”. Am I misreading this, for it seems that this feature doesn’t actually allow the Bugbear to do anything that a Medium creature can’t already do?
In fact, as written, that feature only takes effect if something, such as Enlarge/Reduce or the Rune Knight’s features, increases the Bugbear’s size to Large or larger.
Is this how these rules work or have I missed something?
RAW, yeah, that’s it. When I read it I was very much “not gonna work” and reset it for 20 to 24 inches as tiny, 3 for small, 6 for medium, 9 for large, 12 for huge, and 15 for bigger than that (going up to 30).
RAI, I would say they mean about 3 to 4 for medium to squeeze. Not official, just an estimation.
Only a DM since 1980 (3000+ Sessions) / PhD, MS, MA / Mixed, Bi, Trans, Woman / No longer welcome in the US, apparently
Wyrlde: Adventures in the Seven Cities
.-=] Lore Book | Patreon | Wyrlde YT [=-.
An original Setting for 5e, a whole solar system of adventure. Ongoing updates, exclusies, more.
Not Talking About It / Dubbed The Oracle in the Cult of Mythology Nerds
The sneaky feature allows the bugbear to remain in the same space, whereas even with squeezing you can't remain in the same space after the movement has finished.
I assume that the squeeze rule about taking 1 extra foot per foot of movement wouldn't apply either.
Thanks very much. It does seem to be a situation where the rule as written doesn’t match the intention. While the sizes work for “control areas” in combat, they don’t work for squeezing.
Another observation is that there’s no lower limit for the size through which a Tiny creature can squeeze. RAW, a cat can squeeze through a 1” gap…
It's the equivalent of a halfling or gnome with the powerful build trait. They would count as medium-sized for what they can lift, push, or drag... but small and medium-sized creatures already have the same multiplier (1x) for this, so it would do nothing.
"Not all those who wander are lost"
Perhaps the most realistic part of DnD.
Look at what you've done. You spoiled it. You have nobody to blame but yourself. Go sit and think about your actions.
Don't be mean. Rudeness is a vicious cycle, and it has to stop somewhere. Exceptions for things that are funny.
Go to the current Competition of the Finest 'Brews! It's a cool place where cool people make cool things.
How I'm posting based on text formatting: Mod Hat Off - Mod Hat Also Off (I'm not a mod)
I generally rule it as a creatures space one size smaller than yours. since both small and medium creatures use the same size space, they could both squeeze through the "tiny" space. The bolded is an add to the rules and thus not technically RAW, but i believe it hews much more strongly to the RAI, which is being able to move through spaces smaller than 5 feet wide.
The game also ignores that I can move much faster than half speed down a 30" wide hallway than the rules would indicate, as I myself (a 6'2" 200 lb human) am much smaller than 5' wide.
A medium creature can squeeze through a space that is large enough for a small creature but because they both occupy 5 x 5 ft. medium creatures dont really squeeze into smaller space than they can't already occupy..
The main advantage of Sneaky is that it can occuoy a space large enough for a small creature without even squeezing and thus avoid the penaltes that come with it. Doesn't do much unless DM deem a space is specifically subject to squeeze despite volume.
To me squeezing creatures can move and end movment while squeezed as its a rule gouverning space occupation not movement, otherswise humans wouldn't be able reach their attic or move into long crawlspace.
a way of interpetting this is if you in an area that is 5ft wide only you wouldnt get the reduced movement but everything else you would idk seems kinda right
Sorry to resurrect this thread.
I’ve just been looking up the rules for Creature Size in the new 2024 PHB. I was curious to see how squeezing was handled - and it isn’t. The Size rules are all about creatures interacting with each other’s spaces, but there’s nothing about the effects of environmental space on movement. Squeezing is no longer a rule in the 2024 PHB.
I wonder if it might be addressed in the DMG, as it’s usually the DM who determines how the environment affects creatures.
I wouldn't be surprised if the Dungeon Master Guide has guidelines for squeeze, if they kept this rule at all since it's no more part of Player's Handbook core rules.
Indeed. It really doesn’t come up much. I think I’ve seen the occasional published adventure include special situations where Small characters can access an area but Mediums have to use alternative routes.
I most often used squeeze rules when a larger monster would get in smaller corridor for example.
Me too. More than once our druid wildshaped into a brown bear has walked through corridors only 5 feet wide.
Squeeze rules are interesting to me because they help maintain some realism in moments like those. I hope to see them in the DMG as you said.
Just a little side note: there's now a rule about ending a turn in an occupied space (Moving around Other Creatures):
It's a small addition, but IMHO, a good one for setting clear rules in those moments.
the rule clearly states one SIZE smaller, not Space...
Some people were looking at the wrong rule for this. A creature’s size on a map is the space it needs for combat on a grid. It’s not the minimum space a creature can move through. On pg. 366, of the 2024 PHB, are the rules for difficult terrain which say you can move through an opening sized for a creature one size category below you. So, a small creature can move into a space sized for a tiny creature like a cat but it’s difficult terrain for the small creature.
The Bugbear “Sneak” ability says “without squeezing, you can move through and stop in a space large enough for a Small creature.” So, if a cat door is large enough for a small creature to squeeze through, it’s large enough for a Bugbear. But the cool part is that the Bugbear can go through “without squeezing”. “Squeezing” is the 2014 term for moving through a space sized for a creature one size below you being difficult terrain. So, for the Bugbear, the cat door is NOT difficult terrain. Bugbears can move through tiny spaces better than small creatures can!
"a space large enough for a Small creature" is not the same as a space that "is large enough for a small creature to squeeze through". A space that's large enough for a Small creature is defined in the rules for Creature Size -- a Small creature occupies 1 square. This wording does not allow for moving through a Tiny space.
Thank you for sharing this. It's not referred to as "squeeze" as it was in the 2014 rules, which is what ThelenyiWhinlaw was looking for, but I think the information included in Difficult Terrain is trying to say the same (emphasis mine):
RAW, you can pass through a Tiny creature and it's not Difficult Terrain:
The space a Tiny creature occupy is 2½ by 2½ feet or 1/4 square.