So just as the title says can you double dip. The situation is my Character just got 2 different magic items and I have attuned to both. I was expecting only to benefit from from All-Purpose Tools +1 for the spell attack and DC up and the other is Wand of the Warmage +1 with the ability to ignore most cover. I assumed since the +1 to spell attack was on both that I would only benefit from a +1 but it went up by +2. I've done some quick rereading but I'm not seeing anything sawing that this is allowed or not? Thanks Hivemind for any help and feedback, will add any needed info if asked but with the game current I'm going to be vague on some things.
Bonuses like that can definitely stack. They only don't stack if they're from the same magic item.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Look at what you've done. You spoiled it. You have nobody to blame but yourself. Go sit and think about your actions.
Don't be mean. Rudeness is a vicious cycle, and it has to stop somewhere. Exceptions for things that are funny. Go to the current Competition of the Finest 'Brews! It's a cool place where cool people make cool things.
How I'm posting based on text formatting: Mod Hat Off - Mod Hat Also Off (I'm not a mod)
Yep, this is allowed. Keep in mind that these particular items require you to be holding the item to gain a bonus to the spell attack rolls, so you'd have to hold one in each hand while casting the spell. Assuming you only have two hands, this may or may not cause problems for spellcasting -- for example, if you need a free hand or if you are playing a class which cannot use either of these items as a spellcasting focus. Obviously if you only have two hands and you were to acquire a 3rd item with similar wording in the description then you could not stack all of the bonuses since you wouldn't be able to hold them all at the same time.
Yes, i have a cleric 1/wizard 13 that has both an amulet of the devout and arcane grimoire. If he had warcaster (he doesb't), he could use the other hand for a wand of the war caster. It all stacks as long as they are different items.
5e doesn't have bonus types (like in 3e and 4e) so the only actual restriction on stacking is that basically anything of that type will consume an attunement slot. I think that's poor design, but it's definitely the way it works.
I'd definitely check with my DM on if they want that or not. Technically the RAW follow this allowance, but the general RAI usually discourage or are against this as a 5e concept.
Remember, the DM has the final rule, not the character builder. And with a game with such vast rules from classes, items, spells etc every so often unintended consequences pop up. That said, after asking the DM as a courtesy and they allow it, have fun!
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Remember there are Rules as Written (RAW), Rules as Intended (RAI), and Rules as Fun (RAF). There's some great RAW, RAI, and RAF here... please check in with your DM to determine how they want to adjudicate the RAW/RAI/RAF for your game.
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
So just as the title says can you double dip. The situation is my Character just got 2 different magic items and I have attuned to both. I was expecting only to benefit from from All-Purpose Tools +1 for the spell attack and DC up and the other is Wand of the Warmage +1 with the ability to ignore most cover. I assumed since the +1 to spell attack was on both that I would only benefit from a +1 but it went up by +2. I've done some quick rereading but I'm not seeing anything sawing that this is allowed or not? Thanks Hivemind for any help and feedback, will add any needed info if asked but with the game current I'm going to be vague on some things.
Bonuses like that can definitely stack. They only don't stack if they're from the same magic item.
Look at what you've done. You spoiled it. You have nobody to blame but yourself. Go sit and think about your actions.
Don't be mean. Rudeness is a vicious cycle, and it has to stop somewhere. Exceptions for things that are funny.
Go to the current Competition of the Finest 'Brews! It's a cool place where cool people make cool things.
How I'm posting based on text formatting: Mod Hat Off - Mod Hat Also Off (I'm not a mod)
Yep, this is allowed. Keep in mind that these particular items require you to be holding the item to gain a bonus to the spell attack rolls, so you'd have to hold one in each hand while casting the spell. Assuming you only have two hands, this may or may not cause problems for spellcasting -- for example, if you need a free hand or if you are playing a class which cannot use either of these items as a spellcasting focus. Obviously if you only have two hands and you were to acquire a 3rd item with similar wording in the description then you could not stack all of the bonuses since you wouldn't be able to hold them all at the same time.
Yes, i have a cleric 1/wizard 13 that has both an amulet of the devout and arcane grimoire. If he had warcaster (he doesb't), he could use the other hand for a wand of the war caster. It all stacks as long as they are different items.
Food, Scifi/fantasy, anime, DND 5E and OSR geek.
5e doesn't have bonus types (like in 3e and 4e) so the only actual restriction on stacking is that basically anything of that type will consume an attunement slot. I think that's poor design, but it's definitely the way it works.
Thanks y'all for the info and now to have fun with every spell attack I got and DC.
I'd definitely check with my DM on if they want that or not. Technically the RAW follow this allowance, but the general RAI usually discourage or are against this as a 5e concept.
Remember, the DM has the final rule, not the character builder. And with a game with such vast rules from classes, items, spells etc every so often unintended consequences pop up. That said, after asking the DM as a courtesy and they allow it, have fun!
Remember there are Rules as Written (RAW), Rules as Intended (RAI), and Rules as Fun (RAF). There's some great RAW, RAI, and RAF here... please check in with your DM to determine how they want to adjudicate the RAW/RAI/RAF for your game.