Fireball doesn't deal damage. The Basic Rules (and the PHB) specify that fireball targets a point in space. However, the spell reads, "Each creature in a 20-foot-radius sphere centered on that point must make a Dexterity saving throw. A target takes 8d6 fire damage on a failed save, or half as much damage on a successful one." The only target is a point in space, and a point in space is not a creature; therefore, it does not make a saving throw and does not take in fire damage, as you only take damage on a failed or successful saving throw.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
I write homebrew and don't publish it. (evil, I know)
The lucky feat. If you have disadvantage (say, from being blindfolded) you’re actually MORE likely to hit when using lucky than if you were attacking normally, because you pick which of the dice to use. Same goes for rerolling advantage attacks made by others - they’re LESS likely to hit despite their advantage because of the wording of the feat.
Fireball doesn't deal damage. The Basic Rules (and the PHB) specify that fireball targets a point in space. However, the spell reads, "Each creature in a 20-foot-radius sphere centered on that point must make a Dexterity saving throw. A target takes 8d6 fire damage on a failed save, or half as much damage on a successful one." The only target is a point in space, and a point in space is not a creature; therefore, it does not make a saving throw and does not take in fire damage, as you only take damage on a failed or successful saving throw.
This isn't RAW. You are conflating the target of the spell and the target of the effect. The target of the spell is the point in space, the target of the effect is the creature within the area of effect.
Prismatic wall's method of dispelling it is insane. I can't see a DM having an enemy destroy their way through it one layer at a time. And walking through it would be a death sentence. A rod of cancellation destroys a prismatic wall, but an antimagic field has no effect on it. It only specifically states that one layer can be dispelled....but it doesn't say dispel magic doesn't work in general...so RAW should be clearer that it ONLY works on one layer. You should be able to counter spell it when it is cast. also, it can only be destroyed one layer at a time in a specific order...but it doesn't talk about the direction the layers are in...maybe it doesn't matter.
There is No "Initial" Save Against Power Word Stun, although they can make a Constitution saving throw at the end of their turn to end the effect.
The lucky feat. If you have disadvantage (say, from being blindfolded) you’re actually MORE likely to hit when using lucky than if you were attacking normally, because you pick which of the dice to use. Same goes for rerolling advantage attacks made by others - they’re LESS likely to hit despite their advantage because of the wording of the feat.
You might have a point with using it yourself, but I don't see how others rolling with advantage would make them less likely to hit you. The feat says:
Roll a d20, and then choose whether the attack uses the attacker's roll or yours.
If the attacker rolled with advantage, the attacker's roll would be the higher of two rolls. It definitely doesn't say that you can choose from any d20s that the attacker rolled, especially since most players wouldn't have a clue what's being rolled when a monster is rolling with advantage.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Look at what you've done. You spoiled it. You have nobody to blame but yourself. Go sit and think about your actions.
Don't be mean. Rudeness is a vicious cycle, and it has to stop somewhere. Exceptions for things that are funny. Go to the current Competition of the Finest 'Brews! It's a cool place where cool people make cool things.
How I'm posting based on text formatting: Mod Hat Off - Mod Hat Also Off (I'm not a mod)
Fireball doesn't deal damage. The Basic Rules (and the PHB) specify that fireball targets a point in space. However, the spell reads, "Each creature in a 20-foot-radius sphere centered on that point must make a Dexterity saving throw. A target takes 8d6 fire damage on a failed save, or half as much damage on a successful one." The only target is a point in space, and a point in space is not a creature; therefore, it does not make a saving throw and does not take in fire damage, as you only take damage on a failed or successful saving throw.
This isn't RAW. You are conflating the target of the spell and the target of the effect. The target of the spell is the point in space, the target of the effect is the creature within the area of effect.
Yes, this is even something Jeremy Crawford has explained on Dragon Talks. He explained that when writing a spell after listing out creatures, objects, etc affected by the spell they later refer to them as targets to make it clear that they are considered targets of the spell. Spells like Ashardalon’s Stride that never make that switch to using the word 'target' is actually an example of them being less careful with their wording than they should be. JC summarized it as anytime a spell tells you to in some way choose something to be affected by the spell it is a target of the spell.
The goofiest RAW ruling I have come across is sadly one a DM might actually use: Being able to perceive a creature with the Invisible condition due to something like See Invisibility does not negate all of the benefits of the Invisible condition.
I agree with the OP 100% regarding the fireball spell. As written, it doesn't actually damage any creatures. The use of the word "target" in that spell description is just a clear and obvious mistake by the development team, and like many other cases where this has happened the developer chooses to double down on this mistake and attempts to explain it away instead of just making the obvious change via errata. Area of effect spells, by definition, do not target creatures -- they cause indiscriminate damage. Unfortunately, in the case of the fireball spell, this indiscriminate damage mechanic is overridden by the erroneous use of the word "target", thereby causing the spell to not function properly.
Fireball doesn't erroneously call them targets, they're actually all targets. Spells have both placement targeting and then spell effect targeting. That's why there is a range of Self(5ft) on some spells or similar. The spell targets the self for range but the spell effect targets something within 5ft of that placement. This is true for many...many spells. Fireball included. You target a spot with the spell and then target all the creatures within 20ft of that space with the spell effect.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
Prismatic wall's method of dispelling it is insane. I can't see a DM having an enemy destroy their way through it one layer at a time. And walking through it would be a death sentence. A rod of cancellation destroys a prismatic wall, but an antimagic field has no effect on it. It only specifically states that one layer can be dispelled....but it doesn't say dispel magic doesn't work in general...so RAW should be clearer that it ONLY works on one layer. You should be able to counter spell it when it is cast. also, it can only be destroyed one layer at a time in a specific order...but it doesn't talk about the direction the layers are in...maybe it doesn't matter.
The logical corollary to Dispel Magic only working on a single layer is that it cannot remove the other layers, and thus end the spell. Plus you have to dispel the layers in order and the Dispel Magic layer is the last one, so it doesn't really matter in any case. As for using it against enemies, imo it seems to be a delaying/containment spell more than an offensive one, and honestly a fair number of the boss monsters out there could probably tank it. If you look at the 20+ Demon Princes and Archdevils, for instance, many are resistant if not immune to at least 3 of the damages at play, nearly halving the number of layers they have to deal with. Add to that Magic Resistance and high DEX saves, and tanking it is starting to sound viable. Plus they've got LRs to use if one of the really debilitating effects would hit them. They'd definitely know they'd been kissed if they just march through it, but that's why it's 9th level.
There is No "Initial" Save Against Power Word Stun, although they can make a Constitution saving throw at the end of their turn to end the effect.
Not having an initial save is the entire point of Stun, and also why it has an HP check that means you'll need to wait a few rounds before using it on a boss at the level you get it. It's an 8th level spell that does nothing but inflict a condition; if any boss can just LR it away before it does anything, it's pretty much worthless.
Stars druids can not benefit from a moon sickle when casting guiding bolt.
Stars druids only know the guiding bolt (and guidance) while holding their star map. Both these spells are V/S so they need a free hand to cast it and that can not be the one holding the spell focus. Unlike something like an amulet of the devout to benefit from a moon sickle you need to hold it. If you are holding your star map and moon sickle you cant cast guiding bolt or guidance.
In reality it would be very difficult to both be able to cast guiding bolt at all in the same combat as benefitting from a moon sickle in others you can but your star map in a pocket and an object interaction but if you then wanted to draw your moon sickle that would be your action.
This is incorrect. Under the Casting a Spell section, in the PHB, it states:
A spellcaster must have a hand free to access a spell’s material components — or to hold a spellcasting focus — but it can be the same hand that he or she uses to perform somatic components.
This is incorrect. Under the Casting a Spell section, in the PHB, it states:
A spellcaster must have a hand free to access a spell’s material components — or to hold a spellcasting focus — but it can be the same hand that he or she uses to perform somatic components.
But Guiding Bolt does not have material components so that rule does not apply. You need to hold the star map so you know guiding bolt spell to to replace the material component of the spell.
The SAC makes it clear you can not cast a VS spell with a spell focus in one hand and something else in the other by using cure woulds (another VS spell) as an example:
"If the same cleric casts cure wounds, she needs to put the mace or the shield away, because that spell doesn’t have a material component but does have a somatic component. She’s going to need a free hand to make the spell’s gestures. If she had the War Caster feat, she could ignore this restriction."
Fireball doesn't erroneously call them targets, they're actually all targets. Spells have both placement targeting and then spell effect targeting. That's why there is a range of Self(5ft) on some spells or similar. The spell targets the self for range but the spell effect targets something within 5ft of that placement. This is true for many...many spells. Fireball included. You target a spot with the spell and then target all the creatures within 20ft of that space with the spell effect.
First, fireball isn't worded that way. It causes all creatures (indiscriminately) within the area to make a saving throw. But then it says that a target takes damage. These two things are not linked -- it's just not a well worded spell.
Secondly, this is just not how AOE spells work. An AOE spell creates an area within which an effect occurs indiscriminately. There are other spells which do target creatures within a certain range, but those are not AOE spells, those are targeting spells. As written, fireball is broken and should have received errata nearly 10 years ago.
AOE spells cover an area, allowing them to affect multiple creatures at once. Fireball says each creature in a 20-foot-radius sphere centered on that point must make a Dexterity saving throw. The following mention of a target taking damage a failed save, or half as much damage on a successful one is in reference to the previous sentence telling who makes a saving throw, which is creature in the area, not the point of origin you choose.
Area of Effect: Spells such as burning hands and cone of cold cover an area, allowing them to affect multiple creatures at once.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
i'll go first.
Fireball doesn't deal damage. The Basic Rules (and the PHB) specify that fireball targets a point in space. However, the spell reads, "Each creature in a 20-foot-radius sphere centered on that point must make a Dexterity saving throw. A target takes 8d6 fire damage on a failed save, or half as much damage on a successful one." The only target is a point in space, and a point in space is not a creature; therefore, it does not make a saving throw and does not take in fire damage, as you only take damage on a failed or successful saving throw.
I write homebrew and don't publish it. (evil, I know)
The lucky feat. If you have disadvantage (say, from being blindfolded) you’re actually MORE likely to hit when using lucky than if you were attacking normally, because you pick which of the dice to use. Same goes for rerolling advantage attacks made by others - they’re LESS likely to hit despite their advantage because of the wording of the feat.
I can’t remember what’s supposed to go here.
This isn't RAW. You are conflating the target of the spell and the target of the effect. The target of the spell is the point in space, the target of the effect is the creature within the area of effect.
Prismatic wall's method of dispelling it is insane. I can't see a DM having an enemy destroy their way through it one layer at a time. And walking through it would be a death sentence. A rod of cancellation destroys a prismatic wall, but an antimagic field has no effect on it. It only specifically states that one layer can be dispelled....but it doesn't say dispel magic doesn't work in general...so RAW should be clearer that it ONLY works on one layer. You should be able to counter spell it when it is cast. also, it can only be destroyed one layer at a time in a specific order...but it doesn't talk about the direction the layers are in...maybe it doesn't matter.
There is No "Initial" Save Against Power Word Stun, although they can make a Constitution saving throw at the end of their turn to end the effect.
Food, Scifi/fantasy, anime, DND 5E and OSR geek.
You might have a point with using it yourself, but I don't see how others rolling with advantage would make them less likely to hit you. The feat says:
If the attacker rolled with advantage, the attacker's roll would be the higher of two rolls. It definitely doesn't say that you can choose from any d20s that the attacker rolled, especially since most players wouldn't have a clue what's being rolled when a monster is rolling with advantage.
Look at what you've done. You spoiled it. You have nobody to blame but yourself. Go sit and think about your actions.
Don't be mean. Rudeness is a vicious cycle, and it has to stop somewhere. Exceptions for things that are funny.
Go to the current Competition of the Finest 'Brews! It's a cool place where cool people make cool things.
How I'm posting based on text formatting: Mod Hat Off - Mod Hat Also Off (I'm not a mod)
Yes, this is even something Jeremy Crawford has explained on Dragon Talks. He explained that when writing a spell after listing out creatures, objects, etc affected by the spell they later refer to them as targets to make it clear that they are considered targets of the spell. Spells like Ashardalon’s Stride that never make that switch to using the word 'target' is actually an example of them being less careful with their wording than they should be. JC summarized it as anytime a spell tells you to in some way choose something to be affected by the spell it is a target of the spell.
The goofiest RAW ruling I have come across is sadly one a DM might actually use: Being able to perceive a creature with the Invisible condition due to something like See Invisibility does not negate all of the benefits of the Invisible condition.
I agree with the OP 100% regarding the fireball spell. As written, it doesn't actually damage any creatures. The use of the word "target" in that spell description is just a clear and obvious mistake by the development team, and like many other cases where this has happened the developer chooses to double down on this mistake and attempts to explain it away instead of just making the obvious change via errata. Area of effect spells, by definition, do not target creatures -- they cause indiscriminate damage. Unfortunately, in the case of the fireball spell, this indiscriminate damage mechanic is overridden by the erroneous use of the word "target", thereby causing the spell to not function properly.
Obviously a DM should never rule it this way.
Fireball doesn't erroneously call them targets, they're actually all targets. Spells have both placement targeting and then spell effect targeting. That's why there is a range of Self(5ft) on some spells or similar. The spell targets the self for range but the spell effect targets something within 5ft of that placement. This is true for many...many spells. Fireball included. You target a spot with the spell and then target all the creatures within 20ft of that space with the spell effect.
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
The logical corollary to Dispel Magic only working on a single layer is that it cannot remove the other layers, and thus end the spell. Plus you have to dispel the layers in order and the Dispel Magic layer is the last one, so it doesn't really matter in any case. As for using it against enemies, imo it seems to be a delaying/containment spell more than an offensive one, and honestly a fair number of the boss monsters out there could probably tank it. If you look at the 20+ Demon Princes and Archdevils, for instance, many are resistant if not immune to at least 3 of the damages at play, nearly halving the number of layers they have to deal with. Add to that Magic Resistance and high DEX saves, and tanking it is starting to sound viable. Plus they've got LRs to use if one of the really debilitating effects would hit them. They'd definitely know they'd been kissed if they just march through it, but that's why it's 9th level.
Not having an initial save is the entire point of Stun, and also why it has an HP check that means you'll need to wait a few rounds before using it on a boss at the level you get it. It's an 8th level spell that does nothing but inflict a condition; if any boss can just LR it away before it does anything, it's pretty much worthless.
Stars druids can not benefit from a moon sickle when casting guiding bolt.
Stars druids only know the guiding bolt (and guidance) while holding their star map. Both these spells are V/S so they need a free hand to cast it and that can not be the one holding the spell focus. Unlike something like an amulet of the devout to benefit from a moon sickle you need to hold it. If you are holding your star map and moon sickle you cant cast guiding bolt or guidance.
In reality it would be very difficult to both be able to cast guiding bolt at all in the same combat as benefitting from a moon sickle in others you can but your star map in a pocket and an object interaction but if you then wanted to draw your moon sickle that would be your action.
This is incorrect. Under the Casting a Spell section, in the PHB, it states:
A spellcaster must have a hand free to access a spell’s material components — or to hold a spellcasting focus — but it can be the same hand that he or she uses to perform somatic components.
But Guiding Bolt does not have material components so that rule does not apply. You need to hold the star map so you know guiding bolt spell to to replace the material component of the spell.
The SAC makes it clear you can not cast a VS spell with a spell focus in one hand and something else in the other by using cure woulds (another VS spell) as an example:
"If the same cleric casts cure wounds, she needs to put the mace or the shield away, because that spell doesn’t have a material component but does have a somatic component. She’s going to need a free hand to make the spell’s gestures. If she had the War Caster feat, she could ignore this restriction."
https://www.dndbeyond.com/sources/sac/sage-advice-compendium#SA165
Technically my inital statement should have added "unless they have the warcaster feat"
Barbarian damaging itself to maintain Rage comes to mind
Another one is a character with strength 7 or less, punching someone to heal them.
I don't think this is RAW though because with a penalty, it is possible to deal 0 damage, but never negative damage.
That’s not RAW. RAW is “With a penalty, it is possible to deal 0 damage, but never negative damage.”
What I’m getting from this thread is that a lot of people don’t know what RAW is.
I would be interested ot know where it says that. My post was based on:
So without a specific rule to take precidence
Sure it's from Damage and Healing under damage roll;
First, fireball isn't worded that way. It causes all creatures (indiscriminately) within the area to make a saving throw. But then it says that a target takes damage. These two things are not linked -- it's just not a well worded spell.
Secondly, this is just not how AOE spells work. An AOE spell creates an area within which an effect occurs indiscriminately. There are other spells which do target creatures within a certain range, but those are not AOE spells, those are targeting spells. As written, fireball is broken and should have received errata nearly 10 years ago.
AOE spells cover an area, allowing them to affect multiple creatures at once. Fireball says each creature in a 20-foot-radius sphere centered on that point must make a Dexterity saving throw. The following mention of a target taking damage a failed save, or half as much damage on a successful one is in reference to the previous sentence telling who makes a saving throw, which is creature in the area, not the point of origin you choose.