So Quicken Spell changes a spell's casting time from an Action to a Bonus Action. My question is, what is the ruling for Using an Object that allow you to use your Action to expend charges to cast a spell from the item? Since the spell is cast from the item can it be performed on the same turn as Quickening a Spell?
The limitation is on "you". So if the item allows "you" to cast the spell then you would still be limited in the same way as normal. But if the item allows itself to cast the spell then you would not. IIRC most (if not all) items works by allowing "you" to cast the spell.
Casting from an item is the same as you casting. The only exception are certain sentient items. For all other items that let you cast spells - you are still the caster and so the rules about bonus action casting still apply.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond. Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ thisFAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
Casting from an item is the same as you casting. The only exception are certain sentient items. For all other items that let you cast spells - you are still the caster and so the rules about bonus action casting still apply.
This is NOT entirely true. There are several exceptions where non-sentient items give you spells but are NOT casting the spell. Here are a few:
Wand of fear. This describes effects but does not mention casting Command or Fear.
Potion of Flying. Describes an effect, does not cast the spell Fly. Often used because the potion does not require concentration but the spell does.
Driftglobe: Emanates Light and/or Daylight spell but makes no mention of casting.
This is NOT entirely true. There are several exceptions where non-sentient items give you spells but are NOT casting the spell. Here are a few:
No these are NOT exceptions. The items you mentions does not cast spells, they simply produce a specified effect (that might very well be similar to what a spell would do).
This means that they are irrelevant to the OP's question. Of course it not being a spell also means that it can be used on the same turn as a bonus action spell without problem.
This is NOT entirely true. There are several exceptions where non-sentient items give you spells but are NOT casting the spell. Here are a few:
No these are NOT exceptions. The items you mentions does not cast spells, they simply produce a specified effect (that might very well be similar to what a spell would do).
This means that they are irrelevant to the OP's question. Of course it not being a spell also means that it can be used on the same turn as a bonus action spell without problem.
They directly tell him how to do what he wants and is entirely relevant to his problem. Your entire objection seems to be grammar, specifically with the word 'exceptions' and his wording of the question. If you feel that bad about it, you can replace the word words several exceptions with "several methods".
But I told him how to do what he wanted to do with uncommon, rare and very rare magic items rather than with artilfacts as the last poster suggested.
They directly tell him how to do what he wants and is entirely relevant to his problem. Your entire objection seems to be grammar, specifically with the word 'exceptions' and his wording of the question. If you feel that bad about it, you can replace the word words several exceptions with "several methods".
But I told him how to do what he wanted to do with uncommon, rare and very rare magic items rather than with artilfacts as the last poster suggested.
No it isn't about semantics or grammar. The items you suggested uses entirely different rules because they don't involve casting a spell (which his question was about) and thus they interact completely different with a spellcaster that's doing bonus action casting.
Thank you all for the comments. This has been very helpful.
This leads me to another rule question then:
If the item allows you to cast the spell, then can that spell be subjected to some of the Metamagic options? Most of the Metamagic options contain the phrase "When you cast a spell", so does that mean if the item allows you to cast a spell then a Metamagic option can still be applied, provided it is applicable to the scenario?
The wording of Quickened Spell seems to suggest that it can be used on any spell the caster is able to cast. Therefore, I would say that someone with the Quickened Spell Metamagic would be able to use it on any spell they cast, even if it is through an item (or through a racial ability, from a different class list and gained through multiclassing, etc.).
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
So Quicken Spell changes a spell's casting time from an Action to a Bonus Action. My question is, what is the ruling for Using an Object that allow you to use your Action to expend charges to cast a spell from the item? Since the spell is cast from the item can it be performed on the same turn as Quickening a Spell?
The limitation is on "you". So if the item allows "you" to cast the spell then you would still be limited in the same way as normal. But if the item allows itself to cast the spell then you would not. IIRC most (if not all) items works by allowing "you" to cast the spell.
Casting from an item is the same as you casting. The only exception are certain sentient items. For all other items that let you cast spells - you are still the caster and so the rules about bonus action casting still apply.
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond.
Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ this FAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
This is NOT entirely true. There are several exceptions where non-sentient items give you spells but are NOT casting the spell. Here are a few:
Wand of fear. This describes effects but does not mention casting Command or Fear.
Potion of Flying. Describes an effect, does not cast the spell Fly. Often used because the potion does not require concentration but the spell does.
Driftglobe: Emanates Light and/or Daylight spell but makes no mention of casting.
Potions
No these are NOT exceptions. The items you mentions does not cast spells, they simply produce a specified effect (that might very well be similar to what a spell would do).
This means that they are irrelevant to the OP's question. Of course it not being a spell also means that it can be used on the same turn as a bonus action spell without problem.
They directly tell him how to do what he wants and is entirely relevant to his problem. Your entire objection seems to be grammar, specifically with the word 'exceptions' and his wording of the question. If you feel that bad about it, you can replace the word words several exceptions with "several methods".
But I told him how to do what he wanted to do with uncommon, rare and very rare magic items rather than with artilfacts as the last poster suggested.
No it isn't about semantics or grammar. The items you suggested uses entirely different rules because they don't involve casting a spell (which his question was about) and thus they interact completely different with a spellcaster that's doing bonus action casting.
Thank you all for the comments. This has been very helpful.
This leads me to another rule question then:
If the item allows you to cast the spell, then can that spell be subjected to some of the Metamagic options? Most of the Metamagic options contain the phrase "When you cast a spell", so does that mean if the item allows you to cast a spell then a Metamagic option can still be applied, provided it is applicable to the scenario?
The wording of Quickened Spell seems to suggest that it can be used on any spell the caster is able to cast. Therefore, I would say that someone with the Quickened Spell Metamagic would be able to use it on any spell they cast, even if it is through an item (or through a racial ability, from a different class list and gained through multiclassing, etc.).