I was a bit confused by the wording for where an Eldritch Knight can choose their spells from at lvl3.
The wording as written on DnD Beyond says:
Spells Known of 1st-Level and Higher. You know three 1st-level wizard spells of your choice, two of which you must choose from the abjuration and evocation spells on the wizard spell list.
To me this reads that they can pick 2 spells, either from abjuration or evocation and then 1 spell from any other Wizard school.
It means they can pick 3 spells from the Wizard list, 2 must be from either the abjuration or evocation school and the third one can be from any school.
Not quite related to the original question but you may want to focus on long duration spells cast out of combat, impactful spells that use a bonus action, or impactful spells that use a reaction.
an eldritch knights gameplay can feel a lot better when you make use of your magic while also preserving or even enhancing your action for extra attack.
One spell from Abjuration. One spell from Evocation. One spell from any school.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond. Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ thisFAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
One spell from Abjuration. One spell from Evocation. One spell from any school.
That isn't how it works. At level 1, you are not picking an abjuration spell and an evocation spell, you are picking two spells from one set which is " the abjuration and evocation spells on the wizard spell list".
One spell from Abjuration. One spell from Evocation. One spell from any school.
That isn't how it works. At level 1, you are not picking an abjuration spell and an evocation spell, you are picking two spells from one set which is " the abjuration and evocation spells on the wizard spell list".
That is not the wording.
"You know three 1st-level wizard spells of your choice, two of which you must choose from the abjuration and evocation spells on the wizard spell list."
This means one abjuration and one evocation.
"You know three 1st-level wizard spells of your choice, two of which you must choose from the abjuration or evocation spells on the wizard spell list."
This means any two from abjuration or evocation.
This what the words "and" and "or" mean.
And to save any future back and forth : nothing you state is going to convince me otherwise. That is the wording and the only possible interpretation I can have. There is zero ambiguity for me. The wording is perfectly clear.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond. Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ thisFAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
One spell from Abjuration. One spell from Evocation. One spell from any school.
Abjuration and evocation are the two schools you must choose from for two of you spells. It doesn’t have to be one from each school. Just poor wording.
It isn't even poorly worded, it is just poor reading tbh.
It's two spells from a specified set and the specified set is "abjuration and evocation spells", nothing says (or even implies) that it has to be one from each.
One spell from Abjuration. One spell from Evocation. One spell from any school.
That isn't how it works. At level 1, you are not picking an abjuration spell and an evocation spell, you are picking two spells from one set which is " the abjuration and evocation spells on the wizard spell list".
That is not the wording.
"You know three 1st-level wizard spells of your choice, two of which you must choose from the abjuration and evocation spells on the wizard spell list."
This means one abjuration and one evocation.
"You know three 1st-level wizard spells of your choice, two of which you must choose from the abjuration or evocation spells on the wizard spell list."
This means any two from abjuration or evocation.
This what the words "and" and "or" mean.
And to save any future back and forth : nothing you state is going to convince me otherwise. That is the wording and the only possible interpretation I can have. There is zero ambiguity for me. The wording is perfectly clear.
If it said "or", somebody could argue that you must choose two abjuration, or two evocation, but not one of each.
They'd be wrong, but it's at least as valid an argument as yours.
English is not a formal logical system. It's sloppy, and fuzzy, and in this case, "and" and "or" functionally mean the same thing. Either of the more restrictive interpretations would require more wording to make it explicit.
One spell from Abjuration. One spell from Evocation. One spell from any school.
That isn't how it works. At level 1, you are not picking an abjuration spell and an evocation spell, you are picking two spells from one set which is " the abjuration and evocation spells on the wizard spell list".
That is not the wording.
It actually is.
And to save any future back and forth : nothing you state is going to convince me otherwise. That is the wording and the only possible interpretation I can have. There is zero ambiguity for me. The wording is perfectly clear.
You said it. You're not interested in how it works or discussion. I won't bother with pointing out any flaws in your logic except the insinuation that I incorrectly represented the rule when I directly quoted the relevant portion, emphasizing that its wording describes a single set, not two.
Addition after the edit: I don't really care if you agree with me or even if anyone else does. I do think that the rules for swapping spells when a fighter levels up offer a lot of elucidation though (not only on leveling up, but also the intent of the rest of the spell selection process). It is clear that you could swap one of the two you learned at 3rd level for the other school upon reaching 4th level. So why require one of each for a single level?
One of you would fail English class. Two spells from ( x and y) means two spells that can be from either X or Y. And combines two things, it does not include coordinated distribution. (One spell from X) and ( one spell from Y) is how English represents one spell from each school. Parenthesis added to clarify how English treats those phrases.
The same, it's a selection from a set, similar to the Arcane Trickster which say you know three 1st-level wizard spells of your choice, two of which you must choose from the enchantment and illusion spells on the wizard spell list.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Hi all,
I was a bit confused by the wording for where an Eldritch Knight can choose their spells from at lvl3.
The wording as written on DnD Beyond says:
To me this reads that they can pick 2 spells, either from abjuration or evocation and then 1 spell from any other Wizard school.
Am I reading this right?
Thanks.
It means they can pick 3 spells from the Wizard list, 2 must be from either the abjuration or evocation school and the third one can be from any school.
Not quite related to the original question but you may want to focus on long duration spells cast out of combat, impactful spells that use a bonus action, or impactful spells that use a reaction.
an eldritch knights gameplay can feel a lot better when you make use of your magic while also preserving or even enhancing your action for extra attack.
The spell Shield is very handy.
It's AND not OR.
One spell from Abjuration. One spell from Evocation. One spell from any school.
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond.
Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ this FAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
That isn't how it works. At level 1, you are not picking an abjuration spell and an evocation spell, you are picking two spells from one set which is " the abjuration and evocation spells on the wizard spell list".
That is not the wording.
"You know three 1st-level wizard spells of your choice, two of which you must choose from the abjuration and evocation spells on the wizard spell list."
This means one abjuration and one evocation.
"You know three 1st-level wizard spells of your choice, two of which you must choose from the abjuration or evocation spells on the wizard spell list."
This means any two from abjuration or evocation.
This what the words "and" and "or" mean.
And to save any future back and forth : nothing you state is going to convince me otherwise. That is the wording and the only possible interpretation I can have. There is zero ambiguity for me. The wording is perfectly clear.
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond.
Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ this FAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
Abjuration and evocation are the two schools you must choose from for two of you spells. It doesn’t have to be one from each school. Just poor wording.
Ove never seen anyone read it this way before.
EZD6 by DM Scotty
https://www.drivethrurpg.com/en/product/397599/EZD6-Core-Rulebook?
It isn't even poorly worded, it is just poor reading tbh.
It's two spells from a specified set and the specified set is "abjuration and evocation spells", nothing says (or even implies) that it has to be one from each.
If it said "or", somebody could argue that you must choose two abjuration, or two evocation, but not one of each.
They'd be wrong, but it's at least as valid an argument as yours.
English is not a formal logical system. It's sloppy, and fuzzy, and in this case, "and" and "or" functionally mean the same thing. Either of the more restrictive interpretations would require more wording to make it explicit.
It actually is.
You said it. You're not interested in how it works or discussion. I won't bother with pointing out any flaws in your logic except the insinuation that I incorrectly represented the rule when I directly quoted the relevant portion, emphasizing that its wording describes a single set, not two.
Addition after the edit: I don't really care if you agree with me or even if anyone else does. I do think that the rules for swapping spells when a fighter levels up offer a lot of elucidation though (not only on leveling up, but also the intent of the rest of the spell selection process). It is clear that you could swap one of the two you learned at 3rd level for the other school upon reaching 4th level. So why require one of each for a single level?
One of you would fail English class. Two spells from ( x and y) means two spells that can be from either X or Y. And combines two things, it does not include coordinated distribution. (One spell from X) and ( one spell from Y) is how English represents one spell from each school. Parenthesis added to clarify how English treats those phrases.
I've got to ask: how would you interpret "three of which you must choose from the abjuration and evocation spells on the wizard spell list."?
The same, it's a selection from a set, similar to the Arcane Trickster which say you know three 1st-level wizard spells of your choice, two of which you must choose from the enchantment and illusion spells on the wizard spell list.