That seems like a DM ruling. The feature says “If you move at least 10 feet in a straight line toward a target immediately before hitting it …”
It doesn’t strictly say it’s your movement, just that you move, so personally, I’d rule yes it works. But I can kind of see ruling the other way, and saying your mount is what’s moving, so it doesn’t apply to you.
When you use your action to Dash, you can use a bonus action to make one melee weapon attack or to shove a creature.
If you move at least 10 feet in a straight line immediately before taking this bonus action, you either gain a +5 bonus to the attack’s damage roll (if you chose to make a melee attack and hit) or push the target up to 10 feet away from you (if you chose to shove and you succeed).
In the old rules, no. When your mount moves, it is the one potentially taking its action to dash.
New rules:
Improved Dash. When you take the Dash action, your Speed increases by 10 feet for that action.
Charge Attack. If you move at least 10 feet in a straight line toward a target immediately before hitting it with a melee attack roll as part of the Attack action, choose one of the following effects: gain a 1d8 bonus to the attack’s damage roll, or push the target up to 10 feet away if it is no more than one size larger than you. You can use this benefit only once on each of your turns.
Here, it's also no, but less obviously so.
Because your mount gets its own turn, you won't have moved 10 feet in a straight line immediately before your attack.
(Also, probably, there's a difference between you moving and you being moved, so that's another reason it doesn't work, albeit not IMO as firmly grounded a one.)
It seems to me that the intent of the feat is that you need to charge using your own movement and body.
This is just a guess, but it also makes sense, especially when size is a detail to consider ("...push the target up to 10 feet away if it is no more than one size larger than you"). Plus, the other two benefits are about boosting your Strength or Dex and your Dash action.
When you use your action to Dash, you can use a bonus action to make one melee weapon attack or to shove a creature.
If you move at least 10 feet in a straight line immediately before taking this bonus action, you either gain a +5 bonus to the attack’s damage roll (if you chose to make a melee attack and hit) or push the target up to 10 feet away from you (if you chose to shove and you succeed).
In the old rules, no. When your mount moves, it is the one potentially taking its action to dash.
New rules:
Improved Dash. When you take the Dash action, your Speed increases by 10 feet for that action.
Charge Attack. If you move at least 10 feet in a straight line toward a target immediately before hitting it with a melee attack roll as part of the Attack action, choose one of the following effects: gain a 1d8 bonus to the attack’s damage roll, or push the target up to 10 feet away if it is no more than one size larger than you. You can use this benefit only once on each of your turns.
Here, it's also no, but less obviously so.
Because your mount gets its own turn, you won't have moved 10 feet in a straight line immediately before your attack.
(Also, probably, there's a difference between you moving and you being moved, so that's another reason it doesn't work, albeit not IMO as firmly grounded a one.)
I don’t think the mount gets its own turn
“The Initiative of a controlled mount changes to match yours when you mount it. It moves on your turn as you direct it, …”
unless it’s an uncontrolled mount.
So you can direct a controlled mount to move the 10’ or more, then attack. So you have moved 10’. You haven’t used 10’ of your movement, but that’s not what the feat says you need to do. Like I said, though, I can see your reading, as well. This one feels ambiguous enough to be a DM ruling situation.
Regardless the mount turn, I think the following tweets from the Dev are still valid under the 2024 rules:
@armando_doval rider on controlled mount wants to attack mid-move. Do rider and mount share one turn, or does rider need to Ready attack? @JeremyECrawford A rider and a controlled mount have separate turns, but they have the same initiative, which means you decide which one goes first.
@DerynDraconis I listen your podcast Dragon Talk: seems like you said that you and the controlled mount have the same turn. Does this mean that the rider and mount share a single turn? But this tweet seems contradict the podcast! Which is true my master? @JeremyECrawfordA controlled mount has its own turn, but that turn takes place on the same initiative count as the rider’s turn. #DnD
We also have this answer in the Sage Advice Compendium regarding the intent for the 2014 feat. I think the "relies on you" part can be applied to the 2024 feat when it says "If you move at least 10 feet … as part of the Attack action".
Charger If you have the Charger feat, can you make your charge attack when your mount takes the Dash action?
The Charger feat relies on you, not your mount, taking the Dash action.
Thanks all. The difference in wording between the old and new feats is quite significant. I'd agree with Xalthu that the mount clearly goes on the player's turn in 2024, which nullifies JC's comments above. However, the last quote about the player's Dash action emphasizes the key question, which is the interpretation of "if you move" in the wording for the new feat. This may be something WoTC has to address in future Sage Advice. Not sure it rises to the level of an errata...
sounds to me like the feat has been simplified to work when mounted or not. seems to have very similar wording to the ferocious charger class feature cavalier fighter has.Is limited to a melee attack now but still similar.seems to work on a melee spell attack too like thornwhip or steel wind strike. Mounted combat seems to have been clarified to support this. Mounted combat seems to work more clearly with steady aim too.
The difference in wording between the old and new feats is quite significant. I'd agree with Xalthu that the mount clearly goes on the player's turn in 2024, which nullifies JC's comments above.
I agree with this too, and for the record I'm the one that asked that first tweet.
Whether it's an intentional use case of the feat is something only Jeremy can answer, but it's pretty safe to say that it works. Besides working almost identically to Ferocious Charger like Bobbybaker pointed out, if it requires expending movement it can't work with features that let you move "for free" like the 2024 Cavalier's Remarkable Athlete.
If you start your turn by dashing, does it apply to all of your movement (30 ft movement + charger + 30 ft dash + charger), or only on the action to dash (30 ft movement + 30 ft dash + charger)?
How does it interact with the extra action from the Haste spell? How does it interact with species (orc) and classes (monk, rogue) that allow dashing as a bonus action? Do you get the boost on those too, or only on your action?
If you start your turn by dashing, does it apply to all of your movement (30 ft movement + charger + 30 ft dash + charger), or only on the action to dash (30 ft movement + 30 ft dash + charger)?
How does it interact with the extra action from the Haste spell? How does it interact with species (orc) and classes (monk, rogue) that allow dashing as a bonus action? Do you get the boost on those too, or only on your action?
From the wording, the speed boost only applies to the Dash action, not to the basic movement that turn.
Improved Dash. When you take the Dash action, your Speed increases by 10 feet for that action.
Level 2: Cunning Action
Your quick thinking and agility allow you to move and act quickly. On your turn, you can take one of the following actions as a Bonus Action: Dash, Disengage, or Hide.
I think the lack of capitalisation of “action” may be significant. In the Cunning Action example, Dash is an example of an “action” you can take as a Bonus Action. The Charger feat specifies “action”, rather than “Action”, so I think it still applies when you take the Dash action as a Bonus Action.
When a mount moves, you move with it. Therefore, if the mount moves 10 feet in a straight line toward a target, you also move 10 feet in a straight line toward a target. However, you still must immediately take the Attack action after this movement to gain the benefit of Charge Attack. This is feasible on a controlled mount, since a controlled mount moves on your turn.
Conversely, you can’t use Charge Attack if you’re riding an independent mount, since an independent mount moves on a separate turn, and you’re not able to immediately take the Attack action after that movement.
Would the Charge Attack feature of this feat apply if the character is mounted?
That seems like a DM ruling. The feature says “If you move at least 10 feet in a straight line toward a target immediately before hitting it …”
It doesn’t strictly say it’s your movement, just that you move, so personally, I’d rule yes it works. But I can kind of see ruling the other way, and saying your mount is what’s moving, so it doesn’t apply to you.
Old rules:
In the old rules, no. When your mount moves, it is the one potentially taking its action to dash.
New rules:
Here, it's also no, but less obviously so.
Because your mount gets its own turn, you won't have moved 10 feet in a straight line immediately before your attack.
(Also, probably, there's a difference between you moving and you being moved, so that's another reason it doesn't work, albeit not IMO as firmly grounded a one.)
EDIT: see this reply.
It seems to me that the intent of the feat is that you need to charge using your own movement and body.This is just a guess, but it also makes sense, especially when size is a detail to consider ("...push the target up to 10 feet away if it is no more than one size larger than you"). Plus, the other two benefits are about boosting your Strength or Dex and your Dash action.I don’t think the mount gets its own turn
“The Initiative of a controlled mount changes to match yours when you mount it. It moves on your turn as you direct it, …”
unless it’s an uncontrolled mount.
So you can direct a controlled mount to move the 10’ or more, then attack.
So you have moved 10’. You haven’t used 10’ of your movement, but that’s not what the feat says you need to do.
Like I said, though, I can see your reading, as well. This one feels ambiguous enough to be a DM ruling situation.
EDIT: see this reply.
---
Regardless the mount turn, I think the following tweets from the Dev are still valid under the 2024 rules:
We also have this answer in the Sage Advice Compendium regarding the intent for the 2014 feat. I think the "relies on you" part can be applied to the 2024 feat when it says "If you move at least 10 feet … as part of the Attack action".Thanks all. The difference in wording between the old and new feats is quite significant. I'd agree with Xalthu that the mount clearly goes on the player's turn in 2024, which nullifies JC's comments above. However, the last quote about the player's Dash action emphasizes the key question, which is the interpretation of "if you move" in the wording for the new feat. This may be something WoTC has to address in future Sage Advice. Not sure it rises to the level of an errata...
sounds to me like the feat has been simplified to work when mounted or not. seems to have very similar wording to the ferocious charger class feature cavalier fighter has.Is limited to a melee attack now but still similar.seems to work on a melee spell attack too like thornwhip or steel wind strike. Mounted combat seems to have been clarified to support this. Mounted combat seems to work more clearly with steady aim too.
I agree with this too, and for the record I'm the one that asked that first tweet.
Whether it's an intentional use case of the feat is something only Jeremy can answer, but it's pretty safe to say that it works. Besides working almost identically to Ferocious Charger like Bobbybaker pointed out, if it requires expending movement it can't work with features that let you move "for free" like the 2024 Cavalier's Remarkable Athlete.
The Forum Infestation (TM)
Question regarding the speed increase:
If you start your turn by dashing, does it apply to all of your movement (30 ft movement + charger + 30 ft dash + charger), or only on the action to dash (30 ft movement + 30 ft dash + charger)?
How does it interact with the extra action from the Haste spell? How does it interact with species (orc) and classes (monk, rogue) that allow dashing as a bonus action? Do you get the boost on those too, or only on your action?
From the wording, the speed boost only applies to the Dash action, not to the basic movement that turn.
Improved Dash. When you take the Dash action, your Speed increases by 10 feet for that action.
Level 2: Cunning Action
Your quick thinking and agility allow you to move and act quickly. On your turn, you can take one of the following actions as a Bonus Action: Dash, Disengage, or Hide.
I think the lack of capitalisation of “action” may be significant. In the Cunning Action example, Dash is an example of an “action” you can take as a Bonus Action. The Charger feat specifies “action”, rather than “Action”, so I think it still applies when you take the Dash action as a Bonus Action.
I think this clarifies the intent (and I was wrong, by the way :))
With a bit of Ready action shenanigans you can get around that.