Curious how other people would rule this as it isn't 100% clear to me.
Say you have 2 Light weapons in each hand and you use True Strike as the action.
Would the weapon's mastery apply with the True Strike? And will it allow you to do two-weapon fighting with the True Strike action if they had the Nick mastery?
True Strike, Booming Blade, and Green-Flame Blade, all say that you make an attack with the weapon. You don't attack with the Cantrip, you use a Cantrip which allows you to attack with the weapon, and which modifies the attack, but you're still attacking with the weapon.
However, you gave the one example that doesn't work: Light+Nick. You take the Magic action when you cast the Cantrip, and not the Attack action, so any effect that requires the Attack action being taken doesn't work. The Light property requires the Attack action, so you won't be able to get a second attack from the Light property and therefore won't benefit from Nick mastery. You also don't get to draw or stow weapons as described in the Attack action.
There's a great thread where @R3sistance pointed out the option of using True Strike if you take advantage of casting a cantrip as part of your Attack Action with certain features:
... you use something like Eldritch Knight's War Magic or College of Valor Bard's Extra Attack (which is the same as Bladesingers) to perform the attack action but replace one of the attacks with a cantrip (that being true strike) ...
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Curious how other people would rule this as it isn't 100% clear to me.
Say you have 2 Light weapons in each hand and you use True Strike as the action.
Would the weapon's mastery apply with the True Strike? And will it allow you to do two-weapon fighting with the True Strike action if they had the Nick mastery?
I would say in general yes.
True Strike, Booming Blade, and Green-Flame Blade, all say that you make an attack with the weapon. You don't attack with the Cantrip, you use a Cantrip which allows you to attack with the weapon, and which modifies the attack, but you're still attacking with the weapon.
However, you gave the one example that doesn't work: Light+Nick. You take the Magic action when you cast the Cantrip, and not the Attack action, so any effect that requires the Attack action being taken doesn't work. The Light property requires the Attack action, so you won't be able to get a second attack from the Light property and therefore won't benefit from Nick mastery. You also don't get to draw or stow weapons as described in the Attack action.
All other masteries should apply.
I second, any game element (feat, feature, property, mastery etc) that require the Attack action doesn't work when using the Magic action.
There's a great thread where @R3sistance pointed out the option of using True Strike if you take advantage of casting a cantrip as part of your Attack Action with certain features: