Curious how other people would rule this as it isn't 100% clear to me.
Say you have 2 Light weapons in each hand and you use True Strike as the action.
Would the weapon's mastery apply with the True Strike? And will it allow you to do two-weapon fighting with the True Strike action if they had the Nick mastery?
True Strike, Booming Blade, and Green-Flame Blade, all say that you make an attack with the weapon. You don't attack with the Cantrip, you use a Cantrip which allows you to attack with the weapon, and which modifies the attack, but you're still attacking with the weapon.
However, you gave the one example that doesn't work: Light+Nick. You take the Magic action when you cast the Cantrip, and not the Attack action, so any effect that requires the Attack action being taken doesn't work. The Light property requires the Attack action, so you won't be able to get a second attack from the Light property and therefore won't benefit from Nick mastery. You also don't get to draw or stow weapons as described in the Attack action.
There's a great thread where @R3sistance pointed out the option of using True Strike if you take advantage of casting a cantrip as part of your Attack Action with certain features:
... you use something like Eldritch Knight's War Magic or College of Valor Bard's Extra Attack (which is the same as Bladesingers) to perform the attack action but replace one of the attacks with a cantrip (that being true strike) ...
I asked this and was told that true strike would work for a single set of damage, so 2 or mor hits, you get one True Strike damage amount.
So just apply that amount/roll to the 1st eligible hit.
When you cast True Strike, you're taking the Magic action, not the Attack action, so all the features that key off taking the attack action don't work. (Light/Nick, Extra Attack, etc.)
You get one attack only when you cast True Strike.
The only exception to this is if you have a feature like the Eldritch Knight's, that lets you cast a cantrip instead of one of your attacks, but the True Strike damage still applies to one specific attack, hit or miss.
(The Attack action is not the same thing as making an attack. You get to make attacks when you take the Attack action, but just because you make an attack, it doesn't mean you're using the Attack action.)
I asked this and was told that true strike would work for a single set of damage, so 2 or mor hits, you get one True Strike damage amount.
So just apply that amount/roll to the 1st eligible hit.
When you cast True Strike, you're taking the Magic action, not the Attack action, so all the features that key off taking the attack action don't work. (Light/Nick, Extra Attack, etc.)
You get one attack only when you cast True Strike.
The only exception to this is if you have a feature like the Eldritch Knight's, that lets you cast a cantrip instead of one of your attacks, but the True Strike damage still applies to one specific attack, hit or miss.
(The Attack action is not the same thing as making an attack. You get to make attacks when you take the Attack action, but just because you make an attack, it doesn't mean you're using the Attack action.)
If i have two attacks (e.g. 5th lvel warlock) with my one weapon, are you saying I can only get one attack if I use true strike? That does not sound correct.
I asked this and was told that true strike would work for a single set of damage, so 2 or mor hits, you get one True Strike damage amount.
So just apply that amount/roll to the 1st eligible hit.
When you cast True Strike, you're taking the Magic action, not the Attack action, so all the features that key off taking the attack action don't work. (Light/Nick, Extra Attack, etc.)
You get one attack only when you cast True Strike.
The only exception to this is if you have a feature like the Eldritch Knight's, that lets you cast a cantrip instead of one of your attacks, but the True Strike damage still applies to one specific attack, hit or miss.
(The Attack action is not the same thing as making an attack. You get to make attacks when you take the Attack action, but just because you make an attack, it doesn't mean you're using the Attack action.)
If i have two attacks (e.g. 5th lvel warlock) with my one weapon, are you saying I can only get one attack if I use true strike? That does not sound correct.
To get those two attacks, you need to take the Attack action. Casting a spell (like True Strike) requires you to take the Magic action.
(The Attack action is not the same thing as making an attack. You get to make attacks when you take the Attack action, but just because you make an attack, it doesn't mean you're using the Attack action.)
If i have two attacks (e.g. 5th lvel warlock) with my one weapon, are you saying I can only get one attack if I use true strike? That does not sound correct.
It is, in fact, correct. The Attack action is not the same thing as "an attack". This choice of terminology is confusing, to say the least.
Attack [Action]
When you take the Attack action, you can make one attack roll with a weapon or an Unarmed Strike.
As you can see, when you take the Attack action, you get to make one attack.
The Warlock feature says:
Thirsting Blade
Prerequisite: Level 5+ Warlock, Pact of the Blade Invocation
You gain the Extra Attack feature for your pact weapon only. With that feature, you can attack twice with the weapon instead of once when you take the Attack action on your turn.
As you can see, it specifically keys off taking the Attack action. If you are making an attack for some other reason, whether it's an opportunity attack, or a bonus action attack, or an attack given to you by using some ability that requires taking a different action, it does not apply.
In the case of True Strike, you cast it by taking the Magic action, so Extra attack does not kick in.
As pointed out above, though, you can take the attack action and swap out one of those attacks for True Strike using the EK or Valor Bard feature, allowing you to use TS while also making multiple attacks.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Curious how other people would rule this as it isn't 100% clear to me.
Say you have 2 Light weapons in each hand and you use True Strike as the action.
Would the weapon's mastery apply with the True Strike? And will it allow you to do two-weapon fighting with the True Strike action if they had the Nick mastery?
I would say in general yes.
True Strike, Booming Blade, and Green-Flame Blade, all say that you make an attack with the weapon. You don't attack with the Cantrip, you use a Cantrip which allows you to attack with the weapon, and which modifies the attack, but you're still attacking with the weapon.
However, you gave the one example that doesn't work: Light+Nick. You take the Magic action when you cast the Cantrip, and not the Attack action, so any effect that requires the Attack action being taken doesn't work. The Light property requires the Attack action, so you won't be able to get a second attack from the Light property and therefore won't benefit from Nick mastery. You also don't get to draw or stow weapons as described in the Attack action.
All other masteries should apply.
I second, any game element (feat, feature, property, mastery etc) that require the Attack action doesn't work when using the Magic action.
There's a great thread where @R3sistance pointed out the option of using True Strike if you take advantage of casting a cantrip as part of your Attack Action with certain features:
I asked this and was told that true strike would work for a single set of damage, so 2 or mor hits, you get one True Strike damage amount.
So just apply that amount/roll to the 1st eligible hit.
When you cast True Strike, you're taking the Magic action, not the Attack action, so all the features that key off taking the attack action don't work. (Light/Nick, Extra Attack, etc.)
You get one attack only when you cast True Strike.
The only exception to this is if you have a feature like the Eldritch Knight's, that lets you cast a cantrip instead of one of your attacks, but the True Strike damage still applies to one specific attack, hit or miss.
(The Attack action is not the same thing as making an attack. You get to make attacks when you take the Attack action, but just because you make an attack, it doesn't mean you're using the Attack action.)
If i have two attacks (e.g. 5th lvel warlock) with my one weapon, are you saying I can only get one attack if I use true strike? That does not sound correct.
To get those two attacks, you need to take the Attack action. Casting a spell (like True Strike) requires you to take the Magic action.
pronouns: he/she/they
Character77006 in addition to the answers given, if it helps, there are a couple of related answers to your question in the SAC:
It is, in fact, correct. The Attack action is not the same thing as "an attack". This choice of terminology is confusing, to say the least.
As you can see, when you take the Attack action, you get to make one attack.
The Warlock feature says:
As you can see, it specifically keys off taking the Attack action. If you are making an attack for some other reason, whether it's an opportunity attack, or a bonus action attack, or an attack given to you by using some ability that requires taking a different action, it does not apply.
In the case of True Strike, you cast it by taking the Magic action, so Extra attack does not kick in.
As pointed out above, though, you can take the attack action and swap out one of those attacks for True Strike using the EK or Valor Bard feature, allowing you to use TS while also making multiple attacks.