The new rules for Opportunity Attacks states that "when a creature that you see leaves your reach using its action, it's bonus action, it's reaction or one of its speeds" we can then "make an Opportunity Attack". Does this now include things like Misty Step?
My thought process:
Misty Step is a bonus action. Misty step takes you out of the reach (and there is no clear definition of "leaving someone's reach", so I go with "start within the reach and then end up outside of that reach at any point"). Therefore you have used a bonus action to leave someone's reach, thus provoking an opportunity attack...
In the previous rules stated that "You can make an opportunity attack when a hostile creature that you can see moves out of your reach" which speaks only about moving, therefore relating to movement, but now it sats take a "bonus action ... Or one of its speeds" so you don't have to use movement as there are other options...
I don't think so, because Misty Step teleports you and it's one of the reasons to avoid OA:
---
Avoiding Opportunity Attack. You can avoid provoking an Opportunity Attack by taking the Disengage action. You also don’t provoke an Opportunity Attack when you Teleport or when you are moved without using your movement, action, Bonus Action, or Reaction. For example, you don’t provoke an Opportunity Attack if an explosion hurls you out of a foe’s reach or if you fall past an enemy.
---
Edit: I got ninja'd :) I fully agree with @SagaTympana
The reason for the language about "without using your movement, action, Bonus Action, or Reaction" is that they're trying to define a difference between two different kinds of "forced" movement: the kind where some sort of effect directly moves you (e.g. thunderwave pushing you out of someone's reach) and the kind where you're magically compelled to move against your will (e.g. command forcing you to run away). The former typically doesn't use your movement or action resources, while the latter typically does. However, the base rule does say that teleportation never provokes an opportunity attack, regardless of whether it uses your movement/actions or not.
It's also worth pointing out that there is a clear definition of "leaving someone's reach". In the 2024 Player's Handbook, "reach" is defined in chapter 1 under "Melee Attacks", where it says:
A creature has a 5-foot reach and can thus attack targets within 5 feet when making a melee attack. Certain creatures have melee attacks with a reach greater than 5 feet, as noted in their descriptions.
Therefore, unless the someone in question has a specific weapon or other feature that gives it a longer reach, "leaving someone's reach" means moving from a position within 5 feet of them to a position that's more than 5 feet away of them.
Therefore, unless the someone in question has a specific weapon or other feature that gives it a longer reach, "leaving someone's reach" means moving from a position within 5 feet of them to a position that's more than 5 feet away of them.
REACH
A Reach weapon adds 5 feet to your reach when you attack with it, as well as when determining your reach for Opportunity Attacks with it.
That means you make OA when the foe moves further 10' from you, so if it moves from 5' to 10' you don't make an OA.
This begs for a question... If I use repelling blast on an enemy that's on melee range with an ally, and i make him leave that area through that mean, do my ally get an AoO?
This begs for a question... If I use repelling blast on an enemy that's on melee range with an ally, and i make him leave that area through that mean, do my ally get an AoO?
No. A creature only provokes opportunity attacks if they move out of reach using their own movement or action. Repelling Blast and similar effects do not do that. Some types of compelled movement, such as the Fear spell, do.
This begs for a question... If I use repelling blast on an enemy that's on melee range with an ally, and i make him leave that area through that mean, do my ally get an AoO?
Edit: Just read properly. It doesn't.
I think a different approach could be, instead of making the enemy leave your ally's reach, making them enter it so your ally can use Polearm Master's Reactive Strike, if available, as it doesn't rely on Opportunity Attacks.
Reactive Strike. While you’re holding a Quarterstaff, a Spear, or a weapon that has the Heavy and Reach properties, you can take a Reaction to make one melee attack against a creature that enters the reach you have with that weapon.
Therefore, unless the someone in question has a specific weapon or other feature that gives it a longer reach, "leaving someone's reach" means moving from a position within 5 feet of them to a position that's more than 5 feet away of them.
REACH
A Reach weapon adds 5 feet to your reach when you attack with it, as well as when determining your reach for Opportunity Attacks with it.
That means you make OA when the foe moves further 10' from you, so if it moves from 5' to 10' you don't make an OA.
Yes, that is entirely correct. That is also how it worked in 5e.
Yes, that is entirely correct. That is also how it worked in 5e.
You would be limited to making an Opportunity Attack either with a different weapon you are wielding that has a range of 5' or else an unarmed strike in this case.
So, with the Warrior of the Elements Monk subclass, which adds 10 feet of reach, I should be allowed an AoO at up to 15 feet.
Since you get your opportunity attack when they leave your reach, you can make an unarmed strike when they leave the 15-foot range.
But not earlier, unless you have another source of attacks with a shorter range.
So if your elemental monk has a staff, you can take an opportunity attack with the staff when they leave 5 feet, and with unarmed strikes when they leave 15. (But not both on the same turn, because you only have the one reaction.)
So I had a thought: would moving a character using Telekinetic Movement provoke Opportunity Attacks? I'm playing a Psi Warrior and our cleric was getting pretty slapped around by a tonne of smaller enemies in my last session. Could I have gotten him out of there? It's not his action, bonus action, reaction, or movement.
So I had a thought: would moving a character using Telekinetic Movement provoke Opportunity Attacks? I'm playing a Psi Warrior and our cleric was getting pretty slapped around by a tonne of smaller enemies in my last session. Could I have gotten him out of there? It's not his action, bonus action, reaction, or movement.
Yes, Opportunity Attacks require that the creature move under it's own movement, forced movement by another creature never triggers an Opportunity Attack, irrelevant of if that creature is allied or hostile against the creature being moved.
You could for example also use an unarmed strike to push an ally out of danger using the shove option, this also wouldn't trigger an Opportunity Attack for your ally.
hi every one. can u help me with mage slayer .does this counter the no oot misty step? if your trained to react to a spell why not punish them for casting anything even as quick as misty is
hi every one. can u help me with mage slayer .does this counter the no oot misty step? if your trained to react to a spell why not punish them for casting anything even as quick as misty is
If I'm understanding correctly what you're asking, I believe the answer is yes: if you have the old (2014) version of Mage Slayer, you can use your Reaction to make a melee weapon attack against someone who casts Misty Step near you. This is not technically an opportunity attack, and the 2024 version of Mage Slayer no longer has this benefit at all.
The new rules for Opportunity Attacks states that "when a creature that you see leaves your reach using its action, it's bonus action, it's reaction or one of its speeds" we can then "make an Opportunity Attack". Does this now include things like Misty Step?
My thought process:
Misty Step is a bonus action. Misty step takes you out of the reach (and there is no clear definition of "leaving someone's reach", so I go with "start within the reach and then end up outside of that reach at any point"). Therefore you have used a bonus action to leave someone's reach, thus provoking an opportunity attack...
In the previous rules stated that "You can make an opportunity attack when a hostile creature that you can see moves out of your reach" which speaks only about moving, therefore relating to movement, but now it sats take a "bonus action ... Or one of its speeds" so you don't have to use movement as there are other options...
Is misty stepping out of danger dead?
According to RAW seems yes.
No. Teleportation never provokes attacks of opportunity.
I don't think so, because Misty Step teleports you and it's one of the reasons to avoid OA:
---
Avoiding Opportunity Attack. You can avoid provoking an Opportunity Attack by taking the Disengage action. You also don’t provoke an Opportunity Attack when you Teleport or when you are moved without using your movement, action, Bonus Action, or Reaction. For example, you don’t provoke an Opportunity Attack if an explosion hurls you out of a foe’s reach or if you fall past an enemy.
---
Edit: I got ninja'd :) I fully agree with @SagaTympana
To expand on what people have already said:
The reason for the language about "without using your movement, action, Bonus Action, or Reaction" is that they're trying to define a difference between two different kinds of "forced" movement: the kind where some sort of effect directly moves you (e.g. thunderwave pushing you out of someone's reach) and the kind where you're magically compelled to move against your will (e.g. command forcing you to run away). The former typically doesn't use your movement or action resources, while the latter typically does. However, the base rule does say that teleportation never provokes an opportunity attack, regardless of whether it uses your movement/actions or not.
It's also worth pointing out that there is a clear definition of "leaving someone's reach". In the 2024 Player's Handbook, "reach" is defined in chapter 1 under "Melee Attacks", where it says:
A creature has a 5-foot reach and can thus attack targets within 5 feet when making a melee attack. Certain creatures have melee attacks with a reach greater than 5 feet, as noted in their descriptions.
Therefore, unless the someone in question has a specific weapon or other feature that gives it a longer reach, "leaving someone's reach" means moving from a position within 5 feet of them to a position that's more than 5 feet away of them.
pronouns: he/she/they
That means you make OA when the foe moves further 10' from you, so if it moves from 5' to 10' you don't make an OA.
Very fair! Thanks!
You're both very right! Thank you!
This begs for a question... If I use repelling blast on an enemy that's on melee range with an ally, and i make him leave that area through that mean, do my ally get an AoO?
Edit: Just read properly. It doesn't.
No. A creature only provokes opportunity attacks if they move out of reach using their own movement or action. Repelling Blast and similar effects do not do that. Some types of compelled movement, such as the Fear spell, do.
pronouns: he/she/they
I think a different approach could be, instead of making the enemy leave your ally's reach, making them enter it so your ally can use Polearm Master's Reactive Strike, if available, as it doesn't rely on Opportunity Attacks.
Yes, that is entirely correct. That is also how it worked in 5e.
You would be limited to making an Opportunity Attack either with a different weapon you are wielding that has a range of 5' or else an unarmed strike in this case.
"Not all those who wander are lost"
So, with the Warrior of the Elements Monk subclass, which adds 10 feet of reach, I should be allowed an AoO at up to 15 feet.
Since you get your opportunity attack when they leave your reach, you can make an unarmed strike when they leave the 15-foot range.
But not earlier, unless you have another source of attacks with a shorter range.
So if your elemental monk has a staff, you can take an opportunity attack with the staff when they leave 5 feet, and with unarmed strikes when they leave 15. (But not both on the same turn, because you only have the one reaction.)
So I had a thought: would moving a character using Telekinetic Movement provoke Opportunity Attacks? I'm playing a Psi Warrior and our cleric was getting pretty slapped around by a tonne of smaller enemies in my last session. Could I have gotten him out of there? It's not his action, bonus action, reaction, or movement.
Yes, Opportunity Attacks require that the creature move under it's own movement, forced movement by another creature never triggers an Opportunity Attack, irrelevant of if that creature is allied or hostile against the creature being moved.
You could for example also use an unarmed strike to push an ally out of danger using the shove option, this also wouldn't trigger an Opportunity Attack for your ally.
hi every one. can u help me with mage slayer .does this counter the no oot misty step? if your trained to react to a spell why not punish them for casting anything even as quick as misty is
If I'm understanding correctly what you're asking, I believe the answer is yes: if you have the old (2014) version of Mage Slayer, you can use your Reaction to make a melee weapon attack against someone who casts Misty Step near you. This is not technically an opportunity attack, and the 2024 version of Mage Slayer no longer has this benefit at all.
pronouns: he/she/they
oh thanks wag.we use 2024 ,