We are trying to verify that we are reading the spell Bless correctly. The way we read it is that "whenever" you make a save or attack roll, you add 1d4. That "whenever" word seems to suggest that anyone affected by Bless can add the 1d4 whenever they make an attack roll or save before the spell ends...that could mean one or more times per turn. Are we reading that correctly?
Previous editions had a stock bonus last for a preset number of rounds. Now it is a varied bonus lasting for up to i minute requiring Concentration. Pretty good trade off I think.
We are trying to verify that we are reading the spell Bless correctly. The way we read it is that "whenever" you make a save or attack roll, you add 1d4. That "whenever" word seems to suggest that anyone affected by Bless can add the 1d4 whenever they make an attack roll or save before the spell ends...that could mean one or more times per turn. Are we reading that correctly?
Yes, you're correct and the wording could be a little clearer.
The creatures affected roll the additional 1d4 on their attack rolls or saves, for every attack roll or save they make until the spell expires.
It's 100% clear to me on reading it, and also for you, but this isn't the first time I've seen somebody query how this spell works, leading me to the conclusion that there is something about the wording & sentence construction used that makes it unclear for some. :)
Thanks for the responses. The reason we were concerned about the wording is that it makes Bless, a 1st Level spell.
Further, when you look at spell save DC's, monster save DC's, or AC's, this seems like an extremely powerful spell effect, perhaps more so than most 1st level spells. Sure, you can't cast another spell requiring concentration, but that doesn't matter to most healing clerics (or perhaps even bards).
There is of course a limit to the number of spells a spellcaster can cast though. Also if the cleric rolls a low initiative, they then miss a round of adding the buff - with a lot of fights taking only 3 rounds, that isn't a whole lot of additional bonuses. The Cleric in my group rarely casts bless, usually using his spells for healing as well as higher level concentration spells such as Spirit Guardians.
The Cleric in my group rarely casts bless, usually using his spells for healing as well as higher level concentration spells such as Spirit Guardians.
Your cleric is smart vis vis Bless, but he should look at Bane. Protecting your friends is all well and good, but buffing all your friends (by debuffing the target's saves) is very powerful.
The Cleric in my group rarely casts bless, usually using his spells for healing as well as higher level concentration spells such as Spirit Guardians.
Your cleric is smart vis vis Bless, but he should look at Bane. Protecting your friends is all well and good, but buffing all your friends (by debuffing the target's saves) is very powerful.
Fine in the final battle against the single big baddie, but 99% of the time we are facing at least 8 or more enemies.
It's 100% clear to me on reading it, and also for you, but this isn't the first time I've seen somebody query how this spell works, leading me to the conclusion that there is something about the wording & sentence construction used that makes it unclear for some. :)
I like to think I'm fairly bright, and I have been playing D&D for about 40 years now, but for some reason I still read 5e bless and translated the effect as "each of the three people gets a d4; they can use it once during the duration for a save or an attack, and then it is gone". The spell *doesn't* say that, but that's what I read! D'oh!!
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
We are trying to verify that we are reading the spell Bless correctly. The way we read it is that "whenever" you make a save or attack roll, you add 1d4. That "whenever" word seems to suggest that anyone affected by Bless can add the 1d4 whenever they make an attack roll or save before the spell ends...that could mean one or more times per turn. Are we reading that correctly?
Yes. It is intended to grant a large benefit.
Previous editions had a stock bonus last for a preset number of rounds. Now it is a varied bonus lasting for up to i minute requiring Concentration. Pretty good trade off I think.
The easiest comparison to demonstrate this is between Bless and Guidance.
"Whenever a target makes an attack roll or a saving throw before the spell ends"
compared to
"Once before the spell ends".
Also, Bless, being a bonus, is one of the few spell that can stack with the advantage rule.
Pun-loving nerd | Faith Elisabeth Lilley | She/Her/Hers | Profile art by Becca Golins
If you need help with homebrew, please post on the homebrew forums, where multiple staff and moderators can read your post and help you!
"We got this, no problem! I'll take the twenty on the left - you guys handle the one on the right!"🔊
I think the wording is pretty clear, especially when compared to the Guidance spell.
Hiya Sinofrus,
It's 100% clear to me on reading it, and also for you, but this isn't the first time I've seen somebody query how this spell works, leading me to the conclusion that there is something about the wording & sentence construction used that makes it unclear for some. :)
Pun-loving nerd | Faith Elisabeth Lilley | She/Her/Hers | Profile art by Becca Golins
If you need help with homebrew, please post on the homebrew forums, where multiple staff and moderators can read your post and help you!
"We got this, no problem! I'll take the twenty on the left - you guys handle the one on the right!"🔊
Thanks for the responses. The reason we were concerned about the wording is that it makes Bless, a 1st Level spell.
Further, when you look at spell save DC's, monster save DC's, or AC's, this seems like an extremely powerful spell effect, perhaps more so than most 1st level spells. Sure, you can't cast another spell requiring concentration, but that doesn't matter to most healing clerics (or perhaps even bards).
There is of course a limit to the number of spells a spellcaster can cast though. Also if the cleric rolls a low initiative, they then miss a round of adding the buff - with a lot of fights taking only 3 rounds, that isn't a whole lot of additional bonuses. The Cleric in my group rarely casts bless, usually using his spells for healing as well as higher level concentration spells such as Spirit Guardians.
Site Rules & Guidelines || How to Tooltip || Contact Support || Changelog || Pricing FAQ || Homebrew FAQ
If you have questions/concerns, please Private Message me or another moderator.
Wary the wizard who focuses on homebrew, for he can create nightmares that you wouldn't even dream of
Site Rules & Guidelines || How to Tooltip || Contact Support || Changelog || Pricing FAQ || Homebrew FAQ
If you have questions/concerns, please Private Message me or another moderator.
Wary the wizard who focuses on homebrew, for he can create nightmares that you wouldn't even dream of
Bless is pretty powerful. But it's something for a higher level cleric to actually use their 1st level spell slots.
I like to think I'm fairly bright, and I have been playing D&D for about 40 years now, but for some reason I still read 5e bless and translated the effect as "each of the three people gets a d4; they can use it once during the duration for a save or an attack, and then it is gone". The spell *doesn't* say that, but that's what I read! D'oh!!