The stunned opponent still automatically fails their strength and Dexterity saves, so if you don't want the opponent to move, just grapple them, the grapple would be automatic.
The stunned opponent still automatically fails their strength and Dexterity saves, so if you don't want the opponent to move, just grapple them, the grapple would be automatic.
an extra step, but great point--and i like it!
Could a monk with Tavern Brawler do both at the same time?
Honestly, if you get stunned in melee combat, moving away is just a way to eat an opportunity attack without actually getting far enough to do much good.
Could a monk with Tavern Brawler do both at the same time?
Tavern brawler doesn't have any grapple interactions in 2024, but you can use your bonus action unarmed strike (or one of two if using flurry of blows) to grapple.
Grappler should work, though now that I look at it the feat is oddly written (it specifies that when you hit you can choose the damage and grapple options -- but you choose the option you're using with an unarmed strike before rolling to hit, and you don't roll to hit if your choice isn't damage).
Grappler should work, though now that I look at it the feat is oddly written (it specifies that when you hit you can choose the damage and grapple options -- but you choose the option you're using with an unarmed strike before rolling to hit, and you don't roll to hit if your choice isn't damage).
I've been interpreting that to mean that if you use the damage option, roll the attack, and it hits, you can then also use the grapple option as part of the same unarmed strike.
Punch and Grab. When you hit a creature with an Unarmed Strike as part of the Attack action on your turn, you can use both the Damage and the Grapple option. You can use this benefit only once per turn.
Yeah, it may be a bit too far into the weeds, but "When you hit..." suggests that you already chose the "damage" option and the rest is simply stating that you can add the grapple option to it.
I've been interpreting that to mean that if you use the damage option, roll the attack, and it hits, you can then also use the grapple option as part of the same unarmed strike.
It's the fairly obvious way to rule, though I suspect it's a leftover of when grapple was an attack roll.
Grappler should work, though now that I look at it the feat is oddly written (it specifies that when you hit you can choose the damage and grapple options -- but you choose the option you're using with an unarmed strike before rolling to hit, and you don't roll to hit if your choice isn't damage).
I've been interpreting that to mean that if you use the damage option, roll the attack, and it hits, you can then also use the grapple option as part of the same unarmed strike.
That seems to be the consensus, at least from what I remember about similar questions in the past:
Now that you mention it, I guess the combo of Tavern Brawler and Grappler is interesting.
You could deal damage, then Push (Tavern Brawler), and finally Grab (Grappler feat), assuming your Unarmed Strike reach is 10 feet for some reason (e.g. a Monk Warrior of the Elements)
Not sure if this was resolved, but when you are incapacited, you cannot take any actions. Moving is a "move action", so no, when stunned you cannot move.
While you have the Incapacitated condition, you experience the following effects.
Not sure if this was resolved, but when you are incapacited, you cannot take any actions. Moving is a "move action", so no, when stunned you cannot move.
While you have the Incapacitated condition, you experience the following effects.
This is not correct. Moving is not an action; movement is a separate thing that does not require an action to do. If movement were an action, it would not be possible to move and attack in the same turn, for instance.
“Move actions” are a concept from 4th Edition D&D that does not exist in 5th Edition.
Still, the point stands that "move action" is not a part of the 5e lexicon, nor is basic movement something covered under the Actions section of the PHB.
an extra step, but great point--and i like it!
Could a monk with Tavern Brawler do both at the same time?
Honestly, if you get stunned in melee combat, moving away is just a way to eat an opportunity attack without actually getting far enough to do much good.
Tavern brawler doesn't have any grapple interactions in 2024, but you can use your bonus action unarmed strike (or one of two if using flurry of blows) to grapple.
Grappler, my mistake. Had my wired crossed.
Grappler should work, though now that I look at it the feat is oddly written (it specifies that when you hit you can choose the damage and grapple options -- but you choose the option you're using with an unarmed strike before rolling to hit, and you don't roll to hit if your choice isn't damage).
I've been interpreting that to mean that if you use the damage option, roll the attack, and it hits, you can then also use the grapple option as part of the same unarmed strike.
pronouns: he/she/they
Yeah, it may be a bit too far into the weeds, but "When you hit..." suggests that you already chose the "damage" option and the rest is simply stating that you can add the grapple option to it.
It's the fairly obvious way to rule, though I suspect it's a leftover of when grapple was an attack roll.
Probably. It could certainly be worded better.
pronouns: he/she/they
That seems to be the consensus, at least from what I remember about similar questions in the past:
Now that you mention it, I guess the combo of Tavern Brawler and Grappler is interesting.
You could deal damage, then Push (Tavern Brawler), and finally Grab (Grappler feat), assuming your Unarmed Strike reach is 10 feet for some reason (e.g. a Monk Warrior of the Elements)
Not sure if this was resolved, but when you are incapacited, you cannot take any actions. Moving is a "move action", so no, when stunned you cannot move.
While you have the Incapacitated condition, you experience the following effects.
Inactive. You can’t take any action, Bonus Action, or Reaction.
This is not correct. Moving is not an action; movement is a separate thing that does not require an action to do. If movement were an action, it would not be possible to move and attack in the same turn, for instance.
“Move actions” are a concept from 4th Edition D&D that does not exist in 5th Edition.
pronouns: he/she/they
I stand corrected, thanks. :)
Not sure how I missed this. Maybe old rules, or just my ignorance.
Move actions actually originated in 3rd edition, though they also existed in 4th edition (with minimal changes).
Reactions have changed substantially over the editions.
Fair enough, I never actually played 3rd edition so I guess I missed that whole thing being introduced
pronouns: he/she/they
Still, the point stands that "move action" is not a part of the 5e lexicon, nor is basic movement something covered under the Actions section of the PHB.
Don't say that, mate! There are plenty of rules to know, or to miss, no shame in that.
Just to add that indeed there are some Conditions where your Speed becomes zero (e.g. Grappled, Paralyzed, Petrified, Restrained, Unconscious)
EDIT: fix tooltip.