So I was reading through my newly acquired Monster Manual for the 2024 rules. I noticed the Petrifying Gaze ability for the basilisk and medusa had a change to the wording.
Petrifying Gaze (Recharge 5-6). Constitution Saving Throw: DC 13, each creature in a 30-foot Cone. If the medusa sees its reflection in the Cone, the medusa must make the save. First Failure: The target has the Restrained condition and repeats the save at the end of its next turn if it is still Restrained, ending the effect on itself on a success. Second Failure: The target has the Petrified condition instead of the Restrained condition.
The 2024 stat block doesn't mention anything about averting ones eyes. Does that mean this is an effect that just happens within the cone regardless of whether a creature is looking at the basilisk or medusa?
Also I have some other questions:
If the petrification process has started on a turn, does the basilisk or medusa have to continue the gaze on the next turn for it to complete (with a failed save)?
If a character has already made the saving throw against petrification and the creature uses Petrifying Gaze on another turn does the character have to make the saving throw(s) again?
If there are other creatures within the gaze effect area of the cone (including possible allies of the triggering monster) do they all have to make the saving throw(s) from the same gaze useage? For example, a basilisk uses its gaze and there are 3 player characters, 1 NPC, and a keeper of the basilisk. Do all 6 creatures need to make the save(s) or can the basilisk decide that the keeper should not be effected?
So I was reading through my newly acquired Monster Manual for the 2024 rules. I noticed the Petrifying Gaze ability for the basilisk and medusa had a change to the wording.
Petrifying Gaze (Recharge 5-6). Constitution Saving Throw: DC 13, each creature in a 30-foot Cone. If the medusa sees its reflection in the Cone, the medusa must make the save. First Failure: The target has the Restrained condition and repeats the save at the end of its next turn if it is still Restrained, ending the effect on itself on a success. Second Failure: The target has the Petrified condition instead of the Restrained condition.
The 2024 stat block doesn't mention anything about averting ones eyes. Does that mean this is an effect that just happens within the cone regardless of whether a creature is looking at the basilisk or medusa?
Please, let me add here the answer from a recent thread:
Unless I missed it in all three 2024 books, where are/ what are the rules now for gaze attacks/meeting a gaze? It appears in the Monster Manual that they now work just by gazingat someone, not requiring eye contact?
I don't think there have ever been any general rules about "gaze attacks" in 5e, but it is true that the mechanics of some monsters (e.g. Medusa that had attacks like that have been simplified and the ability to counteract them by trying to avert one's eyes has generally been removed.
If the petrification process has started on a turn, does the basilisk or medusa have to continue the gaze on the next turn for it to complete (with a failed save)?
The second save is automatic if you failed the first one. If the creature was Restrained, then it repeats the save at the end of its next turn.
If a character has already made the saving throw against petrification and the creature uses Petrifying Gaze on another turn does the character have to make the saving throw(s) again?
Yes. It's a new attempt to Restrain the character.
If there are other creatures within the gaze effect area of the cone (including possible allies of the triggering monster) do they all have to make the saving throw(s) from the same gaze useage? For example, a basilisk uses its gaze and there are 3 player characters, 1 NPC, and a keeper of the basilisk. Do all 6 creatures need to make the save(s) or can the basilisk decide that the keeper should not be effected?
RAW, they can't choose to avoid affecting other creatures.
EDIT: I got ninja'd one more time by @Plaguescarred!
Not only is the avert your eyes rule missing, there's no requirement of being able to see the medusa at all (a blind character can still be petrified).
The mechanics are not written clearly, but it appears the intent is that "second failure" refers to "repeats the save at the end of its next turn if it is still Restrained", so no, there's no requirement of 'continuing' the gaze.
Making the save once does not make the character immune to subsequent saves.
The gaze follows normal cone rules. It affects 'each creature', so that means allies as well as enemies.
Not only is the avert your eyes rule missing, there's no requirement of being able to see the medusa at all (a blind character can still be petrified).
Yeah i find it odd that only the gazer must be able to see its reflection.
I don't think many monster actions target a creature that can see it but Petrifying Gaze could have been suitable for that i believe.
This has to be an oversight, or else they just disregarded everything about the lore of how the petrifying gaze of a medusa works (which is possible, but I'm not buying it). As it stands now, the target doesn't have to see the medusa to be affected. The medusa doesn't have to see the target for the target to be affected. Does cover within the AoE even help protect against the gaze as it is written now?
I don't think many monster actions target a creature that can see it but Petrifying Gaze could have been suitable for that i believe.
I think they might have been trying to make it so petrifying gaze actually gets applied (as opposed to just being, in effect, "attacks on this creature have disadvantage"), but I don't particularly like it. I think the way I would have written something like the 2014 rule, but cleaner and more likely to apply (also, fixing mirrors -- the Medusa's gaze should not pass through mirrors, that's a feature of the Basilisk), would be along the lines of
Appearance and Gaze Attacks
Some creatures, such as the Medusa, have an attack which occurs when the creature is seen. If a character sees a creature with an appearance attack while within the range of the attack, they must save against the attack; success or fail, they need not repeat the save until the start of their next turn. A character who is aware of the attack may close their eyes (no action required, but gain the blinded condition) to avoid seeing it.
Gaze Attacks: some appearance attacks are gaze attacks. These do not work if the creature with the attack is blinded, they are otherwise identical.
Mirrors: some appearance attacks pass through a mirror, others do not. If a gaze attack does not pass through mirrors, a character holding a mirror may use it to look at the creature without being forced to make the save. If it does, a character may attempt to reflect the gaze at another target (including the creature attack) as a utilize action, causing it to be affected when it would normally be unaffected.
Petrifying Gaze: this is a gaze attack with a range of 30'; affected targets must make a Constitution save (DC 13) or be restrained until the end of their next turn. A character restrained by this attack must make an additional save at the end of their next turn, becoming petrified on failure. The basilisk's gaze passes through mirrors; the Medusa's gaze does not.
This has to be an oversight, or else they just disregarded everything about the lore of how the petrifying gaze of a medusa works (which is possible, but I'm not buying it). As it stands now, the target doesn't have to see the medusa to be affected. The medusa doesn't have to see the target for the target to be affected. Does cover within the AoE even help protect against the gaze as it is written now?
I don't think it's an oversight since they specifically changed it during redesign (see spoiler)
As to Cover, one with Total Cover can’t be targeted directly; all straight lines extending from the point of origin to a location in the area of effect are blocked, that location isn’t included in the area of effect. To block a line, an obstruction must provide Total Cover.
But other degrees of cover wouldn't help since it's a Consttution saving throw.
Petrifying Gaze: When a creature that can see the medusa's eyes starts its turn within 30 ft. of the medusa, the medusa can force it to make a DC 14 Constitution saving throw if the medusa isn't incapacitated and can see the creature. If the saving throw fails by 5 or more, the creature is instantly petrified. Otherwise, a creature that fails the save begins to turn to stone and is restrained. The restrained creature must repeat the saving throw at the end of its next turn, becoming petrified on a failure or ending the effect on a success. The petrification lasts until the creature is freed by the greater restoration spell or other magic.
Unless surprised, a creature can avert its eyes to avoid the saving throw at the start of its turn. If the creature does so, it can't see the medusa until the start of its next turn, when it can avert its eyes again. If the creature looks at the medusa in the meantime, it must immediately make the save.
If the medusa sees itself reflected on a polished surface within 30 ft. of it and in an area of bright light, the medusa is, due to its curse, affected by its own gaze.
FWIW, there’s been a similar change to umber hulks. Used to be you had to see it for the confusion gaze. Now you just have to be in the cone, no option to avert your eyes.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
So I was reading through my newly acquired Monster Manual for the 2024 rules. I noticed the Petrifying Gaze ability for the basilisk and medusa had a change to the wording.
The 2024 stat block doesn't mention anything about averting ones eyes. Does that mean this is an effect that just happens within the cone regardless of whether a creature is looking at the basilisk or medusa?
Also I have some other questions:
If the petrification process has started on a turn, does the basilisk or medusa have to continue the gaze on the next turn for it to complete (with a failed save)?
If a character has already made the saving throw against petrification and the creature uses Petrifying Gaze on another turn does the character have to make the saving throw(s) again?
If there are other creatures within the gaze effect area of the cone (including possible allies of the triggering monster) do they all have to make the saving throw(s) from the same gaze useage? For example, a basilisk uses its gaze and there are 3 player characters, 1 NPC, and a keeper of the basilisk. Do all 6 creatures need to make the save(s) or can the basilisk decide that the keeper should not be effected?
No more averting your eyes in the revision so Petrifying Gaze happen as described.
Once affected, the effect follow it's course wether the gazer still is looking or even alive.
The saving throw must be made by each creature in the area of effect.
Please, let me add here the answer from a recent thread:
The second save is automatic if you failed the first one. If the creature was Restrained, then it repeats the save at the end of its next turn.
Yes. It's a new attempt to Restrain the character.
RAW, they can't choose to avoid affecting other creatures.
EDIT: I got ninja'd one more time by @Plaguescarred!
Not only is the avert your eyes rule missing, there's no requirement of being able to see the medusa at all (a blind character can still be petrified).
The mechanics are not written clearly, but it appears the intent is that "second failure" refers to "repeats the save at the end of its next turn if it is still Restrained", so no, there's no requirement of 'continuing' the gaze.
Making the save once does not make the character immune to subsequent saves.
The gaze follows normal cone rules. It affects 'each creature', so that means allies as well as enemies.
Usually you're affected by an effect unless noted otherwise, such as when specifically saying you're immune upon saving.
Such Petrifying Gaze doesn't make you immune so you're subject to it every time it occur.
Yeah i find it odd that only the gazer must be able to see its reflection.
I don't think many monster actions target a creature that can see it but Petrifying Gaze could have been suitable for that i believe.
This has to be an oversight, or else they just disregarded everything about the lore of how the petrifying gaze of a medusa works (which is possible, but I'm not buying it). As it stands now, the target doesn't have to see the medusa to be affected. The medusa doesn't have to see the target for the target to be affected. Does cover within the AoE even help protect against the gaze as it is written now?
"Not all those who wander are lost"
I think they might have been trying to make it so petrifying gaze actually gets applied (as opposed to just being, in effect, "attacks on this creature have disadvantage"), but I don't particularly like it. I think the way I would have written something like the 2014 rule, but cleaner and more likely to apply (also, fixing mirrors -- the Medusa's gaze should not pass through mirrors, that's a feature of the Basilisk), would be along the lines of
I don't think it's an oversight since they specifically changed it during redesign (see spoiler)
As to Cover, one with Total Cover can’t be targeted directly; all straight lines extending from the point of origin to a location in the area of effect are blocked, that location isn’t included in the area of effect. To block a line, an obstruction must provide Total Cover.
But other degrees of cover wouldn't help since it's a Consttution saving throw.
Petrifying Gaze: When a creature that can see the medusa's eyes starts its turn within 30 ft. of the medusa, the medusa can force it to make a DC 14 Constitution saving throw if the medusa isn't incapacitated and can see the creature. If the saving throw fails by 5 or more, the creature is instantly petrified. Otherwise, a creature that fails the save begins to turn to stone and is restrained. The restrained creature must repeat the saving throw at the end of its next turn, becoming petrified on a failure or ending the effect on a success. The petrification lasts until the creature is freed by the greater restoration spell or other magic.
Unless surprised, a creature can avert its eyes to avoid the saving throw at the start of its turn. If the creature does so, it can't see the medusa until the start of its next turn, when it can avert its eyes again. If the creature looks at the medusa in the meantime, it must immediately make the save.
If the medusa sees itself reflected on a polished surface within 30 ft. of it and in an area of bright light, the medusa is, due to its curse, affected by its own gaze.
FWIW, there’s been a similar change to umber hulks. Used to be you had to see it for the confusion gaze. Now you just have to be in the cone, no option to avert your eyes.